We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families and young children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av de las Garzas 1, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for families and young children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here March 17-24 with three young kids (ages 7,6 &4). We stayed in a family room, which was nothing fancy. It served its purpose and it was clean, but definitely very basic. The view was pretty terrible (parking lot!). Had we only had 2 kids we would have been better off staying in a room with 2 queen beds, but seeing as my 3 kids would kill each other if they had to share a bed, this was our only option. Not really a major complaint, though, because we left the room at breakfast and didn't return until bedtime each night, so it really didn't matter. It was a bit noisy at night, between all the kids down our hallway and noise from the street. Luckily my kids are heavy sleepers, so it didn't bother them in the slightest, and even for me it was a minor inconvenience. The grounds and the beaches were the hugest draw for us. The kids LOVED the kids pool and the main pool, and the grounds were nice and clean, and the staff were constantly cleaning. So many of the reviews here complain about the beach vendors -- they were not bad at all!! Yeah, there's a lot of them, but if you say "no thank you" they move along. I seriously had a woman in China follow me up the side of a mountain begging me to buy a bottle of Coke. The vendors here are NOTHING!! We ate most of our meals at the buffet and at the beach snack place. The meals were basic, and by the end of the week they were getting a bit repetitive, but there was always variety, and lots of healthy choices (always a decent salad/fruit bar). In our family 4/5 of us are vegetarian, and none of us ever went hungry. One night we ate at the Japanese restaurant, and that was a HUGE disappointment. The food was not Japanese, in the slightest. At best it was Japanese-ish. The kids menu was chicken nuggets or spaghetti in cheese sauce (which was kinda gross!). I had the "cheese balls" which were actually tofu, but there was cream cheese in the sushi, in place of the tofu. It was weird!! The restaurant was only half full, but the service was terribly slow. The buffet was much better suited to our family, where we could go in, grab a quick bite and get back to the beach or to swimming. The staff were all fantastic as well. Everybody was very helpful and very friendly. The kids were very sad to leave at the end of the week, and for the right price we would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    293
    149
    112
    92
See reviews for
523
98
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spruce Grove, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Smart enough to go the week before Spring Break/Holy Week! We stayed March 17-24. First we started off in the Family room with our two kids (8&9) then upgraded on day two to a 2 bedroom suite. In hindsight, I would've stayed in the family suite and dealt with the noise. The NOISE, holy moly, being that close to the lobby is not great for noise at all hours ( I am a very light sleeper, hence the move to the far side of the resort)
Kids: kids loved it , had fun in all pools and loved their food choices all over the resort. They were a bit bored with the kids centre one day but only because I made them go to have a bit of time out of the blazing sun.

Food: having been to Golden Crown before we knew what we were getting. Lots of choices, good breakfasts, so so dinners. Nothing is stand out but there is something good to eat and we didn't have to cook. Room service sucked because the food was cold but..... We were in the furthest room from the kitchens

Room: firm beds, hot showers, no major issues at all and cleaned well every day by 3pm. Again we upgraded and had a kitchen that wasn't used and didn't spend really any time in the room beside sleeping and showering. Thanks again, Marta!

Service: excellent as always whether is was bar, restaurants, or anything else. Everyone had a smile and helped with anything asked.

Activities & Entertainment: us grown ups didn't participate in much besides the karaoke night at Nitro, fun but not much selection of newer songs. The kids however played water volleyball, built sandcastles, made sushi in a cooking class and were asked to be part of the live show at Nitro on Saturday night. They loved it. Thanks so much to Janet, Rosie, Mamo, Javier, Martin, Ana and Paulie. You guys truly make this the resort we keep coming back to.

To touch back on our timing. The last two days of our trip Sat & Sun were insanely busy there, couldn't get a poolside lounger, towels got moved/snatched, breakfast at La Palapa was a mad house. This being said, don't book your vacation on Mexican Holidays because this is a fave of people travelling in from inland and locals. Not a bad thing but it gets sooooooo crazy busy it's hard to relax.

All in al we had a fantastic holiday and will be back again soon.

See you in October!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We just got back yesterday, travelled with family of 5. 3 kids 11,9 & 2. This is my first time posting a review cus' I also like to read TA before booking. Its a great resort for kids, kids pool is amazing, beautiful beach, travel from airports less then 15 mins, walmart and shopping centres are walking distance, very safe. Hotel staffs are very nice, drinks are always great. Club Nitro was amazing , great shows for kids!! The negative's are: Bed's sucks and Food is Horrible!! the buffet is very basic'!! its very hard to make reservations at Japanese, French & Italian restaurants, we did Japanese only, food is ok..Overall not bad.. I would rate it 3 stars not 4..

Room Tip: If you gonna buy gifts, go out of resorts , shopping centre "SORIANA" I think minutes from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Overall the resort was average at best. The staff were all very friendly and the resort is kept very clean. We were very disappointed in the buffet and the restaurants. It was nearly impossible to get a reservation for the restaurants, yet they were never full. We ended up eating away from the resort everyday. It was nice to have an endless supply of drinks, the kids loved the drink selection, but the adult drinks are very weak. They cater to younger children (10 and under) and do not have water slides or many fun activities for older children. The beach vendors were only annoying if we allowed for them to be, some were very entertaining. The Club Member sales staff were far more aggressive and rude than any of the beach vendors. Walking through the lobby was like walking through a shark tank, always being hounded to attend their breakfast membership presentation. After 3 days we gave in and agreed to go to the presentation, when we said no to purchasing the overpriced package, they dropped the price in half! We still said no and our shark became rude and insulting, at one point he told us that we owed him $100 (US) for wasting his time! He called in reinforcements for another go around. We couldn't get out of there fast enough, it was not worth the freebies they give to sucker us in. The beds were small (double beds) and the bedding is less than desirable which makes for a poor nights sleep. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My son and I travelled to Puerto Vallarta and had a great time. This place is definitely suited to families with small kids. The buffet was definitely the biggest let down. We only ate dinner once there and stuck to the a la cartes and in particular the French restaurant. The meals there were fantastic. The staff everywhere are friendly and courteous. You can expect fresh beach towels any time of the day. You could find a lounger by the pools or on the beach at any time. Drinks were consistent and my son loved the variety of drinks for him too. There were definitely locals that were allowed to use the resort, which for the most part I didn't have any issues with. Except when the prime locations for loungers were taken or they were served before you after you were there before them. The beach vendors were somewhat annoying but a pleasant no thank-you sent them on their way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitecourt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A group of 10 (including 4 children ages 3,8,10 and 12)mostly family members travelled from Alberta and BC.
When we arrived at the resort I thought they were taking us in through the back door. Although unimpressive, the lobby was functional and the attendants were helpful. We had requested adjoining rooms on the ground floor because of the children and mobility issues. Our rooms were not those requested, but were changed the next day. Our new room was musty smelling and dated, but functional because you only sleep in your room anyway. The room beside ours had tiny ants and they did see one cockroach.
The best thing about the resort was the staff. All staff were courteous, helpful and accommodating and there were never language issues.
The worst thing about the resort was the food. I was very disappointed in the quality of the food in the buffet and generally speaking the a la carte restaurants were not much better. The French was better than the others. During the day there was a snack bar by the beach and pools which also had poor food. The meats were the cheapest cuts, bacon if it was available in the morning was hidden behind the counter so you had to ask for it, Even the fruits and salads were monotonous. (Have you ever been to a resort in mexico that doesn't have guacamole?) All that being said, we always found something worth eating and we never went hungry.
Across the road from the hotel is a nightclub with a variety of nightly shows, mostly family friendly. We enjoyed going to the shows, but if you want a seat with a back instead of just a stool, you must arrive early.
We went to town 3 times and chose to ride the bus for the "authentic" feel. We felt safe and no one bothered us. The locals were friendly and helpful. There are Walmart and Soriano stores nearby if you run out of something like sunscreen.
The three pools catered to a variety of needs with the main pool having the activities during the day. The beach was overrun with peddlers which some people found annoying. Both the pools and beach were clean. We met a tour seller on the beach named David who was helpful and honest. Of course the vacation rep discouraged us from buying tours on the beach but we did and you save about 25% compared to the same tours sold through the reps. Remember, if the price sounds too good to be true, you will probably get ripped off. 25% is about the right discount on the beach. Look for trustworthy David. We used him for the Daytime pirate trip and zip lining.
In our group one family of 4 paid $800 for adults. We paid $1550. This resort may have been OK value for $800 but not $1550. (We paid $1600 for a resort in Cuba which was much better)
We had a great time as a group and meeting various travelers, but would not recommend this resort (unless you get it for $800) and I would not return even for that price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

3/18/13 If I knew then what I know NOW this would not even made the list of places to stay. If price is all your looking for this might be the place for you.Within 5 min the Time Share Shark were out feeding. with a quick NO Gracias 3 or 4 times you can get away. The first meal at The Buffet was at best the most bland meal I have ever eaten. The drinks were average and took for ever to get ,,,,unless you were Mexican which seemed to always get what they need first evn though you had been sitting well before them. I did fiqure out that Breakfast was best when you ordered Room Service at 7:00 A.M. Also at 9:00 call down to get a reserved table at one of the 3 resturants then head down to the beach. At 4;00 P.M. when you here a big YEA!!!! by the big pool don't go over because when the pool staff askes where your from and if your from America your going to hear the biggest BOOO ever!! and that was our first impression of this place. Won't EVER go Back.

Room Tip: Breakfast Only Room Service, Dinner only by reservation, Entertainment NONE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta

Address: Av de las Garzas 1, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A MODERN FAMILY-FRIENDLY ENVIRONMENTThe ambiance here at the Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta, All Inclusive Resort is one of casual family fun. Our oceanfront resort was designed with myriad places to have fun and relax with an aquapark with 9 slides a pirate ship and a castle, big jacuzzi with swim up bar for adults, 3 a la carte restaurants and more... All the fun for big and small! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Playa De Oro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.