We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Francisco Medina Ascencio KM 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #70 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“ok for price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at this resort as a repeat guest and a priorty club member Jan. 7-14th.

Just so you know you get no upgrades for a repeat guest or a priorty member.

We met a couple after 20 yrs. going there and celebrating there 50th wedding annv. they got nothing extra (not even a upgrade, plus a couple who had there honeymoon there and went back for there 1st annv and got nothing).
Now the resort was clean, service was very good.
Breakfast was good, lunch was ok, dinner was so so.

Location was great.

Rooms were clean and average.

To our knowledge most rooms had adjoining doors, which made it very unsoundproof, we heard things we didn't need to hear LOL.

Housekeeping was very good.
Bathrooms were very tiny (not sure what you could do to improve).

Pillows were awful, bed ok.

Drinks were of poor qaulity unless you wanted to pay for premium.

Snack hut wasn't open during the week but opened up for the weekend.

Snacks should be provided at lobby bar which are not.
Entertainment could be improved.

Pool was not heated during the week but was for the weekend. (very cold)

Beach not the greatest.

Day time manager IMO was very rude.

If you get this property for a cheap price it is ok.

Room Tip: if you don't see bacon at breakfast, just ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear BonnieOntario,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our housekeeping.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service, drink selection, pillow and the pool. We will address these points. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    503
    277
    151
    108
See reviews for
427
355
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Next time I will rent from the facility itself. Rented from a condo owner and it wasn't really that nice and the floors were dirty even after they cleaned and the extra blanket they had for my son to use stunk so bad we couldn't use it and had to use the mattress cover as a blanket. Liked everything about the place and the workers and the food at the restaurant. The only thing I didn't like was when I asked the front desk about a place to drop off my laundry that I had heard of for about $6 and she said they do that but wouldn't give me a clear price. Said she could send up a price list but I had to leave so just left the laundry after trying to confirm with her the $6 price. Anyway was shocked to find the 1-2 loads of laundry I left was $75. I finally talked them down to half price but still, geez. They said I couldn't find a place to do it for $6 but confirmed with a friend that lives in PV that he does it all the time and that, that wasn't true. Other than that incident I loved everything else and would come back but would stay in a different condo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Loved the hotel and the workers. Elmer our server was always content and attentive. The entertainers Paco, Freddy and Sugar Ray were absolutely phenomenal organizing different activities and sports and were making everybody's experience at the hotel worthwhile. They truly were energetic. The beach was beautiful and sandy and deep, but I wouldn't suggest going I far with little kids. The pool was huge and well situated. The only thing I wish was better would be to have more food variety, and to have expresso coffee, but other than that I loved my stay!!! Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our Stay - - January 4-11, 2013

The Holiday Inn is an older property that is located on a very nice part of the beach. While the rooms are showing their age and repairs, we had a very good stay! We stayed in a room overlooking the pool area and had a partial view of the beach.

This affordable hotel is an all inclusive and while some reviews bash the quality of the food, we found it to be very good and plentiful. If you want 5 Michelin star quality food, this isn't it! But we never had a meal at the buffet that we couldn't find something good to eat.

The only downside was the really spotty wireless internet. But, we were on vacation!

The hotel staff is very, very good! They are friendly, efficient and are happy to give advice, directions or just chat. We really enjoyed the staff!

The beach has a lot of vendors who were polite and funny and were never pushy.

We did some great whale watching with Alberto, the captain of a small boat who took my wife and I out for 2 hours of whale watching and 1 hour of snorkeling at The Arches for only $50 each! He speaks very good English and had a real knack for finding the whales and following them. Other boats followed his lead as to where the whales would pop up next! (So much so that when we headed for the Arches, two boats followed us thinking we were still following the whales!) Alberto also does fishing charters. You supply your own water and food, if you wish, and either bring your own snorkeling equipment or he will provide it for you.

The Holiday Inn is a cheap cab ride into the downtown area or to other shopping.

All in all, a really good stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, AB Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Ok, i know we dont go south to stay in the hotel room. this hotel was rated a 4 * but realistically shoul be a 3. bedroom and beds were ok, bathroom, tub and toilet which was pissing water everytime we flush was quite discusting and desperatly in needs of reno. lobby was ok and rms were actually done late in the day and sometimes every other day??? resort was i think what is rated 4* which is ok but not great. resto and services and staffs were very good. it is a small resort but enough for our needs.

Room Tip: ask to see the room before. some rms were decent and the ones facing the pool as well as the downtow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Habsolutly,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room and bed.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the bathroom condition. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were unexpectedly in PV for 2 nights and decided that Holiday Inn would be more comfortable than some of the other hotels closer to old town. (Mainly we were looking for decent beds) This Holiday Inn is older, and needs repair in several areas; but the beds were comfortable and the shower was good. All in all, we were very satisfied with the property itself, nice views and accommodating staff.
This is a resort that caters to Americans and Canadians who want the "Mexico experience" without venturing too far into Mexico. Seemed to be great for families and retirees looking for sun and fun things to do. The breakfast food is bland, to appeal to most of their customers. The typical Mexican dishes were ok, but not very exciting aside from the fresh quesadillas being made with huitlacoche or chorizo or squash blossoms. There are lots of non-Mexican dishes offered: pancakes, french toast, sausage, bacon, and ham, fried potatoes, etc.
The pools on this property are gorgeous and huge, with a special kid's pool with a small water slide. The staff also offer several different activities through the day to help keep everyone busy.
If I ever have to spend time in PV again, I would probably choose this hotel based on price and comfort.

Room Tip: The "sea view" rooms are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Lori H,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our bed and the swimming pool.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the property condition and the breakfast selection. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

upon arriving i being to mexico 20 plus times i excepted to wait during our check in they just don,t hurry to get you checked into your rooms but not here we were checked in in about 5 mins and up to our room in know time
in the room it was a great site room # 630 had double balconys it was and end room king size bed and clean but dated the one thing that was bad is they painted the tub and it was all chipped and looked real bad but for us this is mexico so we kept the room due to the balconys
maid service great couldn,t asked for more we tipped $5.00 dollars a day which is high in mexico but the room was cleaned early everyday maid service was great

NOW on new years eve they had a party that even though you paid all inclusive it wasn,t included ok fine but they shut everything down and if you wanted something to eat drink you had to get room service the catch they charge you also if you wanted shot they charged you if you wanted can beer they charged you this isnt good when you paid for all incluvise which you didn,t get

now the fun part we booked though apple vacations and per our plan we were suppose to received and $100.00 credit towards permium drinks so we i told them at the for desk they blue me off the manager didn,t care he told us to go see our apple agent no problem so the 10 days we were there the apple rep never looked us up we looked for him but if you need to speak to him you had to make and appointment well let me tell you when i,m on vacation i don,t make appointments they should be kissing my #### for the business so the only thing we received from apple was the ride from the airport we had to take a cab back on our own which was fine you won,t see me anymore apple vacations

before i get to the food i have to tell you that the people that work in the restruartants were super one guy name miquill was and ace he met us the second day there and new us by name everyday breakfast was great with his service they all work hard and do a great job

now the food SUCKS SUCKS but you could always find something to eat but we know mexicos hotel food sucks so we go out to dinner every night which is the best all in all if they had more front desk help and switched the foods around it would be alot better we stayed at many RIU hotels and they are tops when it come to all around service

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Address: Francisco Medina Ascencio KM 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a wonderful view to Banderas Bay, one of the best beaches in Puerto Vallarta, surrounded by friends who will make your stay unforgettable. We have 220 recently renovated standard rooms, each of them with a wonderful sea-view and a private balcony. It is located just a few minutes away from the airport and downtown, near shopping malls such as Caracol, Peninsula and Galerias Vallarta. Free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Choose between our European or All-Inclusive Plans. In our a la Carte Restaurants, Piaceres, Italian Mediterranean Cuisine, Mariaches, Mexican Cuisine or Guacamaya s Buffet Restaurant, quality in service is our distinguished feature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.