We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Vallerta!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casa Velas to your Saves list
Casa Velas
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pelicanos 311, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
El Paso, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Place in Vallerta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our second time visiting Casa Velas...without a doubt this hotel is amazing! The staff is the utmost professional and cater to every need with out reservation. The entire staff from the restaurant, club house, bell boys, reception, front desk, cleaning crew, maintenance, drivers, and bartenders is what makes Casa Velas the BEST! Yes, the property is amazing, but it is the excellent services that just makes you want to stay longer.

Sincerely- Texas (El Paso)!

Room Tip: Make sure that you select Casa Velas because they do have other properties which are more kid orient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    81
    35
    21
    14
See reviews for
50
650
20
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roselle Park, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Casa Velas was an incredible place to have a vacation. The staff was amazingly friendly and outgoing. The maids would fold your clothes and constantly restock your fridge as necessary. When staying at Casa Velas you are entitled to your own private beach at the Beach Club. The staff there makes you feel like royalty. The cuisine at Casa Velas and the Beach Club is the best food I have ever had at any vacation resort. This resort is very breathtaking and relaxing I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Warm Greeting from sunny Casa Velas!! thank you for all your wonderful comments your opinion is very valuable to all of our staff, Its inspiring to read and to know we accomplish our goal on making you feel at home and accommodated in all the aspects that Casa Velas offers, Also thank you for taking the time to express yourself, we hope you visit once again soon, we truly look forward on making another Wonderful and Memorable Vacation.

Best Regards


Denisse Gonzalez
Chief Concierge
YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME
Casa Velas
T: +52 (322) 226 6691
E: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Manicured grounds, clean rooms, excellent staff, amazing Cusine "5 Stars", perfect place to unwind and relax with someone special. A vacation full of heavenly memories.
Thank you ....Casa Velas Boutique Hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much from all the staff and myself GRACIAS!! We love that tittle HEAVEN ON EARTH!!
The tittle says it all, we are so happy to know you had an amazing time it’s truly a joy to know we accomplish our daily goal making you feel at home and living with a memorable experience. We look forward on hosting you again in the near future.

Denisse Gonzalez
Chief Concierge
YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME
Casa Velas
T: +52 (322) 226 6691
E: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Having read some of the other reviews, I am surprised by the negative experiences that some guests have had. During our 5 days there, we did not see a single child at our resort. We saw more than we cared to see at Velas Vallarta (sister resort), and it appears to me that's the one intended for families. Having access to both resorts was ideal because we could take a very short drive (provided by the resort) when we wanted to have some fun in the sun (pool volleyball, ping pong, beach time, etc) or we could relax at Casa Velas when we wanted some peace and quiet. While we enjoyed meals at both locations, the food at Casa Velas was far superior. Even the menu at the swim-up bar had very delicious options!

From the moment we arrived, Denisse (the concierge) was super helpful. Not only did she help us plan our off-site adventures, but she also made sure we had everything we needed during our stay. Benny, Cruz, and Freddy (waiters and bartenders) were also instrumental in ensuring our needs were met.

Our room was very spacious and we found the bed really comfortable. The only thing this place is missing is that it's not on the beach. Though I wonder if that would draw a different type of guest. Speaking of which, we met some very nice couples during our stay. Everyone there seemed to be enjoying themselves. The property is big enough that you can enjoy some alone time or you can mingle with the other guests, if desired.

We made use of the spa, and while tiny, we had no trouble scheduling treatments when desired. We did the hydrotherapy treatment followed by a couples massage. Both were quite satisfying.

While we did not take advantage of either, I was impressed that the resort offered a cooking class and a massage class. Had we scheduled a longer stay, I probably would have taken advantage of both!

As for timing, we were there during the first week of July and got to experience some fascinating thunder storms a couple nights. Fortunately, the weather during the day was perfect.

Overall, I was extremely pleased with our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s truly a pleasure to read such a lovely review Casa Velas appreciates the time you have taken too share your lovely experience, We are thrilled to know you had a wonderful time and we will keep working on always making unforgettable experiences, we look forward on seeing you in the near future.

Best Regards,


Denisse Gonzalez
Chief Concierge
YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME
Casa Velas
T: +52 (322) 226 6691
E: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our first trip to Puerto Vallarta and I have to admit the staff at Casa Velas has spoiled us for life!! We visited Puerto Vallarta and Casa Velas with friends who had a Time-Share in the Velas properties. We upgraded to Casa Velas, and the experience was nothing short of fantastic!!

Denisse, Rafael and the entire concierge/front desk staff were simply outstanding - they made us feel right at home immediately, and they were all so very helpful and informative. Their customer service and professionalism was top notch - outstanding!!

The rest of the stellar staff at Casas Velas deserve special recognition as well: Alejandro (Alex) our driver; Freddy the pool bartender; Idet and Karen; the staff at Emiliano was superb - Edgar, Jorge, Marcus, Cruz, and Bernardino were all friendly, helpful and courteous. Every day the hostesses were cheerful, pleasant, and ready to provide you with a wonderful dining experience.

Casa Velas will always hold a special place with me, because my partner and I were celebrating our 20-year anniversary, and the staff offered congratulations and positive sentiments at every turn. We especially loved receiving a card and treats from Denisse on our special day, and we will never forget how comfortable and accepting everyone was at the resort.

THANK YOU, Casa Velas!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your lovely experience, Casa Velas is very happy to know we excited your expectations turning this Vacation to something memorable and special. Thank you for remembering and mentioning everybody’s name. We welcome you to return at any time Casa Velas will always be your home away from home.


Best Regards,

Denisse Gonzalez
Chief Concierge
YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME
Casa Velas
T: +52 (322) 226 6691
E: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We visited Puerto Vallarta and Casa Velas with friends who had a Time-Share in the Velas properties. We upgraded to Casa Velas, and there is no looking back to anything less.

I first have to recognize the outstanding staff at this resort/hotel. The first two staff members we met would be the hardest to say "goodbye" to, and that was the Concierge, Denisse, and our Activities Coordinator Rafael. I can't say enough great things about their professionalism and special care they provided to us each and every day of our 7-day trip. They offered vacation suggestions in and off the resort that were always above our expectations, and they made sure we didn't forget how important it was to relax and enjoy all that Puerto Vallarta and the Velas had to offer.

I have to also mention our bell-man and driver Alejandro (Alex), who took us to our room, and drove us back and forth between Casa Velas and Velas Vallarta. He was always cheerful, accessible, and courteous.

When we were at the pool, Freddy the bartender was our guy. He was absolutely the best at making drinks and ensuring we had a great time while we relaxed at the pool. His helpers, Idet and Karen were also special, because they really reminded us how important it was to just relax and have some fun!!!!

The onsite Restaurant, Emiliano, is a top of the line restaurant with a top of the line chef and staff. We were always greated pleasantly at every meal, and the food was OUTSTANDING!!!! No more all inclusive resorts with buffets, this place is 5-star/diamond dining at it's best!!!!

Every meal was delicious, the presentation was flawless and the staff (Jorge, Marcus, Cruz, and Bernardino) made each and every dining experience more special than the last. Every day the hostesses were cheerful, pleasant, and ready to provide you with a wonderful dining experience.

Casa Velas will always hold a special place with me, because my partner and I were celebrating our 20-year anniversary, and the staff offered congratulations and positive sentiments at every turn. We especially loved receiving a card and treats from Denisse on our special day, and we will never forget how comfortable and accepting everyone was at the resort.

I can't say enough great things about our stay at Casa Velas. I am already looking into what it would take to visit twice a year. That's the kind of impression that was left on me from the facilities and the staff. I am forever grateful and appreciative, because I really needed the vacation, and I really wanted to share a special time with my partner and friends.

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!!!!!!

Room Tip: all rooms have a pool on the balcony!!! who does that??? and why don't others do it??? LOVED O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We absolutely love the title of your review, we cant thank you enough for choosing to spend your vacation in Casa Velas, and to know you had a memorable and outstanding vacation is really motivating. Thank you so much for taking the time to provide everybody your lovely experience we look forward on seeing you again Casa Velas will always be your home away from home.


Best Regards,

Denisse Gonzalez
Chief Concierge
YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME
Casa Velas
T: +52 (322) 226 6691
E: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in Casa Velas for our anniversary week last August 2012. Sorry for the late review. We are currently looking at spots for our anniversary this year, and we can't stop comparing everything with Casa Velas. We go away every year to a beach resort that is all inclusive, so it's not like we have nothing to compare this fabulous hotel.

First of all when you get there... the airport is crazy. It's privately owned and after reading all the reviews here we reached out to Casa Velas about getting through the "gauntlet" as others have called it. You will get off the airplane, go through customs and then be brought through double doors into an air conditioned long area with desks on each side. As we were instructed to do by the staff at Casa Velas --- Just keep walking! The people on either side will yell things to you about being "where you check in" and "you have to check in here first". You do not. Once you get past the other double doors on the other side you will be greeted with your transfer to casa velas. Look for the girls in the pink shirts and they will give you a bottle of water and a smile. I know that sounds crazy - but everything else about your trip will be so relaxing you will forget the airport drama quickly. Also I'd like to thank Casa Velas for giving us complete instructions on how to get through the airport easily.

Then you drive through the beautiful Puerto Vallarta to get to one of the most fabulously manicured properties we've ever seen. You come up to the lovely front reception area with fountains and koi fish and recieve a welcome drink and a cold towel.

Our room was all yellow with interesting and very authentic Mexican feeling artwork on the walls. We did get the room with a private plunge pool and enjoyed that daily after the beach. It's not a huge plunge pool, but it fit our needs as we were only getting in it for a cocktail before dinner. The bed was very comfortable and it had a very nice, large bathroom. The mini bar was stocked with beer daily... anything we needed in our room, we just asked and it was given! The air conditioner in the room worked very well - a must when traveling in August, and it was a nice break to snuggle up in a cold room nightly.

The property is so breath taking that you'll want to travel around it and watch the Koi fish in all the different ponds. The ponds go around the property, so whether you are enjoying your dinner or having a drink by the bar, you can hear the pleasant sound of the water and the Koi splashing around. There's also a Peacock and a Peahen that love to come walking around in those areas and that's very enjoyable, as well as a lot of turtles tanning themselves on the rocks in the ponds. The grounds are gorgeous, and I don't think I can say enough about them and how much the attention to detail in the artwork and grounds enhanced our stay.

What really put Casa Velas over the top for us, was the food. We loved everything we had. The breakfasts are authentic Mexican but not too spicy, if you don't like that. I love spicy food and they always made everything to order so I could ask for more spice or not. The breakfasts are especially nice because they serve you out on the patio in front of the pool with a Koi pond in between. There's always lovely relaxing music playing and the service was incredible. The juices in the morning are more like smoothies and they are very good. The restaurant Emilianos has a gorgeous chandelier that is wicker and all animals - it matches the ornately carved chairs that give it a clean but very Mexican feel. The food was outstanding every night and the wine by the bottle included in the all inclusive was really nice. I like that the restaurant has an air conditioned and open air area so that you can choose where you'd like to sit to eat. Emilianos feels special, so it's nice to get dressed up and go there nightly. Also included in the all inclusive are the restaurants and events at Velas Vallarta, but after going to the fiesta we missed our lovely, not overly crowded hotel. I think next time, we'd skip Velas Vallarta.

After dinner we'd enjoy the soft music, romantic feel of the hotel, and get served drinks by Beny, the Bartender. He is such a great personality and even brought us a special bottle of champagne on the night of our anniversary. He really adds to the place with his warm smile and personality.

The days were spent for us at the beach club. There is a short drive there by shuttle bus that runs continually - the property of the resort is not on the beach. By short drive think 3 minutes in a clean, air conditioned shuttle that takes you to paradise. The beach club is lovely. They serve lunch there with fabulous guacamole and wonderful sushi (perfect for a beach lunch). You can sit for your lunch at the restaurant which is open air overlooking the beach or get served on the beach in your cabana. Also, bottle service of wine is available with lunch and expect the same lovely soft music playing during the day. The beaches are public so expect vendors walking by but they are very polite and if you shake your head no, they just keep walking. We adored the beach club. The lounges in the pool at the beach club and in the regular pool are especially nice. It's all very romantic. For the night of our anniversary we booked a private dinner at the beach club. They wrote "happy anniversary" on our dessert and we watched the sun set over the water. One thing I will say about the beach is that while we were there, due to storms the water could be very cloudy. We were traveling during hurricane season, so it's not that much of a surprise. It didn't really bother us, because the pool overlooks the beach and we could always cool off there. We did enjoy laying on the beach watching the pelicans dive into the water - again relaxing and lovely.

We enjoyed a couples massage at the very nice spa, and once or twice (haha) we used the also very nice gym.

We took the short trip to the Malecon to see the statues and walk around. The statues are so continual along the Malecon that it's almost like an open air museum. Puerto Vallarta is very safe, we took a taxi and I felt very comfortable there. We went into a bar to cool off and there seems to always be beer specials which was fun. We also went to the craft market and got some very interesting wood carving and nativity sets and such for family and friends. It was a bit crowded and you want to haggle but I felt safe there also. You can do the Malecon and the craft market in one half day and enjoy relaxing the rest of your stay. One night after dinner we went to the lighthouse which has a bar at the top of it for a drink and that was also a lot of fun and a quick trip. While we were there a storm rolled in and it was really amazing to see it from that location - if they are expecting a storm that night see if you can go there... very cool!

If you are looking for a quiet, incredibly relaxing, beautiful way to experience Mexico... this is the place! We will be going back! Completely worth it.

Room Tip: The plunge pool isn't huge, but really nice to relax in at the end of a day of... relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Casa Velas highly appreciates the time you have taken to write such a great and honest review. It truly was a pleasure to host you we are so thrilled to know you enjoyed the tranquil, relaxed, atmosphere and the exquisite dishes in our restaurants. This will always be your home away from home and we look forward on hosting you again in the near future!

Bets Regards,


Denisse Gonzalez
Chief Concierge
YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME
Casa Velas
T: +52 (322) 226 6691
E: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Address: Pelicanos 311, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the perfect resort retreat in the Mexican Pacific Riviera, where luxury and romanticism combine in perfect harmony. Resembling a private estate, Casa Velas offers Condé Nast and AAA award-winning service in a casually elegant and intimate boutique atmosphere in Puerto Vallarta. This boutique hotel enjoys a garden setting surrounded by the Marina Vallarta Golf Course. A beachside experience waits just three minutes away at your private Ocean Club, with stunning sunsets and memorable dining. Unlimited transport is available day and night to whisk you to the golden shores of the Mexican Pacific. The Ocean Club is a place of supreme peace and tranquility for enjoying an infinity pool, jacuzzi and terrace with impressive ocean views. Our luxurious getaway invites you to enjoy the comforting sounds and vibrant colors of the tropics as you discover the true meaning of relaxation and luxury at an all-inclusive Puerto Vallarta resort paradise. Recently chosen as one of the Top 10 hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean in three categories - Luxury, Relaxation/Spa and Hotel for Romance - by TripAdvisor®, Casa Velas is an enchanting destination where simple pleasures rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Velas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.