We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Save Saved
You added Velas Vallarta Suite Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Costera s/n, LH2 | Fracc Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$140 (USD)
Ranked #16 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the resort for our honeymoon in January. We stayed in a partial ocean front suite on the 8th floor, highest level. The balcony was large and had beautiful pink flowers adorning the overhang. We had a great view of the sunsets! Our room had a full kitchen living room area and bedroom. The room was clean and our Room Attendant took personal care of our belongings each day. I am a GM of a Marriott so I look for cleanliness and room imperfections within seconds of entering a guest room, I found nothing. We tipped our housekeeper almost daily, and felt she deserved every peso! Bathrobe and slippers made for a comfy extra when lounging around the room. We were poolside daily and had the pleasure of having Gilberto as our waiter 5 days out of 7. He anticipated our needs every day and let us relax to the point of not thinking. That is customer service, anticipating the needs of your guest!! Thank you Gilberto!! Again, we tipped on top of the "all inclusive" as it doesn't break down to much at the end of the day. We tipped on top of what was included at all meals but a few breakfast meals that didn't require much service. Please remember, they must split their tips with the host staff, bussers, bartenders, etc! They work very hard and deserve the extra tip! Service at breakfast and dinner was always impeccable, two restaurants to choose from daily with different cuisines nightly. The food was fine, nothing amazing but we were told but other guests that we met that the food was the best they've had at a Mexican all inclusive. My husband loved the green juice and chilequiles for breakfast! Nightly entertainment in the lobby area was fun, different themes nightly. Yoga on the jetty in the morning was beautiful, male instructor was wonderful. I'm sorry I cannot remember his name, but please let him know! He could tell I was stressed and pushed me harder to find the stretch that was needed to relax. Staff was long term and always friendly. Low turnover says a lot about a hotel, again from my experience another thing I look for while traveling. We enjoyed the music by the pool along with the ping pong table and bean bags game! Ocean was not swimmable but the amazing service at the resort made our honeymoon wonderful! Thank you so much! We needed some relaxation and found it at Velas Vallarta!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for being very detailed in your review. As detailed as you are, we also attempt to make sure that the little things are taken in to account. It is that attention that separates good hotels from great hotels as you will surely know. Thank you again and we wish to host you in the future in order to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,604
    388
    94
    46
    48
See reviews for
768
752
25
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camas, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We come to Velas every year for the last 15 years. what i like is the consistency of staff and quality of service. The same staff is at the front door to say welcome back. The resturant and pool servers are there year after year, which tell me something about the management.
Our maid Rosa has cleaned our beautiful 3 bedroom unit for the last 15 years. And Donald Willis the Guest Services Manager, know us by name and greets us and provides outstanding service when we request.

Room Tip: come often and request room of choice early. Family with small children may want gound floor close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind words concerning the hospitality and warmness of our resort. With as much experience as you have visiting us we hope to make you feel at home each and every visit. Your observation of the longevity of our staff is right on the mark. Rosa and many others have enjoyed their time catering to you and our many other repeat guests and that employee loyalty is demonstrated in our service and product. Again, thank you for your splendid comment and the 520 Velas employees look forward to seeing you for at least another 15 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allenton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is our third visit to this resort and it gets better each year. The resort is immaculate in every way. The pool area is cleaned daily and the service is outstanding. The staff is so helpful and friendly. We found both resturants serving wonderful food. The Andre resturant is more formal and the food is gourmet all of the way. The waiters are wonderful and so
very very attentive. We had so much fun at both of the resturants. We love the feeling of
being so safe in this area. Everyone goes out of their way to help you in any way they can.
We are again looking at returning next year. It was our anniversary and Christian Isordia, the member services assistant made sure that it was an extra special visit for us.

Room Tip: If you have children a first floor would probably be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your glorious review and also for selecting Velas Vallarta as your destination to celebrate your special occasion. Püerto Vallarta in general is known as a romantic getaway with terrific sunsets and picturesque backdrops all of which contribute to enhance the vacation experience. It sounds like Cristian went above and beyond in making your anniversary something extra memorable. It´s the little details such as that which add up to make special moments. Thank you again and we certainly wish to see you return for many more celebrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have been going to Velas for 15 years & am always so impressed with the gardens, cleanliness and there willingness to make your stay a 5 star experience. I would like to thank Miguel,Cesar,Carlos,Alonso & Marcelino from the Agua Bar. They provide great service & show that extra special touch. You guys ROCK. If you go to Andrea's you will really enjoy the humour and sweetness of Alejandro, he is great. Also please notice beautiful Brenda at Ribera, she will make sure you get excellent service. All the pools are clean and arranged with enough room for privacy & shade. Rooms could use an update, but are always cleaned with attention to all details & they provide turn down service at night. I also agree with all of the 4-5 ratings posted.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I will certainly be passing your nice comments to the Food and Beverage staff mentioned. They do the little extras in making our guests feel comfortable and well attended to. In many ways our personnel has the flexibility and authorization to creating a "WOW" with our guests. It is something very natural for us as persons and as an organization to truly make friends with you. Thank you for taking the time to share your memories with all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I spent two weeks in Puerto Vallarta this year with the first week being at their 5 star sister resort, Casa Velas, where we have stayed twice before (read my past reviews if interested). Now, after being really spoiled for a week we weren't sure what to expect moving to Velas Vallarta since we had never stayed there. Well, let me tell you, we were not at all disappointed. All the staff was wonderful and always smiled and said hello. Everyone from the restaurant staff, housekeeping, the front desk, to the Bellboys were always friendly and eager to serve you with what ever you needed. Some times they even thought of little extra things that we didn't think to ask for which made the stay even that much more enjoyable.

The grounds are beyond beautiful and the peacocks and iguanas that roam the grounds are very entertaining. Every thing is so well maintained and manicured - it really is a beautiful place to stay.

Our favorite thing to do was drag lounge chairs down to the ocean from 3:30 until sunset at about 6:30 and just have a relaxing time with the breeze off the water and watching the most beautiful sunsets. What REALLY made this enjoyable was the wonderful service provided by Marcelino from the pool area. He waited on us the first night and every night after that he watched for us and had our ice cold drink order ready for us as soon as we sat down by the sea. He kept the service running all through our "Happy Hour" with fresh cold drinks and snacks. It was so nice coming back to the resort after touring around in the hot sun to a friendly face with an ice cold drink all ready for us. Thanks again Marcelino for making our stay at Velas Vallarta extra special - your service is amazing!

Our one bedroom room was also very nice, clean and comfortable. The bed was so amazingly comfortable that we stripped back the covers, wrote down the name and are in the process of buying this very same mattress (thankfully it was made by a company in the USA).

The only thing we didn't really enjoy as much was the food. Now I know that we had just stayed at their 5 star hotel with excellent food but that really wasn't it. I guess this food reminded me of buffet food on a cruise ship. A lot of food but not necessarily the best tasting, plus they served the same thing every day. We did enjoy the convenience and selection at breakfast and the burgers and sandwiches for lunch by the pool. The all-inclusive fee here is half of Casa Velas, so it is understandable. I think I would stay here again, save some money on the fees and plan to eat dinner in town at one of the many wonderful restaurants Puerto Vallarta has to offer.

All in all, I was not disappointed in stepping down from a 5 star Velas to a 4 star Velas. In fact, we were pleasantly surprised and plan to return!

Room Tip: The rooms right in the middle of the horseshoe, building 2, get a lot of noise from the parties and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Very interesting to stay at two of our properties on the same trip. To be able to experience the difference in ambience and come away satisfied with both says something about our philosophy as an organization. And it is not that one is better than the other, we are just distinct in our products as you have noted. The one common theme amongst our four hotels is our customer satisfaction which is highlighted in the large percentage of repeat guests that we have. From the Velas family to you we thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Visited Velas Vallarta a couple of weeks ago. The grounds are very well kept. Plenty of fun activities onsite. Staff is friendly and always there to please. Our room was very nice and we were made to feel at home. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review on your stay with us. It certainly sounds as if we accomplished our goal and I will pass your comment on to the staff so they can see firsthand the result of their great work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I was here at Velas from Jan 19-26....this is the most beautiful resort I have ever. The service was amazing, especially at the pool...Carlos took such good care of us! The food was amazing... The room was super nice as well and the resort is very clean. The only thing that I was disappointed with was the night life, there wasn't anything to really do in the evening, probably wouldn't be the best resort for a younger generation. It's a very family orientated resort. I really enjoyed my stay and would stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donald w, Guest Relations Manager at Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for expressing your thoughts and desire to return with us in the future. As you have experienced our guests are not of a single type. They are from all different ages and dynamics such as large families to couples, mature and young. We do strive to have something in the way of entertainment so that all groups can enjoy themselves. We do not have a disco per se but we are the only hotel en Puerto Vallarta that offers live mariachi every single night as well as our shows. I will see Carlos by the pool today and send him your regards, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Velas Vallarta Suite Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Address: Av Costera s/n, LH2 | Fracc Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta Suite Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet á la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Velas Vallarta Suite Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.