We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly our happy place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Velas Vallarta Suite Resort to your Saves list
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Costera s/n, LH2 | Fracc Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$167 (USD)
Ranked #15 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Truly our happy place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Velas review

We have been enjoying this outstanding resort ever year since 2006 at a different time of year; the weather has been pleasant mid November thru first week in May. We have found two weeks is a good amount of time for the visit.

Guest transportation greeted us with a bottle of water at the airport, as they have 8 other visits. Resort is less than 10 minutes from the airport.

Victoria was ready to check us in upon our arrival, as soon as she offered us cool wash cloths and took our drink orders! Rooms were ready upon arrival.
Throughout the 14 days, both Christian and Victoria were very helpful.

Suggestions: WIFI is high dollar, this has been a long time disappointment at Velas, perhaps provide complimentary, as most hotels and resorts or substantially reduce the rate

Use the condiment packages for the room and pool service, not for Andrea's and La Ribera.

Velas offers supreme menus, would enjoy a cooking class at Velas as one of the daily activities.

After checking in, as you walk thru the lobby you will be approached by the "timeshare ladies". Choice be your's, if you want to attend a sales presentation they will set it up for you, anticipate the 30 minute sale presentation to consume not less than half a day, chances are you will leave with no other perks than what you received when checking in. We choose not to taint our vacation and no matter what the ladies chant to us, we say "no and do not ask us again". Works for us every time. We are happy with our membership and not interested in any changes.

Many paths to wander around the beautiful gardens and three pools. Enjoy the garden view from the cardio room, Andreas and balconies. Groundskeepers work diligently to maintain the tropical garden.

Room service is often within 20 minutes, server will set up an eating area of your choice in the unit. David is our favorite room service waiter.

Over the years we have become acquainted with many of the staff and they greet us each year as we arrive in their service areas.

Christian, by the pool and Mexican Fiesta, seems as though he has endless energy, we enjoy his fun personality.

Christina at La Riberia takes great care of us and she tries, daily, to teach us different Spanish words. Great menus at La Riberia, particularly fond of the lunch wok station.

Favorite pool waiters are Jacinto, Saul & Eric, they all take very good care of the guests

Everyday, breakfast, lunch and dinner at both Andrea's and la Ribera restaurants choose from buffet, menu or both

Sunday night is Mexican Fiesta night, grand buffet style dinner, cultural dance show with audience participation. Marvin is a favorite server at Mexican Fiesta.

Andreas is truly gourmet dining AND service, casual ambience. Captain Omar oversees the restaurant and is certain his guests are served with excellence. Our favorite waiters at Andrea's are Erick & Enrique. We very much enjoy the evening piano bar and the theme menus. Taste the delicious soups, waiters will serve the soup and buffet items at your table.

Good information provided while speaking with Donald, Guest Services. Wish we had chatted with him in previous years. We had questions about future stays and accommodations, Donald had all the answers.

One of our most memorable excursions was the Sunset Sail on Boat #4 with Johnny & Julio. We enjoyed it so much, we went once each week.

A must, the spa, staff offers excellent service, indoor or at the beach.

The maids, many with limited English, clean the rooms daily and provide nightly bed turn down as they tidy up the room once again

Read on Expedia that robes, slippers and room massage were included amenities, have to say, this has never been offered to us, not sure if information is correct.

Also read about "elegant" bathrooms, perhaps on Velas website. We have experienced elegant bathrooms in the lobby, our unit bathrooms have always been clean and sufficient, not elegant.

The kitchen/refrigerator is stocked daily with refreshments, water, cereals, call if you want a refill of any item.

There is a small mini market on the property, bring your floaters (you will enjoy a floater at Velas) inflated for 50 cents.

Over the years, we have had some minor issues during our stay, all were quickly resolved.

Velas Vallarta is truly "our happy place"

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,642
    400
    103
    49
    48
See reviews for
803
765
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fritz Creek
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Went to this resort on a Time Share exchange...It's suppose to be a "Mandatory" all inclusive, however, we met people who were there that didn't pay the all inclusive. They state they have 3 restaurants, but they only have 2 and it's basically the same food night after night. We had a 2 bedroom and apparently, it requires 4 adults and we only had my husband and I plus our 2 kids, boy and a girl; one teen and one tween. They made us pay the adult rate for the kids. They said we wouldn't have to pay it in a 1 bedroom...guess they don't think anything wrong with the kids sleeping together...I didn't several years ago, but, in my opinion, they are too old for that. I got food poisoning the 4th night we were there from room service and the next day, my husband said there were about 4 others. They provided me with Electrolite and that's it. You are required to wear wrist bands. Kids say "No Alcohol" right on them, but my son was served 2 times! These are also great magnets for the "Time Share" bandits in the city. They will make you think they know you and have met you at the resort, then when they've talked to you for about 10 minutes, the time share card is thrown on the table...just walk away.
The resort is beautiful. Grounds are well maintained and staff is attentive and friendly, but we've stayed in Mexico for A LOT less money than what we were charged here. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I returned yesterday with my family after a week long vacation and stay at Velas Vallarta. Right from the word go (exiting the airport), the staff were at your service and made sure me and my family were comfortable in all respects. Courteous, friendly and professional from cleaners to managers. They all went the extra mile to accommodate your respect and make you happy. Even if you are a nit picker, there was nothing that you could fault !!! If this resort doesn't make you happy, I am not sure if anything else will.

Room Tip: I am not sure which rooms are best as place like this, you really want to be outdoors. The room is e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We keep going back! Again we were treated amazing. Donald, the Manager is so good to us, makes a difference. Every one smiles and really wants to make your stay the best experience ever. We took our Mothers this year and it will take them a while to get back to our normal. They were impressed, by the consistent sincerity in making them feel welcome. We had an ocean view and beautiful suite. The food was amazing in both restaurants with so many attentive staff. A big shout out to the stir fry cook. that is one hot job and he was always smiling. Amazing flaming coffees on the ocean at night. Mexican night was so much fun Christian, as always, is a wonderful host. The Mariachi band was a special hit this year for us. Coming home to a clean room and beds turned down is the best treat. That is a vacation to me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, MN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We just returned from a trip to Velas March 10-15 and LOVED it! The room was spotless, cleaned twice/daily, refrigerator re-stocked daily, beds made in the morning, turned down for you at night, I can't say one thing bad. We had a light bulb burn out in the shower in one of the bathrooms, left a note, and it was changed before we got back from the pool. We LOVED our view. We were in C tower, 6th floor. We had a great view of the pools/resort itself, but had an awesome view of the bay/mountains/ocean which was the cherry on top.

The grounds are beautiful... we sat by the pool(s) every day, were treated wonderfully by the staff at both restaurants and the pool area. The food was awesome! We're not into 'fine dining' and are a more laid back family. We did go to Andreas one night and had a wonderful meal, but most nights we enjoyed eating by the ocean and choosing buffet or the menu item. I can't say enough about the staff... Francisco was an awesome waiter... remembered my kids' (ages 20, 18, and 13) names and their favorite drinks... and had some great laughter time while waiting on us.

We enjoyed watching the Peacocks and Iguanas.

People all around were friendly and we'll be coming back! Thank you, Velas, for making this family vacation one to remember!

Room Tip: 6th floor and up have the best views of the resort/ocean. Lower floors have great views of the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forks, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We purchased our trip for two couples through RCI as an exta vacation. Once we landed in PV everything went very well. We were greeted at the airport as instructed. When we checked in at the resort we were immediately upgraded to a 3 bedroom unit on the 7th floor with excellant views without even asking. We agreed to the timeshare presentation which was very low pressure. Gifts were presented as agreed. The grounds are very well maintained and the staff was vey friendly. I do believe they need to work wth the wait staff to help them be more efficient. Sometimes they would have to come back three or four times before they brought you everything you requested. The buffet food was just average.We drank very little. We had no problem getting a reservation at their more formal dining restaurant. My only other suggestion was that they should provide free wifi. What they have is expensive and not very reliable.The resort provides free entertainment nightly plus we participated in a city tour which was more than what we expected. Not a five star but certainly an enjoyable place to relax. Although we were near the airport, noise was not an issue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Our group consisted of two couples and we enjoyed every minute there. The moment you get in, the staff offers you a complimentary glass of Jamaica juice while you wait to check in. I mention this bc it shows how attentive and welcoming the staff is from beginning to end. We had the all-inclusive package and they do not skimp put. The first night my sister in law and I ordered two wines, expecting 2 glasses, and room service brought up two bottles lol. The grounds are beautiful with iguanas and peacocks roaming lazily around. The food quality is great and the have different themes every night. One thing I expected that wasn't there was a blue water beach. But that deals with geography, not the hotel. The water isn't clear and the sand sticks to your body, so we spent most of our time in the pool or exploring beaches further out. Also, I hope they add a couple of more restaurants, but other than that, I def recommend the Velas resorts!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Velas Vallarta Suite Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Address: Av Costera s/n, LH2 | Fracc Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta Suite Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet á la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Velas Vallarta Suite Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.