We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here April 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friendly Vallarta Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Friendly Vallarta Resort to your Saves list
Friendly Vallarta Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stayed here April 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Other than the fact that we arrived during the last few days of spring break, and there were 100's of kids, the hotel is clean, service was good, and food was good the bar tenders were all great, as for the pool, I just got back from Mazatlan, and yes they close their pool by 8 as well, in fact they close it at 5 but do not make everyone get out, some people stayed, but by 8 it was empty.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi Lil M.

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion and for all the good things you said about us. Hope to see you very soon, you will always be welcome at Friendly Vallarta :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    495
    208
    100
    70
See reviews for
326
491
49
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The good:
Nice beach. Did find the vendors too be a bit over the top. Extremely beautiful beach about five minutes down with no people.
Breakfast and the beach food were great! The buffet at supper time wasn't the best but I didn't starve.
The beach party.
The hotel was clean.

The bad:
The a la carte everyone raved about wasn't open anymore when we were there I don't think. Maybe because it was the off season?
The 2 water bottle thing really was annoying as I only found two coolers to refill the that were quite far from my room. Maybe there could be a cooler on each floor by the elevators? Or more water bottles?
The beds were extremely uncomfortable.



This definitely wasn't a happening place. If your looking for fun, this is not for you.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi Reviewer R.

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion, we regret the inconvenience you had during you stay. When is low season, we change some activities within the hotel, some restaurants have different schedules, but our service does not change, we continue attending to all our guests in the same way and offer them the best we have. Thank you for suggestions with respect to water, we value your opinion!. We would love to see you once again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Spent one week with my sister in March. We had amazing service and very friendly staff that took time to talk and laugh with us! The beach area is fantastic and the staff was super accommodating in getting chairs and umbrellas set up quickly. Make sure to get to the Fiesta night on the beach!

Like others have said, the only negative was not having a fridge in the room.

Room Tip: Try a room on a higher floor. We were on the 11th floor and had an amazing view of the bay. We even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi dnni.

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, we are pleased to read everything you say about your experience, and we are delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable. Please come back soon we will be here waiting for you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at the Friendly Vallarta from April 8 to 15th 2013 on a recommendation of a friend whom is an annual 2 week guest and we were not disappointed. Our room was 3803 and was clean and well maintained by our maid. The view was magnificent from the balcony and the 8th floor is far enough away from the entertainment area to be quiet when you need to rest up for an active day of excursions the next day. The food was always fresh at all restaurants and the staff was constantly attentive to our every need. We loved the drinks made with fresh fruit juices especially the coconut daquaris and pina coladas. Thank you Friendly Vallarta for making our 7 days a terrific time and we hope to see you again in 2014.

Room Tip: Tower rooms provide a great view of the bay and shoreline, the entertainment area is on the 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi 90Susan.

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion here on TripAdvisor, this will be very helpful to our future guests. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we'll see you soon, please keep in touch and do not forget about us! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I never do reviews BUT after reading some of the reviews about Friendly Vallarta we feel the need to support this resort.

Let it be known that the people who say they are NOT complainers definitely must be.

STAFF
First and foremost the staff are some of the most hard working genuine people we have come across, always willing to go above and beyond. Also we aaaallllll know that an all inclusive really isn't an all inclusive.....meaning don't be cheap and put hand in your pocket and tip the staff, perhaps you will get the shrimp. It's still a decent price for the week.

FOOD
The food is not a 5 star but its definitely edible. If you like mexican food its great, go figure you are in Mexico. We went to the a la carte twice and both time we had the shrimp with a curry dressing which was delicious! We also had the rib eye, it wasn't Alberta beef (again go figure) but still tasty and cooked as we as we asked, we've been to steakhouses in Canada where they manage to screw that up. There is plenty of choice but by the end of the week one definitely would need a change.

CLEANLINESS
The hotel is old and could use a facelift however our room was beyond clean. I too would smell the must but defiantly not overpowering. We always saw staff mopping or cleaning.

ENTERTAINMENT
The entertainment is lacking however I suggest mixing it up and go into town (its a 50 peso cab fare) in the evening once or twice during your stay. We went to a karaoke bar, coronas were 20 pesos and saw a reggae band in a bar. We felt safe and welcome in both locations.

Depending what you want from your holiday, this is a fun, relaxing experience. You will get out of it what you put into it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi 9coronas.

Thank you very much for taking time to write and tell us about you experience. Thank you so much for your support! Your opinion will be very helpful for many people. We hope to see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were at the Friendly Vallarta from April 12-19 2013 with our daughter. Well to start off, the staff is not all that friendly especially at the reception. We chose this resort because of the good reviews and we have never been so disappointed. This resort allows smoking everywhere. I asked for a non smoking room at the reception and was told we could not have one. They had closed off some floors due to low season. Our rooms smelled sewage and moisture. The beds are hard and the pillows are even harder. Our air conditioner only worked when it wanted to. The food is so so and you can get tired of eating the same food everyday. There was only one a la carte restaurant open that week. The food there was good. Our daughter got sick and we tried to order room service and we were refused. We also tried to get a reservation at La Leche Restaurant and we were told its only available till march 30th. Our Sunquest rep didn't even know about this. The bacon is hidden behind the counter and you need to pay the chef to get shrimps. Don't go there if you expect a 4 star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi Michel B.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel, we regret this unpleasant experience and really appreciate your opinion, will help us to have a better place. We don't have room service because we offer an all inclusive service, which means that all our guests have food and drinks during 24 hours but only in our restaurants. We have different options for food, chicken, pasta, seafood, meat, desserts and various drinks, but will always be a challenge for us to satisfy all our guests, but we will continue working hard on that. We hope to see you soon, you are always welcome in our hotel :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We travel every year in April and this was our first time to PV. The hotel was great...food.staff.cleanliness all was exceptional. The most amazing thing was how many repeat guests there were and how the staff remembers them. We would definately come back!! Loved the service on the beach and the beach vendors

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi Skodagoog.

Thank you! Was so nice to read your experience, thank you so much to share it. We loved to know how much you loved all our little details we made for you during your stay. Please come back soon, we would love to see you one more time! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Friendly Vallarta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Vallarta Resort

Address: Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Friendly Vallarta Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oceanfront hotel in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.100% Family. Renovated Rooms. Friendly Staff. Wide beach. Food Variety. 24-hour food and beverage program. Unlimited domestic alcoholic beverages, and non-alcoholic drinks. Main pool with children's wading area. Indoor and outdoor "Kid’s Club" with fully supervised children's activities. Gym and Spa. Entertainment room. Daily activity programs. Nightly entertainment and weekly live shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Friendly Vallarta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Puerto Vallarta Club & Spa
Hola Vallarta
Hola Puerta Vallarta
Hola Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hola Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hola Club Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Hola Vallarta
Hola Resort Puerto Vallarta
Hola Club Spa Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friendly Vallarta Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.