We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made for Families - Average at Best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av de las Garzas 1, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Made for Families - Average at Best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A short trip from the airport, nestled next to where the cruise ships dock, which is cool for the kids to see so close and they are so big. Traveled with wife and 3 kids 5,6 and 7 for 10 days.
Room looked out on the street that is traveled to reach the lobby. You have to remember that this isn't like being in a resort area, you're in town. Buffet got very repetitive, food very average.
The room was average also, perhaps on the small side. Kids had their beds in their own little area with TV. Beach wasn't bad and you can walk quite a ways. We have been to many places throughout Mexico and Dominican Republic, but I have never been to a resort where their are as many vendors as this place. There is a rope to perhaps keep them away, but they cross over anyway. I don't usually have a problem with the vendors but this was ridiculous. I was approached in 1 day by as many that would normally total a week's worth elsewhere.
We did take the public bus into downtown PV to walk the Malecon, and to get dinner, that was fun and easy to do.
Also, something that I would recommend, I rented a boat off the beach for 4 hours and cruised
the shore, he took us snorkeling down by Los Arcos, we got up close and personal with the humpback whales, some of the calves were jumping out of the water(breaching) and we were trolling for fish most of the time. We took some of the tuna we caught to the Japanese restaurant and they prepared a few different dishes for us, it was great! Also, when we returned to marina, there was a small restaurant outside the fence that we stopped in and they prepared a tuna ceviche with sides for a small fee.
Our kids enjoyed the water park but it could get very crowded.
In summary, it was OK but I wouldn't rush to go back

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina P, Community Manager at Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hello bambamohio,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. We would like to thank you for staying with us.
We do regret that you didn't feel that your stay was as spectacular as we would have hoped, and that you found our rooms and food selection only average.
We are so sorry to hear that you were disturbed by vendors on the beach, and apologize if this prevented you from having a relaxing stay.

We appreciate all of your feedback and hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Warm regards,
Katarina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    294
    149
    112
    92
See reviews for
523
99
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Public toiletts by pool, restaurants are disqusting dirty. There is mold underneath the plastic by the pool. The tables and chairs at the restaurants were extremely dirty, sticky.
The rooms were ok, but the walls were very dirty. The toilet was not the newest and the shower glass etc was not clean.
The food was not good at the French or the Japanese restaurant: this was the biggest joke ever. The Italian place was ok. The restaurants were empty but if you could hardly get a reservation at any of them..
The food at the buffet was always the same, the fruit was old, the bread aswell. It also was 95% occupied by Mexicans

Room Tip: Do not go to this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina P, Community Manager at Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear M M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience was not up to our usual standards. Thank you for bringing your observations to our attention. I have forwarded your comments to the correct departments as to evaluate where we could improve.

I truly hope that you will give our hotel a try again in the future and give us another opportunity to provide you with excellent vacation experience that we are capable of providing.

Kind regards,
Katarina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I took our son to the Crown Paradise for his 6th birthday and we couldn't have been more delighted! Is the resort perfect? No (is anyplace perfect?). But for families with kids its pretty darn close. From the kids activities, to the kids pool/water slides, to the zip line, there's always something for the kids to do so mom and dad can relax without worrying about what they're up to or whether they're safe!

The room was basic but clean and comfortable. The TV had plenty of kids channels (it took me a day to figure out that if you use the SAP you can get the broadcast in English - lol). The bathroom towel situation took a day or two to sort out (day one - no hand towel; day two no bathmat; day three all sorted) but not a big deal. The only complaint about the room would be a question around whether it was actually cleaned the day we arrived. Our flight arrived 30 min. early so we got to the hotel just after the 3 pm check in time and the room wasn't ready. We were given our wrist bands, sent to the buffet to eat and told to come back in an hour. When lunch only took 45 min. and we returned to the front desk, we were told the room was ready. When we entered the room everything appeared to be freshly cleaned but later that evening when we climbed into bed it seemed like there was sand in the sheets - was it from us or was it there from previous guests, I'm not sure, but it was the only night the beds felt like they had sand in them so its worth a question mark. My wife thinks maybe the housekeeping staff quickly made the beds (without changing the sheets) and changed the towels so the room was ready by the time we finished lunch. Yeah, it was a bit gross to think that maybe we slept on dirty sheets, but it wasn't a big enough deal for us to complain after the fact.

Food and drinks were just fine. The drinks were stiff and the booze was top shelf (if you asked for it by name). The buffet is nowhere near as bad as people here have made it out to be (unless you aren't satisfied unless you eat something from every chafing dish on the buffet at every meal). Were there items that were unappealing to my taste buds - yes, but I never, not once, went hungry or wanting for something to eat at a meal. There is always fresh fruit and salad if you can't bring yourself to eat anything else. My wife is a vegetarian and she was satisfied, and my 6 y.o. had plenty to choose from that made him happy (although he ate off the main buffet not the kids buffet). Sometimes there were items for which the English translation was insufficient to explain what was being served (yes Birria is like a "beef stew" but its nothing like what somebody from NOTB would think of as beef stew, and describing as such hardly comes close to describing how delicious it is). Based on what I know of Mexican food by living in San Francisco, all of the food appeared to be authentic Mexican food and it was prepared in what seemed to be very traditional ways. Except for the bacon at breakfast. YES BACON! :-) Despite all of the obsessed complaints I read before going about the buffet not having bacon (and/or the resort hiding it so you had to ask), there was bacon on the breakfast buffet at least 3-4 of the 7 days we were there (i stopped counting). OK, maybe the cocktail hot dogs weren't so authentic either but who cares - don't eat 'em if you don't want them. Enjoy the chorizo instead - its delicious! Or try the fish...or the crazy delicious vegetable dishes in creamy sauces...or the chicken mole...or any one of a dozen other items the staff happily prepares for you. And if you don't like the entrees, just fill up on the incredible desserts! Did I mention there was bacon? ;-) One last thing about La Palapa - when you go, ask to sit in Juan's section. He is the kindest man you'll ever meet and went out of his way to help us with our Spanish at every meal. On top of that he arranged for a birthday celebration on my son's birthday complete with a cake and some decorative balloons that he fashioned to look like apples and placed on the table (we've never seen anything like it - it was as if the balloon was turned inside out on itself). He even got the staff to sing happy birthday. All of the waiters are great but Juan is a gem!!!

As for the other restaurants we tried all three - the Asian restaurant was our favorite (the sushi was surprisingly good - not great but definitely better than I expected it would be). However, in the end, we preferred the buffet. Why go to Mexico to eat Asian, French or Italian food? You're in Mexico - try eating some authentic Mexican food!

One thing they could improve upon is the wi-fi access. At $754 pesos/wk its not outrageously priced given the overall value of the resort itself (it worked out to about $US9/day extra based on the exchange rate while we were there) but its only good for one device - we chose to use it only in the room on a laptop we brought but would have liked to use it poolside on our phones too.

One nice thing they do (unlike other AI's we've been to) is allow you to keep your wrist band after check out if your flight doesn't leave until later in the day. It means you can keep swimming, eating and drinking right up until you have to leave (they even let you use a hospitality suite to shower/clean up before heading to the airport).

Some final shout outs to Ofelia at the lobby bar (thanks for the conversation and I hope one day you get your visa to come to the US for a visit), Angel the bell hop (you took great care of us), Angel the beach bartender (you are a drink making machine!) and Julio the bartender in the sports bar (you definitely need to show me around Guayabitos next time!).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina P, Community Manager at Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello DaveInBernal,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Crown Paradise Club. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Here at CPC, we are very proud of the positive contributions that members of the Trip Advisor community have left for us over the years, and it is a joy to add yours to this growing number.

I have shared your kind comments about the staff with the team, who are delighted to have made such a good impression.

I am sorry to see that there were some housekeeping issues with your room. We have a 24-hour Duty Manager who is happy to respond to any and all queries, no matter the time of day; in future, please feel free to advise us of any shortcomings or inconsistencies, so that we can resolve them to your satisfaction while you are still in-house.

Thank you again for posting and we hope you make plans soon to join us again for another memorable stay.

Warm regards,
Katarina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford TX
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

5 minutes from the airport, 10 minutes to downtown. Next door to their adults only property. Lots of kids here having fun. There is a big pirate ship with splash areas and kids love it. Inside this hotel there is an adults only section thats quiet. There is an adults only pool, non heated, and a jacuzzi. The French restaurant has their first dinner seating where kids are allowed. Their second dinner seating is for adults only. Reservations are required for dinner. The family rooms are really cute with a king size bed and a separate little area with bunk beds and a trundle bed, with a little tv in for the kids. No tub in the bathroom, only a shower. There are 4 pools and a small buffet area near the pools so the kids can go and get their own food. The adult pool has a swim up bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina P, Community Manager at Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Hello Racing2dayBedfordTX,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Tripadvisor community. I'm glad to know that we were able to provide you and your family with a great vacation experience.
We truly appreciate your recent visit and hope that you will return again very soon.

Warm regards,
Katarina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland,ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We visited the Golden Crown Paradise for a week in March, and i must say, this resort was an excellent experience. My wife and i are in our mid 50's and this was a great adult only spot. The sister resort Paradise next door had all families so this resort was quiet and peaceful. Beautiful grounds, great food, pool, beach and location. We have travelled to 8 other all inclusives and this resort is equal to them all. What a great trip. Absolutely no negatives about this resort.

Room Tip: ask for a ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina P, Community Manager at Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hello df8216,

How wonderful to hear you had an excellent experience at Crown Paradise Golden!! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our food, pool, beach and our great location.
Thank you for taking the time in posting and hope to see you again in the very near future!

Warmest regards,
Katarina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Before going we read lots of reviews about how bad the food was and all of the construction noise and I was somewhat nervous. Fortunately, the food seems to have improved and the construction was over. We went for 10 days two months ago.

We had a great time and you can totally navigate the food. Some stuff is over sauced and drenched in butter but there is plenty of fresh stuff too. There was always a great salad bar for lunch and they do some things especially well, such as the grilled fish and chicken which was super yummy.

The kids had a great time at the built in water park and other pools, they loved the full menu of specialty kids drinks that have bright colors and marshmallows and ziplining at the hotel was a cool thing that they offered at no charge. The shows were fun too and the staff was overall very good.

I would say they could improve on cleaning and servicing the bathrooms more frequently as their floors were always wet, the trashcans full and when we were there they ran out of hand soap and had to put shampoo in the bathrooms.

A big shout out to Angel at the front desk who went above and beyond to help us out in anyway that he could and to Daniel who cuts the fresh fruit for breakfast. Daniel was incredibly sweet and very accommodating when we needed some specialty breakfast items.

We went with 3 other families and everybody said that they would go back. They do lose a star because although they did have wifi, which seemed better than prior reviews, it was inconsistent. Additionally, they really need more shaded areas near the pool. Not their fault, but there were lots of jelly fish when we were there and we couldn't swim in the ocean at all, which was pretty disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina P, Community Manager at Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello Jshrem,

Thank you for the review and for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Our main interest is that our guests have a pleasant vacation, we are happy to know that your children were entertained to the fullest and that they took advantage of our many activities at the resort.

We appreciate your comments about the food and service as we’re always trying to improve our services based on our valuable guest’s feedback. Your opinion is important for us and shows us your observations which are certainly very useful for the improvement on services we fell short.

We greatly appreciate the special mention of Angel and Daniel who helped make your stay more pleasant, we will surely congratulate them for their amazing job.

It will be an honor to have you as our guests again and make every effort to exceed your expectations. Please contact us so we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

Warmest regards,
Katarina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Our family of 5 stayed at this resort for 2 weeks. We have a 4 year old daughter and 1 year old twin boys. This resort was conveniently close to the airport which was a must for us. Our arrival was good. Angel the bellboy is amazing and extremely helpful. Treat him well. He works hard and always greeted everyone in our family every time we saw him. He always asked us how our stay was going.

We did not have the 2 cribs we had requested in our room when we arrived. Angel made sure to get them delivered. The hotel was full and we were told by Eric that we would only get one. We gave the hotel an hour to get both playpens in our room or we would call westjet and demand a hotel change. We did receive the playpens after many excuses. Although it was not Angels job he was so helpful with this matter.

The room was a basic room. Our room faced the street which we were fine with. Flor was our cleaning lady and she did such and amazing job. Although she did not speak English she greeted us and our children every time she saw us. We were on the 4th floor. The elevator was small but in good working condition and we rarely had to wait long for it.

Service at the buffet was on and off. Some helped us, some did not. It was disappointing when all the Mexican families are being served and we were not. After 2 weeks we had great service from Cesar, Martin, Daniel, Alexis among many others. We did notice they were very tip motivated which is irritating. Cesar was our favorite. He gave great service without expecting a tip so we often sat a table in his area and left him tips because he clearly deserved it.

The 3 restaurants had fantastic service. The food was really good. We booked at 6:30-7:00 when they weren't very busy. Service was quick and efficient at every meal. Booking them can be frustrating. You call but the line is always busy. Call early in the morning.

There is a market right beside the resort which was convenient. The cruise ships dock right beside the resort and if you are interested in the pirate ship it docks beside the resort as well. Walmart, SAMs Club, a mall and Casino are all 10 mins walk away. There is a SorianaSupermarket 2 min walk away. Beware of the guys from Crystal trying to get you to look at their resorts. They are pushy and irritating.

Carlos was the best bartender. He treated us well. Ofelia and Jose were very friendly as well. The drinks are weak so I recommend ordering doubles.

My husband and I have travelled all over the world. This resort was by far the best. It was an enjoyable time. Our timing must have been right. The beach chairs were never full and you could find chairs by the pool throughout the day. The kids activities were great. Free zip lining at this resort was a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina P, Community Manager at Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hello Kerri90,

Thank you very kindly for your positive review of our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! I apologize that there were no spare cribs upon your arrival, I must say that special requests are not guaranteed and are subject to availability, however I understand your disappointment and am glad that it was resolved in the end.
Your input and opinions are important to us and are useful not only to other travelers but also to our hotel, as our guests’ suggestions for improvements are very helpful to management staff to see where we could improve.

I will be sure to pass on your lovely compliments to the staff members you mentioned. They will be pleased to know that they helped make your vacation special.

We’re glad you had a great family vacation and thank you for your support. We look forward to your return! Please feel free to contact us directly as we would be happy to assist in arranging your next visit.

Warm regards,
Katarina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta

Address: Av de las Garzas 1, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A MODERN FAMILY-FRIENDLY ENVIRONMENTThe ambiance here at the Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta, All Inclusive Resort is one of casual family fun. Our oceanfront resort was designed with myriad places to have fun and relax with an aquapark with 9 slides a pirate ship and a castle, big jacuzzi with swim up bar for adults, 3 a la carte restaurants and more... All the fun for big and small! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Playa De Oro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.