We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome all-inclusive with poolside food and drink service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Save Saved
You added Velas Vallarta Suite Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Costera s/n, LH2 | Fracc Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$167 (USD)
Ranked #16 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome all-inclusive with poolside food and drink service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to Velas Vallarta, and it lived up to all of our expectations and then some. We were so excited by the free room upgrade which we did not know of till we checked in. We got an ovean view and balcony for the price of the least expensive room because of Expedia. We also received a free bottle of wone and five chocolate covered strawberries when we first entered our room!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for expressing your surprise and gratitude for the amenities that you received upon check in. Actually Expedia has a select group of clients called "Elite" who automatically receive these perks. With your reservation Expedia advises us of your Elite status and the preprogrammed benefits are automatically entered into your file before your arrival. So congratulations on your preferred status and it will be an honour for us to be your hosts again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,626
    400
    102
    49
    48
See reviews for
797
761
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at Velas Vallarta for a family vacation with my husband and two toddlers. The resort is not huge, which I liked because I was with small kids, but others may not. There are two restaurants, one is right on the water. The restaurants change their menu each night. I found the food to be good and pretty typical for an all inclusive. The staff at the hotel was always friendly and helpful. The catered to my two toddlers and often brought us special things we needed to eat, etc. The beach was clean and perfect. There are vendors, but I didn't find it overwhelming. The water is a bit rough at the beach, but fun for playing in waves. You can get a massage right on the beach in a hut, which was marvelous.
Kids Club: We couldn't use the kid club b/c one of my sons was too young, but they did have some activities we could do like a treasure hunt, little puppet plays outside, and face painting. You can also check out floats and sand toys at the kid club which I found AWESOME. My kids were so entertained getting to play with new floats every hour or two they were in heaven.
Location: The hotel is near the harbor and very close to the airport. This was great for us b/c my kids couldn't take much more after travel after the flight. The harbor was cute with restaurants and you can walk there in a few minutes. It felt safe and I jogged there daily with my kids. We tried to save money and buy extra sunscreen at the harbor, but it was just as pricey as the hotel. We did go to downtown Puerta Vallarta one night and werent overly impressed. It could have been we had two little kids though. I think Playa Del Carmen is much cuter and hip.
Rooms: The rooms were a bit dated but great b/c they come in different sizes. We had a one bedroom with a pull out couch for the kids and a huge balcony. Having a kitchen was great b/c we could have coffee in the morning while the kids had cereal and watch shows. The room service pizza was great and we ordered at least one a day and always had leftovers in the fridge to snack on.
Other: The grouds are beautiful with iguanas, peacocks and flowers everywhere. I felt for the amount we paid, it was a great deal and we had a great vacation. I can't comment on the entertainment b/c we never stayed up that late.

Room Tip: Might want to be away from the lobby because sometimes they have a band at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
As you so well wrote our resort is very friendly towards children and the needs of parents with children. Our goal as a condominium all inclusive is to make the little things easier for parents because after all you too are on vacation. From the 24 hour room service to the kitchen complement which is restocked daily, the chore of satisfying the little ones on vacation is that much easier. And I agree, the pizza is fabulous! Thank you so much for your interesting comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week as a second honeymoon. We were stunned when we got there as the place is beautiful. The staff was very kind at first, but as you stay there for a while they tend to get a little rude. However, I was still pleased with our stay there. We booked attractions from the hotel and that made our stay less boring as me and my husband are in our 20's and like to get out and explore. Also, there is a pretty cool swim up beverage station, and there are normally iguanas everywhere. If you like to lay out by the ocean though, beware of several people coming up to you asking you to buy items.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed yourselves here at Velas Vallarta. We are in the process of improving certain aspects of our service and product as at this time it is slower, which allows us to reflect on what we have and explore ways to make it better. Reinforcing certain ideals amongst our staff in order to maintain the image that Puerto Vallarta reflects is what we aim for. After all, PVR is known as the friendliest city in the world. We do wish to thank you for travelling all the way from Italy to see our magnificent country and of course for taking the time to share your observations with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Compared to my stay at Paradise Village last year this resort leaves a lot to be desired. Their entertainment is fairly nonexistent. Their rooms are very nice, pools are large and gorgeous, food is so-so, everything is sparkling clean and the staff is extremely friendly. But, the DJ is pretty boring, plus their speaker system stinks...sometimes you can barely hear the music by the pool and sometimes there isn't any playing. The only bar that is open after 9 is in the lobby and it's not really a bar. To have evening fun you really have to go to downtown each night. If they want to keep you there then they really need to increase the amount of activities. And, this place was empty compared to the other resort. That speaks volumes!

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the ocean view rooms to get a nicer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in expressing your perceptions about your stay with us. You are right in a sense to say that the entertainment at Velas Vallarta is not in abundance. Actually we try to balance the type of fun that we offer amongst all the diverse age groups that visit us. From little children to teens to all the way to guests of the golden years we have something, however we do not focus specifically on one age group. Again, thank you for your comments and we will work in the meantime on adding a little more variety.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at Velas Vallarta back in March. I did not know what to expect, we had not been to PV in many years. We were pleasantly surprised by this resort. It may be a bit dated but is very clean both inside and out. Our room was comfortable, we had a nice deck to sit out on, and plenty of space. Twice daily cleaning, so nice. The grounds are meticulous. There are peacocks hanging around - this was fun to see. A few iguanas were also present. The pool is huge, enough room for everyone here. Gilberto at the Aqua Bar was GREAT!! Ask to sit in his section, he rocks!! The food at the pool and in the 2 restaurants was good. I preferred eating at Andrea's rather than La Ribera. Luis at Andrea's was such a great server, so attentive, he made us feel so special. We had a great vacation and will definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for returning to Puerto Vallarta after so many years and especially for selecting Velas Vallarta. I am sure that you had noticed various changes throughout the city that makes us a more attractive and safe family destination. I would be interested in seeing your before and after photos of downtown to appreciate the advances that we have made here. And of course it was a pleasure to host you this year and we'll make sure that Gilberto and Luis have an opportunity to see and read your fine comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We loved our visit here! The staff went over and beyond to make us happy and comfortable. Our view was perfect! what a beautiful location!! The spa here was amazing too. The massage here was the best yet! I highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: We were in 611. The view was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are so happy that you really enjoyed your services in our Spa. You may have taken your treatments in our Spa cabins or on our jetty over the ocean. In either setting our girls receive the highest of marks amongst our guests for quality and service when providing any of the dozens of massages that we offer. I will send a copy of your kind words to the Spa. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our favorite place to go on vacation in the whole world is Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. Our family goes every year to the Velas Vallarta. We take our daughter and her friend along with my parents or our neighbors. They all love the resort and it’s a great place to go for any age.

The resort is absolutely beautiful with its tropical gardens and connecting swimming pools. You can find iguanas wandering around the premises that are very friendly. The resort is in a horseshoe shape so that every room has an ocean view. The beach is great for walking and playing. There are lots of activities such as volleyball. The restaurants are first class as far as their food and service. The entire staff at the Velas is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are very nice and clean, and the beds are very comfortable.

We enjoy taking the bus or taxi to downtown Puerto Vallarta. Its cobblestone streets and historic buildings are very charming. We like walking on the beach front to see the amazing sand castles and various sand sculptures.

We have always felt very safe at the Velas and in Puerto Vallarta. The people are genuinely friendly and helpful. We would recommend anyone coming here. We just love it!

Room Tip: We like to get either a one bedroom or two bedroom Villa so we have plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
How nice to hear that Velas Vallarta is your favorite resort to vacation at. I am sure you know much of the staff here, from the always smiling bellboys to the hardworking chambermaids. When seeing you and other frequent guests such as yourselves it gives us an added confidence that we are exceeding our goals in regards to client satisfaction. From all the staff we look forward to hosting you and your family in the near future. Thank you so much for your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Velas Vallarta Suite Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Address: Av Costera s/n, LH2 | Fracc Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta Suite Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet á la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Velas Vallarta Suite Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.