We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Mexico, won't be the last!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Velas to your Saves list
Casa Velas
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pelicanos 311, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“First trip to Mexico, won't be the last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Where to start??

We just spent a wonderful week at Casa Velas. The resort and the locals were some of the most warm, friendly people I've ever encountered. Such a charming city and an even more charming and quaint hotel.

So many PROs:
-check in and check out was seamless. Easiest experience we have had compared to Caribbean locations
-amazingly efficient A/C. Room was nice and cool after a warm day
-quick transportation to the beach club. It was like the best of both worlds...the main pool and restaurants in a lush landscaped area and another pool and restaurant at the beach
-the BED. So comfortable! Even better than home.
-the STAFF. Everyone was incredible, and people like Rangel, Benny, Manuel, Fredy and Pedro really make you feel like family.
-the FOOD. Breakfast was my favorite, and we really enjoyed the seafood dishes. Coming from Oklahoma where steak is pretty amazing, we preferred the seafood over the meat dishes.
-the DRINKS. So many fun drinks of the day at the pool bar! We also loved trying more local wines (Montevina) and the Paloma is one of my new favorites.
-the CITY. Old town was a wonderful day trip! Loved the shops, bars, restaurants and more friendly faces

Our first weekend at Casa Velas, a wedding of roughly 130 guests was also at the hotel. I think the staff did a wonderful job entertaining the few of us not part of the wedding group, including opening up the beach club for dinner an extra night while there was a reception going on. We enjoyed the liveliness of the wedding guests, as it was a little different than the rest of the quiet stay.

We also had the opportunity to enjoy a dinner at Grand Velas, and while the food was amazing, we easily preferred the atmosphere at Casa Velas. So much warmth and smiles and feeling like it was our "home".

We could not be happier with PV and Casa Velas and cannot wait to return! Thank you for an incredible stay!

Room Tip: We didn't have a fancy room...the modest one was lovely and plenty roomy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Warm Greeting from sunny Casa Velas!! thank you for all your wonderful comments your opinion is very valuable to all of our staff, Its inspiring to read and to know we accomplish our goal on making you feel at home and accommodated in all the aspects that Casa Velas offers, Also thank you for taking the time to express yourself, we hope you visit once again soon, we truly look forward on making another Wonderful and Memorable Vacation.

Best Regards,

Manuel Oviedo
General Manager
Hotel Casa Velas
moviedocv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    82
    36
    21
    14
See reviews for
52
660
21
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camrose, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

October 30 - November 13, 2013. (Timeshare owner, multiple stays.) Not enough can be said about the quality of service. All of the staff are amazing. Loved the addition of the steak house! Every time we go nice refreshing touches are added. If you need to leave the concrete and commute just to unwind this is the place to go. Bring a floating chair to the beach club Infiniti pool. Sit back with a mimosa in hand and let the calming lapping ocean waves cleanse your spirit. This is an adults only resort. Couples, singles, friends and family gather here. The food is fabulous. The drinks are refreshing. Your sleep will be sound and the weather rarely disappoints. There is so much to do as well. Charly's in the mariana will set you up for the day with a VERY reasonable sailing adventure...just you, the captain and the deck hand. Fishing is always available on these vessels. Caught 3 fish last time..from the tuna family. Gave 2 to the captain and deck hand. Brought the other one back to Benny who captains the lobby bar. He is the BEST! Benny has been there as long as I can remember and I know why. He will take such good care of you with his wide selection of creative cocktails! My friend particularly enjoys a petite chartreuse which is always on hand. A taxi to downtown about 100 pesos. Clubs are in abundance...my travelling companion loves ROXIES! You can also go down to the Malicon and walk over the bridge to the new pier. There are many restaurants that offer an outdoor table and a bucket of cold iced beer. Just relax, watch the sunset and let the best local beach massage artists give you a foot/back massage for about 200 pesos. A water taxi can also take you to Yelapa which is an adventure everyone should do. Back home to Casa Velas...to sleep in the fresh clean white crisp sheets with the most comfortable pillows (and late night room service for that late night snack)! OR, not ready for bed? There are 2 casinos minutes away that are open until the early hours. There are three golf courses to choose from and they often have specials where green fees are included in your stay. The Marina golf course (alligators and all) are right on site. Thank you again to ALL the staff for making our vacation a heavenly delight. A special thank you to Juan Velas and Bruce for taking time out of your busy schedule to say hello to us. That was a treat!

Room Tip: I prefer the ground floor rooms on the golf course. I love having that extra outdoor space and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We absolutely love the tittle of your review we cannot thank you enough for writing such a detailed and lovely review it’s so good to read you had an excellent and memorable time on behalf of all the family in Casa Velas we are looking forward on hosting you again.

Best Regards,

Manuel Oviedo
General Manager
Hotel Casa Velas
moviedocv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We came for our honeymoon and never wanted to leave. The room was always spotless, the food always on point, and the service beyond reproach.

Rangel is the man to talk to. He made sure that everything was perfect. If you need anything find him.

Benny and hector are the men who will be pouring your drinks and I had a good time just asking them to surprise me. Every time is was delicious and inventive.

Any request we had was met promptly and to total satisfaction.

I look forward to spending more time there in the future.

Thank you for a great honeymoon.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a lovely review from all the staff here in Casa Velas, we thank you for sharing your lovely experience and comments, we are so thrilled to know we excited your expectations making your vacation once in a lifetime experience, we truly look forward on hosting you again in the near future Casa Velas will always be your home away from home.

Best Regards,

Manuel Oviedo
General Manager
Hotel Casa Velas
moviedocv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We came to Casa Velas for our wedding/honeymoon from 10/25-11/6 and from the moment we arrived the everyone was so welcoming and ready to take care of even the smallest request. The food at Emiliano's and the beac club was delicious, the drinks were plentiful and strong, and all the staff made sure that our first trip to Casa Velas would certainly not be our last. Despite a little rain on our wedding day, Gaby (our coordinator), Rangel, and the rest of the staff at the beach club took amazing care of us and it was truly an evening to remember. Other highlights: Benny at the lobby bar makes a dangerously delicious Paloma and is hilarious. Our suite was so comfortable, it was hard to leave it some days. And the spa treatments made us both feel like we were made of jell-o (in a good way). The property itself was very well kept and just gorgeous. I cannot recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: Get a lower level room with a plunge pool-perfect for those balmy PV nights. Ours was right on the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s a great pleasure to read your review a thrill to all the staff and myself to know your vacation became a memorable and wonderful unique experience, thank you so much for taking the time to share your delightful moments in trip advisor, we highly appreciate it, and we look forward to another great experience in your home away from home.

Best Regards

Manuel Oviedo
General Manager
Hotel Casa Velas
moviedocv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newborn, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent resort for relaxation. It is a small, adults only all-inclusive. It is located in the center of a golf course, so the views are beautiful all around. If you want to have time on the beach, they have a private beach resort that is just a short shuttle ride away (or you can walk to it). The service is impeccable and the food is very good (except for the cheesecake). Also, you can take the shuttle to a Japanese restaurant at their sister resort, but it is only open certain nights and you have to have a reservation. We didn't know that so when we tried to go it was already booked up, so that was disappointing. There were always lounge chairs available at the pool with fantastic service and most of the time there was a cabana available to get out of the sun if you wanted. We ordered lunch from the pool and enjoyed that also.

My only complaint is that we found out about some activities and limitations (like the reservations for the other restaurant) after-the-fact. I wish they would have an information sheet about what is going on each day. I would definitely go back again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience in Tripadvisor, the entire
Staff and myself are very thrilled to know you enjoyed the wonderful service and unique atmosphere that only Casa Velas can provide you, In the warm and tranquility of our grounds.
We truly look forward to another enchanting experience.

Best regards,
Manuel Oviedo
General Manager
Hotel Casa Velas
moviedocv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

was there 10/15-22/13 second time there. High points and why I will come back; small comfortable, warm very friendly staff, we eat everything no problems, good food, drinks. also a lovely beach house with pool and restaurant. The main reason is intangible; that when there, BIG BREATH, sigh, I am where I want to be. Single biggest negative food well prepared but not as good as times past. when checking place out note you have access to Vellas Vallerta for food, entertainment pool. (those people cannot visit you)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Casa Velas once again as your Home Away From Home.
We appreciate the time you have taken to express vacation experience “this is your kind of place “and we love to have you again soon in the near future to enjoy more beautiful days in our private beach club and restaurants.

On behalf of all the staff,

Best Regards,

Manuel Oviedo
General Manager
Hotel Casa Velas
moviedocv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We just returned from Casa Velas and it was wonderful. This was our first time in PV and we enjoyed bit of the trip. Everything at Casa Velas was superb. Service, grounds, food, beach club and above all the best staff members.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, General Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,

We absolutely love the title of your review, In behalf of all the staff in Casa Velas and myself we thank you for sharing your comments, and we hope to accomplish perfection in your vacation once again in the near future.

Best regards,

Manuel Oviedo
General Manager
Hotel Casa Velas
moviedocv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Address: Pelicanos 311, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the perfect resort retreat in the Mexican Pacific Riviera, where luxury and romanticism combine in perfect harmony. Resembling a private estate, Casa Velas offers Condé Nast and AAA award-winning service in a casually elegant and intimate boutique atmosphere in Puerto Vallarta. This boutique hotel enjoys a garden setting surrounded by the Marina Vallarta Golf Course. A beachside experience waits just three minutes away at your private Ocean Club, with stunning sunsets and memorable dining. Unlimited transport is available day and night to whisk you to the golden shores of the Mexican Pacific. The Ocean Club is a place of supreme peace and tranquility for enjoying an infinity pool, jacuzzi and terrace with impressive ocean views. Our luxurious getaway invites you to enjoy the comforting sounds and vibrant colors of the tropics as you discover the true meaning of relaxation and luxury at an all-inclusive Puerto Vallarta resort paradise. Recently chosen as one of the Top 10 hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean in three categories - Luxury, Relaxation/Spa and Hotel for Romance - by TripAdvisor®, Casa Velas is an enchanting destination where simple pleasures rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Velas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.