We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Save Saved
You added Velas Vallarta Suite Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Costera s/n, LH2 | Fracc Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$140 (USD)
Ranked #16 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
St. Robert, MO, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Relaxation and Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This was our second trip to PV and our second stay at Velas Vallarta. As a couple we can never figure out whether to relax and pamper ourselves or to be adventurous. Velas allows us the best of both worlds.

Our time on-site at the resort more then met our expectations. We opted for the "AI" because we knew we would generally be in early in the evenings in order to take in morning adventures. This allowed us to make evening reservations for the formal restaurant when we desired or to eat at the seaside restaurant when we didn't feel like dressing up. Both provide excellent service with tasty meals. The formal restaurant is great for the ambience and to sit and share a nice bottle of wine, plus it is air conditioned. The seaside restaurant provides a more relaxed atmosphere while still providing an upscale evening menu, but you can still get a burger if that's all you desire. A big benefit is reservations are not needed at the seaside restaurant. Both restaurants are available for breakfast and lunch on a first come, first serve basis where you can order off of a menu or chose the buffet line, neither is a bad choice.

The staff at Velas are generally very helpful, more so when you approach them for assistance - don't be bashful, just ask. The public staff is there to help as needed and more than willing. Some of the more discreet staff are friendly but tend to be more reserved but they too are responsive to your needs if approached.

The grounds of this resort are almost always pristine and you would be hard pressed to find anything in disarray. Clean and inviting always adds to a good retreat or vacation.

There is a conceirge desk and a tour desk available to meet your needs, both with good hours. At the conceirge area there are computers available for use (at a fee). The resort also has an on-site spa and a small fitness room (ellipticals and treadmills), we used both. The fitness room will limit your time if others are waiting but we managed to almost always get in a 45-60 min workout, when we couldn't we just hit the streets for a good walk.

The resort is located near the airport and marina, a good distance (not adviseable to walk) from the downtown. The seaside in this area has a number of otherresorts while the rest of the area tends to be residential. The area is quiet and free from the party atmosphere of downtown, but if you are inclined its only a 10-15 minute inexpensive taxi drive away. The nearby marina also hosts a number of very good restaurants and small shops.

If you are looking for adventure PV is zipline heaven. We have been to many zipline courses around the world but have never been dissappointed in PV as there are a host to chose from. There are also many watersport activites; we've been whale watching, snorkling and diving in PV. There are also tours into the countryside to see some small villages and/or go 4-wheeling. Plus the added bonus of being in the state famous for aqave from which is distilled tequilla.

We travel all over Mexico and Central America and we have found Velas Vallarta to be a great place to stay. Large enough to provide for you needs, but not so large as to have to stand in a queue for meals or other activities.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,596
    386
    93
    46
    48
See reviews for
764
746
25
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NEW LENOX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Yep you guessed it, we got snagged by the lure of cheap excursions to take a "90" minute presentation upon our arrival to Puerto Vallarta to this resort. Our sales person was nice and curteous, however after several lies and 5 hours we had to cut the presenrtation short. The sales person pulled out a tablet and started writing about the benefits of the Velas properties and the ownership. He started by saying he would only need two shetts of paper to get his points across. He lost us when we hit shetts 3, 4 5, and 6. After this very long presentation when the proce kept coming down and the pressure ramping up they finally realized we werent buying. When someone came to ask us about the presentation and what we liked or disliked about it, he was shocked to hear that we had been there almost 4 hours and still hadnt seen anything but the lobby and a fish pond. Needless to say we had never planned on spending have of our first full day dooing this. When were cordially thanked and sent to the area to receive our discounted excursions, when we they had one last chance to have another person try to sell us something. Needless to say even though the price came down to a ridiculous amount for 75 weeks of vacation, they still didnt get it that we still hadnt seen anything. So we passed got our discounts and went back to our resort.
What I learned from all of this, dont talk to anyone at the airport until you reach the outside where you can hail a cab no strings attached. Go through your own Concierge at your resort and pay whatever it costs. Its still better than losing half a day or more listening to a 90 minute presentation.
BTW the reort did look great on the websites and the people were polite. I'm not saying anything negative about the resort itself. Thanks

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner Ks.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

The resort is nice, suites are very roomy and nice. BEST of all.........the pool side waiters were fantastic!!! Miguel and Ceasar are the best. These men work so hard to please. We were never with out "refreshments" in fact you would have thought they were reading your mind. And most of all they were the same way even with our children. What a great asset to this resort. The beds are amazingly confortable, that was the best fun and sleep I had had in along time. We were there during the rainy season. The days were beautiful but it rained every night. But unless the thunder was really loud you didn't hear a thing in you room. The staff was out very early every morning sweeping and cleaning. Very beautiful place LOTS to do.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I was out of the hotel most of the time but when I got back to rest it was wonderful every one was so friendly and gave me a great service all the time, and at the end my check out was very easy, Geraldine help me a lot with my boarding passes and arrange my transportation to the airport, thank you all for a great time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

This place is fantastic. Definately a 5 star + resort. They constantly monitor the comings and goings of the guests at the entrance to the resort and we felt very safe with absolutely no worries. Velas is very close to the airport - about a 10 minute cab ride so you arrive at the resort quickly upon arrival after clearing customs. The grounds are fabulous and the rooms are very nice, well equiped and have a beautiful view of the ocean. They have a kids pool area and lots of activities for the kids that are seperate from the 2 larger pools. The food is great and you can walk to the Marina where there are lots of different restaurants. Cannot wait to go back.
Dave C.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We went orginally to the Velas years ago for a convention and since have been back many many times. We have gone for just a nice weekend, for family reunions and for business. They always go out of thier way to make our stay memorable - and everyone on the staff is great from the manager Donald Willis down to the hostesses and even the gardeners.

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask for the rooms closer to the beach, higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stephanie, the wedding coordinator did an excellent job. Everyone was super accommodating. Loved every minute!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Velas Vallarta Suite Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

Address: Av Costera s/n, LH2 | Fracc Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velas Vallarta Suite Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Velas Vallarta, one of the most established resorts in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and find the tropical beachfront oasis you have been searching for. Relax and enjoy quality time with those you care about most as you enjoy the benefits of a true All-Inclusive resort. Absolutely everything is included- a spacious suite, gourmet á la carte meals, a full in-suite dining menu, our excellent Kids Club, nightly entertainment and everything in between.Take a break from building sand castles to enjoy some of the best hamburgers around during a leisurely lunch by the pool. Take a siesta after a day in the sun and freshen up for an elegant family dinner followed by a stroll through the gardens to enjoy the evening breeze. Sample a premium tequila and treat the kids to an extra dessert- it's all included and it's all high quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Velas Vallarta Suite Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velas Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Velas Vallarta Suite Hotel
Velas Vallarta Suite Puerto
Velas Vallarta Resort
Velas Vallarta Puerto
Club Velas Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velas Vallarta Suite Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.