We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Velas A Dream Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Velas to your Saves list
Casa Velas
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pelicanos 311 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mission, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Casa Velas A Dream Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

U never want to leave this paradise so Beautiful and elegant.The staff treats you like Royalty.The food is TO DIE FOR Flavor, presentation and service EXCELLENT. definitely coming back for more pampering

Room Tip: Just say what you are looking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Gerente at Casa Velas, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
I am so pleased that your stay with us at Casa Velas was to your extreme pleasure and comfort. We truly pride ourselves in having each and every guest feel the level of satisfaction that you describe. Being a boutique hotel allows us to focus on attention to detail, whether it be in our personalized service, unique adornments or in our innovative culinary venues. And you can be assured Mariela that on your next visit the pampering will be just as pleasant and the cuisine equally delectable. Thank you for sharing your happiness and all the best to you and yours in Mission, Texas. Take care.

MANUEL OVIEDO
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL CASA VELAS
moviedocv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    105
    39
    23
    16
See reviews for
76
784
24
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Casa Velas, Puerto Vallarta is one of kind !!! If you love to be pampered, the service is spectacular. The ambiance, the environment, the suite, the food, the SPA, the treatments, the attention ... all are unparalleled! We had a wonderful experience, I never enjoyed a pool, other guest encounters or sleeping in the most comfortable bed ever, like I did in Casa Velas! I cannot say enough about it and I would love to be able to return every year for a week of R & R. Thanks to the staff: Francisco, Vanessa, Mario, Carlos, Miguel, Oscar, Emma, Daniel, Erika, Vicki and so many others who gave us a week of excellent service with great big smiles! Hope to see you all very soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, General Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you very much Marina for such a glowing and animated review. The many staff members that you so kindly mention will be very proud and highly motivated when they see their names on-line for having been recognized by you in such a marvelous tone. I too am also very pleased that in every aspect we could not only meet, but eclipse your expectations leaving you with a wonderful vacation experience to remember. We too Marina would love to have you return each year to enjoy your well deserved pampering with “unparalleled attention” and I am sure that the same smiling faces will be there to greet you and take care of you and your friends again. In the meantime we wish you a very nice fall season and our best wishes go out to you in beautiful Miami, Florida. Take care.

MANUEL OVIEDO
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL CASA VELAS
moviedocv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We just came back from a weekend stay at Casa Velas. It was a great place to stay;however, I think after reading all the 4-5 star reviews, my expectations were high and unfortunately not met. Upon our arrival, we were greeted very warmly but were not asked if we were celebrating anything special or why we were there like I read was asked to other visitors in reviews. We were actually there to celebrate our two year wedding anniversary as well as celebrating the upcoming arrival of our first baby. It wasn't a big deal but just thought they might ask the purpose of our visit. The resort is small and very quiet which made for a very relaxing stay. Our room was amazing and the plunge pool on the balcony made it an even more enjoyable experience as we were able to just get in for a quick dip instead of going down to the pool. Our only complaint about the room was that the wifi was pretty slow and we had to reconnect several times. The restaurant was okay but ate our dinners in the city since the dress code for men is dress casual (pants only) which my husband didn't really want to do because of the heat. Other than the pool, there really isn't that much to do at the resort. We've stayed at an all inclusive before, and that resort had a game room, place to watch movies, and different actives going on throughout the day; however, that resort was much bigger and i think geared to a more active crowd. All in all this was an enjoyable stay but may consider other resorts the next time we visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, General Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience in Tripadvisor, I would like to offer you the most sincere apology for the miss lack of follow up during your stay usually we have all of our celebrations noted ahead of time. In this cased we should've ask you directly as a part of our personalized service. As for our dress code in Emiliano is a casual formal dress code in the evenings only as a four diamond restaurant we must fallow certain regulations, therefore we offer our Beach club and steakhouse free of regulations during the week. I invite you to reconsider your visit to Casa Velas all Adults Boutique Hotel and I can assure you we will make up and follow up in all your minor details.

Best Regards,

Manuel Oviedo
General Manager
Hotel Casa Velas
moviedocv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon de Guayabitos, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

For our anniversary we always try to pick a new and high quality place to visit. This year it was Casa Velas. This was a very nice, relaxing and beautiful resort! I have always been leary of "all inclusives" in the past and found that most were geared toward providing the least expensive way to heard a bunch of people through. This was clearly not the case at Casa Velas! The staff were all very friendly and knew our names on the first night. The food in the on site restaurant was as fine as any we have had any where in Vallarta and we go there often (twice a month). The rooms are nicely appointed and clean. The grounds are perfectly groomed. I generally avoid public pools but theirs was sparkling clean and the hotel policy of no children made taking a dip a delight. Nice swim-up bar and top shelf liquor was unexpected. This place is geared toward couples. We love children but in all honesty, this policy was the deciding factor (along with excellent reviews) for choosing Casa Velas. I think we are going to become "regulars".

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, General Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
It pleases me greatly Mr. Clifford to know that we will be having the pleasure of hosting you more often whenever the need for luxury and relaxing presents itself. And now you have found that there really is a superior level to the all inclusive concept that encompasses all facets of an upscale vacation. I appreciate your fine words on our culinary options. The creativity and fresh ingredients that my chef puts into his dishes reflect the satisfaction of our guests. The “top shelf” liquors as well as the luxury details of our suites and pool maintenance all combined in prompting you to want to return with full confidence that you will be surrounded with the finer things in life. Mr. Clifford, thank you for having researched the reviews and in coming to a very successful decision and all the best to you and yours in beautiful Rincon de Guayabitos, Nayarit. Hasta pronto señor.

MANUEL OVIEDO
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL CASA VELAS
moviedocv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at the adults only facility (based on all of the amazing reviews) and it was a complete disaster from check in to check out...I don't even know where to begin.

The check in desk was clueless - it took over an hour to register. The resort lobby was nice, but the rooms were run down. There was mold in my bathroom, missing tiles, water stains on the ceiling, a broken refrigerator - the list just goes on and on. The swimming pool was 86 degrees, not very refreshing when it's 90 degrees out. The swimming pool closed at 6pm for a private event. The only restaurant on site (the rest are at the other property where you have to take a bus or walk 10 minutes) was also closed for the private event. The private event, which happened to be a wedding hosted by the hotel owner, went until 2am. The music was so loud that several guest were in the lobby complaining when I went there at 1:30am. The breakfast buffet was terrible - dirty silverware, bugs in the food, no table service for coffee. Just everything about this place was a disaster, so we left 2 days early (and we were only there for 3 days). I'm just bewildered by the other reviews.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

I personally thank you for bringing to my attention your feelings on your recent stay with us. I also wish to apologize for the events that you encountered during that time, where as you say there was mix of factors affecting the tranquility and happiness of the holiday. I am sure that you were hoping for much more, especially based on the many positive reviews that you read beforehand. In my experience I certainly know how first impressions really serve to pave the way to a stress free and successful vacation. Unfortunately the confusion that you witnessed at your arrival was due to various guests arriving at the same time. That, combined with the fact that your first suite had two double beds instead of a king size, I can sympathize your negativity. I always wish for that first impression to go smooth and to the great liking of every client. As you mentioned, the owner of the corporation was with us for a wedding, but it must be pointed out that our main restaurant Emilianos was always open for your enjoyment, as well as that of all of our individual guests that resided with us during your stay. The evening cocktail party was only centered on the area of the pool. These events, along with your unmet expectations and the thunderstorm that went on for most of the evening and morning combined to make the “perfect storm” so to speak. All making your stay less than desirable and for that I sincerely apologize. As you mention your “bewilderment by the good reviews”, I can now certainly see your point of view in this special case. If you would be so kind as to give me the opportunity to apologize in person I would be most humbled and grateful at the same time. Again, please receive the utmost apology from the owner and from all the 3,000 employees of the corporation.

Manuel Oviedo
General Manager
Hotel Casa Velas
moviedocv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had an amazing time a Casa Velas. The facility was first class with beautiful grounds, great food, comfortable rooms and attentive employees. This was our first All-Inclusive resort and we were really able to relax and enjoy our vacation. We attended the Chef's dinner one night and that was a treat. We even tried to learn some Latin dance moves at the class that was offered. We took a few side trips but found out the pool area was just the place we wanted to be, with drinks and food at our fingertips. Highly recommend for a stress-free, relaxing, quiet, lovely vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 503, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, General Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you very much Dorothy for your splendid comments on your relaxing and memorable vacation with us. As a refined boutique resort you will find some divine events within the resort that are very interesting and enjoyable for our astute clientele. The Chef´s Dinner and Latin Dancing are just two of the activities that we like to provide for our guests and now we also provide a Tequila course complete with tasting so that our guests can become very knowledgeable in future tequila conversations and get togethers. But overall, as you mentioned the atmosphere really lends itself to a relaxing and stress-free tone where you will have 130 dedicated staff to take care of your comfort and pleasure. Dorothy, as a team it pleases us immensely that you are still reminiscing on your June stay with us and I hope that you will find the opportunity to return soon and enjoy all the pampering that you experienced on this trip. Thank you again and we send our best to you in beautiful San Diego, California. Take care.

MANUEL OVIEDO
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL CASA VELAS
moviedocv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The carrier American Airlines suck.

Now for the review. Casa Velas is a somewhat quaint, romantic, excellently maintained boutique resort. This is currently the off season in Puerto Vallarta so there weren't very many people pool side at any given time during our stay. That allowed the drinks and snacks to continously flow. If I had one issue, it would be the lack of consistency with the drink "making". Benny, who worked at the evening bar was easily the best. I'm not a foodie, so I really can't speak on the food other than I never skipped a meal. Hard to beat fresh salsa and guacomole!
The room overlooked the golf course and was nicely apportioned. Even though I didn't get in the mini-jacuzzi on the balcony, my wife throughly enjoyed it.
The staff was amazing at every turn. From explaining futbol to me to having a double shot of tequila waiting for me as I turned the corner. (Benny heard me coming).
Overall I would give my experience a "9". The only reason it gets a nine is because of the beach at the sister property. All I will say is that it was not the color sand I was looking for and there were rocks in the surf as you ventured into the water. From what I heard, there are better beaches in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, General Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments on your June stay with us. I hope that you found the relaxation and quality that our distinguished clientele looks for when reserving with us. I am glad that Benny was there to make your favorite drinks and that the guacamole was to your great satisfaction and to be considered as a quaint and romantic hotel is very nice. And we do go to great lengths to keep the facility in top condition for our guests. It would be our great honor to host you and your wife again in order to create that tranquil and luxurious feeling that you came for. On behalf of all the staff I wish you all the best this summer in beautiful Los Angeles, California. Take care.

MANUEL OVIEDO
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL CASA VELAS
moviedocv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.9 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#1 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
7.7 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#9 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,185 reviews
2.9 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#8 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
4.8 mi away
Signature by Pinnacle
Signature by Pinnacle
#4 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#15 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Address: Pelicanos 311 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the perfect resort retreat in the Mexican Pacific Riviera, where luxury and romanticism combine in perfect harmony. Resembling a private estate, Casa Velas offers Condé Nast and AAA award-winning service in a casually elegant and intimate boutique atmosphere in Puerto Vallarta. This boutique hotel enjoys a garden setting surrounded by the Marina Vallarta Golf Course. A beachside experience waits just three minutes away at your private Ocean Club, with stunning sunsets and memorable dining. Unlimited transport is available day and night to whisk you to the golden shores of the Mexican Pacific. The Ocean Club is a place of supreme peace and tranquility for enjoying an infinity pool, jacuzzi and terrace with impressive ocean views. Our luxurious getaway invites you to enjoy the comforting sounds and vibrant colors of the tropics as you discover the true meaning of relaxation and luxury at an all-inclusive Puerto Vallarta resort paradise. Recently chosen as one of the Top 10 hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean in three categories - Luxury, Relaxation/Spa and Hotel for Romance - by TripAdvisor®, Casa Velas is an enchanting destination where simple pleasures rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Velas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.