We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still like this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Francisco Medina Asencio Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Kingman, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Still like this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our 5th or 6th visit to the VDP. We have always enjoyed the resort and this visit was no different. We had a one-bedroom on the ground floor (convenient). The unit was ok, but definitely showing age; toilet leaked at the base, lights were going out over the bathroom sink. Very minor stuff, but notable.Staff was excellent as always. Upon arrival, I was greeted by Joel with "welcome home".
One firm "no" to the timeshare pitch and we were never bothered again. Service around the pool was good. Happy hour at noon and again at 3:00. We did not eat any meals at the restaurants, but ate around the pool and it was good. Still lacks in activities during the day. Very quiet resort.
Never needed any special services or made any special requests. However, room was cleaned thoroughly daily. Items of value were left out in the open with no problems.
We will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    412
    200
    118
    78
See reviews for
353
441
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My daughter and I had a wonderful holiday at Villa del Palmar. Check in was fine, not a long line. Cecelia, @ the front desk let us look at a map for a choice of one bedroom suites. It was pretty full at March break but we ended up with a nice room with a view of the pool. Yes, we got a bit of hassle from the time share people, but I just told them I wasn't interested and they left me alone. The hotel is clean and very well maintained. The food in the restaurants was excellent. The two for one buffet breakfast makes it a great deal. There were lots of choices and everything was fresh. The drinks were delicious and there are many different happy hour times. It's so easy to take the bus into town, just outside the hotel to the right. The front desk gave me some change for the bus. The Walmart has an amazing bakery! There are amazing sunsets and we even saw a whale and dolphins from the beach. We had a wonderful time and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Structures are showing their age, altho I feel they are trying hard to keep the grounds beautiful.
Staff is helpful and friendly.
The biggest problem I see is the lack of enforcment of the pool and beach rules. They are short towels... could not just turn in a dirty towel at the end of our day and get a clean one for the next day. Also, the cushions for the long chairs were being taken to rooms and used on the patio chairs. If they want to maintain a good rating this needs to be addressed as it was a point of discussion on the beach.

Room Tip: Rms in bldg 6 were nosiy due to adjacent hotel bands at night. We had to complain to the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Im giving it a 5 because the place is really great for the price..the staff are so nice and friendly.you always see a smile on their face everyday.the service and food is really great. its older building but clean. had a great stay and time in puerto vallarta.definitely would come back again.highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Our third visit there in last 6 years, and things haven't gotten any better. Haven't really gotten that much worse either, so guess that's a good thing. Median age seems to have gotten much older in the 2 years we were away. We would guess most folks were in their seventies. Very few teens, and just a handful of pre-teens. A good 90% of guests are from Canada. That's a good thing since they are friendly and easy to be with.
Attitude at front desk is still poor. Don't ask for anything extra or you'll be disappointed.
Away from the front desk, however, the employees are mostly excellent. Some have been there 25 years and are still a joy to be around.
One point, if you opt for the all-inclusive package, you should know that the wait staff only gets $3.00 total from you per day as a gratuity. They do not get a percentage of what you eat and drink. You have a choice to throw a few extra bucks their way with every check you sign, and should.
The time-share thing is a pain, but polite persistence seems to do the trick. If nothing else, tell them you just filed bankruptcy last month, and they'll leave you alone for sure!!! lol

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My girlfriends and I had a great vacation at this resort in February. They spend a lot of time on keeping the grounds clean and maintained. The service was excellent (Carlos was the best server so ask for him!). They will try to sell you on the timeshare, but just tell them you are not interested and they will leave you alone. We had a great time. I wanted to go back as soon as I got back home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have stayed at the Villa in past years and love the fact that it is still reflective of what I call traditional old Mexico. While it is an older resort it has always been well kept. I would have given it a 4 expect for a bad experience we had this year. We had planned a vacation to PV in Feb. this year and took advantage of a promotional offer from them. However after paying for the promotion and attending their sales presentation, they cancelled our reservation with them. We met all of their criteria but because we were in PV prior to our scheduled stay with them they cancelled us causing us to find another resort and pay double. Just be careful of their offers, Marco their promotions director was dishonest with us and did nothing to solve their mistake.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Asencio Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#36 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa
Villa Del Palmar Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Del Palmar Beach
Villa Del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
Resort Del Palmar Beach
Puerto Vallarta Villa Del Palmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.