We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Velas to your Saves list
Casa Velas
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pelicanos 311, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

My fiance and I visited Casa Velas for a week in 2008 and loved it so much we decided to book our wedding. I knew it would be the perfect place to borng my friends and family to enjoy a week of relaxation ending with our wedding weekend! The entire stay was PERFECT! I can not say enough about his hotel. It is relaxing, intimate, accommodating, and the staff is exceptional. This property in unique of most All Inclusive Hotels because you have the option of staying on property, using the private beach club, or visiting the Velas Vallarta Large resort. THE FOOD IS EXCEPTIONAL at Casa Velas which is a huge part of our decision to return. Every meal is by personal order, no buffets! If you are looking for a quite (no kids!) get away and want to be treated like royalty, please visit Casa Velas. IT IS AMAZING!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    83
    37
    21
    14
See reviews for
54
664
21
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Blown Away (and not by Tropical Storm Rick)!!!
Booked a trip with the wife and two other couples (long time friends) for a 4 night 5 day get away to celebrate some significant anniversaries in the group. Our travel rep suggested Casa Velas as we requested a beautiful small hotel with no kid and fantastic service. We initially balked at his suggestion due to the “all inclusive” label but were assured that this was no regular “all inclusive” hotel. With his suggestion and after having read a number of great reviews about Casa Velas my expectations were high.

The hotel is a very well kept haciendas style property. The rooms are well appointed with a beverage stocked fridge very comfortable beds and the pillows are great. The grounds are meticulously manicured and absolutely beautiful. The spa services were incredible (according to my wife and friends). Now, to the staff, WOW the staff… I have given some thought on trying to convey in this review how well the staff treated our entire party from arrival to departure. Let me put it to you like this… We found that our dinning conversations were dominated by just how impressed we were with Casa Velas and the level of service provided at every level. The feeling my wife and I came away with was one complete and total satisfaction. There is a feeling of true and genuine hospitality exuded by all the staff, from Mauricio (guest services manager) and his commitment to please, to the smiles from the shuttle drivers and bell desk. It is as though the staff had ownership and a sense of honest pride in everything they did for us.
Bennie at the lobby bar was so welcoming and made us feel as though we were in his living room enjoying not only his delicious drinks but his company as well. We honestly got to know him. My wife actually left him a note thanking her new friend for his hospitality upon departing the hotel when we found out he wouldn’t be in till later in the day and could not be thanked in person.
Freddy, in the pool bar, serving up incredible top shelf margaritas and snacks while we enjoyed the relaxing environment of the pool area was very much appreciated. When asked him to recommend where we could get the best carnitas in town he was more than happy to suggest Taco Nito in Vallarta. If you’re like us and want to try truly local cuisine give it a try. Man, did Freddy get it right!
Stefano helped us with our tour plans and when we requested “off the menu” substitutions like private travel accommodations and booking an entire sunset cruise to ourselves, he made it happen for us. You have to try the Canopy River Zip Line Tour. The staff there was on point and it was a blast!
Fernando, our server at dinner (and supporting staff), in Emiliano were fantastic as well. NO CHEAP BUFFETS OR CHEAP LIQUORS AT THIS HOTEL. We tried to stump Fernando and the chefs at dinner making requests for items off the menu and were NEVER told “no”. They not only filled our every request but excelled at them leaving us awestruck at the presentation and level of flavors in all the items we ordered. We enjoyed all top shelf liquors including after dinner liquors and port and sophisticated cuisine that was five star quality.
I have to thank the server and chefs at the beach club as well. We had a great catch of fresh Mahi Mahi on Friday while fishing off shore and they prepared us a feast of dishes with our catch including tempura that was as light as a cloud, an olive inspired sauté and sashimi that was to die for. All this was enjoyed with a sunset that was unforgettable (pic attached).
We had dinner at the sister property (Velas Vallarta) one night as well (also included). While the food was very good the setting and level of service just could not be matched as they are much larger and just cannot provide the personal level of attention we were spoiled with at Casa Velas.
As we sat in the pool one day and met other groups staying at the hotel there was a common tread. There are those who have stayed at Casa Velas and come back again and again and those (like us) who were staying for the first time and were already planning their return because of the staff (aka the friends we made that happen to work at the hotel).
I was humbled by the commitment to service and the attention to detail that is so commonly missed in today’s hospitality industry. Whatever you’re doing at Casa Velas to create such a welcoming environment, KEEP DOING IT and we’ll be back over and over again. Having stayed in Playa, Cancun, and Cabo San Lucas in the past I can now say that I have finally found my “go to place” for a fantastic and relating Mexican vacation. Go and see for yourself!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

We researched alot as to where we wanted to go to find the perfect spot and we def. found it! Mauricio & Stefano really made our trip special. They were always there and greeting us by name. I really appreciated how Stefano helped set up our plans for the week and booked all our tours and dinners which made our lives so easy as we had nothing to worry about but just enjoy! it's true-you feel like kings here- water brought immediatately when you sat at the pool and the food is amazing. The beach club was definitely one of our favorites as we had the place to ourselves a few times. Sitting on a cabana on the beach eating sushi with a mojito was heaven :) It was so easy to walk to the Velas and Beach club and the marina and we felt so safe. We also really enjoyed the spa and gym and used the steam room often. Thank you for such a wonderful and unforgettable honeymoon- we'll be back!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntington beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Mauricio Sides B., the guest services Manager took care of our every need. I was there for a wedding. If an issue came up, it was handled to our satisfaction. The employees always had a smile on. The rooms were very well done. The only issue, is they are not on the beach so there is not much of a breeze by the pool. They do have a beach club, a short 4 minute shuttle ride away which was also very nice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

We went to Casa Velas to celebrate our 10th Anniversary through RCI timeshare. It was perfect. Quiet, peaceful and intimate. Everything we were promised. Right on golf course - not on the beach (easy shuttle ride away).

Transportation from the airport was included. Customs and process was hectic and hot (3 planes landed at the same time) - the people at the airport did a hard sell on the timeshare meeting but shortly after we declined several times, they finally gave in and took us straight to the hotel - about 7 minutes away and gave us cold bottled water as we got in. At the hotel, the staff was dressed in nice white, there was a beautiful gated entranced. At the front door, they gave us chilled towels and took our luggage. We sat down and they overviewed our package, hotel details and upgraded our room to one with a small plunge pool (on well hidden private deck) and large in-bath whirlpool. Jorge gave us a tour of the hotel on the way to our room. He checked to make sure all was good and brought our luggage. He remembered our named every time he saw us - it was good to see a familiar face. He did a nice job making sure we were happy all week. Even drove us in the shuttle a couple times.

We ate most of our meals at the on-site restaurant Emelios (spelling?). The service was great (especially the hostesses Olivia and Karina who were always greeting us with a smile)- good vacation pace, food was good (wouldn't recommend the steak - flavored like pork & gravy) and displayed beautifully. Men need to dress up at night. They served a breakfast buffet when they reach a high capacity (which only happened 3 days). Most of the menu items are on the buffet but you can still order from the menu if you insist.

We also LOVED the food at the beach club restaurant. Tempura and sushi is fantastic. Tables right next to the pool & just off the beach. Only about 7 tables. This is a property extension of the Casa Velas so if you want to go to the beach during the day, they will shuttle you there - less than 5 minutes away from the hotel. We enjoyed everything we ate here. We went back twice. Frequently booked for parties, so make reservations early.

We also tried the two restaurants at Vellas Vallarta. Compared to Casa Velas, I wouldn't recommend either. Both were VERY hectic and loud/crowded. We felt rushed. Salad & dessert bar where you have to help yourself. Waiters are running around - service is just ok. If you like the atmosphere at Casa Velas, you won't be happy at Vellas Vallarta - just too huge.

The pool at Casa Velas is great. Swim-up bar with FANTASTIC drinks from Fredy (our favorite bar tender). Food/lunch can be served pool side and most everything is great. Top shelf brand alcohol and very attentive service. Pool chairs are very soft/comfy and there are cabanas to use to stay out of the sun. Pool is big considering the size of the hotel but still feels intimate. Beautifully landscaped.

It rained one day (hurricane Rick) and the staff worked like crazy to keep the porches dry so we could enjoy cocktails outside. The whole team works so hard. Very professional and helpful. We used the rain day to take advantage of the spa facilities. Very nice. Small steam room & sauna plus whirlpool. Massage was technically good too. Nice shower space and some lockers. Overall very small facility but peaceful and well attended. Husband even liked his massage.

Bellman are always active and checking to make sure you are comfortable or if they can help in anyway. Maurico was awesome. He is always smiling. He is the go-to man for everything. Speaks great english, good conversationalist, funny and has great tips for new tourists to the area. He works non-stop.

We did three tours:
1. City Tour - decent overview of downtown, long bus ride to final restaurant with delicious food & local atmosphere. Highly recommended giant shrimp wrapped in bacon.
2. Canopy River - best tour ever. Great guides. Beautiful scenery. Can touch river on final zipline. Fun and safe at the same time. Donkey ride back up mountain is much easier than walking. Donkeys very clean. Pictures & video available for purchase $45 each or $79 for both. Restaurant onsite provides good relaxation and yummy food. ATVs also available but we didn't do that. Short overview of tequila making process & tasting is educational without being too long or boring. Attentive staff onsite.
3. Rhythms of the Night - 90 minute cruise along the shore line with some details (some duplication of city tour views). Unlimited alcohol on board. Some food/snacks. Loud music. At sunset time period. Dock for a show and dinner. Food/service was just OK. Setting is beautiful. Show is unique -a little like Cirque de Soleil but shorter (30 minutes). Trip back is shorter.

When you arrive, go see Stefano first - he'll get you all set up on the tours that you want to do - there are lots of options including dolphins and whale tours (Dec-Mar). He arranged everything seemlessly.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

My daughter held her wedding here. It could not have been more beautiful and the staff was so helpful that everything seemed to happen perfectly.
It was an event we shall always remember with such love.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

When we arrived in Puerto Vallarta we deplaned and walked to the Travel Office where we met our driver. The trip to the Casa Velas resort was only about a 15 minute ride. After checking in, we were escorted to our room. We stayed in a Master Suite. The room was equiped with two queen size beds. Other amenities included a fully-stocked mini-bar with snacks, a coffee maker, safe and bathrobes and slippers. On the first night we ate at the on-site resturant, Emiliano. A;though the menu was large, the food was tasty and the staff were very attentive. As part of the all-inclusive program we had access to resturants at Casa Velas sister resort, Velas Vallarta. Velas Valarta is a short 5 minute shuttle ride away. We spent many days swimming in the outdoor pool and having cocktails at the Aqua bar. On Monday we attended a Mexican Fiesta sponsored by the resort. The food and entertainment made for an enjoyable evening. The resort also sponsored two tours; a shopping tour which we did not go on, and a Cultural city tour and Tequila factory tour. If you enjoy culture and the opportunity to see how tequila is made, I would highly recommend this tour. The were three employees of the Casa Velas Resort who I believe helped make our trip very enjoyable: They are Fredy and Wence at the Aqua Bar and Jorge who's primary job was transportation, but I saw he doing more jobs. I know that we are looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Address: Pelicanos 311, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the perfect resort retreat in the Mexican Pacific Riviera, where luxury and romanticism combine in perfect harmony. Resembling a private estate, Casa Velas offers Condé Nast and AAA award-winning service in a casually elegant and intimate boutique atmosphere in Puerto Vallarta. This boutique hotel enjoys a garden setting surrounded by the Marina Vallarta Golf Course. A beachside experience waits just three minutes away at your private Ocean Club, with stunning sunsets and memorable dining. Unlimited transport is available day and night to whisk you to the golden shores of the Mexican Pacific. The Ocean Club is a place of supreme peace and tranquility for enjoying an infinity pool, jacuzzi and terrace with impressive ocean views. Our luxurious getaway invites you to enjoy the comforting sounds and vibrant colors of the tropics as you discover the true meaning of relaxation and luxury at an all-inclusive Puerto Vallarta resort paradise. Recently chosen as one of the Top 10 hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean in three categories - Luxury, Relaxation/Spa and Hotel for Romance - by TripAdvisor®, Casa Velas is an enchanting destination where simple pleasures rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Velas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.