We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Velas to your Saves list
Casa Velas
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pelicanos 311 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Caledon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I just returned from a week at Casa Velas and can only say the personnel and service were absolutely fantastic. The hotel is small and intimate allowing for more personalized service. Our room was very large with the bedroom area and bathroom up 2 steps from the entertainment centre area along with a table and 4 chairs off to the side so lots of space. The food is excellent at both the hotel itself and the Beach Club which has a restaurant with an incredible sunset view that can't be missed.

Room Tip: First floor rooms on the golf course are very private, quiet and some have small pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear guest,

I just want to thank you for the review that you dedicated to Casa Velas. It was our pleasure to have you here and would love to host you again on your next anniversary.

Don’t forget to contact us for the special deals that we offer to our repetitive guests and remember that in your home away from home one of our main goals is to pamper you and spoil you to the point that you feel that you don’t want to leave anymore.

Regards,

Pierre Yves Bonin
Managing Director
Casa Velas Hotel Boutique
”YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    105
    39
    23
    16
See reviews for
76
784
24
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

This was our second holiday trip to Casa Velas and again it was a terrific vacation. I would definitely go back again. We had a standalone suite this year with a plunge pool outside that was just gorgeous. The only set back is that mosquitos will eat you alive if you give them a second. It wasn't great for sitting outside but the accommodations are really lovely. The staff keeps the rooms and the grounds immaculate. The staff is truly out of this world; very friendly and hospitable. The spa is great. Food is good. This is the perfect place to go for a peaceful break.

Room Tip: As tempting as the suites with the plunge pool can be, they're magnets for mosquitos and you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

A week ago today, my new hubby and I left from a blissful 10 day stay at Casa Velas. We had an amazing honeymoon here. So much so, I teared up as Pablo drove us to the airport...

The service was by far the best of any hotel or resort I've ever been to. Our room was kept immaculately, the food was the best at Emilianos, at the pool or the beach club. The spa was AMAZING! Everyone on staff was always willing to go out of their way to make you feel comfortable.

Some people who definitely need some props here: Pablo and Eduardo at the front always willing to answer any question or offer suggestions, Benny and Tania at the lobby bar who put up with us each night, Danny and Rangel at the beach club were our favorites!!! Rangel even went out of his way to have the beach club chef prepare a special "send off" dessert on our last night! Also, great job to Fredy, Edgar, and Hector at the pool bar who kept the drinks coming all day long!

We can't wait to go back and are already thinking up ways to get us back as soon as possible!!! Thank you Casa Velas for the most memorable honeymoon I could have imagined!

Room Tip: We were in constant contact with the front desk prior to our travels in order to get what we wanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and for choosing Casa Velas to celebrate your honeymoon. We are very pleased to know that your stay with us was relaxing and peaceful and that you experienced the true cores of Casa Velas; attentive service and top quality in all aspects.

We really appreciate the fact that you took the time to share your experiences with other trip advisor followers. We are confident that your observations will encourage other people to visit our resort and experience what a boutique resort is all about.
I will personally congratulate Pablo, Dany, Rangel and Hector to let them know that they did a great job attending all your needs and treating you as you deserve.

Thank you again for sharing your experiences in this forum and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Pierre Yves Bonin
Managing Director
Casa Velas Hotel
”YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weldon Spring, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is a beautiful boutique hotel that caters to adults only. We were treated like queens and kings. It is located on the bay next to the Marina Golf course (wonderful golf!). The food was wonderful and the bar service was the best we have ever had. Never did we have any sense of danger - felt secure the entire time. I would highly recommend a half day trip into the jungle for zip lining - tons of fun.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tybee Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

This trip was a dream. We stayed 7 days and did not want to leave. We travel at least 6 - 8 weeks a year. We were so impressed we bought into the property.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your words and for the great description about Casa Velas. It is so delightful to know that we have exceeded the expectations of a well traveled couple that have experienced different kinds of resorts and service styles. It is pleasant to know that we make you feel at home and that you decided to become a Casa Velas member.

Thank you again for sharing your experiences in this forum and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Pierre Yves Bonin
Managing Director
Casa Velas Hotel
”YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

A vast majority of reviewers rated Casa Velas very highly, and I concur, Lodging, food and especially the friendly staff made this one a true five-star. Frankly, I was nervous about the proximity to the airport. To be fair, you could hear the planes outside, but not in the rooms, and I didn't feel they were particularly bothersome. Friendly staff, very well-trained, made the stay a delight. This is not a bargain hotel to be sure but I felt it was a good value, worth it. Only caution . . . this is a 'couples hotel', honeymooners and hand holders. Nothing wrong with that, of course, if that's what you are looking for but not a party hotel with lots of 'action'. Like the adults only . . . quiet and very relaxing. Location is really a 20-minute cab ride from the Center, so if you want to do a lot of bar hopping or shopping, this may not be a perfect location for you. The Beach Club is great for dinner (uber-romantic) and lounging, with a great staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
Dear guest,

It is always a pleasure to know that we have exceeded our guest’s expectations on regards of the service provided by our dedicated staff and the food quality at the property.

Thanks to this kind of comments we are now known as the best place for couples retreats, honeymoons and wedding anniversary celebrations in Puerto Vallarta.

Thank you again for expressing your opinion about your stay with us and it will be my pleasure to welcome you in your next visit in your home away from home.

Sincerely,
Pierre Yves Bonin
Managing Director
Casa Velas Hotel Boutique
”YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Everything that needs to be said about Casa Velas has already been said. Fantastic service, amazing food, wonderful experience. I went for a honeymoon and was not disappointed at all.

That said, here are the only minor drawbacks of our visit:

-Wifi only available in the lobby. And the connection quality was neither fast nor consistent. For such a high end hotel, it's too bad Wifi wasn't available in my room or near the pool.

-Daylight savings time in Mexico happened during our visit. There was no notification, no message in the daily CV newspaper, and it occurs at a different time than the US which caught us off guard. Caused some confusion and missed an excursion as a result of it.

-Since it's an extremely high end hotel, the clientele is mostly people over 50 with the occasional trophy wife thrown in there. We loved the place, but wished there were a few couples at least close to our age.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the NEWER side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.9 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#1 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
7.7 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#9 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,185 reviews
2.9 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#8 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
4.8 mi away
Signature by Pinnacle
Signature by Pinnacle
#4 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#15 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Address: Pelicanos 311 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the perfect resort retreat in the Mexican Pacific Riviera, where luxury and romanticism combine in perfect harmony. Resembling a private estate, Casa Velas offers Condé Nast and AAA award-winning service in a casually elegant and intimate boutique atmosphere in Puerto Vallarta. This boutique hotel enjoys a garden setting surrounded by the Marina Vallarta Golf Course. A beachside experience waits just three minutes away at your private Ocean Club, with stunning sunsets and memorable dining. Unlimited transport is available day and night to whisk you to the golden shores of the Mexican Pacific. The Ocean Club is a place of supreme peace and tranquility for enjoying an infinity pool, jacuzzi and terrace with impressive ocean views. Our luxurious getaway invites you to enjoy the comforting sounds and vibrant colors of the tropics as you discover the true meaning of relaxation and luxury at an all-inclusive Puerto Vallarta resort paradise. Recently chosen as one of the Top 10 hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean in three categories - Luxury, Relaxation/Spa and Hotel for Romance - by TripAdvisor®, Casa Velas is an enchanting destination where simple pleasures rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Velas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.