We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Francisco Medina Ascencio KM 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #72 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Alvin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel is very clean - it was a common sight to see someone sweeping and another mopping at all hours. The room was spotless and the bed was surprisingly comfortable. The cheeseburgers at the snack shack were heavenly...the buffet didn't have much to choose from but everything was good. The drinks were nice and strong and the bar staff was very friendly. One of the best parts - I was not harassed by the time share people. They were only talking to people who approached them - a very nice change!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the water. Rooms on the right side are above the kids pool so if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Amador R, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thanks so much for posting a review. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. We hope to see you again in your home away from home.

Regards

Luis Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    557
    325
    167
    126
See reviews for
480
413
43
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Been here many many times before and the shape of the resort is going down. Cracked cement in and around the pool, worn out bathrooms, and old bedding (that's if they change it). First off, the bell man and pool staff are good. The food is not, drinks are weak. Clientele, very obvious that the hotel prefers domestic travellers instead of international. The pool is clowdy by mid day, beach good, but extra activities on the resort fall short.
Time to let this hotel go, and find one that want international travellers and has a hotel that is fit to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Amador R, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear guest:

Thanks so much for posting a review, I am so disappointed that you did not have a good time when you stayed with us. I´ve put my staff on alert about the issue you mentioned. And we are working so hard to restore the pool area.

I would like to see you soon again in your home away from home.


Regards,


Luis Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My FIance and I stayed here in March 2014!
First time in Mexico!
We loved the resort!!! Compared to the layout of the other ones near by, ours definetly had the nicest pool, beach area & dining options! The view is beautiful!!! The mountains in the background are amazing! The buffet was really good, good variety, very clean!
The a-la-carte restaurants are very very good also! This resort exceeded are expectations for a 3 1/2 star!!! We would definetly go back!!!

Only CON: BEACHES IN PUERTO VALLARTA ARE HORRIBLE! :(

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Amador R, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you, thank you, thank you for your nice comment, we realy appreciate it. I hope to see you again at the hotel soon.

Regards,

Luis Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The hotel itself was great. The rooms were spacious and clean. The view from our room was alright, but as soon as you walk outside the beach view made up for it. The beach itself was beautiful, clean and we were able to get ourselves beach chairs and umbrellas a few times. They have a volleyball set up and my boyfriend was able to play a game which was pretty awesome. The downside was that most of the people staying at this hotel were retired senior citizens (which is no big deal), but the music and ambiance seemed like it was catered to them as well. Also, there are a lot of vendors (not as much as malecon) so be ready for that. Also, the bus station is right across the street and we used it very frequently since we didn't want the all inclusive package and there wasn't anywhere to eat that was walking distance (takes about 10 mins to get downtown by bus). We did however eat breakfast there and it was pretty good. I ate chilaquiles, beans, hashbrowns, ham, bagel, and fresh fruit, but beware that the bees are plentiful in Puerto Vallarta! Overall, it was a nice stay but were enjoyed the other hotel (Flamingo Vallarta) that we stayed at earlier in our trip more.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view (although it may cost your extra)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Amador R, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest:

thanks so much for posting a review, we realy appreciate it.

I hope to see you again at hotel soon, your home away from home.

Regards,

Luis Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn from June 3rd-June 13th, 2014. This was not by choice as I usually stay @ Friendly Vallarta, but west jet was not offering a 10 day for there, even though they were flying there anyway, and it is only 2 hotels away. I don't know who regulates this, but it sucks. The holiday inn was ok, but lacking in a lot of areas, such as food selection, with only about 6 items to chose from at the buffet, the air conditioning in the rooms had 2 choices, it was cold and colder, and it leaked on the floor constantly.LThe evening entertainment was practically nil, with 2 nights of karaoke, or 15 minutes of bingo. The rooms are a good size and clean,setup of pool and grounds was very nice, but snack bar offered hamburgers and hot dogs, and fries pre-made and stale and cold, nothing else. Swim up bar is a nice feature, but you could never get to it for all the kids hanging around it and throwing their plastic glasses into the pool. All in all the hotel servers were very nice, but prefer the Friendlly.

Room Tip: Go high for view, in main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear marlene c,

Thank you for taking the time in completing a review and bringing this matter to our attention. We are delighted to know that you liked our clean rooms and the pool set up. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it is regrettable we fell short of your expectations during your stay. I regret if our food selection, air conditioning unit and evening entertainment did not meet your standards. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Staying here for 10 days. Nice location. Pool is large with a swim up bar. Lots of chairs since its low season.
Rooms are nice and large and clean. There's an in room safe, coffee maker and hair dryer.
Evenimg entertainment seems to be lacking during low season. 10 minutes of karaoke or bingo in the evening although they seem to put shows on the weekends when there's more people here. During the day there's the usual entertainment like water aerobics and yoga, beach volleyball etc.
The food is somewhat lacking. The buffet has very limited food and gets old very quickly. The snack bar isn't so great either. Everyday they only have hotdogs hamburgers and fries that taste like they have been sitting around for hours. We've had better food selection in Cuba.
The servers and all staff are pleasant. Miguel will come around serving drinks to you on the beach and pool area.
All in all its an all right resort but could use improvements in their food selection and evening entertainment

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear sly165,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are always very grateful for our guest’s feedback and are particularly pleased that you liked our location and rooms. I appreciate your comments regarding our food selection and evening entertainment, this shall be addressed accordingly.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Kind Regards,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wi
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I travelled with my two adult daughters for a three night girls getaway stay June 1-4 as well as one night June 5 in downtown PVR at a Parador. The deciding factor for me was knowing that downtown PVR offers an array of fabulous restaurants and clubs. I wanted a hotel that was all-inclusive to make it easy but also one that was moderately priced; our all-inclusive rate through Funjet Vacations was $135.00 per night. This allowed us to not only enjoy the resort facilities but also avail ourselves of some wonderful meals downtown as well.
The room was updated, modern and clean with two double beds. The service as others have mentioned is friendly and helpful. The pool area is large with plenty of lounge chairs available by both the pool and the beach. Breakfast buffet was fine, the other buffet meals were just average. Drinks were plentiful, not top shelf liquor but again adequate for the price. We did eat at the Italian restaurant one night. The food and service were quite good. The other nights we ate in downtown PVR as well as a lunch at a beachfront restaurant La Palapa.
The beach was lovely and walkable in both directions.
Again, the resort is not a deluxe property but offers a great place to stay at a terrific price. It's walking distance to the Mexican version of Wal-Mart -Soriana in either direction. With the central location, the taxi price is reasonable to either downtown or the marina area at a little over $5usd.
What makes PVR an outstanding resort destination is downtown PVR, the Malecon and Playa Los Muertos. The all-inclusive resorts are nice but let's face it part of travel is exploring the area. And for the price and facilities the Holiday Inn offers you can have the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Amador R, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thanks so much for your comments, we love reading the experiences of our guests, and yours is no excepction.

Regards,


Luis Rodríguez
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta

Address: Francisco Medina Ascencio KM 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a wonderful view to Banderas Bay, one of the best beaches in Puerto Vallarta, surrounded by friends who will make your stay unforgettable. We have 220 recently renovated standard rooms, each of them with a wonderful sea-view and a private balcony. It is located just a few minutes away from the airport and downtown, near shopping malls such as Caracol, Peninsula and Galerias Vallarta. Free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Choose between our European or All-Inclusive Plans. In our a la Carte Restaurants, Piaceres, Italian Mediterranean Cuisine, Mariaches, Mexican Cuisine or Guacamaya s Buffet Restaurant, quality in service is our distinguished feature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.