We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want To Be Treated Like Royalty?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Velas Vallarta Suite Resort to your Saves list
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Costera s/n, LH2 | Fracc Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$167 (USD)
Ranked #16 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
“Want To Be Treated Like Royalty?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

About ten years ago we purchased a membership at Velas Vallarta. The facilities are approximately 25 years old but well maintained. Landscaping and service are among the best that I have experienced in the "time share world". The all inclusive is pricy however the food and service has always been great in both on site restaurants. The lady that cooked my morning omelet at the beach side restaurant always did a great job and always had a smile. Great place for couples, families and friends.

Room Tip: Request a room on one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,642
    400
    103
    49
    48
See reviews for
803
765
26
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

From the time you arrive to the time you leave the standard of service is impeccable. Donald Willis goes above and beyond for anything that you request, he's awesome. We have been to Velas numerous times and we love it!! It is the perfect place to kick back and relax, we get treated like royalty. Everybody that works at the resort is so courteous and kind. We have never had a problem, and we visit twice a year. We love Omar at Andreas, he absolutely goes above and beyond. He also runs a very tight ship, clearly he is a great leader. The one thing that I think Velas could improve on is their entertainment, it has been the same for years. Hi to all of our friends at Velas, and thank you again for the great vacation, see you in about six months!!
Love Charlene, Clint, and Allycha in Calgary, Canada

Room Tip: We love the ground floor by Riberras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed at this resort (first time in Mexico) with friends who have a time-share with the resort. They have been coming to this resort for the last 10 years with their family and I can see why. Resort is small, staff are extremely friendly and always looking to help, grounds are beautiful, pool is heated. The ocean was too rough to swim in so we stayed by the pool. Played golf, did morning yoga, exercised in the fitness room but mostly relaxed by the pool. Went downtown twice, once in the day and once in the evening for dinner - reasonable and safe taxi service. Food was good but only two restaurants so got a bit repetitive during the week, we actually ate out three times, went to a sports bar within walking distance to watch a football game, walked to the local marina for a fun mexican night and ate down on the boardwalk another night. Overall totally enjoyed this holiday, very relaxing and low-key. Rooms were nice, big, clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Weather was awesome....

Room Tip: Only issue was smoke in the rooms, very few non-smoking rooms and the studio attached to us had a he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

First off I'm between 30 and 40 with a 2 year old that lives in the midwest USA- so you have a reference what I am looking for and where I am coming from. We all had a great time but where to start:
1. Place isnt the newest- so if your looking for marble everything- this is not the place. However, it was always clean- there are PLENTY of workers (which are ALL more than helpful).
2. It's got a lot of green (plants, grass, palm trees, fish, birds). We took a fishing trip and trolling up and down the bay this place seemed to have more green per hotel size than anywhere. 2 pools and 1 kiddie pool. Coy fish ponds, etc...
3. I've been to Playa del Carmen (south of Cancun) and i can tell you downtown PV is much better than playa and MUCH safer. We never once felt unsafe. They have certain cab compaines and they track along with their names and with your room number.
4. Food- there were only 2 restaurants. One was a lunch and breakfast buffet with a steakhouse at night. The other was more 'fancy' with a changing menu (french, mexican, italian). Food was always good, no complaints here at all. Just not much of a varitey.
5. Kids/entertainment- very kid friendly but the place wasnt overrun with them (which is good for a parent or single people). Again, staff was always great.
6. Overall experience- right on the beach, plenty of things to do, very clean, and only 10 minutes from downtown AND the airport.

Great stay. Would do it again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I and another couple just returned tonight from one of the best vacations ever.

Velas Vallarta is a property, that although over 20 years old is a combination of comfort class and has a staff that is willing to serve your needs willingly and with a smile.

Everyone , from the front desk, the guest services, room service, and their 2 restaurants went out of their way to make sure our stay was memorable.We chose the all inclusive option and felt that it was a great value. All inclusive means just that. All the food, beverages, alcoholic or non, all the time with superb service.

The beachfront property is a 4 bulding 7 story suite hotel. The architecture is neo- Mexican colonial, with an old world feel

Picture if you will a horseshoe shaped hotel with luxurious grounds that are imacculately maintained. The casual elegance of the pool areas (multiple pools) give you a feel of a welcoming luxurious back yard that allows you to feel pampered and casual at the same time.

The 2 restaurant are different in style. Andrea is fine dining with a differnt themed menu every night. The quality of the food is at least 4 star, and the Beachfront restaurant although more casual in nature offers a muti-item menu of fresh fish, steaks and a salad bar that will fit the needs any one.

We thought so much of the program we bought in to Velas Vallarta vacation program and will be returning yearly.

Stu the Wineguy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is our fourth stay at Velas Vallarta. Our first was as guests of friends who traded to Velas through RCI. The past three years, we have invited our friends to join us and used our RCI deposits to trade into Velas Vallarta. First off, DO NOT WORRY ABOUT SAFETY in PV! I felt safer there than in may cities we have visited in the USA. People are awesome. But really, you never need leave the resort if you don't want to. It is truly all inclusive. We own at other all-inclusive places, but the price per person per day at Velas is half of others we have visited. I just can't think of anything negative to say. From our personal concierge, Karen, to our favorite waiter, Santiago Zuniga, Velas just continues to please us. The grounds are gorgeous and this year they have 7 or 8 peacocks roaming the grounds. The beef dishes have improved considerably In past years, the steaks were sometimes thin, covered with gravy and overcooked. This year, I thought I was eating at Morton's. And surprisingly, this resort trades through RCI at only 7 trading power points. That means my Galveston property could get me nearly a month at Velas, and I would stay that long if I just had the time!

Room Tip: I am partial to rooms in the two side buildings on the second floor. Those all have much larger bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Usually come in Feb. or early March, this was first time in December. Property is still in great shape. We enjoyed the resort very much and relaxed totally. Walked over to the lovely marina for several fine meals at local restaurants and ate some meals at the resort as well. Especially enjoyed dining at La Ribera at the beach. Not so much the Andrea Restaurant where both service (starting with the hostess) and the food need work to come up to the high ambitions of the operation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Velas Vallarta Suite Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Address: Av Costera s/n, LH2 | Fracc Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta Suite Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet á la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Velas Vallarta Suite Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.