We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We're coming back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Velas to your Saves list
Casa Velas
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pelicanos 311, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Red Bank, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“We're coming back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

We cannot say enough good things about Casa Velas. The staff, the food, the grounds,the value and the location make a visit there truly memorable.
We have stayed at various other boutique hotels (including the Four Seasons) but Casa velas tops our list.
We will be back in 2012.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments; we really appreciate the fact that you took the time to share your experiences at Casa Velas with other trip advisor followers. We are confident that your observations will encourage other people to visit our resort and experience what a boutique resort is all about.

Thank you again for sharing your experiences in this forum and we look forward to your next visit.


Sincerely,

Pierre Yves Bonin
Managing Director
Casa Velas Hotel Boutique
”YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    82
    36
    21
    14
See reviews for
52
660
21
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Casa Velas the first full week of March to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. On the whole, our experience was wonderful. I booked 6 months before we went, and in the interim I started to worry that I would be disappointed because my hopes for the place were so high. Happily, we were not disappointed at all -- the property really is as beautiful as the pictures make it look, and the service really is that outstanding.

Check in: When we checked in we were shown to a couch and served (by a wonderful, smiling Geraldo) a welcome drink (whatever we wanted from the bar) while they told us everything we needed to know about the resort. Our room was not ready yet so we were shown to Emiliano's (the only restaurant at the resort proper) for lunch, which was nice.

The room (517C): Very nice, with a jacuzzi tub and a balcony. The bed was comfortable, there were bathrobes and slippers -- it was great. No complaints at all. It was also very quiet since it was not in the main part of the hotel, which was perfect for us.

The spa: As other reviewers have noted, there was a fire in the spa a while back so the spa services are being done in a suite and the gym equipment is outside. We used the gym several times during our stay, and we really liked that it is outside. It makes it easier to workout when you can enjoy the beautiful weather at the same time. There aren't many machines, but it's only ever busy from 7 am to maybe 8:30 am. After that there's no one there. We also got volcanic mud wraps at the spa, and they were fantastic.

Beach club/pool: We loved the beach club. It's quiet, small, and the service was great. Jorge and the other guys are fantastic. It was not an issue for us that the resort was not right on the beach, because it was really easy and quick to get to the beach club. The pool at the hotel is gorgeous (and larger than the one at the beach club), and there is a swim up bar. There are a ton of lounge chairs, and except for maybe one day we never saw anyone have a problem finding chairs. In general there are always chairs, although maybe not in the location that you want.

Food: We had dinner at the beach club two nights, lunch several times, and really enjoyed it. The food at the pool at the resort is great too, and the service is quick. Emiliano's had good food, but I wouldn't say that it was great (but to be fair, my husband would -- he loved everything he had). I did really like breakfast and lunch, but I would have liked more vegetarian options on the menu for dinner. However, it was definitely the best all-inclusive food I've ever eaten.

Service: The absolute best thing about this resort -- Jorge, Hector, Benny, Edgar, Geraldo, Jesus, Eduardo, and everyone else whose name I forgot. They all go out of their way to make you feel welcome, to greet you with a smile, to see if you need anything, etc. They remember your name, room number and favorite dishes and drinks. There were several times when we ordered things that were not on the menu, and one time Jorge suggested my husband get the lamb and the steak because he couldn't decide which he wanted.

A few notes:
-This is a really quiet resort. There are no evening activities, it's a place to relax and unwind. If you want to be in a lively place, Casa Velas is definitely not for you.
-The resort caters to an older clientele. My husband and I are in our late 20s/early 30s, and were some of the youngest people there. The majority of the guests are between 40 and 60. If you are looking for a younger scene, Casa Velas is not for you.
-I know some reviewers have said they experienced timeshare pressure, but timeshares were never even mentioned to us.

Small nits:
-Our room did not have a plunge pool, which I had requested upon booking, but we didn't care enough to bother asking to change rooms.
-I wish the dinner menus (at the beach club and at Emiliano's) had more vegetarian options.
-The dinner service at Emiliano's was very slow some nights, for no apparent reason.

As I said before, on the whole our experience was fantastic. We loved it, and hated to leave. There are many other places to see and visit, but we will definitely return to Casa Velas.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Aspects of the hotel we appreciated: the restaurant - food quality, variety, presentation and service; attention to detail in the overall environment - fresh flowers daily in the hallways; he staff - impeccably trained, cheerful and friendly; the room with its lounging pool on the balcony overlooking the golf course; the private beach club with its own restaurant; the unexpected wildlife from sleepy crocodiles on the golf course, to cheeky birds stealing packets of sugar on the terrace

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
Dear guest:

Thank you for sharing your memories and experiences in this forum, we look forward to your next visit to exceed your expectations and pamper you as your deserve it.

Sincerely,

Pierre Yves Bonin
Managing Director
Casa Velas Hotel Boutique
”YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puyallup
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

So my husband and I are vacationing for our honeymoon at Casa Velas at the end of this month. We will blog each day to see if our experience matches most reviews. For example did we get the room we paid for or did we have to fight and provide proof which has been our experience with other resorts we've at stayed at in Mexico, and so on through out the week. We are excited to experience everything so many people are writing about.

Stay tuned . . . . . . . .

Steve and Janice

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, General Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Dear Janice and Steve is a pleasure to know of your Visit.

Our staff will be in contact with you to plan your honeymoon. We are Honored That We Have Chosen to celebrate this important occasion.

That I can guarantee your unforgettable honeymoon, Because Our atmosphere is calm and relaxation.

Our corners full of luxury and romance as a room full of comfort for relaxation Where You will find a Jacuzzi You Can enjoy a couple.

You Can Enjoy our Various Activities Such As tequila tasting wine tasting, cooking Demonstrations, the city tour , house cocktails, a massage or spa ritual

Inside you will find Our delicious gourmet restaurants, the chef prepare some especial of you to enjoy the show.

Benny will be waiting in the lobby bar to prepare Some of Their specialty martini surely a surprise

The beach club will enjoy Every day of sun, sea, drinks and Our excellent menu of sushi, this club is only 2 minutes from the hotel, Our bell boys the take

The Casa Velas family will be waiting with open arms, to Provide the service and warmth That Represents us.

Regards, See you soon

Pierre Yves Bonin
Managing Director
Casa Velas Hotel
”YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

The best service experience I’ve ever had!
Excellent cuisine
Great sightseeing
Had wonderful vacations, for golf lovers… great golf course!
And the best…. The warmth service, since arrival to the end. Definitely… I’ll come back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, General Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you very much dear guest for their comments actually are an excellent choosing for golfers, by the advantages we have in addition to providing a luxury service gourmet.

We are in the middle of the golf course in the Navy PV.

The hope again, Antonio our Golf Manager will share with you a round of golf.
Enjoy the culinary delights of our restaurants and enjoy a sunny day along with excellent drinks at the pool.

We wish once again to extend our gratitude for your feedback and we would like to invite you to come back soon to your home away from home.


Regards,

Pierre Yves Bonin
Managing Director
Casa Velas Hotel
”YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

The perfect hotel, clean, well decorated, inviting to relaxation. The staff was attentive, friendly and cheerful. Its director, Pierre Bonin, ever mindful of the welfare of his guests. Just a dream. Captain Guillermo a kind man, smiling and helpful.
The SPA and the food was magnificent best. Have to visit the beautiful botanical garden in the premises of the hotel that invites calm and relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, General Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Dear Guest

Is truly an honor as specific comments, which describe very well what it is Hotel Casa Velas.

A hotel in the middle of nature where peace and relaxation is the maximum carried away by the sounds of our special sources and the chirping of birds

It was a pleasure serving you and give you the service you deserve. enjoying our rooms, restaurant, beach club and pool area.

On his return will be waiting with many surprises.

Everyone in the Casa Velas family will be waiting with open arms to provide you with the service and quality that we are known for.

Pierre Yves Bonin
Managing Director
Casa Velas Hotel
”YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

My husband and I recently returned from a week stay at Casa Velas. From the moment we arrived until the minute we left we had a fantastic time. Here is our review of our week at CV...
AIRPORT ARRIVAL: Literaly 30 minutes from the time the airplane touched down until we were sitting in the reception area at Casa Velas, where we were greeted by the reception staff with a cold drink and refreshing hand towel.
CHECK-IN: Our plane arrived two hours before check-in time. We quickly settled in on the patio and started reviewing the Casa Velas information provided to us by Stefano, the concierge. We then headed to Emilianos for lunch and before we knew it, Eduardo greeted us by name and informed us that our room was ready.
ROOM: We stayed in a Grand Class suite with a hot tub/jacuzzi on the outdoor patio/deck, which we used every day after returning from the Beach Club. Our room was immaculately clean every day and the mini-bar and snacks were always replenished as needed. One down side of our room was that there were no dresser or bureau drawers to store clothes or other items in. We made do with the drawers in the bedside tables and the two shelves in the closet. We also called down for extran hangers which were delivered immediately. Another thing that would have made our room just a little better would have been the addition of a sofa to sit on. We only had two straight back chairs and a table to sit at, so if you wanted to relax and watch tv, you had to sit/lay on the bed.
BEACH CLUB: By far our favorite part of the resort. The foold and drink was always excellent--especially the shrimp tempura and tuna salad. The staff go out of their way to provide cold bottled water, fresh towels, food and beverages to the CV guests. We ate lunch at the Beach Club every daya and dinner one evening It is a bit cool in the evening, so bring a wrap or a sweater as the staff move the tables out by the pool and you can definitely feel the ocean breeze. Jorge at the Beach Club was awesome. He was always right there ready to take our order or refill our drinks before we had to ask.
PATIO BAR: A great place to relax after returning from a day out in Puerto Vallarta or the Beach Club or before dinner. The manager's cocktail party was very nice and the magician was incredible! Benny at the Patio Bar always served drinks with a smile.
EMILIANOS: The food was excellent. Two morning, breakfast was served buffet style, otherwise everything was a la carte. On Friday evening, they had a barbeque menu. This was probably my least favorite meal at Emiliano's--not because the food was bad, but as it was our last night at CV, I was looking forward to having some of my favorite things that I had tried throughout the week and the normal a la carte menu was not available. My husband and I had dinner two evenings at Velas Vallarta. We did the Sunday Mexican Fiesta and the Italian night at Andrea. The food was very good at Velas Vallarta as well, but we preferred the Casa Velas atmosphere. One complaint I have about dining at Casa Velas is that it always seemed like it took a long time to get the "check" at the end of the meal (and we are not ones to rush in and rush out of a restaurant). As this is an all-inclusive resort the "check" seems unnecessary. I suppose this is one way of keeping track of inventory as well as a way to tip the wait staff if you feel so inclined,. One evening we grew tired of waiting and simply left our tip on the table and left without signing our "check".
AREAS THAT NEED IMPROVEMENT (in my opinion): 1)The room doors seem to slam shut--making for loud disturbances in the night as the doors and hallways are not very sound proof and you can hear people coming and going at all hours of the day and night. There was a business group having some sort of retreat for two days while we were at Casa Velas. After much door slamming and continued partying in the hallway by the group, my husband had to call the front desk to complain. It would have been nice if security could have stopped all the commotion before we had to make a 4 a.m. phone call to see what was going on. 2) The Beach Club closes for private parties--be warned that the resort does close the Beach Club for private parties It never really affected us during our stay, except for one evening when we were unable to dine there due to a private dinner. We left on Saturday, but had heard that the Beach Club would once again be clcosed that afternoon due to a wedding. If you are like us, and this is your favorite place to hang out during the day, you might be disappointed during your stay if you can't use your favorite facilities. 3) The Spa is still closed dure to a fire. They moved the exercise equipment outside. Get up early if you want to use it prior to starting your day. There are only 2 ellipticals, 3 treadmills and 2 bikes. Most days the equipment (especially the treadmills) was being used by 8 a.m. I have to wonder how long it will be before the Spa reopens as there did not seem to be much happpening the way of repair the whole week that we were there. 4) Concierge service--it quickly became apparent that as we had booked our own excursions prior to arriving at Casa Velas and had no interest in theCasa Velas time share presentation that the concierge, Stefano, had little time for us. On our second day at Casa Velas, we met Stefano in the hotel lobby on our way to the Beach Club. He asked how our stay was going. My husband mentioned that we did not have adequate hot water in our shower that morning and his reply was "Welcome to Mexico!" Not the best customer service approach...
5)Surprise charge for return trip to airport. Upon checking out we were informed that an extra charge of $30 was added to our stay for the Casa Velas hotel bus to take us back to the airport. We must have missed the fine print, as we assumed this was a "free" service--to and from the airport. If we would have known, we would have taken a cab to the airport for half the price.

Overall, despite a few little bumps along the way, my husband and I loved our week at Casa Velas. We are already talking about returning next February--this time for 10 days as a week of sun and fun in Puerto Vallarta wasn't quite enough!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, General Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Dear Sir & Sra. we welcome your comments about your stay.

We appreciate your understanding to the facts of the groups.
It was a pleasure to have served and have them at home as part of the Casa Velas Family

On your next visit we will be waiting with many surprises.
Our Gourmet food, the beach club, and the rooms our pillow menu and all the facilities with which account stay to spend a dream holiday.

We will be working in the advice he has given us to improve our service, guaranteeing the best

We offer our thanks in advance for your help and would like to convey our appreciation to you for being part of the Casa Velas Family. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again to Casa Velas. see you the next February

Sincerely,

Pierre Yves Bonin
Managing Director
Casa Velas Hotel
”YOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Address: Pelicanos 311, Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the perfect resort retreat in the Mexican Pacific Riviera, where luxury and romanticism combine in perfect harmony. Resembling a private estate, Casa Velas offers Condé Nast and AAA award-winning service in a casually elegant and intimate boutique atmosphere in Puerto Vallarta. This boutique hotel enjoys a garden setting surrounded by the Marina Vallarta Golf Course. A beachside experience waits just three minutes away at your private Ocean Club, with stunning sunsets and memorable dining. Unlimited transport is available day and night to whisk you to the golden shores of the Mexican Pacific. The Ocean Club is a place of supreme peace and tranquility for enjoying an infinity pool, jacuzzi and terrace with impressive ocean views. Our luxurious getaway invites you to enjoy the comforting sounds and vibrant colors of the tropics as you discover the true meaning of relaxation and luxury at an all-inclusive Puerto Vallarta resort paradise. Recently chosen as one of the Top 10 hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean in three categories - Luxury, Relaxation/Spa and Hotel for Romance - by TripAdvisor®, Casa Velas is an enchanting destination where simple pleasures rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Velas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.