We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friendly Vallarta Resort

Save Saved
You added Friendly Vallarta Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Friendly Vallarta Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 120 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I read a lot of reviews before I decided on this hotel. It lived up to everything that people said about it. It was clean, everything worked, great location, great service, great food. It was a small friendly resort and just what we wanted. It is definitely not one of the big shiny luxury resorts, but this is not what we were looking for. It offered great value, good entertainment and lots to do if you were interested.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi ElaineL2013.

It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us. We are working every day to improve our service, to make things even better!!! Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you soon!!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    506
    475
    193
    96
    64
See reviews for
308
471
45
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very good all inclusive resort. Exceptionally friendly and attentive staff. Great mix of guests - Canadians, Americans, Mexicans, europeans - so fun chatting to people from different backgrounds. Excellent value for money.

Only downside was that, for 4 nights, only one restaurant was in operation leaving no choice of where to eat. However, the food was consistently good.

Room Tip: 12th floor ocean view was awesome. Higher floors would get less pool noise, but the place isn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Dennis H.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience, we are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and to know that everything was good during your stay. We hope to see you soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you're planning a visit to PVR, Friendly Hotel is the place to stay! We visited in June and plan to return again and again. This all inclusive property has staff attending to your every need. The employees couldn't be nicer, everyone smiles and enjoys being here. The hotel is extremely clean, the food couldn't be better (all local), the activities are beyond belief, entertainment all day long and in the evenings, kayaking, swimming, yoga on the beach, city tours, tequila factory, not enough hours in the day to do it all. From the minute we checked in, we were treated as royalty with a smile. If you want an ice cream cone, pina colada, or guacamole, you're served with a smile. Friendly's staff interacts with their guests on a daily basis. We're greeted everyday with a clean room and towel "animal" in our bedroom and bathroom. The staff is consistently on their toes to make sure your stay is the best. We can't wait to return to this hotel. Hopefully another Groupon offer will come our way. Thanks, Friendly, for a great time, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Main tower, floors 10 through 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi Mary M,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience, we are so glad to hear that enjoyed your stay and that our entire staff treat you like you deserve. We would love to welcome you back anytime! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Like everyone else said it needs renovation its an older place but the staff makes up for it, find Angel an ask for a drink and say double double. Our maid who made up our room she was great and put a different towel animal on our bed every day we knew when her day off was no animal. Our friends who went with us did not get any animals and all the whole time we where there. There specialty restaurants was great it was nice to eat dinner that was not buffet style and eat different food that was not just mexican food, there breakfast was tired its mexican food no bacon or sausage if you want it you need to ask your waiter for it and you may not get. The chef should to include more different cultures when cooking and not just mexican, the resort catered to alot of locals and they where not friendly I felt like an out sider in this resort we met three other couples who said and felt the same way. The resort has no room service but you can get food all day and at night. If your the quite one make sure to ask to stay in the tower upper floor when theres an event at the pool its loud fun but loud, the gym was ok most of the cardio machices where broken but the gym was usable the WiFi sucks it come in and out.

Room Tip: upper floors less noise and better views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
HI Brandee11.

Thank you very much for sharing part of your experience, we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay. We've made some changes to our hotel, in the lobby, guest rooms, meeting rooms, restaurants, among other things, and we will continue doing changes to have a better place. It is important for us to mention that we do have different types of food, pasta, meat, seafood, chicken, desserts and different drinks, juice, soda, beer etc. We don't have room service because we offer an all inclusive service which means that our guests have food and drinks during 24 hours. All our events end at 10:00 p.m. this way all people can sleep at at a reasonable hour. Thank you for all your suggestions will help us to improve. We hope to see you again, you will always be welcome in Friendly Vallarta! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobble Hill, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I am a little slow with the review but feel I have to still write one. We had seen this resort from the beach the last time we were there and had spoke to a lady whom was staying there. She said it was a great smaller resort. So we book it for our next holiday. We were NOT disappointed! Check in went smooth and we were treated to a drink in the lobby and a cloth. We were in the center building and had a great view. I think all the rooms are set up to get a view of the ocean.
The rooms were clean and we had a nice little balcony to watch the sunsets and see the city. They offer free wifi in the lobby which is awesome as I could manage my moms medication back home and be able to go on holidays. They had everything you needed. I would also like to comment on the fact that this place is great for the disabled and for those with walkers/wheel chairs. The only place that would be difficult is on the beach as well as getting to the snack bar. Maybe one day they could pour a little concrete sidewalk in front of the infinity pool so that people could access the snack bar from the ramp down to the beach.
Everything you needed was close.The swimming pool was great for families which was also beside the kiddie pool for real little kids. Then there is the infinity pool for adults which over looked the beach. The 2 hot tubs over looked both the family and adult pool. The beach is right out front and they have 2 areas. One behind ropes so you don't get bothered by the peddlers and then the main beach out front. The server's will serve you no matter where you are sitting. The resort is also close to the mall, stores and bus stops which is nice.
The snack shack and bar area were also close to the pools and beach and the food was good there too. The buffet was also good and some of the kitchen staff/servers would add their own touches. My husband went up for a pancake and came back with one looking like a seahorse. The roof top dining was so nice and had some great food. The a la carte was awesome. We were also lucky and had the kitchen make us a shrimp kabob platter that was so good.
We went with Nolitours and they had a special beach party where they had a guy on a horse show up and sang. He was incredible. Then one evening that had a beach party/ dinner. Wow, the food was super as well as the entertainment. They also did a Mexican theme dinner upstairs and it too had entertainment afterwards. They sure know how to put on a spread and entertain.
I can't say enough good things about this place. I hope it never changes as we will definitely be going back!!!

Room Tip: I think most rooms have a good-great views. I think the higher you go the quieter it is and the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi lilscape.

Thank you! We love to read reviews like yours. Thank you so much for everything you say here on Tripadvisor, this will be really helpful for other. Come back soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, Usa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I agree with many of the reviews. Overall, it was about average--good, but not very good. I think the hotel needs some work. It;s old--but I like that authentic look. My GF and I got locked out on our 9th story patio after she shut the sliding door behind her a little rough only to trigger the lose lock mechanism. We had to ask a Mexican family, who happened to be on their patio, to call the front desk for us since we had everything still in the room.

The rooms are okay, I've been in better in my past visits to PV. The foyer is okay too. Not flashy. Short on the number of restaurants to choose from in comparison to other resorts, but the food was very good!

Yes, many locals were at the resort enjoying the hot sun, but no problem with me. My GF and I visited Sunday-Thursday (Early June) and we noticed it was quiet until Thursday when the number tripled! Glad we got out on Thursday.

The staff were so kind and friendly. Played volleyball with us everyday too. Take the Tequila Tour they offer--great! It's an all day thing but you see parts you otherwise wouldn't. Drinks on beach were rough the first day--like rubbing alcohol--but then the next 3 days they tasted great!

We used a groupon and got the room for only $485 for four days--couldn't pass it up since it was all exclusive for that price!

Room Tip: I think all rooms have an ocean view--not the case for all resorts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi dnelson100.

Thanks for sharing your experience we have great news for you! We have done many improvements in all our hotel: we have remodeled our rooms, we build new bathrooms at the beach, we remodeled the lobby area and also restaurants, we also have Internet in all our rooms, lobby, beach area and restaurants, and we have done many other things. All this to satisfy our guests. We would love to welcome you back anytime to enjoy of this new things we have done for you! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was my 7-8th time to PV, and first time to the Friendly. I traveled with my husband and twin 6 year old boys. I have to say I would go back again because it is a great value. The hotel is older and needs some repairs, but it is very clean. Food is average and the drinks are okay. The beds are slightly hard. The hotel has a great location in town, the service is awesome, and the kid's club was great. Karina is the absolute best! If you are looking for a good bargain, stay here. If you are looking for super fancy, stay at Velas.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor, and the view was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi AmandaLovesPV.

It has been a pleasure to read all about your experience with us, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Friendly Vallarta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Vallarta Resort

Address: Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Friendly Vallarta Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oceanfront hotel in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.100% Family. Renovated Rooms. Friendly Staff. Wide beach. Food Variety. 24-hour food and beverage program. Unlimited domestic alcoholic beverages, and non-alcoholic drinks. Main pool with children's wading area. Indoor and outdoor "Kid’s Club" with fully supervised children's activities. Gym and Spa. Entertainment room. Daily activity programs. Nightly entertainment and weekly live shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Friendly Vallarta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Puerto Vallarta Club & Spa
Hola Vallarta
Hola Puerta Vallarta
Hola Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hola Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hola Club Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Hola Vallarta
Hola Resort Puerto Vallarta
Hola Club Spa Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friendly Vallarta Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.