We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Francisco Medina Ascencio KM 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #71 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Had a great time as always,staff was great and always hepful,special thanks going out to the pool bartender Hector he was always on top of things for us. We would also like to say thanks to Hectors dad Jesus and the staff at the itilian restraunt for setting up a wonderful dinner to help us celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We will be back again,thanks megil also for everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIAGHIR, Gerente at Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear K & C:

Thank you very much for your nice comment, we are happy to received it, we hope to celebrate the next coming anniversary.

Sincerely,

Luis Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    515
    291
    156
    110
See reviews for
435
370
41
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, MN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We just arrived home from a week at the Holiday Inn, Puerto Vallarta. Our room was a family room, two double beds and a sofa bed. We had a seperate sitting area with a desk, sofa and chair which led to the large balcony. We were in room 1731. The views were wonderful, panaromic views of the bay, mountains, and city. We saw whales or dolphins from the balcony almost every day. The room was simple, clean, beds were comfortable, minus the sofa bed, and there was always hot water in the shower. I do not understand the inconsistency in some reviews in terms of the cleanlinessof the rooms, ours was very clean.The staff was most gracious, always willing to help, always friendly. I have come to the conclusion that when people complain about the service in Mexico it is more likely the attitude or lack of understanding of the culture by the person complaining. I never came across anyone, including the vendors on the beach, who were not anything but respectful and gracious. What is important to understand is when visiting Mexico we are just that, visitors and we can not hold the people of Mexico to our cultural values. In retrospect we could take some lessons from the people of Mexico as to what is really important. The staff at the Holiday Inn were amazing. Thoe hotel is convenient to the local bus, taxi's and walking distance to stores and restaurants. We did not do an all inclusive as we wanted to experience local eating establishments. We did have the breakfast buffet and it was great; always fresh fruit, eggs of some type, cereal, fresh juice, and coffee.
I would go back to the Holiday Inn if I were to visit Puerto Vallarta again. I am more inclined to visit Ixtapa/Zihua again or another smaller destination, not because of anything with the hotel, I just found PV to be considerably more expensive than Ixtapa and definitely more of a tourist feel.

Room Tip: higher the floor less noise from pool area and breath taking views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIAGHIR, Gerente at Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. This is a great comment and I will share with my entire staff.

Thank you for letting us your nice experience. We hope to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Luis Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battleford, sk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

When we arrived at this resort our first impression was good, clean well kept grounds, lobby updated and clean. We were taken up to our room and although we are not much for complaining this room was terrible, the furniture had rips and tears in it, the patio doors would not close and it was very dirty and outdated. We went to the front desk and without hesitation Dalia sent us with a guy to check out 2 other rooms, we settled on a 17th floor room, it was ok, had a great view and was quite a bit cleaner and updated.
Like most of the reviews say, the staff here are outstanding, everyone is super friendly and helpful, no complaints there. There is not a lot of selection however for food, there is 1 buffet and 2 a la cartes, which alternate days so only 1 a la carte open per night. The food is pretty good, always fresh and warm with lots of fruits and veggies but not much selection. Breakfast is great but for the rest of the day we actually went into PV a couple times to eat because we got pretty tired of the same old thing every day here.
This is a fairly quiet resort, however the resort next door has loud music blaring over a muffled speaker system, and at night there is a carnival/midway behind the resort, not sure if its there year round but we had to crank up the fan at night to drown out the noise.
So this resort has its good(staff, location(close to airport, downtown, mall, supermarket), nice beach, clean lobby and facilities), and its bads (outdated rooms, same food all week, loud).
The worst part though about this resort is that the vendors and sales people are RELENTLESS, the salespeople have a booth right at the elevators and also in the lobby, every trip to and from your room you have to pass them and they NEVER quit, I know the vendors are only trying to make a living but there is no restrictions on them here, they pester you when resting on the beach, trying to swim and even while eating at the restaurant.

Room Tip: For $60 per person, we upgraded to a junior suite which gives you a separate living room and bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear HeathandPam,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We are delighted you found our staff highly commendable. We are truly proud of our staff. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for your candid feedback. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Mexican restaurant was delicious but the Italian was not. The activity staff and waiters are amazing, especially gustabo. Great people. The hotel on the other hand is falling apart and needs improvement. No wonder the hotel is dead

Room Tip: Make sure you get a condo. The hotel rooms are discusting
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIAGHIR, Gerente at Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments and thanks God we are going in good way to do a nice remodelation in a very close future. Thank you again and see you very soon.

Sincerely,

Luis Rodríguez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed for one week at the Holiday Inn in PV. We arrived around noon and surprisingly got into our rooms. Usually, you can't check into a room until 3:00 or 4:00 or later!! Our first room was on the 18th floor with an air conditioner that did not work. We asked to change rooms and they put us in a larger room with very cold air!! Our room could have been cleaner and some updates would be nice. Like some other readers have said, the maid service had to be requested most days. And we tip!! The ice is hard to find on your own but if you call the desk, they will send some up. The staff at the front desk and in the lobby are very nice and friendly and our requests were answered fairly quickly. If you are looking for inexpensive food, I would say take a walk downtown and dine there. Our breakfast at the airport was cheaper than what we had at the Holiday Inn!! Like many places, it has it's good and bad. If you are expecting ultra fancy with all amenities and full service, this isn't the place for you. If you just want a nice pool, friendly staff, a big beach and fun in the sun, then this hotel will probably be just fine!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear nfrerer,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff and our nice swimming pool. I am sorry for the issues you had with your room accommodations and the service you received was less than satisfactory. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our rooms were not ready when we arrived; every day, they were very slow cleaning the rooms. The food in the resort restaurant was horrible to say the least; the same food every day and a lot of pre-packaged items. Forget cream for the coffee, learn to live with CoffeeMate and be prepared for fried wieners disguised as "pork sausage" and processed, frozen hamburger patties. The Italian restaurant on site was very good but give the Mexican restaurant a pass. The resort is flooded with locals who clearly do not like us Canadians or Americans "intruding" and yes, the "save a chair by the pool" abounds. Some of the chairs sat empty most of the day which was unfair to the paying guests. Signage states the items will be removed w/i 30 minutes but that never happened. Poolside very noisy with some DJ guy and loud music; the pool bar was empty most of the time and the bars have short service hours. Service was great as long as you kept tipping so the "all-inclusive" is a misnomer. The TV is pretty much all in Spanish, no English channels available. This resort does not cater to Canadian/American guests. I feel ripped-off and won't return to this hotel; Holiday Inn should be ashamed of putting their name on this place.

Room Tip: Our room on the top (9th) floor faced the pool and offered a good view of the ocean and the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Trilby K,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

First of all, this hotel, despite the white and green decor and name, has nothing to do with the chain.
The nicest word to describe the decor in the halls is "shabby".
The staff was very nice, and we did have a great room with a great view.
However, the food was awful. The first couple of meals I had there I ordered off the a la carte, which, of course, costs extra. After that I only ate there when I had to. I paid for an all inclusive which means that I paid twice for every meal I ate outside of the hotel. I would never go back there again and I would advise everyone else to avoid this place like "poison".

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear MexicoFanatic,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am glad that you found the staff nice and enjoyed the view from your room. On the other hand, I am truly sorry to hear that the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta

Address: Francisco Medina Ascencio KM 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a wonderful view to Banderas Bay, one of the best beaches in Puerto Vallarta, surrounded by friends who will make your stay unforgettable. We have 220 recently renovated standard rooms, each of them with a wonderful sea-view and a private balcony. It is located just a few minutes away from the airport and downtown, near shopping malls such as Caracol, Peninsula and Galerias Vallarta. Free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Choose between our European or All-Inclusive Plans. In our a la Carte Restaurants, Piaceres, Italian Mediterranean Cuisine, Mariaches, Mexican Cuisine or Guacamaya s Buffet Restaurant, quality in service is our distinguished feature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.