We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will return.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Save Saved
You added Velas Vallarta Suite Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Costera s/n, LH2 | Fracc Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$140 (USD)
Ranked #16 of 121 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We will return.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Just got back from eight-day stay with my wife and adult son. We stayed in a one-bedroom suite which was a perfect arrangement for the three of us. Velas Vallarta is an older hotel but it has aged beautifully. We were particularly impressed by the magnificent landscaping, the ambiance of the casual restaurant overlooking the beach and the impeccable housekeeping. We were pleased to learn that there were always enough lounges around the first-rate pools and the beach. Service is good at the two restaurants and you will never go thirsty while basking in the sun at the beach and pools. The food is no better or worse than you would expect at a upper-middle range all-inclusive but we did appreciate the the fresh fruit and fish and the fact that the wine served with meals is drinkable. Take the time to walk down the beach and see the neighboring hotels from the water's edge and to go to the marina, enjoy a drink and look at all the yachts.

Room Tip: We loved our one-bedroom suite -- something you don't often see in newer all-inclusive hotels. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,615
    398
    101
    48
    48
See reviews for
788
757
25
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Can't recommend this place enough. The staff is the BEST... Especially our newest friend Marcelino! He took care of us for the entire week with a smile on his face the entire time. Can't thank you guys enough for the best week ever.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We've been goiong to Velas since 1995, and every time we plan a trip to Mexico we think about going somewhere different, but decide to return because it would be so hard to beat!

The location at the marina is perfect - easy to get into town and convenient if you want to rent a car and explore the Bay, which we've done several times. There are cute shops and good restaurants in the marina and you can easily walk there. By the way, we felt very safe wherever we went.

The condos and lush gardens are beautifully maintained, and the resort is big enough to have 2 restaurants and all the conveniences, but small enough that you don't feel like you're in a metropolis on the beach. The beds, sheets and pillows are 5 star.

The staff is extraordinary. Many of them have been there for over 10 years. Donald and Rebecca at the concierge desk, and even the night guy who helped me with getting wifi were all very knowlegable and willing to find out anything that they didn't know. (which wasn't much) I must mention Marcelino, who I read about here before we went. One day at the pool I showed him his great review, and he grinned from ear to ear. He's just one of the many waiters who work around the pools who can be counted on to take really good care of you, but his humor and constant smile made him stand out. The head bellman has been at Velas for years, and also goes out of his way to be helpful.

We have stayed at Velas with and without the all-inclusive package. Both are wonderful because the 2 restaurants are much better than average, and you have a kitchen. The Super Mercado is at the Commercial. You can walk there and take a cab back.

We really cannot say enough good things about Velas Vallarta. We're thinking of staying three weeks next time!.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Jim and I loved the Velas Vallarta - the staff and amenities were excellent - all the rooms were cleaned and staff were extremely friendly!! Would recommend this resort as the size was just right - enough room that you weren't on top of the next guest, but not too large that one could get turned around. It was in the Marina area of Puerto Vallarta, which was a nice walk to some shopping but reasonable cab fare to downtown Puerto Vallarta. It was extremely close to the airport, but noise of flying jets, was not an issue!! Would definately return to Velas Vallarta again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbur, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We recently returned from a week's stay at Velas Vallarta with our two children 15 and 13. Originally we were booked in a one bedroom suite on the first floor but choose to upgrade to a two bedroom suite on the fourth floor and glad we did. The views from the fourth floor on up are nice so you can see over the vegetation and see the ocean and better views of the sunsets. we were in building #3 which people we talked to at the resort said it is the nicer building, and the sunsets were amazing, but there was no warm morning sun on our balcony until about 3pm. So you may have to choose, do you want morning sun with your coffee or awesome sunsets with your margarita. We liked that both bedrooms had doors that opened onto the balcony but thought the living/kitchen area was very dark and could use some more light. The othe room thing is they did have some pop, water, and beer in the refridgerator but no hard alcohol in the room. (just FYI)
We found the food to be OK nothing amazing, I did like the surf and turf but my wife thought the meat was a little salty. The menu didn't change a lot and maybe it was because the resort was only half full. Kids always enjoyed the breakfast buffet and I do miss the orange juice.
The grounds are really nice and well maintained and everything that everyone says about how well taken care of is true.
There are three pools and we spent all of our time at the activities pool, but the middle pool was the warmest.
The staff is great and very accomodating, from pool side drinks and lunch orders to tweeking the dinner menu every effort was made to make sure everything was done right and the way you wanted.
The beach front was disappointing to us because everyday was a red flag day eventhough the waves were minimal, after day three we saw other people in the water so we tried it and it was fine. But lots gravel, you have to walk out about waiste deep to get sand. We saw better beaches on the south side of Puerto Vallarta.
Location is close to the airport about five minutes away you could hear the jets land and take off but not too noisy. But we were further away from down town than I thought we were.
All said and done would I return? IF I was traveling with family's with kids probably would highly concider it because its safe and things for the kids to do. If it was just my wife and I or us and some other friends traveling without kids, probably not.

Room Tip: Fourth floor or higher is definately better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Mountain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We just got home from Velas Vallarta where we had a wonderful time. The rooms were nice, the beds and pillows very comfortable, the iguanas entertaining, and Marcelino, our waiter at the pool, kept the delicious margaritas and Pina Coladas coming.

If you are looking for a place to get away for a relaxing time lounging by the pool, sipping a nice refreshment, and getting away from it all this is the place. The service staff is extremely helpful and everyone was so nice.

My one and only complaint is that the deck loungers do not recline all the way. This probably saved my skin from burning since I couldn't really fall asleep in the sun, but I found it uncomfortable after awhile.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

we travel to puerto vallarta yearly. we have stayed in several different hotels and locations.
we prefer velas and the marina area.
velas suites are large, comfortable, especially the bed and pillows-which can be an issue in mexico. the grounds are tropial, beautiful pools and are kept immaculate. staff is friendly and very appreciative of our business.-many gracias throughout the week.
we spend our time at the beach area and found it relaxing. Tino our server was very accomodating and friendly. our fave lunch is the chicken tacquitos.
although velas is all inclusive don't expect vegas type shows at night. that's one area they could improve on.it is dead there at night, no real bar to hang at with friends. we prefer to go to el centro at night so didn't matter.
marina area is clean, safe and quiet. walked several times in evening to different restaurants.
short taxi or bus ride to el centro but in a quieter area.

Room Tip: rooms on south side don't get the early morning sun, so good for late sleepers. north rooms get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Velas Vallarta Suite Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Address: Av Costera s/n, LH2 | Fracc Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta Suite Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet á la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Velas Vallarta Suite Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.