We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Velas

Save Saved
You added Casa Velas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Velas
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pelicanos 311, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Lovely Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Casa Velas, and it was even better than four years ago. The setting is peaceful and lush; the staff couldn't be nicer; the beach club property (which is a quick ride from the hotel (free) or lovely walk) is private with pool and beach front cabanas (with attentive staff bringing food and drink!); the all-inclusive meal plan was ample; and as an adult only property it allowed us to have the quiet we sought. Some of the rooms were brighter than others, and as vegetarians the menu was limited, but these are the only things we would improve.

Room Tip: Ask for the Village area - very pretty and sunny rooms with private entrance and patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest


I am delighted to read your positives comments, thank you for giving us the opportunity of being your host and I am so grateful for all your beautiful comments about our premises and the staff.

Your live experience with us, is the greatest motivation to all of our staff and all of them always are inspiring us to continuing with our mission… always exceed your expectations and put special attention in all the details for your total comfort.

I will happily share your comments with all our family members, We’ll always be willing to welcome and pamper you as a commitment, thank you again for being chosen as your home away from home, hopefully we will have the opportunity again to have you and exceed your expectations one more time in a near future at Casa Velas Hotel Boutique or at anyone of our different Velas Resorts properties.

All the best!!



ANGEL GARCIA V.
Chief Concierge
Casa Velas
T: +52 (322) 226 6686
E: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    712
    77
    33
    19
    14
See reviews for
45
619
19
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have stayed at the Grand Velas in Nayarit and in Riviera Maya, but found the Casa Velas in the marina area of PV to be the crown jewel of this distinguished resort group. Truly a spot for romantics looking for down time. Reasons: small (80 rooms), intimate, friendly, adults only, beautifully manicured grounds, great location, low key and upscale, service, etc., etc., etc. The food is outstanding, and the beach club is special. We stayed for a week and did not want to leave. If this fits your style, I totally recommend. HOWEVER, word has it that starting in 2013 Casa Velas will NO LONGER be adults only. This change, if permanent, will be the death knell for romantics who are always looking for that special place. If not permanent, we'll be back in a heartbeat to join our like-minded and global adult admirers of the essence of CASA VELAS.

Room Tip: High floor, outdoor tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest.


We appreciate very much your high opinion of our premises and the service you always receive from our staff.

The entire crew at Casa Velas will always extend a cordial welcome to this hotel, where we want you to feel at home and we will do our best to serve you with the excellence you deserve, our commitment is to meet and exceed your expectations and special requirements to make of this stay your best VACATION ever. And put special attention in all the details for your total comfort.

Thank you again for expressing your opinion and for giving us the opportunity of being your host, needless to say that I will be more than happy to welcome you in your next visit here at your home away from home.

Receive a warm greeting and a friendly HOLA from Casa Velas.

All the best!!


ANGEL GARCIA V.
Chief Concierge
Casa Velas
T: +52 (322) 226 6686
E: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

my wife and i went to p.v. for christmas and picked this hotel because it was a couples (i.e., no kids) place. i have travelled to 28 countries and all over the U.S. (i'm trying to see every significant place in the world before i die) and this may have been the best staff i've ever been around. the grounds were great, the room was fine (nothing spectacular), and it wasn't far from the beach or the marina for trips. definitely would go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest.


Thank you very much for expressing your opinion about your stay with us at Casa Velas Hotel Boutique, We are so grateful for considering Casa Velas as your favorite destination. Thanks for your positive comments about the service received by our dedicated staff.

It is so important for us to know our guest’s opinions and realize that we, as a team, are accomplishing our most important mission, which is exceeding our guest’s expectations.

Thank you again for expressing your opinion and it will be my pleasure to welcome you in your next visit.

Receive a warm greeting from Casa Velas.



ANGEL GARCIA V.
Chief Concierge
Casa Velas
T: +52 (322) 226 6686
E: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Lovely hotel on arrival. Welcome is wonderful and Stephano the concierge is a star. Pool and restaurant were lovely. But oh dear the Royal Suites awful. They need a huge refurb. Furniture -what there is of it downstairs is awful. So disappointingly we left next day instead of staying 10 nights. Staff were amazing though

Room Tip: Don't book a royal suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband I stayed at Casa Velas in 2010 and I realize that there is a gap between then and the time of this review but from the more recent positive reviews that I have read and heartily agree with, it seems that nothing has changed. We had a wonderful, relaxing trip with great service on a beautiful property with delicious dining. My main reason for writing this review now is that I was dismayed to read about the change regarding children. I was palnning on booking a return trip for our fifth year anniversary this October and now I am pretty sure that I won't book here. Judging by the comments from the hotel, I don't think that policy is going to change but I had to put my two cents in. Being able to go sit on the edge of the pool with my book and a drink and be able to actually concentrate on my book and not worry about being splashed or my drink getting kicked over is actually priceless to me on a trip like this and it is just not worth it to me to book somewhere that allows children. I'm actually really disappointed because this is a wonderful property.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest

In Casa Velas Hotel Boutique, we are concerned and very interested about our client’s observations.

We fully understand the change of perspective that now may have from our hotel considering the wonderful experiences in the past lived in this little slice of paradise, but I also want to let you know that we have complete confidence that our hotel will remain that special cozy place, with the highest quality service, friendliness, and the relentless pursuit of satisfying all the needs of our guests, pamper and always exceed your expectations.

I take this occasion to put at your disposal my previous concierge services, where I will gladly follow your request or information regarding your reservation and or our hotel. You are always cordially invited to visit us and benefit from our personalized service. We as hotel are delighted to have new experiences and give our guests the excellent service they deserve. Changes are definitely something new, but our mentality to make your stay a wonderful time never changes.

Hope you give us the opportunity to be your host and show you that Casa Velas, will remain a truly deluxe, for great and stupendous experiences.

Receive a warm greeting from the friendliest city of the world, Puerto Vallarta.



ANGEL GARCIA V.
Chief Concierge
Casa Velas
T: +52 (322) 226 6686
E: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We needed a night of luxury in the middle of a long trip, and selected this from TripAdvisor. Beautiful property adjacent to the golf course -- minutes away from the airport, and having all of the amenities including pool, restaurant, and a short hotel van ride to the beach club. The beach club has a pool, restaurant, and private beach area. The professional staff are attentive to needs. Very safe and secure. I would recommend this hotel to higher-end travelers who want "Mexico" and who are looking for a luxurious hotel stay and service. Choose this particular hotel location for a very quiet and serene experience.

Room Tip: We did not go to the other larger hotel that Velas has arrangements with, and this would offer more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest.


Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences at trip advisor; Casa Velas, a boutique hotel and ocean club located on the Marina Vallarta Golf Course.

Because it is through sight that we can appreciate beauty in its pure state, next to the Emiliano restaurant you will find our Casa Velas Botanical Garden with cobbled pathways and observing the verdant surroundings, and the friendly peacocks walking around.

We’ll always be willing to welcome and pamper you as a commitment; all Casa Velas staff sends you a friendly HOLA!!

Thank you again for choosing us as your home away from home it will be my pleasure to welcome you in your next visit.


Receive a warm greeting from Casa Velas.



ANGEL GARCIA V.
Chief Concierge
Casa Velas
T: +52 (322) 226 6686
E: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Second trip to Casa Velas This is One of our favorite get a ways. Returned with friends this past year. Serene tranquil setting beautiful grounds, exceptional staff, the private beach club was great a short 2 min shuttle ride from the resort.

Room Tip: Staying with a group select the large 3 bedroom townhouse with private dipping pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest.


I wish to extend warm greetings from Casa Velas and thank you very much for expressing your opinion about your stay with us; it is always a pleasure to know that we have exceeded our guest’s expectations on regards of the service provided by our dedicated staff.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity of being your host during your holidays and make it a memorable one and experience a true vacation in paradise.

Thank you again for expressing your opinion and it will be my pleasure to welcome you in your next visit.

All Casa Velas staff sends you a friendly HOLA!!


ANGEL GARCIA V.
Chief Concierge
Casa Velas
T: +52 (322) 226 6686
E: concierge@hotelcasavelas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Address: Pelicanos 311, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the perfect resort retreat in the Mexican Pacific Riviera, where luxury and romanticism combine in perfect harmony. Resembling a private estate, Casa Velas offers Condé Nast and AAA award-winning service in a casually elegant and intimate boutique atmosphere in Puerto Vallarta. This boutique hotel enjoys a garden setting surrounded by the Marina Vallarta Golf Course. A beachside experience waits just three minutes away at your private Ocean Club, with stunning sunsets and memorable dining. Unlimited transport is available day and night to whisk you to the golden shores of the Mexican Pacific. The Ocean Club is a place of supreme peace and tranquility for enjoying an infinity pool, jacuzzi and terrace with impressive ocean views. Our luxurious getaway invites you to enjoy the comforting sounds and vibrant colors of the tropics as you discover the true meaning of relaxation and luxury at an all-inclusive Puerto Vallarta resort paradise. Recently chosen as one of the Top 10 hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean in three categories - Luxury, Relaxation/Spa and Hotel for Romance - by TripAdvisor®, Casa Velas is an enchanting destination where simple pleasures rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Velas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.