We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Velas Vallarta Suite Resort to your Saves list
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Costera s/n, LH2 | Fracc Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$166 (USD)
Ranked #16 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Forks, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We purchased our trip for two couples through RCI as an exta vacation. Once we landed in PV everything went very well. We were greeted at the airport as instructed. When we checked in at the resort we were immediately upgraded to a 3 bedroom unit on the 7th floor with excellant views without even asking. We agreed to the timeshare presentation which was very low pressure. Gifts were presented as agreed. The grounds are very well maintained and the staff was vey friendly. I do believe they need to work wth the wait staff to help them be more efficient. Sometimes they would have to come back three or four times before they brought you everything you requested. The buffet food was just average.We drank very little. We had no problem getting a reservation at their more formal dining restaurant. My only other suggestion was that they should provide free wifi. What they have is expensive and not very reliable.The resort provides free entertainment nightly plus we participated in a city tour which was more than what we expected. Not a five star but certainly an enjoyable place to relax. Although we were near the airport, noise was not an issue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,655
    404
    103
    49
    48
See reviews for
806
772
26
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Our group consisted of two couples and we enjoyed every minute there. The moment you get in, the staff offers you a complimentary glass of Jamaica juice while you wait to check in. I mention this bc it shows how attentive and welcoming the staff is from beginning to end. We had the all-inclusive package and they do not skimp put. The first night my sister in law and I ordered two wines, expecting 2 glasses, and room service brought up two bottles lol. The grounds are beautiful with iguanas and peacocks roaming lazily around. The food quality is great and the have different themes every night. One thing I expected that wasn't there was a blue water beach. But that deals with geography, not the hotel. The water isn't clear and the sand sticks to your body, so we spent most of our time in the pool or exploring beaches further out. Also, I hope they add a couple of more restaurants, but other than that, I def recommend the Velas resorts!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our 4th time to PVR, we wouldn't or can't, stay anywhere else. Villa plus deluxe was perfect for our family of 4. Beds were more comfortable then mine at home. The food was amazing, in particular at Andreas. We enjoyed the different theme nights at both restaurants. Both restaurants are al carte, and offer buffet as well. Room service is 24 hrs. The service is outstanding, everyone went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our holiday. The resort is beautiful, gardens and sand beach front is well groomed. Pool is large and never boring. Boutique, spa and general store onsite. There are different activities every day to keep kids of all ages busy. I got up early every morning to take the yoga class with Javier on the jedi, where dolphins and whales pass by. Our family played doubles tennis every morning after breakfast. We had lunch by the pool; the cevichi and burgers were delicious. Not to mention real Mexican salsa and guacamole. The bartenders at the pool bar make the best Mojhito I have ever tasted. Resort location is perfect, 15 min by cab to down town, 5 min to Walmart/Sam's Club, shopping mall, marina restaurants, shopping, church and golf. This year the kids were brave enough to para sail which was available on the beach. The friendly staff at the activities desk helped us book a canopy tour/zipline, and day on the Pirate ship show and sail to fun island. The activities staff also included guests in a turtle release by the light of the moon. It was amazing for our kids to be a part of. They each were given a baby turtle to name and release. I am sure I have forgotten something, but needless to say this resort is highly recommended by our family.

Room Tip: The names of the units are confusing, so ask to have floor plans emailed to you, then you can use th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Enjoyed 7 days at Velas Vallerta and wasn't not disappointed in my choice of hotel. It was just moments to the beach for a day of rest and relaxing under one of the tents or enjoy the perfectly manicured grounds by the pool. Each day they offered different entertainment in the lobby which was great fun. Although I didn't buy the all inclusive packages I will still given fantastic service.

They offer their services without being too pushy and go one step beyond any service levels I have experienced in the past.

I would most definitely go back to Velas!! It's the perfect home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This resort was extremely well groomed! The service was fast and friendly. I was blown away by the great food we had there and each night the entertainment was fun. They serviced our room twice each day and made sure we had every thing we needed. They had activities for the children as well as adults and our vacation was fabulous.
Harry

Room Tip: I would recomend you stay in at least in a 1 bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you for mentioning the great work of our housekeeping staff. Our guests here do indeed have two services per day. A deep cleaning during the day and a turndown service in the evening. Our ladies come by at sunset to provide clean towels when needed and of course to prepare your bedding for your nightly sleep. When children are sharing the unit the sofa beds will be made and ready for the little ones who can lie down comfortably until they drift off to sleep. Just little touches such as these make the vacation experience a truly pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are looking for a 4-star hotel that delivers on a beautiful place to enjoy, great food and quiet nights, this is the place for you. If you are looking for night life and closer to the downtown action, then look elsewhere. We stayed here in January 2013 for an incentive trip with my husband's company. The hotel is lovely, the grounds are well-tended and immaculate. Beautiful pools & scenery. Food was excellent. We did not stay in timeshare rooms, but rather the vacation rooms, which don't always feature great views and upscale accomodations. We lucked out and got a balcony that faced off the far back side toward the resort next door, others in our group were in rooms with no view or balcony. Rooms are large, but spartan and the sleeper sofa looks a little cheesy with the pink pillows, but it is very clean and it's nice to have the kitchenette area. Drinks/food are excellent, especially the La Ribera restaurant near the lobby. We had some excellent meals there (try the lamb!), although on our last night there, we were totally neglected by the server (had to find my own silverware), so we didn't leave a tip. Very quiet at night. We were the largest group (40 couples) staying tehre and with the few timeshare couples, it didn't feel crowded. Pool closest to the lobby is WARM and it's fun to swim/float on the connecting "river" to the other pool and see my friend "Iggy" the Iguana hanging out next to the water's edge. He let me pet him! The only complaint is that the place literally shuts down by 9:30pm/10pm. No drinks, no swimming, so one around. You are also quite a ways from dowtnown (you can see downtown from the beach), but it is a 20-minute bus ride (yes, take the local bus-it's cheap and fun to people-watch) from the main drag -meaning you have to walk the almost mile up to the road to get catch the bus or wait for the hotel buses that don't come as often to get you to Walmart so you can grab the dowtnown bus. We walked amost every day to burn off the extra calories we ate & drank! Also, watch the extra's. You can upgrade your room and get WiFi for the week, but if you are like us and realize you don't actually spend that much time in your room (the view from the pool & beach are quite nice) and you want to avoid spending $80 for WiFi that you can get at Starbucks for the price of a coffee (they change the code each week), then avoid the upgrades. Staff is very accomodating, although I felt they probably cater to their timeshare customers first before the vakay customers. But probably makes sense. Overall, pleasant stay in a beautiful setting. Oh, we had NO timeshare solicitation. You can go if you want, but no one bothered us all week.

Room Tip: If you upgrade, you'll get a better view/room, but really think about whether you are in your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I have had the pleasure to cater personally to your incentive group and was impressed by the amount of touring and sightseeing of the local area that interested your large party. You all came prepared to enjoy the hospitality both inside and outside the resort. You had mentioned upgrades on suites. As you pointed out the resort is made up entirely of suites, all of which have kitchenettes. Your studio is very comfortable and of course our larger one, two and three bedrooms are as well. When reserving decide what your needs are in terms of the suite. It worked out very well for you in our studio as you were very adventurous throughout your visit. Thank you for your description of your stay and we hope to host your same company for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Visit: 11/27/12
This resort is amazing. I'm rpoud to say we were so please with the facility and service that we became members. The Resort itself is VERY clean and top notch. No complaints! The staff treats you like royalty. You feel like a pampered spoiled rich kid during the entire stay! They leave no detail overlooked. All inclusive is literally that and the food and beverage selection is wonderful. I can't wait to go back again. Oh wait, we are on 3/28/13 but we're taking two other couples with us! YES! :)
Special thanks to Manager Joel, his mother-in-law (whom is assitant to the Velas brothers) and Joel's associate, Jesus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Congratulations and welcome to the Club. The sales associates that you mention have been with us for a great deal of time not only generating new members but forming a genuine bond with each membership to the point where the communication and friendship is maintained year round. Its an extra plus of having your home resort with us and it truly forms a family relationship within our guests and employees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Velas Vallarta Suite Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Address: Av Costera s/n, LH2 | Fracc Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta Suite Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet á la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Velas Vallarta Suite Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.