We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort if you don't mind the local college kids crashing in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Francisco Medina Ascencio KM 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a Free Night!
Ranked #74 of 120 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great resort if you don't mind the local college kids crashing in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great food, great weather, beautiful resort, very friendly staff. Very relaxing until Thursday afternoon rolls around and the local college thugs came and took over the resort. There must have been 80 to 100 kids coming in with their coolers full of beer. Jumping into the pool in their street clothes and being totally obnoxious. We had to leave and eat outside of the resort which was money we weren't planning on spending. Beer cans were strewn all over the resort when we arrived back. The staff was very diligent in cleaning them up, but what a mess. I knew what kind of night we'd be in for too and I wasn't wrong. They were up and down the halls at 2:00 a.m. being loud and banging on doors. Our phone also rang 3 times during the night but we were up anyways because of the noise.

So if you don't mind that kind of behaviour at a nice quiet family resort, then I'd recommend The Holliday Inn. If I would have known this was going to happen I'd have booked somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIAGHIR, Gerente at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest:

You are so nice in express your comment in this way, we really appreciate your comment and we remark also that we did every thing possible in avoid the noise caused during this group stay, thank you again and we are doing some implementations in order to act better during those college groups.

Sincerely,

Luis Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    464
    258
    137
    97
See reviews for
381
333
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OAKBANK
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Really nice clean rooms, Holiday Inn style with big screen TV, comfy beds, beautiful view of the ocean, safe in room.

Lots of different food choices at the buffet. The pool was warm and clean, bar open, beach right in your front door. It was hard to get a beach chair for the pool or beach and the hotel was half full.

Nice place for a family, sort of quiet. and a great place if you want to relax. Close to the Malacon walkway and Old PV. Would recommend this hotel as the service was great and the place was immaculate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Had a great time as always,staff was great and always hepful,special thanks going out to the pool bartender Hector he was always on top of things for us. We would also like to say thanks to Hectors dad Jesus and the staff at the itilian restraunt for setting up a wonderful dinner to help us celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We will be back again,thanks megil also for everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIAGHIR, Gerente at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear K & C:

Thank you very much for your nice comment, we are happy to received it, we hope to celebrate the next coming anniversary.

Sincerely,

Luis Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We just arrived home from a week at the Holiday Inn, Puerto Vallarta. Our room was a family room, two double beds and a sofa bed. We had a seperate sitting area with a desk, sofa and chair which led to the large balcony. We were in room 1731. The views were wonderful, panaromic views of the bay, mountains, and city. We saw whales or dolphins from the balcony almost every day. The room was simple, clean, beds were comfortable, minus the sofa bed, and there was always hot water in the shower. I do not understand the inconsistency in some reviews in terms of the cleanlinessof the rooms, ours was very clean.The staff was most gracious, always willing to help, always friendly. I have come to the conclusion that when people complain about the service in Mexico it is more likely the attitude or lack of understanding of the culture by the person complaining. I never came across anyone, including the vendors on the beach, who were not anything but respectful and gracious. What is important to understand is when visiting Mexico we are just that, visitors and we can not hold the people of Mexico to our cultural values. In retrospect we could take some lessons from the people of Mexico as to what is really important. The staff at the Holiday Inn were amazing. Thoe hotel is convenient to the local bus, taxi's and walking distance to stores and restaurants. We did not do an all inclusive as we wanted to experience local eating establishments. We did have the breakfast buffet and it was great; always fresh fruit, eggs of some type, cereal, fresh juice, and coffee.
I would go back to the Holiday Inn if I were to visit Puerto Vallarta again. I am more inclined to visit Ixtapa/Zihua again or another smaller destination, not because of anything with the hotel, I just found PV to be considerably more expensive than Ixtapa and definitely more of a tourist feel.

Room Tip: higher the floor less noise from pool area and breath taking views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIAGHIR, Gerente at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. This is a great comment and I will share with my entire staff.

Thank you for letting us your nice experience. We hope to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Luis Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battleford, sk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

When we arrived at this resort our first impression was good, clean well kept grounds, lobby updated and clean. We were taken up to our room and although we are not much for complaining this room was terrible, the furniture had rips and tears in it, the patio doors would not close and it was very dirty and outdated. We went to the front desk and without hesitation Dalia sent us with a guy to check out 2 other rooms, we settled on a 17th floor room, it was ok, had a great view and was quite a bit cleaner and updated.
Like most of the reviews say, the staff here are outstanding, everyone is super friendly and helpful, no complaints there. There is not a lot of selection however for food, there is 1 buffet and 2 a la cartes, which alternate days so only 1 a la carte open per night. The food is pretty good, always fresh and warm with lots of fruits and veggies but not much selection. Breakfast is great but for the rest of the day we actually went into PV a couple times to eat because we got pretty tired of the same old thing every day here.
This is a fairly quiet resort, however the resort next door has loud music blaring over a muffled speaker system, and at night there is a carnival/midway behind the resort, not sure if its there year round but we had to crank up the fan at night to drown out the noise.
So this resort has its good(staff, location(close to airport, downtown, mall, supermarket), nice beach, clean lobby and facilities), and its bads (outdated rooms, same food all week, loud).
The worst part though about this resort is that the vendors and sales people are RELENTLESS, the salespeople have a booth right at the elevators and also in the lobby, every trip to and from your room you have to pass them and they NEVER quit, I know the vendors are only trying to make a living but there is no restrictions on them here, they pester you when resting on the beach, trying to swim and even while eating at the restaurant.

Room Tip: For $60 per person, we upgraded to a junior suite which gives you a separate living room and bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear HeathandPam,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We are delighted you found our staff highly commendable. We are truly proud of our staff. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for your candid feedback. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Mexican restaurant was delicious but the Italian was not. The activity staff and waiters are amazing, especially gustabo. Great people. The hotel on the other hand is falling apart and needs improvement. No wonder the hotel is dead

Room Tip: Make sure you get a condo. The hotel rooms are discusting
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIAGHIR, Gerente at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments and thanks God we are going in good way to do a nice remodelation in a very close future. Thank you again and see you very soon.

Sincerely,

Luis Rodríguez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed for one week at the Holiday Inn in PV. We arrived around noon and surprisingly got into our rooms. Usually, you can't check into a room until 3:00 or 4:00 or later!! Our first room was on the 18th floor with an air conditioner that did not work. We asked to change rooms and they put us in a larger room with very cold air!! Our room could have been cleaner and some updates would be nice. Like some other readers have said, the maid service had to be requested most days. And we tip!! The ice is hard to find on your own but if you call the desk, they will send some up. The staff at the front desk and in the lobby are very nice and friendly and our requests were answered fairly quickly. If you are looking for inexpensive food, I would say take a walk downtown and dine there. Our breakfast at the airport was cheaper than what we had at the Holiday Inn!! Like many places, it has it's good and bad. If you are expecting ultra fancy with all amenities and full service, this isn't the place for you. If you just want a nice pool, friendly staff, a big beach and fun in the sun, then this hotel will probably be just fine!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear nfrerer,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff and our nice swimming pool. I am sorry for the issues you had with your room accommodations and the service you received was less than satisfactory. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Address: Francisco Medina Ascencio KM 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#74 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a wonderful view to Banderas Bay, one of the best beaches in Puerto Vallarta, surrounded by friends who will make your stay unforgettable. We have 220 recently renovated standard rooms, each of them with a wonderful sea-view and a private balcony. It is located just a few minutes away from the airport and downtown, near shopping malls such as Caracol, Peninsula and Galerias Vallarta. Free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Choose between our European or All-Inclusive Plans. In our a la Carte Restaurants, Piaceres, Italian Mediterranean Cuisine, Mariaches, Mexican Cuisine or Guacamaya s Buffet Restaurant, quality in service is our distinguished feature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.