We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent stay at Holida Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Francisco Medina Ascencio KM 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #70 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Swift Current
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Exellent stay at Holida Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Reading some of the reviews confirm the saying "Someone would complain if the ice cream was cold" this was our 9th time at the Holiday Inn and booking a return next year. There was a minor mixup on the room on arrival. The staff bent backwards to correct it. The rest of the stay was exellent including the location, the service provided by all the staff, be it bar, restaurants, pool, vendors in the beach would leave you alone if asked, and the idea of some did not speak good english is not warranted after all we are in their country. Maybe we should be tolerant and try speaking a little Spanish.
Thank you Holiday Inn for an other perfect holidays.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    503
    277
    151
    108
See reviews for
427
355
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is our 7th year staying at the Holiday Inn--6th year staying in a Sea River Tower condo. We like this area of Puerto Vallarta very much. We arrange our stay with Cherie Verber @ Very Vallarta.

This year we stayed in #1537--what a great view is had by any rooms located on the 12th floor to the 18th floor. We do not do the all inclusive--so we grocery shop at Sariano, Wal-Mart or Sam's Club during our two week stay. Because this condo is owned by an individual, you do not go to the front desk for help. There is another office, located in lower level, behind front desk area, that you go to with questions and/or problems. They are very helpful! This condo had 2 small queen beds, a nice living area and kitchen. The one problem in this kitchen--you don't get hot water most of the time. The full size refrigerator, microwave, stove top and toaster oven where used for many meals during our visit. Maid service, on this unit, is done weekly. The patio is wonderful to enjoy the early morning sun and the gorgeous sunsets!! We would sit on the deck in the morning, enjoy our breakfast and quite often, watch the whales swim out to the ocean! Yes, you will see whales, manta rays and dolphins from your patio as well as on the beach!

As for the rest of the Holiday Inn--as a condo resident, you have full access to all of the hotel facilities. You will get a 15% card when you check in that can be used for food & drink sold on site. We generally do not go to any of the hotel restaurants --we choose to enjoy all of the many places to eat on the Malecon or around the town of Puerto Vallarta. Although, many friends do and have had good reviews of what is offered. As for the beach--if you want to avoid the vendors--do not sit on the beach! They are all very friendly and will not bother you if you ignore them. The beach is big and great for walking. You can either relax all day or partake in the many events that the Hospitality crew has going on all day long. I like the water aerobics class that is held at noon every day. There is also a workout center--had some new equipment this year--you need a room card to enter--Unit #1537 uses a key--so we could only get into the workout area if someone else was inside. You can go to front desk for assistance.

The Holiday Inn is a little older--but very clean & friendly and has very good employees. I would not recommend exchanging your American/Canadian money for pesos here--low rates. Go out the hotel and head left on the main street to Peninsula Center and there are two banks--use the ATM--best rates. I also went to the Scotia Bank--brought my passport--and got money from my credit card!

Room Tip: worth the extra money to reserve a condo over a hotel room. Stay on floors 12-18 for the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We just returned from a 2-week stay at Holiday Inn, Puerta Vallarta, Mexico. Even though the hotel is getting older, it is still kept immaculate. The rooms are good, and the staff are excellent. They are all so friendly, capable, and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. We were especially adopted by little Enrique at the Pool bars. He not only served us well, but he was also a friend. The pool is awesome, with lots of room to get around, or just stand and visit with a drink in hand. We were, however, disappointed in the food in the Buffet restaurant, and the one meal we had in the Italian a la carte. Other than hamburgers cooked in the snak shack by the pool, meat was almost non existent in most of the buffet dishes. There were a couple of good fish dishes, and some chicken pieces, but otherwise, there were no roasts, whole carved turkeys, etc. like we have had other years. Everything seemed to be like casseroles, or pasta or rice dishes, and usually in some kind of sauce. The only good desserts were on Friday Fiesta nights, when filled donuts, special fruit dishes, and rice pudding was offered. On all other days, the same things were presented: either jello chunks, or some kind of squares that all tasted the same, bland marshmallowy stuff on a shortbread base. I realize we were holidaying in Mexico, but the tourists also help to keep the hotels open, and offering more than Mexican style cuisine should be a priority to keep the tourists returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

So I waited to write this review, because I hate being so negative and wanted to give this resort a chance to redeem itself (which it didnt). My sisters and friends surprised me with a Bachlorette trip to Puerto Vallarta for 5 days. All of the girls are in their mid to lates 20's and none of us drink, so we were a pretty calm and easy going bunch. Trouble began with our check in. We were four girls and the original room we booked with an awesome view and double bed did not exist! Are you serious? They said they could only offer a king with a great view or a double room without a view. We opted for the view and asked to have an extra roll out cot put in the room. Room was beautiful, however when cot was rolled in they brought it without any sheets, blankets, or pillows. I called the front desk and they promised to bring some up soon. We went out for a few hrs and low and behold no sheets. Had to call two more times before going downstairs and getting it myself. Ill just bullet point the rest of our occurrences otherwise im going to end up typing a book!
-There was a NEEDLE in our toliet paper. Looked like housekeeping stuck it there to hold it down? Anyways almost pricked myself on it.
-Internet codes never worked. We had 6 devices and not a single one of us could connect. We complained several times but never got any help.
-Staff was obnoxious. We had to wear bracelets bc we were on the resort which was fine but they kept stopping me and my gfs to see our bracelets. This happened at least 20 times (I swear no exaggerations). I wouldnt mind since they r doing their jobs however, the gentlemen knew who we were (I wore a hot pink sash the entire time) and even grinned several times after asking.
-No lights near the hot tubs after dark
-Cant relax on the beach without having vendors constantly asking you to buy something
-Never had fresh towels. Always had to stop housekeeping in the hallways for some.
-Any recommendations from the staff were because of personal ties to restaurants. They would hand you cards to overpriced restaurants in the area and never gave information about the local places or boardwalk when asked.

So much more, but Ill spare. I would have had a terrible trip had it not been for the amazing tour group that I spent most of my days with (Vallarta Adventures). Truly upset and will never use another holiday inn. A true shame bc my sister and I are huge travelers and only used holiday inn previously. Never Again.
-

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear LiliSh_12,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room view.

However, We’re sorry you received service form housekeeping and for the poor customer service from the rest of our staff which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was my 3rd time back at the Holiday inn. check in was a breeze and so was check out.
If you are 50 years old and older this is for you! the rooms are clean and towels are always fresh maids do a fantasic job. The pool is huge and warm location is Key with the bus stop out in the front and anything thing is in walking distance. The food was brutal....we ate there once and found food else where. the staff is great and always will smile and say hola and laugh and chat with you. The entertaiment during the day is lame not even sure why they pay these kids to jump around and do the same thing everyday.
like i said if you are 50 and older this is your paradise!!! its like a huge senior center....

if you choose to have a spa treatment in the hotel expect to sit there while they all speak spanish to one another and have no interaction with you at all AWKWARD!

Room Tip: 124 is on the ground shade in the afternoon and very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear mysteria81

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel as your preferred accommodation and for taking the time to share your comments online. I am glad that you were satisfied with the level of service provided by our staff.

Whilst I am pleased with your nice comments, I would like to apologize for the shortcomings you had and for any inconvenience you have encountered during your stay.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Rest assured that your comments will be used to reconsider improvements. We look forward to being of service to you again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have gone back year after year and while I would say it's a 3 to 31/2 star hotel we just love it there. This year was better than ever even though a lot of people were complaining. I thought the food was better than usual, and there was, due to fewer guests, no line ups and always places to lie in the sun. The waiters were always friendly and while we would tip, they didn't seem to discriminate against those who didn't. The only thing I missed was the early morning coffee that has been discontinued, probably because people were claiming beach chairs too early and then not using them. We had a great time. We missed some people from other years, but met new ones. And waiters Enrique and Miguel and lifestyle people Paco, Tanya and Sugar Ray were always enthusiastic. Costco and Starbucks are within short walking distance, longer being the Casino and Walmart and Mallecon, downtown. And all the buses go right by out front. See you next year!

Room Tip: The higher numbers are better starting about 17. 29 on each floor has two balconies with the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
2 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just returned from another fantastic vacation at the Holiday Inn in Puerto Vallarta. We have been visiting Puerto Vallarta for the past ten years and have stayed at many other hotels in the hotel zone. On our last three trips, though, we stayed at the Holiday Inn and now wouldn't consider staying anyplace else. The rooms are large and immaculate with stunning views of the ocean. Everyone who works there is always pleasant and friendly from the front desk personnel to the waiters, housekeepers, management and concierge. There is a beautiful beach with a sufficient number of lounge chairs and palapas, and the pool is very large. The locaton is perfect with the bus to el centro right in front of the hotel as well as other shopping a few blocks away. We can't wait to return!
Thanks Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta for another perfect vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Address: Francisco Medina Ascencio KM 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a wonderful view to Banderas Bay, one of the best beaches in Puerto Vallarta, surrounded by friends who will make your stay unforgettable. We have 220 recently renovated standard rooms, each of them with a wonderful sea-view and a private balcony. It is located just a few minutes away from the airport and downtown, near shopping malls such as Caracol, Peninsula and Galerias Vallarta. Free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Choose between our European or All-Inclusive Plans. In our a la Carte Restaurants, Piaceres, Italian Mediterranean Cuisine, Mariaches, Mexican Cuisine or Guacamaya s Buffet Restaurant, quality in service is our distinguished feature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.