We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Save Saved
You added Velas Vallarta Suite Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Costera s/n, LH2 | Fracc Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$167 (USD)
Ranked #16 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel staff were all unbelievably courteous, fun and helpful... we had to be transferred from another Velas Property because of a booking issue. and they pampered us in every way.. even giving our family the Presidential suite.. and threw a birthday party for our l6 year old including ballons, lanterns, great food and ambience at no charge.. Our family loved it all.. beginning from the check in Rafael, the asst general Manager, and Olga the lady that cleaned our room.. not to mention the pool wait people ..( Carlos) and our Carlos waiter in the Ribelo room..and Christian the Pool Class teacher!!!!! great place to stay... lots of integrity

Room Tip: Everyone is our party of 21 at one time enjoyed the accomodations.. and especially 5 of us in the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,626
    400
    102
    49
    48
See reviews for
797
761
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is absolutely one of the best hotels I have ever been to. It has two restaurants (the more casual Ribera on the beach or the fancier Andrea by the main building), a beach lounge area, and two pools (connected by a pool "river"), The hotel is in a "U" shape, giving is an enclosed feeling, especially when there are so many hotels near by. Even when the hotel is 100% full, you can always find an area to sit or lounge by the pool or beach.
The first main pool has a pool bar (literally stools in the water) where you can order drinks, lounge chairs in the water, and a water volleyball net. Connected by a pool canal, the second main pool is more syball, and ecluded and has a waterfall. The third pool is pretty small and is shallow, designated for children. The hotel has daily ping pong tournaments, water arobics, beach volleyball, spanish lessons, and arts and crafts. Most people (if not everyone) has the all-inclusive package which includes the room, food, and drinks (even alcoholic). Looking at other hotels in Puerto Vallarta, this is one of the prettiest and most appealing (if not the most) and the service is great. Everyone is so nice and willing to go out of their way to please you. Even when you are not at a restaurant, waiters constantly walk around on the beach and by the pool bringing people drinks and snacks.
The hotel is 5-10 minutes away from downtown PV so it is not far away from the popular boardwalk or other restaurants. This hotel is great for families and couples looking for beautiful and fun hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor have a gate leading right out onto the lawn for even faster restaurant, po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I recently returned from here. We've been to PV numerous times but it was our first time at Velas. We absolutely loved it. The rooms were impecably clean as were the common areas and the grounds. The all inclusive option was a great way to go even though we enjoy getting out occasionally to other restaurants that we enjoy. The staff throughout the hotel were incredible but I have to spotlight Rodolpho and Ricardo (Andy Garcia look alike) at La Ribera Steakhouse on the beach! These guys are amazing!! While I can't say that ALL of the food was incredible, it was certainly very good and definately better than many of restaurants down there. They change up the menu every night so there is a wide selection of food to choose from and they also have buffet's in each restaurant (we're not buffet people so we stayed away from that). They have a very good wine selection to choose from and it's all included in the all inclusive option.

One of the things that we both enjoy about this area is the ability to get out and do some walking. The area is very close to both the Marina and the Marina Vallarta Club de Golf. It is also adjacent to a rather large residential area which allowed us to put in a 4 to 5 mile walk each morning without a single concern for our safety. We also weren't hounded by timeshare (or the new twist, fractional ownership) sales people.

The Peacocks and the Iguanas that roam freely throughout the pool and grounds areas are pretty cool (even though one of the Iguanas peed on me from his perch above) and provided a lot of entertainment for us.

As far as the timeshare pressure, it was very minimal. We purchased a 25 year membership from Tammy Mclean and her husband Dean. They are both wonderful to work with and did not pressure us to buy at all. I can highly recommend both of them!

I can truly say that the worst part of this trip was leaving Velas and going home (even though Velas picks you up and drops you off at the airport). We enjoyed our stay so much that we are already making plans to go back down in February!

Room Tip: Definately get at least a one bedroom unit and not the studio so you will have the benefit of a pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've traveled to Puerto Vallarta many times in the past 25 years and have stayed at many hotels and resorts. Velas Vallarta is my "go to" hotel. Each stay is better than the last. The staff friendly and helpful at all times. The grounds well maintained, and the view gorgeous. We enjoy sitting by the pool during the day and returning at night to watch the lights in downtown Puerto Vallarta twinkle.

Recommend Velas Vallarta to all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just got back from 7 days at this resort. This resort is nothing like it shows or states on the internet. The "world class gym" was 4 cardio machines in a tiny room with a couple fans. There is no WIFI but you can purchase it for $80 us a week per device so we did cause we needed it but it only worked at one spot at the pool some of the time. The rooms are very clean but old and not well maintained we have several things break within our stay. It has two restaurants that serve the same things but the food was fine. The entertainment started at 9:30pm so they did not have anything for kids and the entertainment they did have was extremely poor. The main reason we picked this resort was that they had a kids camp during the day and it was a standing joke the whole trip. All they did with the kids was play board games or crafts our kids were board of it within the first hour! The pools were nice and clean but our last two days of our vacation they decided to do construction on the brick pool deck and prune all the trees around the pool. So for the last two days of our stay we had concrete saws, hammers , gas powered trimmers and blowers going all around us at the pool. Very relaxing??? Then there was the beach they had sales people (with hotel badges on) selling everything imaginable that would start hounding you the second your feet hit the sand until the time you left the beach. The only good part was the water was dirty and the beach was rocky so we didn't need to go down too often. The staff were very nice but make sure and pack a lot of us 1 dollar bills cause they will not be happy if you don't tip. I forgot my bag in the room one morning so I didn't have a tip for the waiter, he let me know that he only gets paid $4.50 per day and he counts on tips. I wonder where all the money goes that we overpaid to stay here, obviously not the staff?? So all in all take my advice DO NOT STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We recently returned from our 3rd trip to Velas and it feels more like home every time. The whole staff goes above and beyond to make sure that you have a wonderful vacation. Marcelino took great care of us by the pool-we make sure to find his section every visit. Rigo and Luis make a great team at La Ribera Steakhouse and made us feel special each evening. We met lots of wonderful guests and say many guests from our previous visit. Hello to Luis Miquel-our "Mexisota" Viking fan! We look forward to our next trip to see our "Velas family"!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

It was my first trip to Mexico. Stayed for four days, had studio room. I usually expect hotel information and tips from the front desk staff upon check in, but he didn't explain anything to us.. I guess I forgot to ask for hotel and area map..
When we got to the room, wow it was clean and bed quality was very good! very clean very clean and very spacious. Loved cooking staff, so nice nice nice! I wish I could remember their names, but especially the lady who makes the omelet in the morning. She continuously smiles and cooked delicious breakfast dishes. The gardens were beautifully planned and managed. I cannot say the food was excellent. For lunch and dinner, some main dishes were very, very salty and drinks were very sweet for me. Loved breakfast though!!

And those iguana and peacocks. I am not a fan of iguanas...of course they do not fear people. it's fun watching them but when they start walking toward me... oh my... And some peacocks, they just love meat. So watch out when you are eating burgers in the pool area. They will come and steal your burger. : )

between pool and beach, you will lose track of time AND you won't go hungry with all inclusive.
btw, I didn't know they had turtle egg cage (??) and releasing baby turtles at night when they hatch. If you go there, check it out. : )

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Velas Vallarta Suite Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Address: Av Costera s/n, LH2 | Fracc Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta Suite Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet á la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Velas Vallarta Suite Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.