We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly describes this hotel's staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friendly Vallarta Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Friendly Vallarta Resort to your Saves list
Friendly Vallarta Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendly describes this hotel's staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband & I stayed at this resort from January 23rd - Feb. 3rd. Friends convinced us to go with them, although we truly wanted to go somewhere else. Altogether there were 8 of us - 6 of our friends were repeat visitors to this hotel for the last 4 or 5 years. Well, what a pleasant surprise! I echo everything positive that everyone else here has stated: The food was great, the property and rooms exceptionally clean and the staff were absolutely amazing. They were genuinely happy, friendly and could not do enough for you. We particularly enjoyed their love for each other, as they were always seen to be joking and playing with one another - all the while, never missing an opportunity to serve guests. I took advantage of many activities the hotel had to offer, including aqua-size in the pool, spanish lessons and kayaking. The activities staff were so pleasant and welcoming and I would especially like to thank Carrie, Jaje (not sure of the spelling but pronounced "Yayay") and Will.i.am. These young people were continuously enthusiastic, helpful and lots of fun and they are to be commended for demonstrating to others the love of their jobs. We enjoyed ourselves so much that I have recommended the hotel to everyone when people ask: "Where did you get your tan?" In fact, 4 people I work with just booked their vacation to the Friendly this past week, as did 2 other close friends. The view from all the rooms is extraordinary, as everything faces toward the pool and beach and the sunsets are beautiful. We watched humpback whales from our balcony, several times, while enjoying our morning coffee. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would suggest choosing a room a little higher up if you want to minimize noise from the pool and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Laurie N!

Thank you for sharing your experience, was very nice to read. We are very happy to know you enjoyed every moment at our hotel, our goal is that all our guests enjoy their vacation. Hope to see you soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    496
    209
    100
    70
See reviews for
327
491
49
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

From the time you step off the bus you have stepped into the Freindly zone. As the staff have you with a smile , drink and into your room, so you can enjoy the rest of the day. The is so much happiness and smiles and always something to do there. The food is all over the place as you walk around the resort. Then when you thought it can not get better you book a massage out on the beach, it is just to die for when there. From Johnny bringing you wonderful service to a double, double drink being brought to you if you wish. The only thing that is not bad is the fact they need more beach chairs as getting up at 530am to grab a spot is not what I would exspect when on holiday. Great job to the staff.

Room Tip: Room on the beach side and over the seventh floor to enjpoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi James S!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience, we are confident that this will be helpful to other people. We thank you for your suggestions and value your opinion. Feel free to visit us anytime :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

, Our th time back to this hotel, the name says it all. Our visit was from Jan 25-Feb 9, 2013. We love coming to this hotel, the staff is all very friendly and helpful from Abraham on the beach to Double Double in the restaurant. They do their job with a smile and make you feel welcome for your whole stay. The rooms and premises are kept spotless. It is close to everything. The beach is great, the food is good and we will most definitely be going back. You can even pick your own bananas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Nellstercat!

Thank you very much for your recent visit, it's good that everything was perfect during your holiday and that our staff treated you like you deserve. Hope to see you this year again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We just came back from a 1 week stay (Feb 1 to 8) at the Friendly Vallarta. The name is appropriate and all staff really go out of their way to be "Friendly". The food, liquor and accomodations were as good as I have had anywhere in my travels. It is well located in that one can get downtown on a local bus for 6.5 pesos or 50 pesos gets you a cab there. The Malecon has been greatly improved in recent years and you can't beat the $1.00 Coronas or Margaritas at places like the Sea Monkey or Cheeky Monkey. We will definitely be going back to this place!

Gil - Brandon, MB

Room Tip: The lower floors in the main tower can be a bit noisy in the evening....but fine after 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Gil V!

Thanks for everything you say about us, for us our greatest reward is knowing that our guests enjoy their stay. We will be waiting for you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We arrived Jan. 23 and left Feb. 6/13. The weather was sunny and hot every day. The staff were especially friendly when they found out that we were return visitors. Some even remembered our names from 2 years ago. Feels like home. The entertainment theatre was my favorite. We will go back in an instant. Thank you to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable. The water arobics, massage, restaurant service was #1, both at the buffet,the beach and the Gourmet, maid service, internet service, etc. (Pillows were a little hard)

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor by the hot tubs. Great location to everything. Noise ended about 10pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi 1AnnieB2!

Thank you very much for sharing this experience, we are happy that everything has been perfect during your stay, please come back soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the Friendly from Jan 5th - 20th, this is our 6th visit to this resort, we have been to PV 18 times and the last several to the Friendly, the name says it all. This is without a doubt my favorite resort in PV. The staff make your stay incredible, everyone from the front desk to Abraham at the beach and William in activities, the waiters and bartenders remember you from year to year.

The hotel is incredibly clean, and the food is very good, the buffet offer something for everyone. The a la carte's are easy to access and very tastey.

It is definitely, somewhere everyone goes back to, we meet the same people there year after year, it truly gives you a feeling of going home.

We will be returning on Feb 23rd and cannot wait.

Hats off to the Friendly Vallarta, you cannot go wrong booking this resort.

Room Tip: Therre are no bad rooms, but we prefer the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi canadaworking!

Good to know that everything was perfect during your stay, thank you for choosing our hotel. We are delighted for your review! Come back soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a week stay (feb 2-9) at the Friendly Vallarta. We had the best time. From the moment that we checked in we knew that the hotel would live up to its name. The front desk staff was always fast and efficient and answered any and all our questions that we had.

We had requested a room with a king size bed and we had gotten 2 queen beds instead. My husband went to the front desk to see if our request could be accommodated and the front desk staff suggested that they could push the 2 beds together and place a foam pad over top to make it more comfortable. This turned out perfectly.

The rooms are pretty basic but clean and the view is out of this world. We stayed in room 3204 in the main tower and we had both the view over the pool area and the ocean and beach, AMAZING!

The food was delicious. There were always many options and different places to eat. The breakfast was great having the option of Mexican cuisine as well as eggs done any way you liked and pancakes and waffles. The coffee was great as well. The a la carte restaurant was very good as well. Wonderful service and a great steak. We never went hungry.

The pool area and beach area were always busy with people. What was most impressive was the serving staff around the pool and on the beach. They were friendly, attentive and made it a point to get to know you. I should also mention that the same serving staff that worked around the pool and on the beach were also the same servers that worked in the restaurants.

Abraham was wonderful setting up the beach chairs, umbrellas and tables starting at 5am every morning, and what a nice person.

I used the gym facilities daily which were a bit dated but had everything I needed. Treadmill, elliptical and free weights to name a few.

We met so many awesome people who have been going to the Friendly Vallarta for years. Brian and Merick, Rob and Marlene, Kyle and Theresa and Denny and Debbie.

This hotel lives up to its name over and over again. We will definately be returning.

One more thing if you want to book any tours anywhere ask for Juan on the beach. Great prices and extremely trustworthy. We used him to book "Rhythms of the night" which was terrific and rented a yacht for the day. Thanks Juan!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Brunettemamma!

We are pleased to know how much you enjoyed your holiday with us! Every detail we do is for our guests, to live an unforgettable holiday. We hope to see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Friendly Vallarta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Vallarta Resort

Address: Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#28 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Friendly Vallarta Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oceanfront hotel in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.100% Family. Renovated Rooms. Friendly Staff. Wide beach. Food Variety. 24-hour food and beverage program. Unlimited domestic alcoholic beverages, and non-alcoholic drinks. Main pool with children's wading area. Indoor and outdoor "Kid’s Club" with fully supervised children's activities. Gym and Spa. Entertainment room. Daily activity programs. Nightly entertainment and weekly live shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Friendly Vallarta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Puerto Vallarta Club & Spa
Hola Vallarta
Hola Puerta Vallarta
Hola Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hola Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hola Club Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Hola Vallarta
Hola Resort Puerto Vallarta
Hola Club Spa Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friendly Vallarta Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.