We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRIENDLY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friendly Vallarta Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Friendly Vallarta Resort to your Saves list
Friendly Vallarta Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
manitoba
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“FRIENDLY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Just returned from a stay at the Friendly resort and spa in Puerta vallarta, mexico. I really liked the resort, and the room on the 11th floor facing the ocean was beautifull. I would definitely go back and highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to PV.The moment we arrived the staff were polite and greeted us with smiles and a welcome refreshment.

Room Tip: Choose aroom above the 5th floor as i heard it can be noisy from floors 3 or lower in the evening fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi sandyhaven!

We are delighted to read about your experience, sure this will be really helpful for our future guests. Thank you for staying here with us, we would love to welcome you back anytime! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    569
    224
    107
    76
See reviews for
384
576
53
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This resort appears in different web sites and publications as anything from a three star to four star.

The resort has clearly some age and would benefit from some refurbishment and renovation, but this should not detract from the excellent staff and more than adequate food and beverage managed by Jose Luis Ortega.

To understand the reputation of this resort the average visitor I spoke to have returned more than five times. There is a loyalty build on the good nature of staff, good food and the carefully planned and diverse entertainment.
One day there was rain, out came projector screens and movies were run to occupy guests. The theatre was used for the traditional Mexican fiesta which was a great success , the broadway show was very professional, the beach party had a very civilzed dinner dance that had great attendance. No complaints.

The staff made sure that your needs were catered to at all times.

Food was more varied than other all inclusive resorts and fresh coffee replaced standing coffee in the lobby, fresh as you would get at any coffee shop .

I would like to see the lobby furniture recovered, and the painters to clean up paint runs etc, but these are minor details of was a very pleasant resort, this may be why it does not always get a firm four star rating . It is kept extremely clean and care is given in all aspects of service.

You may know this as the Qualton or Hola two of its past names. The management now certainly has their act together and is out for repeat business.

Room Tip: Go for the superior room at higher level. Ours was floor and and had a tremendous view, state if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hi gordon786!

Thank you for sharing your experience, was very nice to read. We are very happy to know you enjoyed every moment at our hotel, our goal is that all our guests enjoy their vacation. Hope to see you soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A cosy room, a king bed, good food, hot sun, tons of activities (that we didn't bother to participate in, we were too busy soaking up the rays), wonderful staff, and GREAT guests! All combine to make a fabulous vacay. I highly recommend the Friendly Vallarta.

Matter of fact, we talked to a number of people who said that's they've stayed at other, more 'swanky' resorts, and found the Friendly to be better all around. They said the food was better, the beach area was bigger, the staff far more accommodating, and the rooms bigger.

We were at the Friendly in April of 2011, and again just last week in January of 2013. We were impressed in 2011, but even more so in 2013 because of a few small, but important changes: Peanut butter at breakfast (ask for it), real Heinz ketchup, more fresh food at every buffet, and new furniture in the lobby.

Thank you, Friendly Vallarta!

One little caveat... not specific to the Friendly... is that the first week of January is a Mexican school holiday, which made both the resort and PV VERY VERY busy. I prefer a little less crowds, so next time, I will wait till mid January for a vacay. Just personal preference.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi Karyn-grace C!

Thank you so much for sharing your experience, and for choosing our hotel to enjoyed your holiday, we feel flattered with all you wrote about us and is very nice to know how much you love to be here in our hotel, thank you for everything!. See you soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here from January 2 to 9, 2013, and having never been to an all inslusive resort or to Puerto Vallarta we totally loved it. All the staff was super friendly and helpful, especially Hector, Vincent, Double Double, Carlos and Fidel. The property was clean throughout, good food and usually a few different items in the buffet each day and to our daugher, the best hot dogs. We were on the 10th floor, the view was awesome but the entertainment from downstairs was loud when the balcony door was open. Usually it was quiet by 11:00 to 11:30 pm. We were treated like royalty with all the drinks and food offered, to changing our larger pesos to smaller, to getting a taxi, to bus information and to checking in for our flight back. An exellent cleaning job in our room each day. The girls in the lobby were also super in serrving us. We loved the staff and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. In fact, we hope to come back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor if possible. May provided tips helps with service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi marthajanzen!

Thank you so much for your review, we feel really flattered. All your words are a great reward to us and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for every detail you describe about your holiday, this will be really helpful for others. We hope to see you soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We were there last year with a group of 6 & will be back there on Wednesday with a group of 8. We are all soooo excited! 4 of the 8 were there before, but we know the new 4 will not be disappointed. Where do I start...... Service is excellent, rooms are always clean as well as the entire facility. Food is superb. Everyone working there is so kind & accommodating. Feels like we are going home. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi TherealDeborita!

It is so nice to know that we will see you again, thank you for trusting us again and also for your review! We will see you soon, everything is ready for your arrival :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I have travelled to Puerto Vallarta 3-4 times per year for the last ten years. We have stayed at everything from Barcello and Dreams, to the Canto del Sol and Decameron properties.
While the Friendly is an older resort the staff make for any "Physical Plant" short falls. The only word we heard from any staff member was "Yes" to our requests. The food was reasonable and comparable to most other resorts. After all it is Mexico the food supplies and preparation is different - you Think! Nice touch on the nightly 10:00PM to 5:00 AM dining/snacks. The specialty resturant provided excellent meals supported by first class staff. The beach front restarant/snack bar was great and open for breakfast.
The beach was large and accessible providing shady, part sun, full sun areas and a roped area for a reprieve from the beach vendors,
Our room was spacious and clean. Our cleaning staff were efficient and extremely pleasant. The bonus was we enjoyed a fabulous view across the entire bay from our balcony.
The location provides great access to all of the surrounding areas and with a deep setback from the main road all you could hear from the balcony was the sound of the waves.
We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return to this resort. If you are looking for a good resort at a reasonable price with great staff then check out the Friendly Vallarta.

Room Tip: If you want a great view take the main tower floor 6 and above. The higher you go the quieter it get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi mgs195658!

It was so nice to read your review, thank you so much for everything you say about your experience. We would love to see you once again, please feel free to come back anytime! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

January 13 will be our 4th time to this resort and we can't wait. Sergio, Abraham and the rest of the staff have alway's made our stay's extremely memorable. We went to Cuba last year for a change and we kept comparing everything to the Friendly Vallarta, thus we are are coming back this year.
The house keeping services have always been fantastic with the towels being made into animals, etc everyday.
See you in a few days.
Rod and Judy
Calgary

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly V, Gerente at Friendly Vallarta Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi Rod L!

Thanks for everything you say about us, it's nice to know that you enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome you back anytime! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Friendly Vallarta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Vallarta Resort

Address: Km 2.5 Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico (Formerly Friendly Hola Vallarta Resort and Spa)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Friendly Vallarta Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oceanfront hotel in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.100% Family. Renovated Rooms. Friendly Staff. Wide beach. Food Variety. 24-hour food and beverage program. Unlimited domestic alcoholic beverages, and non-alcoholic drinks. Main pool with children's wading area. Indoor and outdoor "Kid’s Club" with fully supervised children's activities. Gym and Spa. Entertainment room. Daily activity programs. Nightly entertainment and weekly live shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Friendly Vallarta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Puerto Vallarta Club & Spa
Hola Vallarta
Hola Puerta Vallarta
Hola Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hola Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hola Club Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Hola Vallarta
Hola Resort Puerto Vallarta
Hola Club Spa Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friendly Vallarta Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.