We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice "middle of the road" resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Francisco Medina Asencio Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice "middle of the road" resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days on a deal booked online, which of course included the timeshare promo; so we wasted a half day on that, because we were not interested in the least. But it did get us a discount on the Rhythms of the Night show, which was a fun evening dinner & show, i'd recommend it. The room was great, comfortable bed, balcony overlooking the pool, and - bonus - a bathtub, not that common in Mexican hotels. We had a kitchenette & ate in most of the time, did not try the resort restaurants. Pools & hot tubs are great, they had some programmed activities but not too noisy. This resort has a narrow little strip of beach, so it's hard to get a spot there. Overall good value for what we needed (we were not really on vacation, just needed a comfortable place to stay while our sailboat was out of the water).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    389
    391
    193
    113
    76
See reviews for
330
424
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at Villa del Palmar for a week, not all-inclusive, on a good trade through Interval. The grounds were lovely and sparklingly clean. Our room was kept very clean, and was well-stocked with toiletries at all times. Maids even washed our plates and cups, which we did not anticipate they would do.

We ate no meals at the resort, but did buy a few bottles of water from the bar for three dollars a pop, plus tip! The bartender chased down my husband for a larger tip for handing him a bottle of water! Other than that and the recurring timeshare pressure, the employees at the resort were friendly and helpful.

The pools close at 11pm, but the hot tubs close at 10pm. To me it seems they should both be open until 11pm.

We did not see many other younger couples there, and also not vary many pairs or groups of singles. Mostly middle-aged and older couples, and a few families.

We enjoyed most the location convenient to bus service and the grocery store (Soriana) across the street. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our one-bedroom suite, #2518, had a balcony facing the pool, with a more-distant view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We arrived at Villa Del Palmar late afternoon March 2nd using a pickup sevice provided by the hotel, which was excellent - we had arranged for this and paid ahead of time - driver was great.
Our check-in went smoothly and quite quickly and we met with Africa to arrange details of our stay and were scheduled for the Timeshare presentation the next morning. We already own a timeshare but were interested to see the Flamingo. We were given a room on the first floor near some noisy parrots but that was ok for that night. We had a lovely dinner at an on-site restaurant.
In the morning we met with Africa again and she promised to move us to another room and we went off to the Flamingo. It is a beautiful location and we seriously considered switching our current timeshare but after some thought and chats with other owners decided to stay with what we have.
We were given another room on the 8th floor but with a view of the mountains, not the beach as we wanted. It was nice but there is a Midway across the street and the noise was simply unacceptable. So with some more insistence we got a room overlooking the pool and a pretty nice view of Banderas Bay. Finally we were settled and happy for the remainder of our 2 weeks there.
We shopped at the local Santino's supermarket just a block away - so convenient and walked to a sports bar a few blocks away to watch Canadian hockey, the owner had actually lived in our hometown of Kingston Ontario, there are many Canadians in PVR.
It was easy to take the bus downtown to the Malecon or a taxi to Marina Vallarta. The second time we walked to the Marina as it is not very far. Also just a few minute walk to Scotiabank and another huge Santino's grocery store, both have liquor and we became hooked on seabass from there which we cooked a number of times in our unit. Beware of timeshare stalkers here though, couldn't believe they would approach people in a grocery store!
We did the Pirate Ship cruise and the candlelight dinner evening and enjoyed both but the bay can be rough and troublesome if anyone is prone to being queasy, great fun though and would recommend both. We also did the City Tour which was nice to get a look at the outskirts but the Tequila Factory is a sales pitch, they stop at places to encourage shopping which is expected I suppose and the lunch stop is not very picturesqe and is expensive.
After doing the tourist stuff we realized we did not have to be on the go every day and started spending time at the beach every day - this after we discovered that we could get a spot there.
By the time we were ready to go to the beach all beach chairs had towels on them but we found that for a few pesos an employee of the hotel would set us up with lounge chairs and umbrella front and center and he watched for us every day to get us a place - it was great.
I want to mention Ana, our room attendant and Julio in the lobby who were both wonderful during our stay.
We heard that this premises would be torn down and rebuilt soon. It is a wonderful location and we enjoyed our stay immensely.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room on the 4th floor with a view of the pool and beach. Beware of the midway on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The room was very nice with good amenities. The restaurants were very good, pool and beach were terrific and overall we enjoyed our stay. However, on checkout, I was informed that $3.50 had been added to my account daily for tips to unseen help such as gardeners. This was the first time that had ever happened and it did not seem right. Also, the tour service offered in the lobby area was not great. Recommend using Vallarta Adventures for any tours as they are fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I would give 5 stars if it wasn't for the time share pressure. My husband and I had to go through staff section when we wanted to go off the resort just to avoid the constant nagging. They even had kids down the street questioning if we got our 'discount 'card, meaning we had listened to the presentation. We ended up just saying yes and walking away. By mid week it all stopped. We had an efficiency which I was worried about at first. It was perfect for us and on the first floor not near the pool so it was quiet. We didn't do the all inclusive but we did eat there a couple of times and it was good. They had special nights with entertainment! They were nice. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Villa del Palmar Resort, Puerto Vallarta

Second time to stay at Villa Del Palmar, this time we brought our son, daughter in law and grandson. They accommodated us in a very spacious two bedroom, two bath apartment, very clean and equipped with all we needed for a week; right in front of the Jacuzzi and few steps to the beach. The only downside was the noise above when the people on the second floor moved chairs or even suitcases, especially late at night.

The personnel was very attentive, friendly and professional; at arrival we met a young woman, Margarita and later Miguel who immediately was ready to give recommendations on restaurants and tours and saving cards and offered the 90 minutes talk about ownership which translated in time-sharing. We declined but my son and his wife was curious and was assured the meeting with breakfast included was exactly 90 minutes by the clock. It turned to be over 2 hours. Later, talking with other local members, we discover their plans were more reasonable (7 years) than the 30 years they offered my son and for a better price and benefits. Later, I was told the company group has three levels but they push the most expensive (30 Years) first; my son never heard about the other two.

They have two restaurants, we had dinner in one at the entrance, the food was very good, excellent service, and they offer room and pool service as well. The entertainment was average with a Mexican night full of music and dance including a mariachi; then, a Broadway, Arabian Night and a beach party; very livable with a buffet included in the price. From the entrance, to the beach, the premises were impeccable and the garden very well cared; an equipped bbq grill by the pool site on the second building was very handy. The location is ideal, as the bus to the center of the town ($6.50 pesos) stop right in front of the resort and it takes only about 20 minutes, they run frequently; the resort have a small convenience store in the premises and there is a larger shopping center with grocery store at walking distance; Wal-Mart, Sam club and Costco at bus or taxi five to ten minutes. We all agreed and having everything in consideration, that our week has been great and if there is an opportunity, we will return again.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, the top floor. Other floors you can hear above, chairs and other objects moving a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Obviously, like any Mexico hotel I have yet visited, you have to get through the Time-Share Hell before being allowed to get to your room. This has gotten so old I am thinking about not returning to Mexico at all. So, besides that, the property is ok, nothing special, but nothing especially wrong. It has a nice beach and nice pools. My room was fine, but lacking in fine maintenance. The sliding door to the balcony was aged and hard to operate, the tub plug fell apart by hitting it with my foot, the sink stopper fell apart as well. Just stuff like that, nothing major, but annoying. Absolutely zero personality from the bartender or most of the restaurant staff and the prices are stateside prices. It just felt like they hated their jobs and resented their customers. I was traveling alone so a little conversation would have been nice, but zero. less than zero, more like 'get out of my face'. One improvement that I liked (I had stayed here last year for a month writing a novel) were all the Tupperware-like storage pieces in the kitchenette. A large grocery store is just a couple blocks away with amazing fruit and veges, so I ate in my room most meals and kinda just went local, which was awesome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Asencio Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa
Villa Del Palmar Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Del Palmar Beach
Villa Del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
Resort Del Palmar Beach
Puerto Vallarta Villa Del Palmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.