We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family resort perfection!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Velas Vallarta Suite Resort to your Saves list
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   585 Paseo de la Marina | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family resort perfection!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Me my wife and 9 year old daughter stayed at Velas in early march for spring break. We had a great time! The service was fantastic and the food and drinks were great. There is so much I could say about this place being perfect for anyone looking for a clean, comfortable and just plain relaxing family vacation, The resort is full of a lot of family's having a great time at the pool (which is huge) and the beach is ok, this resort is a place I think any hard working blue collar family would enjoy, I think it gets some "bad press" from some people going in expecting the ritz. I have been to Mexico 6 times in the past (first trip to Velas) and would return to Velas in a heartbeat. The best service was at the pool and beachside restaurant we all miss Marvin, Adrian and Jesus (which provided the best service We have ever had at any resort) and we will see You all again soon......

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,913
    478
    119
    52
    47
See reviews for
936
895
31
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

we went to velas the last week of march which is one of their busiest times of the year. the resort was full but the staff did a great job of handling the crowd and the level of service throughout our trip was exceptional. The positives of the stay were numerous and included terrific poolside food and drink service from our server Tino. Our days by the pool were limited to the kids pool as our 6 year old spent his time there. Tino provided incredible service and attention to everyone in the section and never was there a time when we had to wait more then a few minutes for a drink if we wanted one. The kids pool is located right next to the kids club and our son spent much of his time there where he was very happy meeting other kids his age and kept busy with daily activities provided by the 5 counselors who ran the club. from puppet shows, various sports like soccer and dodgeball and even daily arts and crafts the kids club is a great place to drop your child(must be at least 4 and not older then 12) for several hours a day if you would like to get some couples time. be advised that unlike the velas' much more pricey sibling, grand velas, you must pick up your child for lunch and dinner as the counselors do not take the kids for meals which is understandable.

other highlights included Andrea restaurant which had different themed menu choices each night and a staff that aimed to please. given the resort was full you needed to make reservations by 8 each morning to get a spot for an evening table. We enjoyed the beach as well but found it not nearly as user friendly as the nuevo vallarta side. here there are many rocks and pebbles on the beach which make long walks difficult. Also large rock barriers divide the beach into sections and you must walk up and around them if you want to go on a long stretch of a beach walk. as this was our preferred choice for exercise each morning it was a bit cumbersome. The marina is only a 5 minute walk form the resort and has a great selection of restaurants and small shops to look at. this came in handy as the other on site restaurant, la ribera, served the same steak dinner buffet essentially every night. the food became very boring after a few nights so getting a change off property was refreshing. we also enjoyed a city and cultural bus tour of pv arranged by the resort and our guide and driver was exceptional. daily pool activities included aerobics, water volleyball and the always popular swim up aqua bar. Christopher, the de facto entertainment director daily, did a great job keeping people active and the resort buzzing with energy.

the negatives were few but noteworthy. as mentioned la ribera kept essentially the same menu each night and became quite bland after a while. I think this was due to the resort being so full and the need to feed the masses, perhaps in an off peak time the restaurant will be more varied. service was very good though you could tell the staff was feeling a bit overwhelmed. despite this most of the staff always had a smile on their faces. the rooms were a bit dated, though certainly very functional. as we spent little time in the room other then to sleep it wasn't a big deal. that said the rooms are in need of updating and a more modern feel. we had a 1 bedroom suite and it was cleaned twice daily and kept stocked with snacks and drinks. as in almost every resort during spring break the towel game was in full affect. if you did not get up at 6:30 each morning and reserve a pool chair in the shade or a beach chair in one of the cabanas you were pretty much out of luck by 7am. unfortunately many chairs reserved early would go unused and though the resort has a policy against this it was never enforced, not sure how they can in any case. nightlife at the resort is minimal, a mariachi band and a few shows were offered but were less then stellar. as mentioned the marina is very close by and a trop into PV is only a 15 minute cab ride so for those seeking nightlife it is close by. the resort also has a service geared towards older teens/college age people that provides a ride and chaperone into the city to hit a few nightclubs and bars and then make sure everyone gets back safe.

in summary velas vallarta is a great place for families with a number of activities geared towards young children. it is a significant step down from the grand velas in terms of rooms and the over the top service but is probably a better choice for young families in any case as it is more affordable. think twice about paying for the all inclusive, with many restaurants within walking distance in may make more sense to save money on the inclusive and venture out a few nights.

we enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back next year.

Room Tip: higher floors 6-8 give you the best view of the ocean and less noisy. lower floors give you best vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valleyview, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were at the Velas Vallarta Resort last spring and I must say it is one of the nicest resorts we have stayed at.This place is so clean and well looked after,the food is fantastic and the staff are very friendly.Hats off to Gilberto at the aqua bar,he is one of the nicest servers we have ever met!Can't wait to see him and all the rest of the staff again.I must admit I do miss the clear blue water but at this resort they make up for it with everything they have to offer. See y'all in a few weeks!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was extremely impressed with the service. Everyone working at this resort was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. There was plenty of staff, and they were clearly trained in good customer service. We mostly sat at the beach, and there was a waiter nearby at all times who was willing and happy to bring us drinks and/or food. We stayed as part of an all inclusive deal (that included all drinks) for a week in a three bedroom suite. The rooms were nice. Large balcony. The bathrooms wee adequate. The food was good (better at the sit-down restaurant). We had a great vacation and would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Went to this resort on a Time Share exchange. I loved the room service and pools I want not happy that the infinity pool was not party of the hotel. The drinks were amazing and loved the room bottle service. I thought the beach could have been better. Spent most of my time by the pool we booked 2 - 2 bedrooms suites. At check-in at first they wanted us to pay for 8 people when we only had 4 people. No where in the RCI paperwork we had did it say we had to pay the all inclusive for the maximum amount of people I have been to many all inclusive had never seen this rule. They false advertise a lot about this hotel.

Room Tip: get a balcony room and Corner suites are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
693 reviews 693 reviews
74 hotel reviews
374 helpful votes 374 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel caters to adults and children alike. Your kids will be kept busy and entertained with the variety of activities day and night. The many restaurants will please every member in the family. The highlight is the weekly Mexican Fiesta with the excellent food and entertainment. The beach and pool area also caters to families of all ages.

Room Tip: Book a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have been a frequent visitor of Puerto Vallarta, and in particular of this resort, Velas Vallarta. Yes, I am an owner here, but I want to point out, I NEVER trade in my weeks from Velas (though they have a lot of pull) -- I love my Paradise. There have been a number of upgrades made particularly poolside (new lounge chairs, new king-sized fluffy towels). The rooms are wonderful, spacious, and also with upgraded linens and towels. I just spent a week there with my Mom and Aunt, and we continue to talk of the wonderful service we received throughout -- from the wait staff in Andreas and Ribera to the room cleaning staff. I personally would like to thank Donald of the Concierge service for his wonderful staff - they are all incredibly helpful, taking an example from Donald's book of customer service!!

Oh, and if you need a good intense sports massage, or a soothing hydrotherapy massage, don't miss out at the Spa -- Erika and Yurel (sp?) know how to pull the stress and tension out of the muscles!! Thank you Velas for a wonderful week!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful -- view of the courtyard, pools, and ocean are easily accomodated
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Velas Vallarta Suite Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Address: 585 Paseo de la Marina | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta Suite Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet a la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Velas Vallarta Suite Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.