We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Vallarta Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Francisco Medina Ascencio KM 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #72 of 121 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Solid Vallarta Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our Stay - - January 4-11, 2013

The Holiday Inn is an older property that is located on a very nice part of the beach. While the rooms are showing their age and repairs, we had a very good stay! We stayed in a room overlooking the pool area and had a partial view of the beach.

This affordable hotel is an all inclusive and while some reviews bash the quality of the food, we found it to be very good and plentiful. If you want 5 Michelin star quality food, this isn't it! But we never had a meal at the buffet that we couldn't find something good to eat.

The only downside was the really spotty wireless internet. But, we were on vacation!

The hotel staff is very, very good! They are friendly, efficient and are happy to give advice, directions or just chat. We really enjoyed the staff!

The beach has a lot of vendors who were polite and funny and were never pushy.

We did some great whale watching with Alberto, the captain of a small boat who took my wife and I out for 2 hours of whale watching and 1 hour of snorkeling at The Arches for only $50 each! He speaks very good English and had a real knack for finding the whales and following them. Other boats followed his lead as to where the whales would pop up next! (So much so that when we headed for the Arches, two boats followed us thinking we were still following the whales!) Alberto also does fishing charters. You supply your own water and food, if you wish, and either bring your own snorkeling equipment or he will provide it for you.

The Holiday Inn is a cheap cab ride into the downtown area or to other shopping.

All in all, a really good stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    492
    271
    150
    104
See reviews for
417
348
37
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cold Lake, AB Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Ok, i know we dont go south to stay in the hotel room. this hotel was rated a 4 * but realistically shoul be a 3. bedroom and beds were ok, bathroom, tub and toilet which was pissing water everytime we flush was quite discusting and desperatly in needs of reno. lobby was ok and rms were actually done late in the day and sometimes every other day??? resort was i think what is rated 4* which is ok but not great. resto and services and staffs were very good. it is a small resort but enough for our needs.

Room Tip: ask to see the room before. some rms were decent and the ones facing the pool as well as the downtow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Habsolutly,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room and bed.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the bathroom condition. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were unexpectedly in PV for 2 nights and decided that Holiday Inn would be more comfortable than some of the other hotels closer to old town. (Mainly we were looking for decent beds) This Holiday Inn is older, and needs repair in several areas; but the beds were comfortable and the shower was good. All in all, we were very satisfied with the property itself, nice views and accommodating staff.
This is a resort that caters to Americans and Canadians who want the "Mexico experience" without venturing too far into Mexico. Seemed to be great for families and retirees looking for sun and fun things to do. The breakfast food is bland, to appeal to most of their customers. The typical Mexican dishes were ok, but not very exciting aside from the fresh quesadillas being made with huitlacoche or chorizo or squash blossoms. There are lots of non-Mexican dishes offered: pancakes, french toast, sausage, bacon, and ham, fried potatoes, etc.
The pools on this property are gorgeous and huge, with a special kid's pool with a small water slide. The staff also offer several different activities through the day to help keep everyone busy.
If I ever have to spend time in PV again, I would probably choose this hotel based on price and comfort.

Room Tip: The "sea view" rooms are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Lori H,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our bed and the swimming pool.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the property condition and the breakfast selection. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

upon arriving i being to mexico 20 plus times i excepted to wait during our check in they just don,t hurry to get you checked into your rooms but not here we were checked in in about 5 mins and up to our room in know time
in the room it was a great site room # 630 had double balconys it was and end room king size bed and clean but dated the one thing that was bad is they painted the tub and it was all chipped and looked real bad but for us this is mexico so we kept the room due to the balconys
maid service great couldn,t asked for more we tipped $5.00 dollars a day which is high in mexico but the room was cleaned early everyday maid service was great

NOW on new years eve they had a party that even though you paid all inclusive it wasn,t included ok fine but they shut everything down and if you wanted something to eat drink you had to get room service the catch they charge you also if you wanted shot they charged you if you wanted can beer they charged you this isnt good when you paid for all incluvise which you didn,t get

now the fun part we booked though apple vacations and per our plan we were suppose to received and $100.00 credit towards permium drinks so we i told them at the for desk they blue me off the manager didn,t care he told us to go see our apple agent no problem so the 10 days we were there the apple rep never looked us up we looked for him but if you need to speak to him you had to make and appointment well let me tell you when i,m on vacation i don,t make appointments they should be kissing my #### for the business so the only thing we received from apple was the ride from the airport we had to take a cab back on our own which was fine you won,t see me anymore apple vacations

before i get to the food i have to tell you that the people that work in the restruartants were super one guy name miquill was and ace he met us the second day there and new us by name everyday breakfast was great with his service they all work hard and do a great job

now the food SUCKS SUCKS but you could always find something to eat but we know mexicos hotel food sucks so we go out to dinner every night which is the best all in all if they had more front desk help and switched the foods around it would be alot better we stayed at many RIU hotels and they are tops when it come to all around service

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta in December. The Mexican food was very good and authentic, do not expect the tex-mex type. The room was clean, but it definetly needs a renovation. The one thing that set it apart was the friendliness and attention of the staff. They went out of their way to please the guests, and it seemed like they were always there when you needed them. I defintely felt treated as royalty. The beach is very nice, and although I did not spend much time in the pool area, it did seem nice too. The view is great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here for the 3rd time from Dec 29 2012 to Jan 5, 2013 with ten family members. The rooms are basic but more than adequate, elevators work, the whole place is spotless, toilets flush, every room has a view of the ocean, pool & beach are beautiful. As with everything in Mexico, it is use as your own risk. Many safety hazards, just watch your step. The food is more than good with enough variety for everyone. We made reservations for the Mariachi Mexican restaurant but ended up not going because after booking bottom of tickets said no shorts or sandals. None of us had anything else to wear. The hotel always hosts a fabulous New Year's party with a great band and other entertainment. This was included in our all inclusive package (thanks to Humberto Unna for confirmation and excellent table location) but we had to clarify that up front because some people were charged. They had a fiesta on the beach with great entertainment and authentic Mexican cuisine--delicious if you don't expect Taco Bell. While there was some confusion and delay about extra charges we didn't owe when we checked out, everything else was smooth and we will return to this resort, hopefully soon.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Junior Suites with an excellent view of the ocean three times and will ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This my tired time here and the food gets worse each time. The food and beverage manager should take the kitchen team and check into one of the competation. Try the Occidential and the Riu Vallarta and let them see what good foods is all all about. Great locatiopon. needs upgrading, good staff but LOUSY FOOD!!

Room Tip: Call the conceriege
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear jnp1941,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our location and our staff.


However, We’re sorry about the poor food selection which was unacceptable. We will address these points and assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta

Address: Francisco Medina Ascencio KM 3.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a wonderful view to Banderas Bay, one of the best beaches in Puerto Vallarta, surrounded by friends who will make your stay unforgettable. We have 220 recently renovated standard rooms, each of them with a wonderful sea-view and a private balcony. It is located just a few minutes away from the airport and downtown, near shopping malls such as Caracol, Peninsula and Galerias Vallarta. Free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Choose between our European or All-Inclusive Plans. In our a la Carte Restaurants, Piaceres, Italian Mediterranean Cuisine, Mariaches, Mexican Cuisine or Guacamaya s Buffet Restaurant, quality in service is our distinguished feature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;