We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring ear plugs, loud music all night long” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Francisco Medina Ascencio KM 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #72 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Syracuse
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Bring ear plugs, loud music all night long”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a great hotel for Mexican college kids who run wild on the property and management caters to them. Loud thumping music was played all day and night. The kids didn't eat much food on the property and orderded out for pizza and bring their own beer. The music got louder, and they even used a bull horn. I have also stayed here when there was an all night wedding party with loud music. It is a great location and should be relaxing, but you cannot hear the ocean waves, read at the pool or sleep at night. Try staying at the Sheraton near town for a vacation resort.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs, and ask hotel when the Mexican spring break is, or if they have a wedding planned b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIAGHIR, Gerente at Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much in letting us your comments and please be informed that we are taking in consideration those college groups.

Thank you and regards.


Luis Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    558
    325
    167
    126
See reviews for
480
414
43
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I went to visit family in Guadalajara, we were surprised to find out that they had planned a trip to Puerto Vallarta! We stayed at this hotel and got the all inclusive deal and it was AMAZING! Breakfast, lunch, and dinner were all delicious! The pool is awesome, but who wants a pool when the beach is a few steps away! Downtown is only a 10 minute cab ride away! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIAGHIR, Gerente at Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your nice comment, we hope to see you very soon.
Sincerely,

Luis Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Well this was my wife's and mine third trip to a tropical resort and first in mexico so I will list the pro's and con's

pros
1) very well kept
2) granite bathroom and granite all over the hotel
3) staff's understanding of English is very high
4) free internet
5) kiddy pool
6) no charge safe in room.


Con's

1) non-alcoholic beaverages in bar fridge is not free
2) snack bar open only when high number of occupants are at the hotel
3) Small buffet as they cater to the condo owners that are part of the resort
4) caters more to Mexican guest more the all inclusive guests
5) no real night entertainment


I liked the English ability of the staff and how nice the resort looked and felt. I felt that the resort is a hotel with condo owners on it and that they have an all-inclusive package because they have to offer one. The buffet was small and didn't have a big dessert area, there is no free non motorized water sport equipment which was disappointing.

Service changed dramatically when 8-10 bus loads of collage students arrived which is funny because they didn't spend a lot of money on the resort ( pizza hut was arriving hourly) which they came on a Thursday. The resort suddenly opened the snack bar and had a huge selection of desserts and they started having bigger night entertainment.

Overall this is a hotel not a resort as they cater to condo owners on the property (they also have the highest tower) non-inclusive guests, and locals. They don't have anything to keep you in the resort and my wife and I found ourselves taking the transit bus to wal-mart a lot to get snacks and water to have in our room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIAGHIR, Gerente at Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your opinion, we appreciate highly your preference and comments we will analyze and take the proper measures in order to change what we should and we also appreciate your good comments regarding our staff. Than you again

Sincerely,

Luis Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great food, great weather, beautiful resort, very friendly staff. Very relaxing until Thursday afternoon rolls around and the local college thugs came and took over the resort. There must have been 80 to 100 kids coming in with their coolers full of beer. Jumping into the pool in their street clothes and being totally obnoxious. We had to leave and eat outside of the resort which was money we weren't planning on spending. Beer cans were strewn all over the resort when we arrived back. The staff was very diligent in cleaning them up, but what a mess. I knew what kind of night we'd be in for too and I wasn't wrong. They were up and down the halls at 2:00 a.m. being loud and banging on doors. Our phone also rang 3 times during the night but we were up anyways because of the noise.

So if you don't mind that kind of behaviour at a nice quiet family resort, then I'd recommend The Holliday Inn. If I would have known this was going to happen I'd have booked somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIAGHIR, Gerente at Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest:

You are so nice in express your comment in this way, we really appreciate your comment and we remark also that we did every thing possible in avoid the noise caused during this group stay, thank you again and we are doing some implementations in order to act better during those college groups.

Sincerely,

Luis Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OAKBANK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Really nice clean rooms, Holiday Inn style with big screen TV, comfy beds, beautiful view of the ocean, safe in room.

Lots of different food choices at the buffet. The pool was warm and clean, bar open, beach right in your front door. It was hard to get a beach chair for the pool or beach and the hotel was half full.

Nice place for a family, sort of quiet. and a great place if you want to relax. Close to the Malacon walkway and Old PV. Would recommend this hotel as the service was great and the place was immaculate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Had a great time as always,staff was great and always hepful,special thanks going out to the pool bartender Hector he was always on top of things for us. We would also like to say thanks to Hectors dad Jesus and the staff at the itilian restraunt for setting up a wonderful dinner to help us celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We will be back again,thanks megil also for everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIAGHIR, Gerente at Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear K & C:

Thank you very much for your nice comment, we are happy to received it, we hope to celebrate the next coming anniversary.

Sincerely,

Luis Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, MN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We just arrived home from a week at the Holiday Inn, Puerto Vallarta. Our room was a family room, two double beds and a sofa bed. We had a seperate sitting area with a desk, sofa and chair which led to the large balcony. We were in room 1731. The views were wonderful, panaromic views of the bay, mountains, and city. We saw whales or dolphins from the balcony almost every day. The room was simple, clean, beds were comfortable, minus the sofa bed, and there was always hot water in the shower. I do not understand the inconsistency in some reviews in terms of the cleanlinessof the rooms, ours was very clean.The staff was most gracious, always willing to help, always friendly. I have come to the conclusion that when people complain about the service in Mexico it is more likely the attitude or lack of understanding of the culture by the person complaining. I never came across anyone, including the vendors on the beach, who were not anything but respectful and gracious. What is important to understand is when visiting Mexico we are just that, visitors and we can not hold the people of Mexico to our cultural values. In retrospect we could take some lessons from the people of Mexico as to what is really important. The staff at the Holiday Inn were amazing. Thoe hotel is convenient to the local bus, taxi's and walking distance to stores and restaurants. We did not do an all inclusive as we wanted to experience local eating establishments. We did have the breakfast buffet and it was great; always fresh fruit, eggs of some type, cereal, fresh juice, and coffee.
I would go back to the Holiday Inn if I were to visit Puerto Vallarta again. I am more inclined to visit Ixtapa/Zihua again or another smaller destination, not because of anything with the hotel, I just found PV to be considerably more expensive than Ixtapa and definitely more of a tourist feel.

Room Tip: higher the floor less noise from pool area and breath taking views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIAGHIR, Gerente at Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. This is a great comment and I will share with my entire staff.

Thank you for letting us your nice experience. We hope to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Luis Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta

Address: Francisco Medina Ascencio KM 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a wonderful view to Banderas Bay, one of the best beaches in Puerto Vallarta, surrounded by friends who will make your stay unforgettable. We have 220 recently renovated standard rooms, each of them with a wonderful sea-view and a private balcony. It is located just a few minutes away from the airport and downtown, near shopping malls such as Caracol, Peninsula and Galerias Vallarta. Free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Choose between our European or All-Inclusive Plans. In our a la Carte Restaurants, Piaceres, Italian Mediterranean Cuisine, Mariaches, Mexican Cuisine or Guacamaya s Buffet Restaurant, quality in service is our distinguished feature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.