We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Servers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Francisco Medina Ascencio KM 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #72 of 121 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
London, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Servers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Waiters Roberto Lagnna and Elmer Rodrivez made the dinning expierence a treat. They took care of our needs and the added humour was a bonus. Well done fellows. The hotel is one of the best for the money. There are so many other people at this hotel always make it a reason why we have returned 14 years in a row.

Room Tip: 630 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    492
    271
    150
    104
See reviews for
417
348
37
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

all of the staff was good but i enjoyed the activities staff the best. they were very friendly and ptu a smile on everybodys face when they were running they activities. l thankyou to pakoo; suga ,fredy and suyuri. you uys made my vacation ten times better all miss you all very much!!!!!!!!!!!
special thanks to pakoo for being a great volly ball teamate :) !!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Maine
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Get ready because this will be a long one. Just scroll down to what interests you.

Rooms: The rooms are very comfortable but a bit understated. If you can work a way to get a room at the corner of the hotel wing you will get a balcony facing the ocean or the pool/garden which gives you a great cross breeze at night. Odd number rooms face the pool and even numbers to the garden but if you go out on the balcony of any room you will see the ocean. We kept our slider door open to the outside every night and loved hearing the surf. The best white noise ever to sleep to. You do not have to tip your housekeeper but for $5 up front and $5 at the end of the week we got fantastic service, fresh bottles of water and even some towel swans. The mini-Fridge in the room we had was useless but we did not care as how much can you really drink after you have drank all day. Coffee pot in the room was a great way to start the day as we watched the sun rise and the whales jump out of the water.

Pool: Comfortable and relaxing is what I have to say. The Island Bar creates a wonderful swim circle and then there is the swim-up bar to one side. Yes, you need to get down and claim a spot in the morning, and the condo people make it challenging, but as long as you are not out at the clubs till 3am you should be able to get a good choice of location if you are down by 9am.

Pool Service: Wow! Enrique and Miguel did a great job of making sure that we had the drinks we wanted. Sure we tipped them but wouldn't you do this for good service. Lets face it, if you can afford all-inclusive then a $10-20 tip for a week is a bargain. A great suggestion is to pack your own thermal mug as they will make and server your drinks in them rather than the plastic glasses they server drinks in.

Cleanliness: The are constantly working to keep the place in "Disney Clean" level. In the the public areas there is someone there to clean-up a spilled drink or errant cigarette butt almost before you can notice it. Every night they methodically clean the pool area to make sure it is ready for the next day. The only down side is that they power wash the pool deck and furniture every week which means that from 8pm - 10pm there is a lot of noise to put up with.

Food: The buffet restaurant was enjoyable and the choices changed daily. I think there is something available for everyones taste. At breakfast you have to ask the Omlet/Pancake/Waffle station for Bacon. The two ala-carte restaurants are Italian and Mexican. The Italian restaurant was fantastic and had great service. Can not say the same for the Mexican restaurant which believe it or not was terrible. How can that be when you are in Mexico? The Pinocchio snack shack is ok and if all you need is a hotdog or hamburger but don't bother with the nachos. Don't miss the weekly Mexican Fiesta on Friday. The food is fantastic and the entertainment was fun.

Lobby/Lobby Bar: Everyone we met was helpful and friendly. We only really used the Lobby Bar for times when the rest of the bars were closed. Again the staff was great. We did not participate in the evening entertainment as it really seemed a bit cheesy. Service for restaurant reservation and taxi service was attentive and prompt.

Beach: If you want to go down to the beach where there are great areas to sit you have to be ready for the vendors. They are persitent but friendly. I went sailing one day for $50 and actually go to sail the HobieCat. Walks on the beach are great exercise and you can walk either direction for at least half and hour which is a nice way to work off the food and drink.

Shops in the hotel are basic but the silver shop was a real treat. They really went out of their way to make the piece we bought fit what we needed.

Overall Impression: Older property that is well maintained. Can't beat the location and they really do a great job of making you comfortable. Nice not to have the Condo spiel forced on you at ervery turn.

Other: Take the blue bus into town for 65 pesos (~50 cents) as it is an adventure and a great way to see how the people live. The Malecon is a neat place to see with its statues, sand art and rock art. $1 Margaritas and Beers at the tourist bars looking at the water can't be beat.

Room Tip: Odd rooms face the pool. The rooms on each floor that have a 29 or 30 in them are corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I had a great time at the Holiday Inn....do not get me wrong, was the food excellant...no....was it good...yes...and for the value, how could you go wrong..what made the trip was the staff, hotel, restaurant, bar and activities staff made this a place to come back to...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This seems to be a good hotel with a very good location on the beach. I enjoyed the view from our 4th floor room very much but we could not sit on the balcony due to the noise from the huge (airconditioning?) fans located at the side of the building...and the noise made sleeping quite difficult as well.

The hotel is within walking distance to a mall (for groceries...Soriana). We didn't eat at the resort so cannot comment on the food. The few drinks I had were OK (basic)...attentive staff on the beach area offering drink service. The resort staff members are friendly and they offer yoga/pool aerobics/beach volleyball/bingo/black jack/etc., had a good experience with that.

Seems to be a good place for families as they offer activities for children (game room) and there is a child's pool too with a slide.

Yes, I think I would stay here again and would recommend the resort to other vacationers. Was not keen on the time share experience though (was a sour note in my vacation).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We rented a condo and stayed three months at the Sea River Tower and got a great deal . We cooked when we wanted and went out to many of the great restaurants in the town. The activities staff (Paco, Sugar, Sayuri and Freddy ) are great entertainers and hosts. The whole resort is very clean and family friendly. The beach is fantastic and the heated pool is awesome. Dolphins and whales are seen often feeding in the Banderas Bay. Go HARD or just RELAX in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: If you plan to stay more than two weeks I would suggest you rent one of the condos in the Sea River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our 4th time staying here. The staff are amazing! We are welcomed every time with open arms and genuine feeling from our new extended family. All the staff are terriffic and remember you by name when you return. Everyone has their favourite and mine is my friend Miquel he is the absolute best wether he is working the bar, the beach or the restraunt, he is warm and friendly and makes you feel at home. All the rooms have a great view but the junior suites are the best giving you a full view of the beautiful Bay of Banderas and downtown. This is not the Riu but it is spotless and very comfortable. The food is very good but i found this time that management has real scaled back the buffet. Desserts beside jello were hard to come by and the variety was not as good as past visits.
The management has also taken some hard lines with the local sellers on the beach and this is disappointing to me as we have made made many friends there as well and i really hate to see ropes and security guards chasing them away. I know many tourists do not want to be bothered all the time by the sellers but people "ITS MEXICO" this is their culture and how they make a living! These are good hard working people and even if you dont want to buy anything you dont have to be rude to them. Take the time to talk with them and get to know them and find out what truly special people they are! Eddy (tour star) and Fransisco (Vallarta Adventures) will make sure you have a great time on tours at an affordable price, and YES it is safe to book tours with them if anything they work harder to make sure you are looked after. Sam and Paco (my son inlaws lol) will entertain you always leaving you with a smile on your face. Lucy and Mary will also grant you great company while selling their jewelry. Again you dont have to buy from them to show them the respect they deserve. Im sure the other hotels are wonderful too but i return to Holiday Inn purely because of the staff they now say welcome home when we visit :).

Room Tip: Junior suites have amazing views! You cans sit on your balcony and watch the dolphins and whales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Address: Francisco Medina Ascencio KM 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a wonderful view to Banderas Bay, one of the best beaches in Puerto Vallarta, surrounded by friends who will make your stay unforgettable. We have 220 recently renovated standard rooms, each of them with a wonderful sea-view and a private balcony. It is located just a few minutes away from the airport and downtown, near shopping malls such as Caracol, Peninsula and Galerias Vallarta. Free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Choose between our European or All-Inclusive Plans. In our a la Carte Restaurants, Piaceres, Italian Mediterranean Cuisine, Mariaches, Mexican Cuisine or Guacamaya s Buffet Restaurant, quality in service is our distinguished feature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.