We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Pescador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added El Pescador to your Saves list
El Pescador
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paraguay No. 1117, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stay for 15 nights and we had a wonderful time. Right on the ocean,we watch whales every day from our balcony!The hotel is old but very clean. Is the only hotel we stay and was clean every day like for a new guest. Every day with all the cleaning of the room they chance the sheets and pillows!! They were cleaning all day,inside and out!! The only thing i wish is if they had more chairs in the pool.. Every one was very friendly and always helpful.We had the ocean frond room in the 2th floor and we enjoy every day we were there. I will love to stay there some day again!!

Room Tip: The cleaner hotel we ever stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    97
    43
    20
    13
See reviews for
34
77
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is my second visit to this hotel in 10 years and not much has changed. It earns it's 3 stars, but just barely. But at $65 a night for an ocean-view hotel room that is directly on the beach, it is a great value. The rooms are sparse with a television, phone, AC and very basic furniture. The beds are firm but you get used to them over a couple of nights. Housekeeping does a good job and the front desk are friendly.

The restaurant doesn't do enough to promote itself - there were rarely patrons taking advantage of the fare except in the mornings. Breakfast is included with the room but it is as inexpensive (read: barely passable) to produce as the hotel can make it. Scrambled eggs, refried beans, lousy bread and orange juice/coffee sums it up.

The pool is clean, although there aren't enough chairs. The ocean is a stones throw from the pool. WiFi is available throughout the hotel and the speed is decent enough for streaming HD video most times. Over a week we experienced a couple of outages but they were under an hour in length. Many Mexicans stay here and I always think this reflects well on a hotel when it's the choice of locals.

This hotel is all about value and location.

Room Tip: The street side rooms are larger, the ocean-side rooms have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We got this place on line and it was a great deal. Close to the action of the Malecon and it is beach front. A great view of the water made relaxing for the day or night very easy. Clean rooms and a friendly staff and also a clean pool area.
Thankfully they were getting in some new chairs as the last ones were getting a bit beaten down.
One complaint was the free breakfast was the only thing that was so so. Eating the same thing everyday is not for me so we did have to go out for our short stay there. Scrambled eggs and beans got to be a bit much everyday and not fresh squeezed OJ???? That however doesn't break my staying there.
Good place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just want to say "Beware" we kept the "Do Not Disturb" sign on our room, the third day, 8 January the cleaning staff entered our room anyway. I was surprised but when I left the next day I realized that one pair of earrings, two rings and one pendant was missing from my jewelry. I left everything out on the table because I did not expect anyone to come in the room. These pieces were not extremely valuable, about $50-$100 each. Very disappointed. We stayed at Hotel Rosita last year on the top floor and had to flush our toilet with a bucket the last two days! We never even were reimbursed for our rooms or anything, not even an "I'm sorry". That's OK, you get what you pay for, I realize we need to pay more for better hotels. I don't like to give bad reviews but I must be honest.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the top floor at the Rosita and just keep your things in your suitcase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My girlfriend and i had to spend an extra night in PV, after AA cancelled our flight home. We had to leave our timeshare, and transferred to El Pescador, which is a few blocks North of the Malecon, and waterfront. Staff was very friendly and maintenence came up immediately to repair a light fixture. Rooms were very basic, but clean, with a beautiful bayfront view that you couldn't beat! Hotel was very affordable @ $65, and this included a small breakfast buffet of scrambled eggs, frijoles, and assorted breads (also juice and coffee). There was also an in ground pool, which we didn't use, but it looked fine. I would definitely go back again. Also, thanks to Nemo, who works so hard!

Room Tip: Well worth it, to get a waterfront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Good location in downtown Puerto Vallarta. Right on the beach. Wonderful front desk staff. Good buffet breakfast. But the beds and pillows are terrible. The ocean view rooms are worth the extra money. Good value for what we paid.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This lovely little hotel was super clean, all the staff was friendly and very helpful. The little cafe onsite has great simple food, not many choices on the menu, but what they has was quite wonderful. Pay the little extra and get the ocean view rooms, beautiful view and such a lovely breeze at all times. I took my parents and my three children here for two nights before we went to our condo and we really enjoyed ourselves.
The pool is chilly, but very refreshing on super hot sticky days!
All in all, I highly suggest you try this simple little mexican hotel.

Room Tip: Try to grab a third floor ocean view room-well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador

Address: Paraguay No. 1117, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Pescador 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your El Pescador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pescador Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pescador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.