We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clearly our favourite vacation property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friendly Vallarta Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Friendly Vallarta Resort to your Saves list
Friendly Vallarta Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Clearly our favourite vacation property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I are repeat guests and have stayed at the Friendly Vallarta nine or ten times since December 2009. Not surprisingly, the Friendly is clearly our favourite vacation destination. This summer marked our 25th wedding anniversary and to celebrate my wife and I and eight of our friends stayed at the Friendly Vallarta June 17-24, 2014. We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation at the Friendly and we cannot say enough about the awesome service we experienced. Araceli, Eloisa, and Mitchel went above and beyond in making our anniversary celebration just excellent. Manuel, Enrique, and Gladys at the front desk were so helpful and gracious in accommodating our requests.
A common theme in my reviews of the Friendly relates to the amazing service guests receive and this visit was no exception. Once again we experienced fabulous service from the housekeeping staff, grounds and maintenance staff, the chefs, cooks and kitchen staff. Since our return to Canada we continue to reminisce and talk about the incredible service staff including Braullio, Hugo, Nabor, Miguel, Nacho, Carlos, Lupe, Kalusha, Maria, the new servers whose names we still are learning, and Aldo and Abraham on the beach. We are thrilled to have cultivated relationships with the staff and servers at the Friendly Vallarta and consider them friends. We also had opportunity to meet and speak with Nacho, the owner, and his son Pacheli, the general manager.
The Friendly is the perfect place for us to kick back, unplug, and enjoy our down time - to this end the staff at the Friendly once again took amazingly great care of us.
Each time we return to the Friendly we observe improvements to the property and facility and on this visit we noted new elevators, the addition of a new coffee bar in the main lobby, new tables and chairs in the buffet and beach restaurants.
Given it was June, the children were out of school and many Mexican families were also staying at the hotel - one guest in our group was a first time visitor to Mexico and she and her husband remarked that they quite enjoyed the hotel and the other guests and stated "this feels very authentic."
We quite like Old Town and friends of ours operate a restaurant so we did go for dinner off resort twice, but otherwise we ate all of our meals at the hotel. Whether the beach restaurant, the buffet restaurant, the Sunset grill or gourmet restaurant we found the food was good quality, well prepared, lots of variety and we had no problem finding enough to eat.
Tipping is graciously appreciated and we have no problem showing our appreciation for top notch service by tipping.
Is the Friendly Vallarta for everyone? Probably not, but Puerto Vallarta has become our preferred vacation destination and the Friendly Vallarta is clearly our favourite place to stay.

Room Tip: The main lobby bar can be quite busy at night and we have found the rooms on the fifth floor (or hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear JandS1968:

Thank you so much for sharing your experience, and for choosing our hotel to enjoyed your holiday, we feel flattered with all you wrote about us and is very nice to know how much you love to be here in our hotel, thank you for everything!. See you soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    604
    230
    110
    79
See reviews for
432
600
60
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I have been at the Friendly Hola many times.
The staff are the BEST. They try so hard to please you.
The room, and the food was fine.
I love this resort, and the staff. But can not go back there again, because I was so allergic to all the smoke filtering in the air. I had a lot of sinus problems. The coffee bar was smoke free, but the smoke is every where in the air. They need to make ALL COMMEN areas smoke free, as many resorts have done. The smokers need to be comfortable, and enjoy them selves, but so do the non smokers, that are concerned about there health.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are by far the best. The side buildings are older, and some rooms really smell mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Mustangnat,

Thank you very much for being with us and mention the positive aspects of your stay. We regret any inconvenience with smokers. This is an issue that we will continue to seriously trying, formerly we allocate specific smoking areas and the situation is under control, however we will take measures to ensure that all our guests are happy. Please don't forget about us, you are part of our family and we would love to welcome you back again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 7 nights, June 3rd thru the 10th. The hotel and grounds were very clean. I think we made a mistake by booking early June, the Mexican students were just getting out of school for break. The hotel offers big discounts for the Mexican population during this time. For a small hotel with apprx 200 rooms and over 900 guest was just more than they could handle. The staff was very friendly.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear ejinkens:

Thank you to share part of your experience, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. June and July are months that we receive many guests mostly students, we recommend visiting from November to May, we are sure you will be much more pleasant your stay. Please do not hesitate to visit us again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Everyone was super friendly. Mitchell at the front desk went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. Will definitely return. We visited over Christmas break and had a wonderful vacation! The food was very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Vanessa K:

It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us. We are working every day to improve our service, to make things even better!!! Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you soon!!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little rock, arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We arrived at friendly on Saturday, June 7th and had to check out on Monday June 9th.
We got to our room and it was very warm and humid. We ran the air conditioner but it never got any colder. When we arrived, one elevator was out of service and later so was the other one. Luckily the other one worked but there were so many people, it was hard to get on. Sunday morning, we went to the lobby and couldn't even walk through it. Bus loads of locals were dropped off here to swim for the day. It just made everything seem unsanitary even though it was clean. The "restaurant" was more of a buffet/cafeteria. The windows were open so it was very very hot. Both pools were absolutely crowded. The beach was very good though. The staff was absolutely amazing here and very very nice and helpful. Check In was very fast and easy but I think the resort was understaffed. They couldn't keep up with the number of people. We asked the front desk about it and they told us that 1,020 people were checking in Sunday morning, while 600 people were to check out. We were told that there would be no buses Monday morning but we got up Monday and three buses were unloaded again. It was just overcrowded, so we switched to the resort next door.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear KLawrence0:

Thank you very much for sharing your experience, but above all to highlight positive aspects. We regret any inconvenience you had during your stay, we are renovating rooms and very soon we will have everything ready, hopefully on your next visit to Puerto Vallarta you can give us a second chance. June and July are months that we receive many guests, we recommend visiting from November to May, we are sure you will be much more pleasant your stay :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We arrived Tuesday and were pretty happy. The resort was clean and the food was good. Tues Thru Fri I was impressed with the cleanliness. Our room was always very clean, as was the lobby and buffet dining room. The Gourmet restaurant was very clean n the food was good. All the employees were very nice and helpful. You could not ask for a better Maitre D. He had a special meal prepared for our anniversary.

Fri thru Monday. There were so many people in the pool, you could hardly get in. It could not have been sanitary. They did keep kids out of the adult pool which was a first in all of the many resorts we have stayed at, but the adults sat on the steps and wouldn't let anyone in. It was an infinity pool so this was the only way in. The pool bathrooms were so nasty. With that many people, they should have hired more help. We just went to town not even wanting get in the pool. There were plenty of beach chairs n we would've just gone into the ocean to cool off, but there was a big drop off making it hard to get out n in of the ocean.

The other thing that bugged me was the disorganization. They never knew when the only restaurant, the Gourmet was going to be open, if when or where the shows would be. I missed the treat of dressing for dinner then always having a nice show.

The location was nice. Only $10 for a taxi to town. The bus stop was just outside the grounds.

A nice clean hotel with nice people Tues thru Fri.
Fri thru Mon, the humongous amount of people n dirtiness at the pool have made my cecision not to go back.

Room Tip: We were in the middle tower, 8 th floor. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear EileenCanton:

Thank you very much for being with us, we are glad that your stay has been pleasant despite these observations. Thanks for the suggestions, your opinion is important to us and will help us be a better place, we will solve those issues, please give us the opportunity to serve you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My Wife and I and another Couple Stayed at the Friendly from March 8th to March 22nd.The room was spotless
as good as some of the 5 Star Hotels we stayed at.The Food may not be a5Star Quality,but we always found enough Food we Liked .The Hotel can consider themselves lucky to have such excellent Staff.Our Friends had a bit of a problem as they had move to another room for a Day because of a broken Waterline.We noticed a lot of improvements since our last Stay there ,such as the new Elevators new Chairs and Umbrellas ,the Restaurant at the Beachand the Coffee Bar in the Lobby amongst others.We would definily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear burk w:

Thanks for sharing your experience, we are very happy that everything has been perfect during your stay, and also because you loved the new renovations. Please come back soon we would love to see you once again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Resort Puerto Vallar...
#78 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 1,606 reviews
1.5 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa
Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa
#50 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#12 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Valla...
#73 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
#40 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#31 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Vallarta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Vallarta Resort

Address: Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Friendly Vallarta Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oceanfront hotel in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.100% Family. Renovated Rooms. Friendly Staff. Wide beach. Food Variety. 24-hour food and beverage program. Unlimited domestic alcoholic beverages, and non-alcoholic drinks. Main pool with children's wading area. Indoor and outdoor "Kid’s Club" with fully supervised children's activities. Gym and Spa. Entertainment room. Daily activity programs. Nightly entertainment and weekly live shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Friendly Vallarta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Puerto Vallarta Club & Spa
Hola Vallarta
Hola Puerta Vallarta
Hola Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hola Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hola Club Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Hola Vallarta
Hola Resort Puerto Vallarta
Hola Club Spa Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friendly Vallarta Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.