We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star only” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av de las Garzas 1, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Strathmore, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3 star only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just come back ,Westjet and Airtransit rates this hotel as a 4 star- Not. First the good ; great staff and service,clean ,water park is fantastic for kids under 12, room is good-old but Ok,.The specialty restaurants were all good . The bad and the ugly; food - the breakfast is great ,lunch and dinner -very poor quality , i hope you like Jello,rice pudding, snacking cakes for desert , the meat dishes were the worst .The salad bar is good, baking is not fresh daily . Some of the review say that the food is great- i am sorry i don't know were is there taste buds ? The beach is Ok but the vendors make it horrible by bugging you non stop . The nightshows are laim ,and very loud.
It's not a bad place , unfortunatly for us it was just average. We love good food, i know you don't get great food in Mexico but this was poor . We stayed Feb 2 -9th, kids 8 and 15 . We would not go back or recommend this place .

Room Tip: Pick rooms on the higher floors, facing the beach are quieter , the Disco across the hotel is very l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    291
    146
    111
    90
See reviews for
513
98
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for a week last week of January 2013. Room had ants in the sink and no hot water for 2days. Buffet was average and was not impressed to bite into bone on two seperate occasions having chicken tortillas. Staff was excellent but rest is average at best.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We just spent a week at the crown paradise and loved every minute! The staff in every part of the hotel is wonderful and will help you with anything you need. They all speak some english and if they can not understand what you want they will find you someone who does. They are friendly and kind and very hardworking! Our room was pretty good, the best part was the huge bathroom with 2 closets a huge tub and the big balcony overlooking the kids pool and with a view of the ocean. The beds were good, and the air conditioning worked perfectly. Our children are 3 and 5 and they had the time of their lives, the kids mini buffet and the kids drinks made them feel all grown up and they loved the kids and baby club (in the evening big kids go to the "baby" club as well, so that was nice to drop them both off and have dinner together a couple nights) and both childcare places are included, but we tipped the girls in their as well. The baby club has a totally enclosed outdoor area with a small trampoline and the kids can play in the sand, my son loved that and loved going there in general as the girls working always played games with him and he enjoyed it very much :) My daughter loved kids club, they took the kids to the kids pool during the day and tuesday and friday the kids got to do a cooking lesson in one of the fancy restaurants with a chef and get to dress the part, my daughter learned to make sushi and I got to eat it for lunch that day :) They also have a kids themed disney show one night which was by far the best show there, the others were okay too... a lot of the people in them are servers, etc through the day, like I said they are very hard working! There was also a big party for the kids one night they closed the italian restaurant and turned into a disco for the kids with pirate servers and characters like spider man, snow white, mickey mouse etc. the kids dance and they have disco lights and get a big dinner at fancy tables, that was cool too.... so much at this hotel for the kids, but still a great place to relax for adults (although I wouldn't recommend staying there if you dont have kids, but stay next door that hotel looked awesome too! and you get to use the restaurants at this one, I think.) There are little push cars u can borrow to use at the hotel and scooters too. They give you one beach towel per person and you can take them out of the hotel if you need to and exchange them as much as you want, we did every morning. The weekdays were really quiet, no problems finding chairs by the pool or at the beach. The weekend we were there was a holiday in mexcio so it was really busy, weekends are a good time to plan your tours. (we did las caletas and a tour thorough unique atv, both were great and we rented a jeep and drove to sayulita it was well worth the drive, and the PV zoo as well which was cool, you get to feed a lot of the animals and was a pretty drive out there too, about 25 mins and $15-20 each way by taxi) anyways, the hotel was great, and very clean. The best restaurant I found was the japanese, then french and italian are both really good too. The buffet food was good, different stuff every day, the mexican food was really good. The location is great too. We loved this hotel and were made to feel like family by everyone there! My husband and I got massaged at the spa and it was probably the best massage I have ever had. the lady doing it was super professional and as a stay at home mom I dont think I have been that relaxed in a long time lol! Anything you need when you are there, just ask... you won't be disappointed if you chose this hotel for your family :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We travelled with 14 people and we all had a great time. There were 4 kids between the ages of 4 and 10 with us. They really liked the kids paradise with the pirate ship. There were 4 pools in total. A kids pool, an adults only pool, a pool that had actvities going on around it until around 4 and another pool which was quieter and good if you want to get away from all the people. The beach was nice. The water has a strong undertow. The restaurants were pretty good. The buffet had a good selection, and a kids area for picky eaters. We didn't eat at the japanese restaurant there, but we ate at the italian and french ones. The italian food was good. Small portions so if you are feeling hungry that night I advice ordering an appetizer as well as an entree. I really liked the french food. If you get the chance, try the "sexy coffee." They make it at your table and even if you try it and don't like it the show itself is amazing. Kids under 8 are only allowed to eat there on the first sitting though. On some nights they have local artisans come in and set up tables around the resort. Our flight didn't leave until later in the afternoon so we checked out of our room at noon and they stored our luggage until we needed it. The staff were really nice and understood both english and spanish. I really enjoyed my stay here. I wish I could have stayed a little bit longer. It was so relaxing and a great escape from regular life

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went to this resort with a group of 19 of us... most of us with children ranging from ages 5-9 from Jan 21st to Jan 28th. We all enjoyed this resort and all the amenities it had to offer.

The rooms were your basic room. We had two double beds... yes double so it is tight for a couple when sleeping but still was ok. There wasnt a fridge in the room but i heard of some that had a fridge so if you want one you should request it. The room service was great and they maids did a great job. We were in room 423 which was on the top floor, near the beach and adult pool
the location was great so anything in that area is a good place to be.
As we were a group, i wanted rooms together and sent the resort an email 3 days before arrival and they honored my request and put our rooms together.

The food.... there were 3 restaurants and a buffet restaurant. The buffet was very good... lots of variety and on many occasions we were commenting on certain dishes an how great they were. Some people say they lacked variety but i found it to to quite a bit of variety. There was one coleslaw salad that i loved the first day and it did not even come out again the whole week. If you complain about the food.. i would say you are pretty picky because there was always something that was great on each day. Fish was always great if you like fish. The restaurants were very good too. We ate at all three and each one was very good. My favorite was japanese then the french then the italian.
They had a snack bar at the beach which served your basic hamburgers hotdogs etc. Hotdogs were not good... not like the weiners here but who wants a hotdog on vacation? Also, the buffet had a section that was at a lower level for the children to do their own buffet and get their own food.
They loved the independence and it gave the adults a break from serving them all week. Really children oriented... even the bar had drinks for the kids. Non alcoholic of course.

The beach... the beach was ok... the sand was a bit more stoney and that darker sand. Not like the beaches of Cuba or Cancun... so if you are looking for that white sand with crystal clear waters then you might want to look elsewhere. The undertow when we were there was a bit strong... the kids got knocked over quite a few times....and one adult in our party got sucked under in an undertow... so be careful for sure if out in the water. I am not much of a beach person so didnt matter to me that much. The walk along the beach is very nice if you like to take a long walk along the shoreline. It is true that the vendors are pesty... they leave you alone when you say no but it is constant...over and over again the contact they make trying to get your interest. It did get annoying after awhile.... but you cant base your whole vacation on a few things that dont meet your standard.
Also, there were always plenty of loungers at the beach and most of the time at the pool area. Even if you didnt save one you can find one at some point of the day.

Overall we had a great vacation. The weather, the food the resort all met my expectations and if someone asked if they should go there i wouldn't hesitate to say yes. Have fun if you go...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I had some reservations to booking at The Crown Paradise (formaly The Playa De Oro.) because of the experience I had 25 years ago. Boy have things changed in this Hotel and in all of Puerto Vallarta. This Hotel is great for young children ages 4 to 12. They have their own pool with slides a plenty and exactly 1 foot deep. We were a family of 14 ranging fromn 4 to 71 years old. You had to dig deep to find something to complain about. You're in Mexico. If you want "perfect"....stay home. The rooms were clean, the entire outside areas were swept daily, the pools were cleaned daily, the staff very friendly, the check in and out went without a hitch and it was quick. The bartenders poured singles to tripples when asked. Tipping is suggested for better service.
Our group went whale watching, fishing, swimming with the dolphins, zip lineing, salsa dancing, bar hopping, evening cruising on the pirate ship, snokling, jet skiing and of course shopping. all without a hitch and all booked through the Hotel
The food in the buffet was very good (and hot) although by the end of the week it was getting very predictable. The French and Italian a-la carte restaurants were excellent. We did not care for the japanese as much. Collared shirts required.
The Beach? raked daily of cig. butts and debris....very clean. Good chairs and shady palapas. The beach bar and outdoor buffet very close at hand. Hot dogs, hamburgers, chips and salsa, french fries and the like were great. Kids heaven.
When in a beach resort in Mexico expect the beach vendors, but in The Crown Paradise expect them every 20 seconds. They are relentless.
I took my kids and grandkids on a vacation they would long remember. The Crown Paradise was perfect in that regard. Will I go back to the Crown...my wife and I..?....I think not. We may return to Puerto Vallarta but we will go to a place more adult oriented. Take the kids and have fun

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We just got back from Crown Paradise and it was awsome. We went with our two daughters which are 10 and 13. The activities group was awsome. They had games for kids and teens and even tequila volleyball for the adults. The food was good, even if you're a fussy eater there is always something that you`ll like. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The bartenders were great and were always making new drinks for you to try. The hotel was very clean, there was always someone cleaning and our room was spotless. This is the perfect family destination for families. if anyone has a bad revue for this place then they must be very fussy. We definitely recommend Crown Paradise Club to our friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta

Address: Av de las Garzas 1, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A MODERN FAMILY-FRIENDLY ENVIRONMENTThe ambiance here at the Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta, All Inclusive Resort is one of casual family fun. Our oceanfront resort was designed with myriad places to have fun and relax with an aquapark with 9 slides a pirate ship and a castle, big jacuzzi with swim up bar for adults, 3 a la carte restaurants and more... All the fun for big and small! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Playa De Oro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.