We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, beautiful beach, great amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Francisco Medina Asencio Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, beautiful beach, great amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our fourth stay at VDP! Brought friends who are world travellers, and they were impressed too. Small enough to know the staff and feel at home, clean, big enough to have all the amenities, great location. Good for all ages, though when we were there, lots of seniors. Special shoutout to wait staff Carlos and Jaoquin, the concierge ladies, Sergio the water sport expert and the bellboys at the front...but overall, all the staff were great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    509
    233
    132
    85
See reviews for
438
561
53
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed 2 weeks at Villa del Palmar in Puerto Vallarta as the location was close to town and within an easy walk of stores and a quick bus ride to the Marina, and Downtown Vallarta. The units are comfortable with good beds and pillows. The pools have 5 foot depths which allows for more swimming than just paddling about. There are lots of chairs and permanent thatch 'umbrellas' on the beach for guests during October but I would think it would get super crowded during peak season. Services are prompt and friendly. If you can NOT go to one of the presentations, you will enjoy your time more. There is going to be a rebuild of the next door Villa del Mar and, I believe part of Palmar - which should bring standards to a more current level. It is not luxurious, but certainly affordable and pleasant for the money. We use the kitchen facilities in the suites rather than the restaurants. We are owners at the Villa Group and have been staying in Puerto and Nuevo Vallarta for 6 years - but staying in several resorts each year.

Room Tip: Try not to book a studio as they are located in the inside corners of the buildings and your views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was the second time I have stayed at Villa del Palmar since 2000. The rooms are comfortable, clean and have all the amenities needed. The partial kitchens have a microwave, refrigerator, stove top, coffee maker and basic dishes. The location is a short, inexpensive bus ride or a long walk from town. My only complaint is that check-in can take quite a while with long lines and the lobby is crawling with timeshare salespeople. If you don't want to spend 3 hours in a "45 minute" hard sell timeshare presentation, make it very clear that you are not interested in receiving whatever discounts they are offering and don't want to make an appointment. I haven't been roped into a timeshare presentation in years although I do own a timeshare. My advice is that if you are interested in purchasing a timeshare, go online and find the resort with the highest trading power and buy a timeshare from the owner. They are notoriously difficult to sell and you can pick up a membership for a fraction of what you would pay if you fall for a timeshare presentation. The only other complaint I have is that there is no icemaker available and you have to go to the bartender to get ice (for making margaritas in your room or for a cooler) and he's a bit stingy with it.

The beach in front of the hotel is great for swimming and the pool is great.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room when you make your reservation. The rooms at the back side of the proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our staying at Villa Del Palmar was awesome. WE arrived Oct. 6 left Nov.24
A special thank you To Minor, Sergio, Claudia,Allen, Miguel,(and all the bellboys)
Thanks to Aurora and all the girls,the activity staff are fantastic.
Halloween and Thanksgiving party, We had so much fun and the food was outstanding
looking forward to come back soon

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We've been going to PV for many years and due to proximity to friends, we started to stay at the Villa del Palmar about 10 year ago. I was impressed recently to see that they are constantly improving the facility, amenities and service and I now believe them to be on par with the best in PV. It is a lovely setting and upkeep is now fastidious (good because the facility is not brand new but is up-to-date) competing favorably with the significantly higher-priced hotels. We will continue to make it our "home" in PV (we love having the small kitchenettes in each room) -- and continue to benefit from the constant improvements. We love the fact that its location and setting are "real Mexico" unlike many resorts which could be anywhere! BTW-- they will try the "buy our condo" number on you like many locations around the world, but if you are not interested and politely refuse the offer, they'll back off right away!

Room Tip: We've had rooms all over and the only one we didn't really enjoy was the one behind the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a pretty nice hotel in a location that didn't satisfy our travel plans. It is centrally located between the Marina and El Centro, and we went to town every day. It is not a hard trip - we usually took the bus which is very inexpensive - but we should simply have picked a hotel in Old Town for our needs.

The vacationers here are mostly up in years - and we are not youngsters. We've never seen so many walkers, wheel chairs, and oxygen in one place other than a rest home. It wasn't an issue for us and makes for a pretty quiet environment. You can even use the sister property of Villa del Mar next door which is even quieter. Occupancy was 58% and grew on the weekends, which livened things up a little with more children and Mexican Nationals. Anyway, we mention this only for those who are expecting a lively, spring break kind of place - this is not it.

When we checked in we were turned over the hotel timeshare rep for our key and hotel information. It was actually useful since "Grace" was very pleasant and provided a lot of useful information. We agreed to visit the VDP Flamingos resort in Neuvo Vallarta since we were exploring PV and wanted to see how things had developed to the north. Grace "guaranteed" us that it would be a 90 minute presentation including the free breakfast. Well, it turned out to be 4-1/2 hours and five salespersons. They were working up to six when we simply said we were leaving and started walking out. We were later advised that we asked too many questions, which they believe indicates serious interest and therefore didn't want to let us get away without buying something. Buyer beware...

The rooms in the hotel are very clean, but somewhat worn. We loved the bed. The refrigerator is way small, particularly if you want to keep ice in it for drinks. The resort food we had was actually very good, but the high prices made us eat nearly all meals in town. We noticed that they have a sign up in the pool/deck area telling you not to bring your own food or drink into the area, but with their prices most people were simply ignoring it. Happy hour drinks were priced at what should be the regular price (two for one). Staff is exceptional, and we have had nice service in every resort in Mexico we have stayed in. Even the front desk, which some people have criticized, were very friendly and helpful. I don't think you could ask for better personnel in a hotel.

They do have "Elite Status" areas roped off for "special owners." I think that means they paid a bunch of $$$ for the title. They were not used much (not a surprise) but it did create kind of a snobbish aspect to the hotel.

We'd probably stay at this hotel again if it were lotated in El Centro. If that is not important to you, by all means consider it for your PV visit.

Room Tip: Be sure to take your travel documents from your booking agent. We got a better room when I showed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife ,two daughters age 2.5 & 5 and I stayed here for 10 days. We meet 3 other family’s down at this resort for the past 3 years. We have stayed at many resorts across central and south America ranging from 5 star – 2 star. I would rate this resort at a solid 3.5 star. At one point I’m sure it was a 4.5 star however it is an older resort. Here is how I would break it down.

The staff:
We found the staff at the front counter to be efficient, not overly friendly just very business-like. They are fast to get you in so that you are not waiting around for room keys. They could have been a little more cheerful, however I was happy just to get my room key after flying all day.

The grounds:
The grounds of the resort are kept in pristine condition. There isn’t a blade of grass out of place. Funny thing is I don’t remember seeing lots of grounds keepers during the day so I assume they were doing this at night. If that’s the case they are very quiet in doing so.

The entertainment:
The entertainment staff are very nice and hardworking people. I enjoyed playing beach V-ball every day at 11am and again at 3pm. Other than that I didn’t partake in activities, but when hanging out at the pool they always had something going on. I would say they could have played better music but I was told because there was an “older” crowed at the resort they had to play that type of music.

The Food:
I’m the pickiest eater ever, so take this with a grain of salt. I found the food to be ok not great just ok. We never do the AI because I just hate eating buffet….anywhere. The breakfast at the on-site convenience store was really good! The pizza at the outdoor restaurant by the beach was also good. Other than that is was just ok.

The Location:
You can’t beat the location. It is centrally located so if you want to go DT PV it’s a $6-10 cab ride if you want to go to Nuevo Vallarta it’s a $12 cab ride, and bucerias might be $20-25. The Bus to DT PV is so cheap and it’s a fun ride. There are markets north and south of resort. There is a Wal-Mart like store about 2 blocks down the street or you can take a cab to Costco.

The rooms:
The rooms are very spacious and very clean, however they are dated. The décor is typical for Mexico. The beds are comfy, the bathroom is big, and the maids do a good job of cleaning up every day.

The pools:
There are 3 pools. One kids pool about 2 feet deep. A pool at the back of the resort. And the main pool. We hung out at the main pool 99% of the time. The water was heated, this is a very nice bonus. Not all resorts heat the pools. This is a main reason we go to this resort. My wife and kids hate getting into COLD pools. This for us is a deal breaker. If they every stop heating the pool we would not return.

The beach:
The beach is nice, they have a roped off area that the peddlers are not allowed. This is nice if they bother you. Also have some chairs set up closer to the water. When we were there, we were able to swim all but one day.

My family likes this resort, it’s a smaller resort with a more intimate feeling. I would recommend this resort for families with young kids, or older couples. We feel safe here and we will be returning Feb27th 2013

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Asencio Km 2.5 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa
Villa Del Palmar Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Del Palmar Beach
Villa Del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
Resort Del Palmar Beach
Puerto Vallarta Villa Del Palmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.