We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Francisco Medina Ascencio KM 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a Free Night!
Ranked #74 of 120 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Morelos, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Honest Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great hotel for a holiday inn. It's right near the coast and for the price you get more than what you pay for. The pillows are ok, the rooms are clean, the staff is good. The morning buffet is pretty decent and it has 2 restaurants.

The only thing that kept me from giving this review 5 stars was one the restaurants. The mexican cuisine one. I think it's way overpriced, even for the location of the hotel. Almost all the staff is amazingly nice, except for this one guy at this particular restaurant (a mean attitude towards customers). And the food, although it's great in taste, it's poor in quantity and, as I said before, overpriced.


Overall, it's a great hotel, it's not very expensive to my liking, has acces to the beach like every other hotel, a great staff (except for that one guy), a good morning buffet and as for the restaurant business goes, you can always dine at the beach or any other restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    463
    258
    137
    97
See reviews for
381
333
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was my fourth time staying at the Holiday Inn Resort in Puerto Vallarta, and I was once again reminded why I keep coming back! A friend and I stayed July 13th-July 20th and had a fantastic time. I’ve always stayed in late October, so I was a bit worried about it being rainy season, but the rain only came in the evenings and wasn’t a problem at all. Everyone on the staff was amazing as always, especially Aldyk, Pako, Lolys and Sugar who ran the activities/events. They were so friendly and helped make our trip really special. Thanks to them there was constantly something fun to do, like beach soccer or volleyball games and even a giant water balloon fight in the pool (definitely a highlight of the trip)! Another highlight of our trip was the night we went to Strana (a nightclub). We paid 350 pesos each to the entertainment staff for transportation by van and open bar, and they accompanied the group out. Definitely worth it! As 18 & 19 year old girls we felt extremely comfortable going out this way vs. going on our own. I would definitely recommend it if you want to have a great, worry free night out. There are also great shows and activities at the hotel at night if you feel like staying in. The bartenders and restaurant staff are quick and friendly! The beach is just steps away from the pool and is clean with lots of optional things to do (parasailing & jet skis to name a few), which are run separate from the resort. Loved the hut that served burgers/hot dogs. The resort is close to downtown and is within walking distance to banks, shopping and food (Pizza Hut, ice cream, Starbucks, etc). Our room was always clean and if we ever needed something someone was there right away! LOVE this resort and its staff, and can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIAGHIR, Gerente at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are glad to listen to you about your experience at the Holiday inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, all the staff has been informed about your experience with us. It is grateful for every one and encourages us to keep on that way. Thank you very much for share this comment with us and we will waiting for you on your next vacation.

Cordiallly


Luis Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week in July 2013. The hotel staff was always very helpful and the drinks are great. The buffet restaurant wasn't awesome, and they didn't label any of their food, so that made things interesting, but you could always find something to fill you up. The rooms were clean and stocked with water. A little disappointing that you couldn't buy beer/liquor in the hotel, but we survived. Definitely take the bus rather then a taxi down to the boardwalk...way cheaper. Major plus was it's location to the airport...made for a very quick bus ride.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear ErinFedje,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We strive to ensure all of our guests needs are met and we are pleased to know that our accommodations as well as location and the service you received were to your liking and contributed to making your stay that much more comfortable. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with the food served. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

In 2012 we made three trips to PV two stays at Villas Vallarta and then on the third we stayed at the Holiday Inn. The third trip was a family vacation with our children who are in University over Christmas. Our stay at the Holiday in was wonderful, we were treated so well by the hotel staff. We found our room was will appointed and very clean, the staff went out of their way to ask at each encounter if we needed assistance. By the second day we knew our waiters by name. I highly recommend the Holiday Inn for cleanliness, comfort and welcome. The beach was clean and with lots of fresh sand and the pool areas are well planned and the activity staff are funny and engaging to all ages. I want to send a special thank you to Everado and the team of waiters in the Mexican Restaurant, but in particular Everado. He is without a doubt a tremendous ambassador for the Hotel. Honestly, we didn't want for anything from morning until night we are just an average family but we were treated like royalty. Our meals were great, lots of variety and excellent food. We are coming back again in January of 2014. Value for your money here folks, this hotel with the fantastic staff have our business and after our trip in December is the only place we will stay in PV.

Room Tip: They are all good, hotel seems to be really in tune with making sure guests needs are met. In speak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIAGHIR, Gerente at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your kindly comments, your feed back encourage ourselves to do our best and aim higher. We will very happy to see you next January.

Respectuflly.


Luis Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I had never been to Mexico before this excursion but I was impressed with what I received for the money I paid. I was slightly worried going in July because everyone told me that is a rainy season in Mexico and we wouldn't get any sun but every day was beautiful and hot, the rain only coming down once the sun had set, and there were always other things for us to do inside the hotel and out of the rain thanks to the amazing Entertainment Staff, the people in charge of informing the guests of events that were to occur at the hotel . On my first night I was sitting at the bar with some friends when one of these staff members Aldyk walked up and started talking to us about a show that was going to happen in the lobby theatre that night. We had had no idea about any of this and he was glad to fill us in. After that night, he also remembered our names, which I found very impressive as he also remembered the names of hundreds of other guests, and became a friend. The other entertainers were just as helpful and possessed just as good of memories (Sugar, Lolys, Pako, and Aldyk, love from Canada ♥). The events were numerous and pertained to all manner of personality or interest. From Aquaerobics, to beach soccer, water balloon fight in the pool, all the way to going out to night clubs in a group from the hotel, it is safe to say there wasn't a dull moment.
The rest of the staff were equally as friendly and helpful. They weren't afraid to crack a joke or tease you, they were always smiling, and if there was a problem with your room, a quick call down to the front desk and there was someone there to help fix it almost immediately.
Service at the all-day buffet was perfect, even if I found the food to be a slight let-down... but the open bar made up for that fact!
The hotel was also in the perfect position. There was a bank, PIzza Hut, and other amenities in walking distance, and downtown was a quick and cheap taxi ride away.
All in all I greatly enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn and definitely plan on returning in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIAGHIR, Gerente at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are glad to hear that your stay with us was pleasant and you enjoyed your first visit to Mexico. Puerto Vallarta by itself is beautiful and we hope to see you soon again. We appreciate your feedback, which will forward to the staff involved.

Thank you very much for share your experience!

Cordially

Luis Rodríguez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Good things:
Great view of the pool and the ocean from the balcony, reasonable price, nice friendly staff, fairly clean. Beds were relatively comfortable , A/C was nicely adequate (when it worked-- see below).
Now for the bad:
My wife and I stayed at this "resort" because our group had chosen it due to cost/value. probably $40-50 less than the Marriott, but you give up a lot for the cost. I think this hotel USED to be a resort when it was first built (looks like 25-35 years ago). We stayed 4 nights, with the Wednesday and Thursday being relatively quiet; however, the high school national students inundated the place on Friday. They totally took over the pool and sounded like Animal House, (Wet Version). The hallways are all marble-- beautiful, but extremely noisy at 3:30 AM when the screaming/laughing/moaning was going on. In addition, several demon-pissed people stayed at the pool most of the night. Bear in mind that this hotel is a large boxed in canyon arrangement, with the adjacent hotel providing an acoustic nightmare. The internet was a joke, and every time we complained that it had again gone out, they simply restarted the modem, instead of really fixing the problem. Our A/C quit working at least a dozen times, with the condensation overflow dripping into the peeling painted tub. Toilet was super LOW in size, bathroom fixtures were coming off, and lighting was poor, and caulk upon caulk everywhere. BTW they closed the restaurant from 12-1PM-- go figure?? Food was boring, and not up to US cleanliness standards (open buffet with not much supervision). Had to ask for salt, sugar, and pepper each time; only had INSTANT decaf coffee.
If cost is first on your list, this is a good one; however, better hope that the young ones stay away for your visit. But for us, never again!

Room Tip: We seemed to be one of the few US citizens there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIAGHIR, Gerente at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest:


Thank you for the time to send us your comments regarding your stay and we appreciate a lot your nice comments and also we are analyzing carefully the points that we should improve ASAP thank you a lot.


Sincerely

Luis Amador Rodríguez V.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Don't go there if you want to relax and to be quiet. The hotel was so loud. Lot of loud music at the pool and the speaker from a very bad quality. We were in the 16 floor..... The management has issue with customer. I ask to see a manager to share with him. He never came and pass a message on phone by someone else. They told me that the music is lower before 11 and you have to go before this time. Really? What the point to stay in your hotel then? The best quality of the hotel is his staff. Very friendly and efficace. The food is ok but should be upgrade! Back home now. I don't feel i have relax.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIAGHIR, Gerente at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments sorry for the students week we are going to avoid those kind of groups and with this action we are avoiding the noise to. Thank you again for your comments.


Sincerely,

Luis Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Address: Francisco Medina Ascencio KM 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#74 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a wonderful view to Banderas Bay, one of the best beaches in Puerto Vallarta, surrounded by friends who will make your stay unforgettable. We have 220 recently renovated standard rooms, each of them with a wonderful sea-view and a private balcony. It is located just a few minutes away from the airport and downtown, near shopping malls such as Caracol, Peninsula and Galerias Vallarta. Free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Choose between our European or All-Inclusive Plans. In our a la Carte Restaurants, Piaceres, Italian Mediterranean Cuisine, Mariaches, Mexican Cuisine or Guacamaya s Buffet Restaurant, quality in service is our distinguished feature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.