We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Velas to your Saves list
Casa Velas
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pelicanos 311, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Albury, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We have been here for 2 weeks we stayed at the Grand in the penthouse what a waste we are now staying at the Casa Velas just wonderful by far the better hotel great food great staff great rooms and its quiet just lovely you must stay here the beach club a must wonderful

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    83
    37
    21
    14
See reviews for
54
664
21
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapala, Mexico
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
339 helpful votes 339 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Feb 22-28, 2014 Casa Velas Puerto Vallarta

Best Birthday Ever and a Heavenly stay at Casa Velas as well!

We arrived to Casa Velas on my birthday, and goodness did they make it special. A sign upon arrival wishing me Happy Birthday and then a special room for the night, which has many staff member in it as a surprise along with balloons and a cake. What a special treat for a frequent guest! Obviously arranged by Denise the chief concierge. Always a pleasure to deal with.

Check in and check out went without event with Oscar, Marco, Joel and Jorge as bellboys. Gala was the receptionist who put on our bracelets and our vacation began.

The hostess' at Emiliano restaurant made each visit a pleasure. Always smiling and welcoming thank you to LizBeth, Victoria & Karen.
There was a new menu this time at Emiliano since my last visit and all was good, though desserts could use some sprucing up. I will mention some dishes that we really enjoyed, such as Crab cakes, Watercress Salmon pistachio soup, Osso Bucco, Portabello Mushroom with Shrimp, Chile Relleno with Seafood, ( incredible) , Salmon. We enjoyed the Chef's special dinner one night with special guest Sommelier Danny. Very special night indeed.
We also really enjoyed Latin night in lobby with Latin dancers. I even danced the Salsa, mind you I have no clue how to dance and had on high heels but a good dance partner makes huge difference. This was a thrill I shall never forget.
I shall try to thank all the special waiters hope I do not forget anyone such as Ecker the restuarant manager, Rene, Rogelio,Miguel, Leonel, Manuel, Bernadino, Gelberto and Miguel. The service was improved from other visits and drinks came much more timely. Ah yes let us not forget Benny who livens up the lobby bar for sure with awesome service and fun. We did have an incredible cheesecake one night for dessert which was not on menu. Yum! We had some really great differnt drinks how about an Orgasm Martini? Or Mexican flaming coffee, we had that a few times, what a skill. Or a coconut martini?
My only concern with Emiliano , which is fine dining at night was the lack of enforcement of a dress code as in the past. I know many men do not like long pants in warm weather but shorts at night in Emiliano just took away from the entire atmosphere and experience. I still will boast Emiliano as being the best restaurant in Puerto Vallarta.

Our room, accommodations, parking, security, room service, mini bar and all of those things was perfect as usual. Maid service was great and turn down service which we usually do not utilize was very nice. I am not going to go into description of room etc. as I have described it before, since we tend to request the village ( villa units), jacuzzi, plunge pool etc. All our breakfast were room service and either in room or on balcony by plunge pool.

Occupancy was very high so that was fun. Lots of folks at swim up bar, and beach club etc. The Beach club was as usual very nice. They also have a new menu, I missed some of the old items but it was good anyway. I really love the beach club as so private as opposed to resort right on beach. A quick free shuttle in A/C van and you are there. Perfect!

They have some new things at Casa Velas such as a handbag bar, where you can borrow a designer evening bag for the night, pretty authentic. Free internet throughout the resort , no limit on devices, a new welcome addition...might I add yippee!! This made hubby really happy as he does work while on vacation. Cocktail making night, Latin Night, Chef's Dinner and Beach Club dinner I believe.

They have increased the concierge team which makes everything so much quicker and easier. Denisse the chief concierge has really stepped up to the plate and her new counterparts Rangel ( so persistent) and Jairo, just complement this team. Everything down to the tiniest detail was taken care of, Plus!

We had friends also staying at same time at Casa Velas and they were just so so impressed with the atmosphere, the grounds, rooms, tranquility, service, pampering and relaxation. We all thought the food was phenomenal, the staff incredible due to their never ending attitude of aiming to please and they do. They are so friendly and pampering but not pretentious.
I myself had the feeling of Being Home as a Queen!

The pool on site was perfect temperature. The service by pool had also increased in number and perfection. We seemed to almost always get Hector but the other guys were just as good. We did encounter a few days where it was almost crowded at pool, so maybe a few more loungers in high season might be in order, but a staff member always made sure everyone had a place.

So what more can I say, after years of returning to Casa Velas and so so many stays they just keep improving. I will continue to return many times over. I have tried so many resorts and none can compare. So I remain a Casa Velas huge fan. You must try it.. at least once!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife and I been to many all inclusive resorts in Mexico. We love the adults only Casa Velas for many reasons. The spa is outstanding. The pool is quite and you don't have to worry about getting a lounge chair. I despise the resorts where everybody runs down before breakfast to reserve the best chairs. There is non of that nonsense. The food is excellente as well!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Food was awesome. Service was second to none. If you're looking for a relaxing week this is your place. You get full all-inclusive at the beach club and sister hotel which is more up beat if that's what you want for the day. Highly recommend this place to any/everyone.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Casa Velas is a beautiful property. The staff are very friendly, especially the concierges, they both went out of their way to accommodate our every needs. Everyone always addressed us by our name, something that impressed me being that the resort was sold out.

The Marina Golf Club is next to the Velas and was able to pay it a couple of time. It was a great course and very well maintained.

If there was a shortcoming to our stay I would have to say the dinners we ate (two dinners) were not very good. We choose the all inclusive package and found that we ate out most of the time. With all the great restaurants in Puerto Vallarta I would highly recommend not getting the all inclusive package. I must state we ate breakfast there every morning and it was excellent.

The room was very clean, the bed very comfortable and even though the resort is close to the airport we never heard the noise of a plane, come to think about it, even out in the pool we never heard a plane.

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We travel about 6 weeks out of the year to many different places. We rarely go back to the same place. However, our favorite destination remains Casa Velas in P.V. and this was our third time. Words that describe it include "tranquil", "beautiful", "welcoming", "laid back", and "pampered". This small, intimate, boutique hotel is simply a gem. The "adults only" policy helps, but it also attracts a more mature clientele that appreciates the genteel life style that is Casa Velas. Of course, the people make it along with their attention to detail.
STAFF: There is no better staff around. They are well trained and provide a level of genuine personal service that is at the pinnacle of high end resorts. You won't want to leave them as they make you feel special and very welcome - like family. Everyone from the wait staff at the restaurant (Karen, Marco, Jorge, Luis, and Edgar come quickly to mind), to the pool (Freddy and the gang), to the Terrace (Benny and Daniel), to the front door/bellmen (Joel, Jorge, et al), to the concierge and reception, to maid service to maintenance crews - everyone does a great job.
THE GROUNDS: Beautifully maintained, intimate, relaxing. Borders the Marina Golf Course. Pool includes a swim-up bar, covered lounges, thick chaise lounge chairs, shade and sun.
THE RESTAURANT: Excellent menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner with outstanding service. We enjoyed all our meals - well prepared and well presented. Delicious.
THE BEACH CLUB: Don't miss it! Shuttle takes you there in three minutes. It is private for Casa Velas only. Step through the front door to the lounging area, infinity pool, and the beach and ocean beyond. Spend the day sunning and enjoying the ocean in the comfortable chaise lounges with great service and quality refreshments. Eat lunch there. But you must come back for a great dinner and a beautiful sunset. We enjoyed the most beautiful sunset ever while we were there. The guitarist put the perfect touch on a romantic, memorable evening.
THE ROOM: They have a variety of rooms - ours was a one bedroom. Very clean. Daily maid service. Turn down service. very comfortable bed. thick towels. wet bar that is stocked daily (including beer). All the amenities you would expect from a nice hotel. You can take a bottle of wine from the lobby bar or restaurant if you want for your room. Some rooms have splash pools, some have Jacuzzi tubs, some have patios, but all are well maintained.
OTHER: We really enjoyed sitting out on the terrace in the evenings with a cocktail (premium liquors served). Benny provides great service! There is usually live music that offers a nice touch. One night they'll have a tequila presentation that is fun and good. There is a spa and exercise room on the premises as well. You can also go to the restaurants in Velas Vallarta or its pool for a change of pace - just talk with the concierge as some require reservations.
SUMMARY: For the first time in a long time we really wanted to stay longer and hated to come home! We can't wait to come back again.

Room Tip: We like the rooms that border the golf course - 501 through 506.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My partner and i went in March 2014, this was our third time going to Casa Velas and it's still the best place on earth!

We just absolutely love this place from the warm staff, the no kids policy, great food and amazing accommodation it's all just FANTASTIC!

The front desk manager Vanessa was just the most helpful and warm person, she just couldn't have made our stay any more wonderful. To be honest, all the staff are lovely, they are all extremely kind and speak English wish is handy for us non Spanish speakers ;)

Seriously, it might seem a bit pricey but think about it, it's all inclusive and that's no BS! Everything is included! The mini bar, the awesome cocktails and oh so very yummy food at the restaurant.I can't think of anywhere else where I've been so happy and felt i haven't been taken for a ride cost wise.

You just have to go here to understand how unbelievable it is!

Thanks so much Casa for always making out holiday the best we could ever hope for!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Address: Pelicanos 311, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the perfect resort retreat in the Mexican Pacific Riviera, where luxury and romanticism combine in perfect harmony. Resembling a private estate, Casa Velas offers Condé Nast and AAA award-winning service in a casually elegant and intimate boutique atmosphere in Puerto Vallarta. This boutique hotel enjoys a garden setting surrounded by the Marina Vallarta Golf Course. A beachside experience waits just three minutes away at your private Ocean Club, with stunning sunsets and memorable dining. Unlimited transport is available day and night to whisk you to the golden shores of the Mexican Pacific. The Ocean Club is a place of supreme peace and tranquility for enjoying an infinity pool, jacuzzi and terrace with impressive ocean views. Our luxurious getaway invites you to enjoy the comforting sounds and vibrant colors of the tropics as you discover the true meaning of relaxation and luxury at an all-inclusive Puerto Vallarta resort paradise. Recently chosen as one of the Top 10 hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean in three categories - Luxury, Relaxation/Spa and Hotel for Romance - by TripAdvisor®, Casa Velas is an enchanting destination where simple pleasures rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Velas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.