We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We want to come back again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Save Saved
You added Velas Vallarta Suite Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Costera s/n, LH2 | Fracc Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$140 (USD)
Ranked #16 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We want to come back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The one-week stay in November 2013 was our second in Velas Vallarta. And again we want to come back there! The resort is very conveniently located to PVR airport and downtown. The facilities are very well maintained. The room (we stayed in a two-bedroom suite) is very comfortable and cozy yet providing for everything you come to expect on a family vacation. The staff is a real asset for the resort due to their friendliness, readiness to help and high degree of skills and experience. For our teenager daughter and son, my wife and I this was an unforgettable adventure!

Room Tip: The higher the floor you are in the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your delightful comments on your visits to Velas Vallarta. And a special thank you for traveling from so far in order for your family to enjoy unforgettable vacations. As you well know the resort is family friendly making it a splendid option for your wife and two teenagers. As you mention the suites are very comfortable and cozy for a family of four in our two bedroom units, and the friendly service meets and exceeds your needs. I am very pleased that you are eager to return to Velas Vallarta, and it would be my honor to meet you and your family in person when your time allows. Thank you again and until next time, take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,596
    386
    93
    46
    48
See reviews for
764
746
25
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were interested in how this Velas resort which is substantially cheaper cost would releate to Grand Velas just up the road from Neuvo Vallarta. GV on two previous trips was muy beuno! VV was fun and had good and bad timing on our part on a couple of issues. Upon arrival, which unfortunately was at 10:30 in the morning was a bit of a problem, which we understand. We registered and got our all-inclusive wrist band if we wanted to partake in a meal or a drink. Agua only at this hour. We finally got our room assignment at 1:30pm after explanation from reception staff that they were very full from a convention and awaiting room cleaning progress to free up a room. We had reserved a one-bedroom suite with A-I some eight months before arrival. We even paid the A-I fee up front some two months prior to arrival. The one bedroom suite was on an upper floor with a nice balcony overlooking a back pool and gardens. It was noted interesting enough upon approach as "studio" on a sign on walkway coming to the door. "Studio two" was likely a room lock off for another bedroom adjacent to Studio One. More later.
Quick explanation of tour offerings and tour of resort by sales staff which we declined. Been there, done that in earlier visits to Mexico.
Room was fine but no decent furniture for putting clothing in drawers. Top shelf in closet and living out of suitcase and using shelves under tv was o.k. for a week. Top notch housekeeping! I complained that my tv reception was bad and within an afternoom a cable stretched covered in duct tape on walkway brought good reception, It led from utility locker across from rooms on walkway and led into the mysterious Studio B with same suite number. Next day, cable removed and issue resolved by on-site engineer. Good t.v. reception: yes!
Three pools with children and attentive parents using all three pools.Even main pool with swim up bar stools with folks with kindles and books running for high ground to avoid the splash attack.
First day was like visiting a Miami resort of spring break drunks if you got near the main pool. We could tell from lobby displays and being told the hotel was full up that conventioneers were partying with A-I wristbands. The first day was less than relaxing unless I wanted to relive my college spring break days.
Two restaurants: La Ribiera, an open air venue fronting the beach. Our waiter, Riga, was great and provided M air conditioning, a large fan. Beach vendors were very respectful. Andrea was back toward the lobby with adjacent gardens, koi ponds, peacocks, iguana and lots of birds.
Andrea and La Ribera would list offerings and times in weekly booklet. Andrea had both outside and inside (AC) seating. It would list each night as" formal" for dinner with a reservation call. I was used to GV so I wore my dockers and a nice shirt. Most folks wore shorts and formal flipflops. Not really appreciated at any GV five diamond restaurant but fully acceptable here.
Great service and a tip was always remembered with good seating and memory by wait staff on your preferences.
As weekend approached, a new convention and the resort was likely full again. The previously vacant Studio B of our room number became alive with a huge, loud, loud party with people behind our shared door yelling, talking, and imbibing in a big way. Several calls to staff finally stopped the din and they moved on to make another part of the hotel as a wake up call.
Sorry, next time we will pay more to Casa V or GV. Relaxation is what we wanted and maybe less conventioneers and kids in an adult pool is more to our liking. We hated to leave a Velas resort on a bad note.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your capsule on your recent visit to Velas Vallarta. Your knowledge of the resorts of the Velas Group is very admirable, as you are also familiar with Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit and with Casa Velas Puerto Vallarta. Velas Resorts does offer 3 different products in the way of hotels. Each one with a different set of dynamics, and of course, all with varying rates. Velas Vallarta is advertised as family friendly as the suites are quite large, even with full kitchens in order to cater to parents with children, as well as for couples on a honeymoon. The “Affordable Luxury” tag that we are described as on our web site is quite that. And as you mentioned, Grand Velas and Casa Velas do offer a finer level of product. All at a higher cost of course. I am pleased to read that you mention some of the positive aspects of our resort, and I do sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. But be rest assured, that based on the quantity of very good commentaries, we believe that we are meeting or exceeding the expectations of the great majority of our cherished clients. Thank you for your loyalty to Velas Resorts and we look forward to hosting you again at any of our resort options.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I have traveled extensively in Mexico and been an owner at Velas since 1998.Although it has always been a five star resort, I have seen a marked improvement in the facility in the past couple of years. The suites and the grounds are very well maintained and the staff keeps getting better and better. Three of them I would like to mention personally are Donald at the concierge desk, Cindy at the front desk and Graciela in house keeping. This is a first class resort and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you Timothy for your keen observations on the maintainance and development of Velas Vallarta. As a yearly visitor you can perhaps note any changes more readily than most. And one of our commitments to you is to maintain and improve the quality of our installations every year. We are firm believers that a part of your investment, and that of others must be recycled back into the operation of the resort in order to maintain Velas Vallarta in the forefront of Puerto Vallarta hotels in terms of physical areas and buildings, along with their visual beauty. To have a perfect balance, the human factor always complements the product. You noted the outstanding service of Cindy at the reception desk , Graciela of our housekeeping department and that of Donald. They are fine ambassadors of Velas Vallarta, helping to make your vacations memorable year after year. Thank you Timothy for your loyalty and for your fine comments. Take care.
LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We were at the resort from 11/6 until 11/16. Our entire week was pleasant-- with excellent service from friendly staff. Our suite was clean & our maid did an excellent job every day. I would like to commend Juvanito for his excellent service around the pool, Ceasar Julio & Rueben for their service at La Ribiera restaurant. I had two massages during our stay & Jenny was excellent.
Our food at the Andreas Restaurant was very good, & the staff was very attentive. Frida, the hostess was great too.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your splendid comments on our service. Our staff of 520 employees are very focused on the satisfaction of our cherished guests. They provide a professional service along with a genuine smile and hearty greeting. Juventino, Cesar, Julio, Ruben, Jenny and Frida have helped to contribute to your pleasant vacation. And please note that these persons will be personally recognized for their service spirit. Thank you again and we hope to see you again.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A group of us stay at the Velas Vallarta Suite Resort every other year. The resort is beautiful and well kept. The Staff are the best. The views from our Suite are breathtaking. This year I felt that the restaurants on the resort did not have as much selection (although the food is good). A few of the things our group missed were the Additional Dinning Options (offsite partner restaurants), Chips and Salsa with Dinner (Only available at lunch), Corona Beer and Diet Coke (Switched from Coke products to Pepsi). Also I really wish they would not be so pushy about upgrading and going to presentations. But they are quick to restock our room with goodies and they are constantly cleaning and maintaining. As I said before...the staff is amazing.

Room Tip: If you book a studio you will not get a view - but the studio rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you Laurie for your kind comments and observations on your recent stay at Velas Vallarta. It is motivating for us to know that you feel that the staff is amazing and that you bring your group every two years to your Mexican home. Over the course of two years there will some differences to previous trips, but the points you mentioned such as the snacks and brand names are really something that we can make happen if it would satisfy your needs. However the reciprocation to dine at our sister resort Casa Velas now is not available, as it was growing into an operational challenge over the years as the demand became too large to cater to. So to preserve the tranquil and refined ambience that defines Casa Velas, we had to make the decision to revert back to the original all inclusive package of Velas Vallarta. There was really in all fairness Laurie, no other option or solution when having up to 40 of our families wishing to dine in the boutique hotel each evening. I am happy that you felt that the staff is amazing and I am sure that you and your group have forged some friendships with some. Thank you again Laurie and we all look forward to your next visit. Take care.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have owned and stayed here a few times and love it each time. You can relax at the pool or find many activities daily in and around one of the pools or on the beach. Walk to the nearby marina for more shops and plenty of restauarants. The grounds are beautiful and well kept with many of the local flora including banana and coconut trees. Several Iguana and peacocks roam throughout the grounds. Our one bedroom had a full kitchen, balcony overlooking the pools and ocean, firm, comfortable mattress, flat screen TV with a few english channels including CNN, ESPN, and others but no DVD or movies.. There is exercise equipment available and a small store. See my restaurant reviews for this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for building #2 above the 4th floor for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you Randy for your continued loyalty to Velas Vallarta. As a member you will know very well the feel of the resort, the friendly service and the comfort of the suites. Which is why as you say “you love it each time”. As an added note you may have noticed that we revamp different areas of our gardens each year so that they evolve into a new experience for you each time you return. I am pleased to read that you have found various things to do in and around the resort, including activities and beach walking. Thank you Randy and please be assured that your motivating comments will be posted for our employees to read and to see the fine job that they are doing. Thank you again sir.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLART
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We became members in 2011 while staying at Velas Vallarta for a friends wedding because we loved the property and service and this was our first time staying as members. We brought another couple with us and we all had an awesome vacation. We had free transportation to and from the airport and as soon as we arrived at the resort we were greeted with exceptional service that lasted throughout the entire week. The first thing we did was to go down to the pool where we met Marcelino who ended up taking phenomenal care of us throughout our entire stay always with a big smile and awesome personality. Marcelino was always diligent about checking in with us to bring us food and beverages whenever needed. My husband and I enjoyed 90 minute massages at the spa by Jenny and Faby that were out of this world and we highly recommend the spa services. We kept room service and housekeeping pretty busy and they did an outstanding job. We met Juan (not a resort employee) on the beach who helped us to schedule our private fishing/snorkeling and dune buggy/ziplining trips. Juan and his business partners were very professional and we had a great time on our excursions. We wish we could give this review 4 and a half stars but only a 4 or a 5 is allowed. Thank you Velas Vallarta for a remarkable vacation. We will definitely see you again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you Jacquelyn for sharing your vacation experience on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you had a remarkable vacation and that you were able to make friends with some of our staff members. Marcelino, Jenny and Fabiola have a combined 27 years of providing professional service at a personal level at Velas Vallarta showing their glowing attitude towards our guests such as yourselves. Jacquelyn, you can be rest assured that on your next visit to your second home, you will find many of the same friendly faces to help provide you with another remarkable vacation.

LUIS ANGARITA
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL VELAS VALLARTA
langaritavv@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Velas Vallarta Suite Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Address: Av Costera s/n, LH2 | Fracc Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta Suite Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet á la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Velas Vallarta Suite Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.