We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities and location, not such good rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Los Tules Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Los Tules Resort to your Saves list
Los Tules Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Fco. Medina Ascencio s/n | Zona Hotelera C.P., Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great facilities and location, not such good rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed here for 3 weeks whilst visiting a friend who lives in PV. The hotel is in a great location, opposite a supermarket complex with a few eateries and also there is a bus stop outside making it easy to get into town or to the marina. The pool areas were lovely and not crowded and the hotel is right on the beach. However, it is a large complex and difficult to find your way around initially. I was really disappointed with my first room as it was one that hadn't been refurbished, was on the ground floor right by a stairwell and so I had to keep the blinds closed for privacy. It also had an interconnecting door with another room and although this was locked, it meant I was practically in the same room as a loud Canadian couple who watched films until late and insisted on having loud conversations that I could hear every word of. I asked to change rooms but had to wait a week for this. The 2nd room I was given was much much nicer but loud at the weekends as a lot of Mexican families decend on the place. The cleaning service was poor, with my room not being cleaned until around 3pm each day and not to a great standard.

I would consider staying here again due to the pool areas but would try to book a room at Fiesta Americana next door instead.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room without an interconnecting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    87
    32
    17
    31
See reviews for
79
49
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phelan CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We get there because RCI recomended even know I should trust my instinct, is a reason why only two pics of the place Right ?
Well the place is a glorify motel is terrible terrible is outdated is full of roaches and they do not care .Decent swiming 8 pools hard to get to your room the reception desk is not better the place for the towels is in the far away building, the parcial balcony with NO rails and was facing the swiming pool of fiesta americana that do not have wall is walk ways and you are not allowed there even know i see and hear all the parties and music in the open restaurants and pool
the room was so small and is not two room alike I ask for options they take me to see 2 more rooms and belive me are crap no design at all the third level have a wood spiral stairs really really incredible and hard to even fit there Please do NOT GO THERE is a tramp.

Room Tip: IS no good room there PLEASE trust me
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gile, Wisconsin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

While staying at Los Tules which we have for the last fifteen years we where robbed of all our cash and some jewelry. The safes in the room are not safe!!! Now we will have to think about going back! Sorry!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have stayed at Los Tules on many occasions and yet each time we go we have a great experience. We usually take the 3 bedroom units facing the pool and ocean, it has 8 pools, tennis courts, restaurant, across the street from Caracol Mall where we can get our groceries and only a 7 min bus ride to downtown Vallarta. The Condo is very spacious with a beautiful covered outside patio. The Hotel American is right next door and has a great Palapa Bar where I hang my hat for great food. I highly recommend Los Tules as it is very family friendly and my daughter as our selves have made many great friendships.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We loved our stay at Los Tules. Check in was easy, our room was really nice, the staff was very accommodating and the on site restaurant was wonderful . We could have never left the property and still had a great time.
Yes, the disco played music all night Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights but just find some way to drown out the noise, app, fan etc. All the hotels have some sort of surrounding noise.
It was nice to have so much beach frontage. There were rarely more than 20 people around us. The people that walk the beach trying to sell stuff is very annoying but you get used to telling them " no, gracias ".
The on site activity planner Ramon was especially helpful. We booked a zip line tour through him at a great price. Los Veranos. (See a different review).
The restaurant has excellent food at very reasonable prices too!

Room Tip: We were on a higher floor and had a nice view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed at Los Tules in Puerto Vallarta, like we have for many years. The place is gorgeoous, but the hospitality we received from Mariette Desaulniers is what made our trip. She always made us feel at home and welcome. But this year to our dismay we found out that they replaced Mariette. So sad to see this. There goes the hospitality of beautiful Los Tules. We will truly miss her.
Att: The Johnstons

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We LOVE Los Tules! We love it so much that we're staying here for six months (now halfway). Why do we love it? 1) The location: the local buses stop right out front and it's a short bus ride into town, to the airport, or to the marina. Also, Soriana (large grocery store) is directly across the street. 2) It's lovely: twenty acres of coconut-palm plantation, immaculately maintained, with plenty of open space. 3) It's on the beach. Plenty of palapas are available on the beach if one of the lounges by the pools (there are seven pools at Los Tules) doesn't suit you. Can't be beat!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Tules Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Tules Resort

Address: Blvd. Fco. Medina Ascencio s/n | Zona Hotelera C.P., Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#36 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Los Tules Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Tules | Mexican Resort is located within Los Tules right in the hotel zone in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. An oceanfront condominium-style resort located 2 miles from the airport and 3 mile from downtown Vallarta. Los Tules is nestled on a twenty-acre plantation of coconut palms fronting a half-mile of beautiful sandy Bandera’s Bay beach. Stroll along the brick-tile footpaths, through lush tropical gardens to your private colonial Mediterranean style condo. All rooms are designed to be used as separate units with individual entrances but can be combined into a full condominium with interconnecting doors, should the same party book more than one room. You can also enjoy our 7 swimming pools, 4 children pools, poolside restaurant-bar, 5 lighted Tennis courts and if you like golf, Puerto Vallarta's most challenging golf courses are just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Los Tules Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Tules Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Los Tules
Los Tules Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Tules Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.