We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Velas Vallarta Suite Resort to your Saves list
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Costera s/n, LH2 | Fracc Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$166 (USD)
Ranked #15 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Burnsville, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We just returned from a week long stay at Velas Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and enjoyed every minute of it.

We love the five star accommodations at this facility and were treated like kings, queens and princesses (had two 20+ daughters with us) The morning breakfast offerings were suitable for all of our tastes in the open air ocean side restaurant. The breakfast options in the indoor restaurant were equally wonderful but we prefer the open air facility.

We were waited on hand and foot pool side for the entire day, always greeted by a smile and friendly server.

In the evenings we ate mostly in the indoor restaurant on site and loved the food. The presentation of the entrée was exceptional and the service was top notch. The wine selection was wonderful and we never went away unsatisfied.

The entire facility at Velas Vallarta is very very clean and we would recommend it anyone. We always felt safe in the area, from walking around the marina to our travels into town. We love Puerto Vallarta.

We will be back again next year!

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom "lock out" suite on the fifth floor which allows those staying in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,655
    405
    103
    49
    48
See reviews for
806
773
26
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just returned from Velas with my family, all nine of us. My wife wanted us to stay an extra day and I didn't have to think about it twice. Great value, great food, great location and it is evident that everyone tries very hard to please the guests. Hope the Poker and Blackjack games continue. Can't waite to return.

Room Tip: The Circus show was the most entertaining. If Velas had a nicer stage and lighting all the shows wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I've been to Velas Vallarta over a dozen times and this is still my favorite vacation spot. Thanks Velas Team for a memorable stay. Accommodation, food, activities, and service is fabulous. Best of all I always meet great people here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Nice to see most of the great staff is still here, and the new folks are great in the Velas Mold as well.
Andrea has improved the osobuco, it is consistently very well prepared and the sauce is right.
Steaks have been prepared a bit more on the rare side, which is preferable to over cooking. I always recommend sauce on the side.
They have a new front chef, and I have not spoken much with him, but waiters Julio, Carlos (both of them), Ernesto, Ivan and the Manager Omar are all part of the annual pleasant arrival scene.

New candles, glasses, and the table wines chosen this year are the added plus for the table setting.

I would like to see the salad bar expanded a bit with a few more choices.

Rooms are always well kept, new flat screen TVs -- though it would be nice to see Showtime or HBO-- I have been told there is a conflict- the tech guy came up and tweaked my hook up.

Grounds are still immaculate -- some changes, but manicured.
Live music in several venues, and very kid friendly in the ten acres of the grounds.

Bell staff, check in, guest services, all up to the task and genuinely pleasant to deal with.

Pool is heated- watch, some places they are not.

Comfortable, and feels like home ambiance-- kitchen and dining room nice size and you will love the large balcony view.

Room Tip: Ear plugs for any and all time share guys, the Burrito guy stops with home made burritos about 11am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel a year ago.

The Good :
Almost everything. Room, site, vegetation and fish, swimming pools, food (AMAZING), weather (PERFECT, sunny and dry), activities, city of Vallarta, Jorge the chef...

The Bad
The ocean was very cold (end of january), impossible to swim in.

One of the best vacation ever. I would gladly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent two weeks around Thanksgiving, and it was great to finally get to see the Christmas tree completed while we were there. We like the remodel of the lobby, but they really need bring some interest to the area they call the bar. I understand that they are updating the rooms, and I'll look forward to that being complete, as our first room was in great need of it. The second week we were in a nice 3 bdrm, with an awesome view and we were very happy there. The staff is what brings us back year after year. We were going to skip this year, but after our two weeks in Nov we decided we want to go back again this fall. I would rate the staff 6 stars if I could, view and property 6 stars, pool needs some work but it is beautiful and offers something for everyone. The rooms are what bring my rating down, only because there is still a lot that needs to be updated. The linens are first rate, comfy bed and they've been updating TV's to flat screens. Looking forward to seeing more updates next time. My one big complaint was that they were working (saw cutting concrete) by the "quiet" pool for almost the entire first week, and we felt that that work should have been done in the off season, not the week before Thanksgiving. That said we still love you Velas!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My family and I just returned from an amazing week at Velas Vallarta! We had a 2 bedroom suite which was just a wonderful amount of space- perfect for the four of us. The service was just outstanding. Every meal and spa experience we were greeted with a friendly and helpful face. In particular we loved the pool service from Marcelino. Not only did he greet us every morning, but after a few days was able to anticipate our every need. Pro-actively, he would have our drink orders and food orders ready to go, and was constantly checking in with us for our every need. We miss you Marcelino!! We can't wait for our next trip to Velas Vallarta!
Melinda

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Velas Vallarta Suite Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Address: Av Costera s/n, LH2 | Fracc Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta Suite Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet á la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Velas Vallarta Suite Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.