We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Velas

Save Saved
You added Casa Velas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Casa Velas
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pelicanos 311, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 120 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pure Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked this hotel via RCI, it is an all inclusive resort and exclusive at the same time. We were celebrating our 30th Anniversary and landmark birthday for my husband. From the moment we arrived to the very last minute it was an experience of a lifetime. We were spoiled and pampered in the lap of modest luxury, unbelievable service and fabulous cuisine.
During our week there we were met with an authentic desire to meet all of our needs and to give us an unforgettable experience. No matter our requests, the staff went out of their way to make sure we received it in a timely and efficient manner, from the front desk, to room and maid service, to the hostesses, waiters, chefs, and especially our favorite concierge Denisse.
We would like to send our greetings and a special thanks to all who made is a true paradise for us.

Room Tip: upgrade if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Once again Happy Birthday and 30th Anniversary!!! It’s a pleasure to be part of your celebration and enjoyment; we appreciate all your lovely comments, it’s great to know you had a wonderful vacation our paradise, from all the staff in Casa Velas we hope to host you again in the near future for “Casa Velas will always be your home away from home”. .

Best Regards

Denisse Gonzalez
Chief Concierge
YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME
Casa Velas
T: +52 (322) 226 6691
E: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    682
    74
    29
    20
    12
See reviews for
44
590
18
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Casa Velas is more than a sum of its amenities. So much of the experience at this resort is made possible by their outstanding staff that goes out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. You may be able to find a cheaper resort with a location closer to the beach and a greater variety of restaurant choices, but overall you would struggle to find one that compares to the overall experience of Casa Velas.

My wife and I returned from an anniversary trip to Casa Velas during the last week of July. We had booked our reservation earlier this year once we settled on a location. We have never been to Puerto Vallarta or stayed at an all-inclusive resort, but I believe we’ve found one of the better ones. The first impression we received was at booking. There are certainly cheaper options, but we were impressed with the reviews and the amenities were exactly what we were looking for in a resort. If you want to explore Puerto Vallarta more and simple want a place to stay I believe Casa Velas also offers non all-inclusive options, however their main restaurant, Emiliano, and other cafes and bars don’t give you much reason to want to dine elsewhere other than maybe for a night or two.

After booking the head concierge, Denise, was able to setup transportation to the resort from the airport.

As a side note the airport can be intimidating for a first timer to Puerto Vallarta. Do some research on the ‘shark tank’ and tips to avoid the time share salespeople there.

Upon arrival we received a cool drink and towel and were leisurely checked-in. We were given a tour of the grounds and taken to our room. From the beginning the entire staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. At other resorts this might fade as the stay progresses, but not at Casa Velas. The staff do a great job learning your name and room number.

Some of the highlights of our trip include the dining which was always extremely well prepared regardless of meal. Emillanos is the only restaurant on the resort which is open for every meal. We went for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and all were great. Dinner is more formal, but we still felt very relaxed. There were enough options for at least several days, however you can also go to their sister resort, Velas Vallarta which has more dining options. We went one evening to the buffet, La Ribera, but the food did not compare. Velas Vallarta seemed to be more like what I imagine a typical (and probably cheaper) all-inclusive would be like. One key difference is there are no children allowed at Casa Velas. Denise mentioned they had previously allowed kids for a short time as you may see in the reviews, but have since gone back to an adults-only retreat, which I believe was a great move.

Other dining options include a café at the Beach Club which is typically open until 6:00 PM however they have one evening each week that offers dinner on the beach. I would highly recommend this as the Puerto Vallarta sunset is a gorgeous backdrop. There is also a bar here as well as a smaller pool. The Beach Club is not directly attached to the main resort, but the shuttle was always available and not nearly as much of a drawback as I imagined it might be. One afternoon we actually had the entire Beach Club to ourselves.

The pool bar and lobby bar back at the main resort are just amazing. Beny, the bartender at the lobby bar (who is mentioned in almost nearly every review) is one of the most genuinely service orientated staff I have ever met. He made us all feel at ease and the last evening my wife and I enjoyed his company as well as several other couples at the resort. He made us a delicious sampling of cocktails and catered to our every request.

I would also recommend the spa, which is small, but extremely high-class. Prices seem comparable to any other top-end resort. Also if the property sits on a golf course and the staff will setup a round of golf for you if you desire.

I could go on in great detail, but honestly you need to experience it all in person. There are only some minor negative items which were easy to overlook. The rooms are renovated, but very slightly dated (due to sheer age of the property, but still in great shape). The beach is not right outside of your room, but again not enough to detract from staying here. Activities are not readily available on the resort, but Denise will go out of her way to make sure you are satisfied. She booked a zip-lining adventure for my wife and I.

If you want a truly relaxing experience at one of the best resorts in the Carribean I highly recommend Casa Velas. Their service is Ritz-Carlton-esque and you will not regret your stay here.

Room Tip: We got a room on the ground floor with a plunge pool (small pool the size of a hot tub), and enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Absolute Delight to know you had a wonderful time. Casa Velas highly appreciates the time you have taken to share your lovely experience, we welcome you to return at any time Casa Velas will always be your HOME AWAY FROM HOME!! And we look forward on hosting you in the near future.

Best Regards,

DENISSE GONZALEZ
Chief Concierge
Casa Velas:YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME
T:+52 (322) 226 6680 Ext.6650
T:DIR +52 (322) 226 6691
Email: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Short and simple....

Suites...Excellent
Hotel Facilities...Excellent
Staff...Excellent
Service...Excellent
Food...Excellent
Drinks....beyond Excellent
Beach Club...Excellent
Gym, Spa, Pools.......Excellent

This place exceeded all my expectations.

Denisse, the Conciege, was extremely helpful and knowledable.
Benny, the Lobby Bartender, was funny, provided excellent service and drinks.
The food was outstanding. If it wasn't on the menu, you could ask for something.
The drinks were fab! They had all levels of alcohol, from basis' to top shelf's, depending on your wants.

My husband and I must go back soon!

Room Tip: We did not have a plunge pool. We did have a jacuzzi tub in our bathroom. Did not miss the plunge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We absolutely love the tittle of your review we cannot thank you enough for writing such a detailed and lovely review it’s so good to read you had an excellent and memorable time on behalf of all the family in Casa Velas we are looking forward on hosting you again.

Best Regards,


DENISSE GONZALEZ
Chief Concierge
Casa Velas:YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME
T:+52 (322) 226 6680 Ext.6650
T:DIR +52 (322) 226 6691
Email: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our second time visiting Casa Velas...without a doubt this hotel is amazing! The staff is the utmost professional and cater to every need with out reservation. The entire staff from the restaurant, club house, bell boys, reception, front desk, cleaning crew, maintenance, drivers, and bartenders is what makes Casa Velas the BEST! Yes, the property is amazing, but it is the excellent services that just makes you want to stay longer.

Sincerely- Texas (El Paso)!

Room Tip: Make sure that you select Casa Velas because they do have other properties which are more kid orient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle Park, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Casa Velas was an incredible place to have a vacation. The staff was amazingly friendly and outgoing. The maids would fold your clothes and constantly restock your fridge as necessary. When staying at Casa Velas you are entitled to your own private beach at the Beach Club. The staff there makes you feel like royalty. The cuisine at Casa Velas and the Beach Club is the best food I have ever had at any vacation resort. This resort is very breathtaking and relaxing I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Warm Greeting from sunny Casa Velas!! thank you for all your wonderful comments your opinion is very valuable to all of our staff, Its inspiring to read and to know we accomplish our goal on making you feel at home and accommodated in all the aspects that Casa Velas offers, Also thank you for taking the time to express yourself, we hope you visit once again soon, we truly look forward on making another Wonderful and Memorable Vacation.

Best Regards


Denisse Gonzalez
Chief Concierge
YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME
Casa Velas
T: +52 (322) 226 6691
E: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Manicured grounds, clean rooms, excellent staff, amazing Cusine "5 Stars", perfect place to unwind and relax with someone special. A vacation full of heavenly memories.
Thank you ....Casa Velas Boutique Hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much from all the staff and myself GRACIAS!! We love that tittle HEAVEN ON EARTH!!
The tittle says it all, we are so happy to know you had an amazing time it’s truly a joy to know we accomplish our daily goal making you feel at home and living with a memorable experience. We look forward on hosting you again in the near future.

Denisse Gonzalez
Chief Concierge
YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME
Casa Velas
T: +52 (322) 226 6691
E: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Having read some of the other reviews, I am surprised by the negative experiences that some guests have had. During our 5 days there, we did not see a single child at our resort. We saw more than we cared to see at Velas Vallarta (sister resort), and it appears to me that's the one intended for families. Having access to both resorts was ideal because we could take a very short drive (provided by the resort) when we wanted to have some fun in the sun (pool volleyball, ping pong, beach time, etc) or we could relax at Casa Velas when we wanted some peace and quiet. While we enjoyed meals at both locations, the food at Casa Velas was far superior. Even the menu at the swim-up bar had very delicious options!

From the moment we arrived, Denisse (the concierge) was super helpful. Not only did she help us plan our off-site adventures, but she also made sure we had everything we needed during our stay. Benny, Cruz, and Freddy (waiters and bartenders) were also instrumental in ensuring our needs were met.

Our room was very spacious and we found the bed really comfortable. The only thing this place is missing is that it's not on the beach. Though I wonder if that would draw a different type of guest. Speaking of which, we met some very nice couples during our stay. Everyone there seemed to be enjoying themselves. The property is big enough that you can enjoy some alone time or you can mingle with the other guests, if desired.

We made use of the spa, and while tiny, we had no trouble scheduling treatments when desired. We did the hydrotherapy treatment followed by a couples massage. Both were quite satisfying.

While we did not take advantage of either, I was impressed that the resort offered a cooking class and a massage class. Had we scheduled a longer stay, I probably would have taken advantage of both!

As for timing, we were there during the first week of July and got to experience some fascinating thunder storms a couple nights. Fortunately, the weather during the day was perfect.

Overall, I was extremely pleased with our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s truly a pleasure to read such a lovely review Casa Velas appreciates the time you have taken too share your lovely experience, We are thrilled to know you had a wonderful time and we will keep working on always making unforgettable experiences, we look forward on seeing you in the near future.

Best Regards,


Denisse Gonzalez
Chief Concierge
YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME
Casa Velas
T: +52 (322) 226 6691
E: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique
Address: Pelicanos 311, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the perfect resort retreat in the Mexican Pacific Riviera, where luxury and romanticism combine in perfect harmony. Resembling a private estate, Casa Velas offers Condé Nast and AAA award-winning service in a casually elegant and intimate boutique atmosphere in Puerto Vallarta. This boutique hotel enjoys a garden setting surrounded by the Marina Vallarta Golf Course. A beachside experience waits just three minutes away at your private Ocean Club, with stunning sunsets and memorable dining. Unlimited transport is available day and night to whisk you to the golden shores of the Mexican Pacific. The Ocean Club is a place of supreme peace and tranquility for enjoying an infinity pool, jacuzzi and terrace with impressive ocean views. Our luxurious getaway invites you to enjoy the comforting sounds and vibrant colors of the tropics as you discover the true meaning of relaxation and luxury at an all-inclusive Puerto Vallarta resort paradise. Recently chosen as one of the Top 10 hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean in three categories - Luxury, Relaxation/Spa and Hotel for Romance - by TripAdvisor®, Casa Velas is an enchanting destination where simple pleasures rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Velas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.