We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic staff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kids Stay Free!
Ranked #78 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic staff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

all of the staff was good but i enjoyed the activities staff the best. they were very friendly and ptu a smile on everybodys face when they were running they activities. l thankyou to pakoo; suga ,fredy and suyuri. you uys made my vacation ten times better all miss you all very much!!!!!!!!!!!
special thanks to pakoo for being a great volly ball teamate :) !!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Smithfield, Maine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Get ready because this will be a long one. Just scroll down to what interests you.

Rooms: The rooms are very comfortable but a bit understated. If you can work a way to get a room at the corner of the hotel wing you will get a balcony facing the ocean or the pool/garden which gives you a great cross breeze at night. Odd number rooms face the pool and even numbers to the garden but if you go out on the balcony of any room you will see the ocean. We kept our slider door open to the outside every night and loved hearing the surf. The best white noise ever to sleep to. You do not have to tip your housekeeper but for $5 up front and $5 at the end of the week we got fantastic service, fresh bottles of water and even some towel swans. The mini-Fridge in the room we had was useless but we did not care as how much can you really drink after you have drank all day. Coffee pot in the room was a great way to start the day as we watched the sun rise and the whales jump out of the water.

Pool: Comfortable and relaxing is what I have to say. The Island Bar creates a wonderful swim circle and then there is the swim-up bar to one side. Yes, you need to get down and claim a spot in the morning, and the condo people make it challenging, but as long as you are not out at the clubs till 3am you should be able to get a good choice of location if you are down by 9am.

Pool Service: Wow! Enrique and Miguel did a great job of making sure that we had the drinks we wanted. Sure we tipped them but wouldn't you do this for good service. Lets face it, if you can afford all-inclusive then a $10-20 tip for a week is a bargain. A great suggestion is to pack your own thermal mug as they will make and server your drinks in them rather than the plastic glasses they server drinks in.

Cleanliness: The are constantly working to keep the place in "Disney Clean" level. In the the public areas there is someone there to clean-up a spilled drink or errant cigarette butt almost before you can notice it. Every night they methodically clean the pool area to make sure it is ready for the next day. The only down side is that they power wash the pool deck and furniture every week which means that from 8pm - 10pm there is a lot of noise to put up with.

Food: The buffet restaurant was enjoyable and the choices changed daily. I think there is something available for everyones taste. At breakfast you have to ask the Omlet/Pancake/Waffle station for Bacon. The two ala-carte restaurants are Italian and Mexican. The Italian restaurant was fantastic and had great service. Can not say the same for the Mexican restaurant which believe it or not was terrible. How can that be when you are in Mexico? The Pinocchio snack shack is ok and if all you need is a hotdog or hamburger but don't bother with the nachos. Don't miss the weekly Mexican Fiesta on Friday. The food is fantastic and the entertainment was fun.

Lobby/Lobby Bar: Everyone we met was helpful and friendly. We only really used the Lobby Bar for times when the rest of the bars were closed. Again the staff was great. We did not participate in the evening entertainment as it really seemed a bit cheesy. Service for restaurant reservation and taxi service was attentive and prompt.

Beach: If you want to go down to the beach where there are great areas to sit you have to be ready for the vendors. They are persitent but friendly. I went sailing one day for $50 and actually go to sail the HobieCat. Walks on the beach are great exercise and you can walk either direction for at least half and hour which is a nice way to work off the food and drink.

Shops in the hotel are basic but the silver shop was a real treat. They really went out of their way to make the piece we bought fit what we needed.

Overall Impression: Older property that is well maintained. Can't beat the location and they really do a great job of making you comfortable. Nice not to have the Condo spiel forced on you at ervery turn.

Other: Take the blue bus into town for 65 pesos (~50 cents) as it is an adventure and a great way to see how the people live. The Malecon is a neat place to see with its statues, sand art and rock art. $1 Margaritas and Beers at the tourist bars looking at the water can't be beat.

Room Tip: Odd rooms face the pool. The rooms on each floor that have a 29 or 30 in them are corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I had a great time at the Holiday Inn....do not get me wrong, was the food excellant...no....was it good...yes...and for the value, how could you go wrong..what made the trip was the staff, hotel, restaurant, bar and activities staff made this a place to come back to...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This seems to be a good hotel with a very good location on the beach. I enjoyed the view from our 4th floor room very much but we could not sit on the balcony due to the noise from the huge (airconditioning?) fans located at the side of the building...and the noise made sleeping quite difficult as well.

The hotel is within walking distance to a mall (for groceries...Soriana). We didn't eat at the resort so cannot comment on the food. The few drinks I had were OK (basic)...attentive staff on the beach area offering drink service. The resort staff members are friendly and they offer yoga/pool aerobics/beach volleyball/bingo/black jack/etc., had a good experience with that.

Seems to be a good place for families as they offer activities for children (game room) and there is a child's pool too with a slide.

Yes, I think I would stay here again and would recommend the resort to other vacationers. Was not keen on the time share experience though (was a sour note in my vacation).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2013Mexicovisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We rented a condo and stayed three months at the Sea River Tower and got a great deal . We cooked when we wanted and went out to many of the great restaurants in the town. The activities staff (Paco, Sugar, Sayuri and Freddy ) are great entertainers and hosts. The whole resort is very clean and family friendly. The beach is fantastic and the heated pool is awesome. Dolphins and whales are seen often feeding in the Banderas Bay. Go HARD or just RELAX in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: If you plan to stay more than two weeks I would suggest you rent one of the condos in the Sea River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casablueagave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our 4th time staying here. The staff are amazing! We are welcomed every time with open arms and genuine feeling from our new extended family. All the staff are terriffic and remember you by name when you return. Everyone has their favourite and mine is my friend Miquel he is the absolute best wether he is working the bar, the beach or the restraunt, he is warm and friendly and makes you feel at home. All the rooms have a great view but the junior suites are the best giving you a full view of the beautiful Bay of Banderas and downtown. This is not the Riu but it is spotless and very comfortable. The food is very good but i found this time that management has real scaled back the buffet. Desserts beside jello were hard to come by and the variety was not as good as past visits.
The management has also taken some hard lines with the local sellers on the beach and this is disappointing to me as we have made made many friends there as well and i really hate to see ropes and security guards chasing them away. I know many tourists do not want to be bothered all the time by the sellers but people "ITS MEXICO" this is their culture and how they make a living! These are good hard working people and even if you dont want to buy anything you dont have to be rude to them. Take the time to talk with them and get to know them and find out what truly special people they are! Eddy (tour star) and Fransisco (Vallarta Adventures) will make sure you have a great time on tours at an affordable price, and YES it is safe to book tours with them if anything they work harder to make sure you are looked after. Sam and Paco (my son inlaws lol) will entertain you always leaving you with a smile on your face. Lucy and Mary will also grant you great company while selling their jewelry. Again you dont have to buy from them to show them the respect they deserve. Im sure the other hotels are wonderful too but i return to Holiday Inn purely because of the staff they now say welcome home when we visit :).

Room Tip: Junior suites have amazing views! You cans sit on your balcony and watch the dolphins and whales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just returned from staying in a condo affiliated with this Holiday Inn! We had a wonderful time, the pool is massive and you can tell that the staff keep it in good shape even though the resort is clearly on the older side. The staff were fantastic, Hector being an awesome bartender/waiter always willing to chat and make sure your day was going well! I have to say that we really didnt encounter a bad or mean staff member. Like other reviews I would also say the food was hit or miss, although decent variety. I do have to say that the rules for attending the restaurants is a bit much (must have pants and shoes FYI) not that this is unreasonable but there were several instances where I was wearing a nice pair of shorts and a polo, not allowed in, but some guys in a undershirt and ripped jeans were...this doesnt translate to the more formal atmosphere they are trying to encourage. Again this is just something that I will learn from next time I stay and have no reservations about encouraging it to others. I also believe the location is great because you are 10mins at most from airport and same distance from DT, which makes for an easy $5 taxi(flat rate) or 6 peso (50 cent) bus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#17 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel Spa & Beach Club
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel Spa ...
#56 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Puerto Vallarta
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Puerto ...
#68 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#8 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#33 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Tules Resort
Los Tules Resort
#59 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio Km. 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Banderas Bay on a long stretch of golden sand beach, sits the oceanfront Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa. With the stunning Sierra Madre Mountains in the background, and only 10 minutes from the Puerto Vallarta International Airport and the world famous Malecón in Old Town Vallarta, Sunscape Puerto Vallarta has an ideal location in the Hotel Zone where guests will find an array of activities, shopping, nightlife and fine cuisine just minutes away. 320 guestrooms and suites feature a private furnished balcony with stunning views of the bay, a mini-bar, air conditioning and a flat screen TV. Sunscape Puerto Vallarta treats families, couples and singles to an Unlimited-Fun(R) getaway where everything isincluded. Take advantage of the Explorer's Club for Kids, ages 3- 12, offers daily supervised land and water activities, live music and local entertainment, reservation free dining options, bars serving international and domestic brand beverages and much more! And Sunscape's family friendly approach to vacations will also include a kid's check-in experience with red carpet stairs, welcome treats and resort passports for kids, connecting rooms a Core Zone Teens Club for ages 13 to 17 and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing