We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Velas

Save Saved
You added Casa Velas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Velas
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pelicanos 311, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 121 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just what we needed. Terrific attentive staff who always seemed to take a pride in giving good friendly service. The grounds are pleasant, rooms comfortable and the food was beautifully presented. The Beach Club gives the opportunity to sit and watch the ocean-- and be looked after wonderfully. Any problems--e.g.noisy neighbours on one night and a request for a visit from the doctor were sorted out pleasantly and efficiently. The size of the hotel is ideal for couples wanting a romantic and peaceful treat.( note to hotel....Please dont spoil the atmosphere by going ahead with your plans to include children. You apparently provide well for families in your other, larger hotel)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    728
    79
    34
    21
    14
See reviews for
47
631
19
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

In the middle of a residential community close to the marina is a great boutique hotel worth visiting. The service is extraordinary, lovely landscaping and amazing rooms. I recommend this hotel if you want to be in a quiet place away from the busy beaches!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have a fractional ownership at the Grand Velas in Nuevo Vallarta and were unable to get in there over the Christmas break, so opted to go to the Casa Velas instead. We have never been more disappointed in a hotel. The rooms are dated with no closets in the rooms--just a small hanging area in the bathroom which barely held a quarter of my clothes--and a pathetic plunge pool on the deck which was more like a human bird bath. The main restaurant had terrible food with an unchanging menu every day. The beach club was somewhat better, but if you don't like sushi, there is little else on the menu. The spa is tiny and is not even comparable to the spa at the Grand Velas. We had privileges at the Velas Vallarta down the road, but it was also was very dated and overrun with kids and drunken adults. My daughter, who has celiac disease, was sick the whole time we were there, and the waiter who served us the first night was actually drunk. The only redeeming thing about the hotel is the staff (other than the above-mentioned waiter) who did try to accommodate us by offering us a larger room and doing whatever they could to communicate the dietary issues to the kitchen. After repeated attempts by us to get moved to the Grand Velas, we appealed our cause to a wonderful woman at the front desk who saw how sick our daughter was. She took pity on us and called the other hotel and got us in. My recommendation? Go to the Grand Velas. The food is wonderful, the staff and spa are amazing, the rooms are beautiful and it's on a much nicer beach than the Casa Velas.(which is on a golf course, other than their beach club.) Yes, there are children around, but there is also a restaurant that will not allow young children in at night and you have many choices of where and how to eat, whether it be the fantastic buffet or the wonderful French, Italian or Mexican Restaurants. You can also get a wonderful meal brought to your room if you want a quieter, more intimate experience. The parents aren't all drunk like many that we saw at the Velas Vallarta and take care of their kids, so it's actually nice to see them around.
We paid the same amount at the Casa Velas as we did at the Grand Velas, so for me it's a no-brainer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest

We really appreciate the time taken to express your opinion and observations, please be assured that your comments and feedback are certainly being taken into consideration and acted upon in order for us to improve our facilities and services.

I deeply regret the inconveniences found during your stay, our Casa Velas Hotel Boutique has always been polished to offer a concept of gourmet luxury hospitality by excellence and distinguished location where human warmth and our passion for service to ensure total satisfaction of our guests.

We’ll always be willing to welcome you, and hopefully you give us the opportunity again to have you in a near future at Casa Velas Hotel Boutique or at anyone of our different Velas Resorts properties and treat you with the excellence that you deserve.

Receive warm greetings from Casa Velas!

ANGEL GARCIA V.
Chief Concierge
Casa Velas
T: +52 (322) 226 6686
E: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We needed a rest, and we got it at the Casa Velas. This hotel is small and intimate, with superb staff. I continually was tempted to tip extra in light of their extraordinary efforts. We liked breakfast best of all of the meals. The one time we had a not-great dinner (hint: the fish tends to be better than the beef), our waiters fell all over themselves to apologize and promise better the next time. Our massages at the spa were wonderful as well. Frankly, from our travels about the city, we were convinced that we had found the optimum place in the city; some of the larger hotels look positively awful in comparison to the Casa Velas. The longer we stayed, the less tempted we were to venture away from our hotel.

Room Tip: We started on the first floor, but ended up on the second floor. We liked the second floor jacuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity of being your host, want to thank you greatly for taking the time to share your great experience with us at your home away from home.

Casa Velas Hotel Boutique is the perfect retreat in the Mexican Pacific Riviera, where luxury and romanticism combine in perfect harmony. Casa Velas offers Condé Nast and AAA award-winning service in a casually elegant and intimate boutique atmosphere in Puerto Vallarta.

Thank you again for choosing us as your home away from home it will be our pleasure to welcome you in your next visit.

Receive warm greetings from Casa Velas.



ANGEL GARCIA V.
Chief Concierge
Casa Velas
T: +52 (322) 226 6686
E: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Casa Velas, and it was even better than four years ago. The setting is peaceful and lush; the staff couldn't be nicer; the beach club property (which is a quick ride from the hotel (free) or lovely walk) is private with pool and beach front cabanas (with attentive staff bringing food and drink!); the all-inclusive meal plan was ample; and as an adult only property it allowed us to have the quiet we sought. Some of the rooms were brighter than others, and as vegetarians the menu was limited, but these are the only things we would improve.

Room Tip: Ask for the Village area - very pretty and sunny rooms with private entrance and patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest


I am delighted to read your positives comments, thank you for giving us the opportunity of being your host and I am so grateful for all your beautiful comments about our premises and the staff.

Your live experience with us, is the greatest motivation to all of our staff and all of them always are inspiring us to continuing with our mission… always exceed your expectations and put special attention in all the details for your total comfort.

I will happily share your comments with all our family members, We’ll always be willing to welcome and pamper you as a commitment, thank you again for being chosen as your home away from home, hopefully we will have the opportunity again to have you and exceed your expectations one more time in a near future at Casa Velas Hotel Boutique or at anyone of our different Velas Resorts properties.

All the best!!



ANGEL GARCIA V.
Chief Concierge
Casa Velas
T: +52 (322) 226 6686
E: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have stayed at the Grand Velas in Nayarit and in Riviera Maya, but found the Casa Velas in the marina area of PV to be the crown jewel of this distinguished resort group. Truly a spot for romantics looking for down time. Reasons: small (80 rooms), intimate, friendly, adults only, beautifully manicured grounds, great location, low key and upscale, service, etc., etc., etc. The food is outstanding, and the beach club is special. We stayed for a week and did not want to leave. If this fits your style, I totally recommend. HOWEVER, word has it that starting in 2013 Casa Velas will NO LONGER be adults only. This change, if permanent, will be the death knell for romantics who are always looking for that special place. If not permanent, we'll be back in a heartbeat to join our like-minded and global adult admirers of the essence of CASA VELAS.

Room Tip: High floor, outdoor tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest.


We appreciate very much your high opinion of our premises and the service you always receive from our staff.

The entire crew at Casa Velas will always extend a cordial welcome to this hotel, where we want you to feel at home and we will do our best to serve you with the excellence you deserve, our commitment is to meet and exceed your expectations and special requirements to make of this stay your best VACATION ever. And put special attention in all the details for your total comfort.

Thank you again for expressing your opinion and for giving us the opportunity of being your host, needless to say that I will be more than happy to welcome you in your next visit here at your home away from home.

Receive a warm greeting and a friendly HOLA from Casa Velas.

All the best!!


ANGEL GARCIA V.
Chief Concierge
Casa Velas
T: +52 (322) 226 6686
E: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

my wife and i went to p.v. for christmas and picked this hotel because it was a couples (i.e., no kids) place. i have travelled to 28 countries and all over the U.S. (i'm trying to see every significant place in the world before i die) and this may have been the best staff i've ever been around. the grounds were great, the room was fine (nothing spectacular), and it wasn't far from the beach or the marina for trips. definitely would go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest.


Thank you very much for expressing your opinion about your stay with us at Casa Velas Hotel Boutique, We are so grateful for considering Casa Velas as your favorite destination. Thanks for your positive comments about the service received by our dedicated staff.

It is so important for us to know our guest’s opinions and realize that we, as a team, are accomplishing our most important mission, which is exceeding our guest’s expectations.

Thank you again for expressing your opinion and it will be my pleasure to welcome you in your next visit.

Receive a warm greeting from Casa Velas.



ANGEL GARCIA V.
Chief Concierge
Casa Velas
T: +52 (322) 226 6686
E: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Address: Pelicanos 311, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the perfect resort retreat in the Mexican Pacific Riviera, where luxury and romanticism combine in perfect harmony. Resembling a private estate, Casa Velas offers Condé Nast and AAA award-winning service in a casually elegant and intimate boutique atmosphere in Puerto Vallarta. This boutique hotel enjoys a garden setting surrounded by the Marina Vallarta Golf Course. A beachside experience waits just three minutes away at your private Ocean Club, with stunning sunsets and memorable dining. Unlimited transport is available day and night to whisk you to the golden shores of the Mexican Pacific. The Ocean Club is a place of supreme peace and tranquility for enjoying an infinity pool, jacuzzi and terrace with impressive ocean views. Our luxurious getaway invites you to enjoy the comforting sounds and vibrant colors of the tropics as you discover the true meaning of relaxation and luxury at an all-inclusive Puerto Vallarta resort paradise. Recently chosen as one of the Top 10 hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean in three categories - Luxury, Relaxation/Spa and Hotel for Romance - by TripAdvisor®, Casa Velas is an enchanting destination where simple pleasures rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Velas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.