We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mercurio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mercurio to your Saves list
Hotel Mercurio
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Francisca Rodriguez 168 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Montgomery, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was our third time staying @ the Mercurio and as always we had a great time there. The staff is always friendly and very helpful with any thing you need. The free breakfast was good every morning. The location couldn't be better, half way between the gay beach and the bars. For the price you can't beat the Mercurio.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    84
    46
    21
    17
See reviews for
1
109
111
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

By way of this review, i would like to convey, (and my 2 friends as well), the "wonderful treatment and experience" we all shared at Hotel Mercurio, during our recent stay there last week. The desk staff is "marvelous", all of them, and they attended, at once, to all our needs and questions.

The owner Paul, whom we met, was very helpful and just a joy! The A/C is the best in PV. The daily breakfast (free), by the pool every day was teriffic. No question, we will return and stay again, next time longer.

Thanks!
M,E,J

Room Tip: Rooms are kept very clean. If you don't prefer poolside rooms, the rear ones are quieter. You a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at Mercurio and the price and location were perfect for out needs. The room was spacious, clean and the breakfasts were plentiful and tasty. They try to mix some morning specialties with Omelettes or Mexican dishes and always with plenty of a variety of fruits etc.
The evening pool bar is sociable. The clientele us mid 20's to mid 50's, but not really the clubby set. The staff is very friendly. The hotel is 5 minutes walk to Playas Muertos and Blue Chairs but also a block from a friendly grouping of restaurants and cafes. Up the hill from the hotel is a bus to Mismaloya for about 50 cents. You are able to walk to the Zoo, their beach. There is a tourist hut right at the bus stop where you can reserve horses for a trip to the falls, on the spot or in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for the King sized as the price difference is negligable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The Mercurio was recommended to me by a friend who travels to Puerto Vallarta every year and who can afford the best hotels wherever he goes. He suggested this small, intimate, unbelievably inexpensive, insanely friendly, gay owned and operated oasis two blocks from the beach. Located on a quiet, beautiful street, it is still smack in the middle of everything one would want to do - whether you are gay or straight, a frequent visitor or a first timer to Puerto Vallarta.

The owner is an American with strong, liberal and progressive ties to the community, and he and the staff are not only friendly, enthusiastic and utterly charming, they are just simply adorable. I enjoyed the local, very generous complimentary breakfast every morning by the pool, and even though I don't drink, I met a number of locals and tourists at the pool bar in the afternoons and evenings.

The year before I stayed at he ultra-posh, majorly expensive Westin Resort, and of the two hotels, I heartily recommend the Hotel Mercurio for those men and women who wanted to be treated with courtesy and charm, and who are looking for that very special Mexican experience.

I will be back soon!

Room Tip: I stayed in a room on the second floor overlooking he pool. Not only did I have a clear view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

It was my 4th time in Puerto Vallarta and this time, I wanted to stay in a gay-friendly hotel. I booked Mercurio, based on the previous reviews from this website. I was hesitant at first, because I was going to be there for 15 nights, but what an amazing surprise!

I was welcomed with a great smile, friendly and professional staff. They speak perfect English and they made me feel at home! They are actually why my stay was so enjoyable!

I had booked a single room through Orbitz, but when I realized that Hotel Mercurio has some king bed rooms with kitchenette, Gabriel (the manager) offered me to upgrade for a special price. It was worth it: I was able to cook because there is a small portable range and a mini-refrigerator.

I travelled in low-season so the hotel wasn't busy but local people come around during "happy hour" from 3-6 (the drinks are 2 for 1). I met great people there: american expats and local gay/bi mexicans.

The guests are mostly masculine, half single gay men, half coupled. Although it is mostly a gay-oriented hotel and that it is clothing-optional, it does not feel like a bathouse or a non-serious place. There is no sexual activity tolerated in the pool or in public and guests respect that.

Be prepared though: you will see some kissing, some cuddling and cruising amongst guests. But everything is done with good taste, in a friendly-responsable manner.

The breakfast is AMAZING! It is a great compromise to an all-inclusive hotel: fresh fruit salad every day, always a selection of eggs and potatoe/vegetable. Bread, croissants, chocolatine, yogourt, cereals, coffee, tea and orange juice are also offered.

The rooms are basic but the beds are comfortable. The decoration is "antique old casa mexican" and could be updated. They have flat screen television, but no HD. Some american channels are offered but not all of them. They offer free wi-fi high speed internet and it works great! The air conditionner is powerfull and you have a remote-control to adjust it.

You can also buy soft-drink at reception and they offer a free phone to call Mexico, USA and Canada! That is a GREAT bonus!

The hotel is greatly located in the heart of the gay area of Puerto Vallarta. It's only 2 blocks from the pier and the sea, and about 5 minutes to the gay beach. You will also find a Subway restaurant 3 blocks away, if you need a "north american" meal :)

Overall, it's a friendly place, where you will find many new friends. It is great for single or couples. There is no attitude, and everyone is welcome: bears, men, women, older, younger.

Room Tip: If you want to save on restaurants, book a king-size bed room with a kitchenette!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Have stayed at the hotel mercurio for over 8 years now and as far as location...staff...happy hour....and breakfast it is as good as it gets..would love to see bathrooms updated but it is still a warm welcoming hotel in the romantic zone of pv

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Just returned from an eight day stay at Mercurio.
Thanks to the professionalism, friendliness and knowledge of the desk staff, especially Isaac and Joey, who invariably had the answers to all my questions and requests, my visit was very enjoyable. The location of the hotel (a short walk to Los Muertos Pier, which is where all the tours I took departed from) is within a 10 minute walk to nightlife, restaurants and banks (very useful for money exchange). While the rooms are not new, they are scrupulously cleaned, the bed very comfortable, lots of hot water in the shower, good internet connection and tons of free tv which I only turned on once. Each day as I left and each night, returning to the hotel, I felt like a most welcome guest staying with friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mercurio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercurio

Address: Francisca Rodriguez 168 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mercurio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mercurio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercurio Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Mercurio Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mercurio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.