We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocky start but got better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Krystal Puerto Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Krystal Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Av de los Garzas, s/n, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
1 review
“Rocky start but got better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We came in nervous with all the mixed reviews we had read about the hotel. We had a bad start with our room being filthy & miscommunication between staff, and had to wait a while before that was taken care of. Make sure you're well informed of everything your package includes, check out time & anything else because we weren't well informed of a lot of things when we checked in & were later attempted to be charged. With reasoning & admitted fault of not informing us & miscommunication we weren't charhed & in the end we got changed to a nice, clean & cozy room. The rest of the stay was pretty pleasant, the staff there are all really nice & provide excellent service. If you do stay at this hotel & are looking for activities & nightlife...Julio & Diego are your guys to ask for. They're in charge of the activities at the resort as well as taking us to places outside of the resort. We had a blast with them! They are full of energy & super friendly. A lot of our best times were spent with them in & out of the resort.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    215
    134
    122
    141
See reviews for
159
180
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Padre Island, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I'm sorry to rank any hotel with such a lousy review, but on the path this hotel is on, I would assume it will be closed soon. They DELETED all swim up bars...split property in half to build a Hilton next door which might be awesome...Krystal food terrible...service was great...but food, pools, the rooms...all pretty much suck now. I was there in 2006 and wow has the place went downhill. I would have given it a 4.5 star back then....ouch....this place is fine if you are a student on spring break, want a great location but only ONE BAR open with 2 bar tenders during they day for the ENTIRE hotel property? Give me a break. Lobby bar not all inclusive. The restaurant you "make a reservation for" the Italian place it was like we were on Punk'd....terrible buffet..bad wine I mean I can go on and on. Why?

Room Tip: If you MUST stay here ask for ONLY new beachfront section of rooms. The villas are way too old and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed with a couple of friends on a bachelor party. Great food, the lemonade and vodka was to die for and the food was fantastic.

Here is a video of the view from the room: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6fY36a--gQY

If you want to take a short walk to the peninsula shopping center, its only a 1/2 block walk. Here is a video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d5QKAEiZf6U

The malecon was a $15 cab ride for 6 people. most small cabs are $5.

I like how they brought out the linen at night for dinner. See some of the video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=etlavSpUiGc

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This third world hotel was so bad that even though we were staying here for FREE via a friends timeshare, we checked out and booked a room at the Westin Hotel. The pictures are very deceiving, pool doesn't exist as they portray. Rooms are substandard, grounds are ok. Most of the communal use computers are broken, I think I've said enough. Stay at your own risk.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a week at Krystal Vallarta. We used a recent LivingSocial deal for an all-inclusive stay. We were assigned an ocean view room on the 4th floor. They initially gave us a room with 2 doubles, but quickly changed it upon our request. The hotel itself is older, but otherwise clean and met our needs. Room service cleans daily and provides extra bottled water, which we appreciated. The wet bar is locked unfortunately, so you won't have access to a fridge. Staff here was friendly and quite helpful.

The location is great! The hotel is close to the airport, right on the beach and close to restaurants. The boardwalk is a 5 dollar cab ride. Cabanas are free and the beach was never crowded. Krystal has three pools, one being an infinity pool.

The concierge is knowledgeable about the area, but tried to up-sell the expensive excursion company in the area. We researched excursion companies in advance and had booked before arrival. Do your homework if you're trying to get your best deal.

The all-inclusive package stated it included all meals and beverages (including alcohol). There were 5 restaurants with this hotel. We were asked to schedule reservations in advance, which were odd, because none were every busy. The food was good but not extraordinary.The buffet is open for all three meals. There were standard stations and a grill station with varying things (eggs, meats, etc).

We were told that room service didn't apply, so we presented our concern to the front desk. They followed up and we ended up receiving our room service. Additionally, we were told that their beach dinner, Bogart's on the Beach, wasn't included in their all-inclusive plan. After raising this concern to the front desk, we did receive this meal. I would recommend scheduling this! We had a private table set up on the beach and received a romantic, three-course meal. I would recommend that you know what is included in all-inclusive packages upon booking. While the hotel staff quickly provided our requests, we shouldn't have had to fight for something that was included in the first place.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend Krystal resorts in the future!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

One of the best things about this resort is the location. It's just a short cab ride from the airport and walking distance to many shops and restaurants. if you walk out of the resort and turn left you'll hit a few restaurants including an Outback (just be careful crossing the road! Seriously, it's not was easy as it looks considering the traffic pattern on this strip). If you leave the resort and head right you'll hit another little division of shops including a Starbucks, for those of us who just can't do without). The resort has a very open feel to it. It's not particularly glamorous - but a good choice if you're just looking for a place to lay your head. The biggest tip I can give you is to request a room in the newer tower closest to the beach. When we arrived they placed us in a room, closer to the lobby, that was very outdated. The rooms in the newer tower are much nicer, newer - we felt like we were in a totally different resort once they moved us! Staff is nice enough and there's a great little restaurant near one of the pools that's worth a try.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have a great time in a private condo, two rooms, in side off the H Crystal, Full Hotel Services, Full Kitchen and great spaces, could be rent by days, week, monthly or year, capacity for 10p. The best location in town just 5m to the international airport, walking to all ( Mall, Movies, Market, etc )
If you need more information contact me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystalconcierge, Guest Relations Manager at Krystal Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

I am so glad to hear you had a great time staying at Krystal Puerto Vallarta. I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences you lived and enjoyed during your stay with us, I am delighted to read your positives comments,.
Thank you again for allowing us being your host and we hope to have the opportunity in a near future to provide you one more time with the excellence in service we are known for.

Please let me know if you´re planning you next vacation, It´ll be a pleasure to have you back in this beautiful resort.

Cordially

Bárbara Gamerdinger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Krystal Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Puerto Vallarta

Address: Av de los Garzas, s/n, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#72 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Krystal Puerto Vallarta 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda-style Resort on 32-acre gardens with private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Krystal Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krystal Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Nh Hotels Puerto Vallarta
Nh Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Vallarta
Nh Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Nh Krystal Vallarta
Krystal Resort Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krystal Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.