We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican feel & relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Tules Resort

Save Saved
You added Los Tules Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Los Tules Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Fco. Medina Ascencio s/n | Zona Hotelera C.P., Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Denver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican feel & relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had never stayed at Los Tules, but wanted to experience something closer to town for our second week in PVR. We typically stay at the Marina the first week. A little apprehensive, since we read mixed reviews, but decided to take the chance. We were not disappointed! The grounds are really well kept and very unique. Instead of a high rise, you have many 4 story buildings scattered among the gardens. Lots of pools to choose from--you can go to a different one every day. This is not an "activity" resort, you can really relax without the blaring music all day found at the big new resorts. The restaurant area has wifi and you can go have a drink and check your email once a day if you must. Really, you're on vacation, who needs wifi in their rooms!

Our room was a 3 BR, 4B 2-story unit with a large patio off the dining area and another off the master bedroom. Oceanfront view, even though we were exchange guests. Living room, dining room, kitchen, 2B on first floor with 2BR and 2B on second floor. Excellent A/C in each room. Charming rooms make you feel like you are really in MX, but with all the amenities. They bring you a water jug every day for drinking and cooking which is placed in a charming, Mexican crock holder. Tile floors looked brand new.

Bus stops right out front--don't be afraid to take it to town as it is totally safe. Large grocery store right across the street for your supplies and beer. Reasonable prices for having your breakfast and lunch in your unit.

We liked Los Tules so much we have booked a 3BR unit again this May. Can't wait to go there. Bonus is that the front desk staff don't hound you to do time share presentations!

Room Tip: We were told to stay away from Bldg 6, so we asked to be moved to the middle buildings. It was a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    83
    29
    17
    31
See reviews for
74
46
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our first Royal Holidays visit to Los Tules was with trepidation as we didn't know if what we were promised was what we would get. Without doubt we were more than satisfied. Our "villa" was excellent and as promised with an A-1 vantage point. The site is amazing and green and really well maintained. All 8 pools were available and uncrowded - the restaurant offers a terrific variety of dishes all well prepared and service and staff well above average. We found the houskeeping to be the best that we have encountered. Cleanliness was a priority and our housekeepr Rosa the best. Shopping ( we cooked in a lot) was convenient with a large mall only a short walk away. (The mall has a small casino). Only negative was the noise from a disco. Even this was not a problem as by setting the A.C. to high temp. and then leaving the fan running gave us a white noise efect which drowned out the continuos thump, thump. We will be back in 2014.

Room Tip: Try for buildings 4 and 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

we visited this place two years ago and fell in love with it and wanted to stay...finally got to go there this year. How great! Beautiful beautiufl setting (many acres) beach front we even had an ocean view from our 1 BD unit in Building 6, fourth floor. The pools were not busy so I usually had the pool to myself to swim my daily laps. The restaurant was also very good: we ate lunchthere several times. We already have our reservations for next year!

Room Tip: 4th floors may give you a view but there are no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you are planning a condo vacation and want to experience a beautiful setting, this is the place to be. Right on the beach, seven pools, restaurant and staff that will go out of thier way to assist. I have been renting a condo from the rentals office at this location for about 5 years. There is a mall across the street with large grocery store and other shops as well, the resort is located next to the Fiesta Americana Hotel.
Los Tules has continued to be a wonderful experience, built on approximately 20 acres of a former coconut plantation, It has beautful maintained buildings and full of Mexican charm..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This property is one of the most beautiful settings in Puerto Vallarta. The immaculate grounds and the low lying buildings take you back to a PV of the past. We truly enjoyed the relaxing and tranquil atmosphere here for 2 weeks.
We were here on a condo exchange so as expected we were limited to the choices of available condos since the best are reserved for their owners which is fair. However, after visiting a couple of choices then we settle on one for 2 weeks which had a lovely view and was more than adequate for our needs. It has one bedroom and 2 full baths. Have the two baths is a plus. The units are immaculate and furnished quite comfortably. The balcony was wonderful with table for eating and two chaise lounges. If you are traveling with a disabled person then be sure to ask for a unit on the ground floor since there are no elevators in the buildings. Be sure to ask in advance.
We stayed in building 6 which part of is near the loud disco. The noise is on Thursday,Friday, and Saturday only. However, we found that by running the AC in the bedroom that we couldn't hear the noise. The view from the condo and the location made up for any noise which we didn't hear.
The working staff is quite lovely and helpful. I think that the only weakness was the reception desk for Park Royal which I didn't find extremely helpful and not very well trained.
This property is made up of a number of administrative groups which include both timeshare and individually owned properties. They are all rented out by these different groups. You'll find properties here from studios to 6 bedroom condos and an onsite villa.
There are 8 pools on the property and two pools are heated during the Winter which is adequate.
The pools are well maintained are always immaculate. The setting of the pools against the ocean views are spectacular.
There is wifi located throughout the property with towers near all the pools.The service is excellent and will support VOIP phone calls. It is administed by a local company and there is a fee for the service. The service,also extends to the beach areas of the property.
The beach area is probably on of the largest in PV. Since the property has some 26 acres then the beachfront is large with many palapas. The hotel rakes the sand on the beach.
The restaurant which is privately owned is excellent and quite reasonable. The staff is lovely and helpful.
There is a small grocery store located on the property for those forgotten items and quite reasonable. Directly across the street is a large supermarket(Soriana) supported by many other stores and a very good laundry with sameday service. There is a bank with ATM's.
The bus stops in front of the property and easy ride to the Malecon.
I would have give the property a 5 star rating if the reception was better trained.
However, I would return to this lovely property in a heartbeat. It is really special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, MI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Been coming here for years, food is great ,location is great . Weather this week is perfect if u want lots of sun ! Right between the airport and Old town, transportation is very accessible. Big plus if you want to save money by riding the bus instead of cabbing it !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were bummed when we arrived here to find we could not get a ocean front room, they are strickley reserved for there owners.
even though there were vacant rooms. We were there on rci.

The 1st room they tried to pawn opff on us was on the 3rd floor with a freaking wooden spiral staircase, it was like a tree house.
the 2nd and only option was a room with the balcony that overlooked the hotel next door, hotel fiesta amercana I think.

2nd week... 2 room choices, one nice room that was on the main road, or a townhouse. we took the townhouse, only to find out the air wasnt working. so they gave us the room next door for sleeping.
We started smelling sewer coming up in our bathroom and with in a few days they were tearing up the roads in the hotel.

The staff was pretty great, they sent someone to the airport to pick up our second week guests. and they gavve us the keys to the wireless so we could get internet in our room.

Our last day we hung the do not disturb sign so the maid wouldnt make up our room, she came in our oom and let her tip envelope. AND Left the door not just unlocked but proped WIDE OPEN, with all of our stuff packed and layed out.

Room Tip: unless you buy into it, or bought into it, I dont think you can get oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Tules Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Tules Resort

Address: Blvd. Fco. Medina Ascencio s/n | Zona Hotelera C.P., Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#28 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#57 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Los Tules Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Tules | Mexican Resort is located within Los Tules right in the hotel zone in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. An oceanfront condominium-style resort located 2 miles from the airport and 3 mile from downtown Vallarta. Los Tules is nestled on a twenty-acre plantation of coconut palms fronting a half-mile of beautiful sandy Bandera’s Bay beach. Stroll along the brick-tile footpaths, through lush tropical gardens to your private colonial Mediterranean style condo. All rooms are designed to be used as separate units with individual entrances but can be combined into a full condominium with interconnecting doors, should the same party book more than one room. You can also enjoy our 7 swimming pools, 4 children pools, poolside restaurant-bar, 5 lighted Tennis courts and if you like golf, Puerto Vallarta's most challenging golf courses are just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Los Tules Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Tules Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Los Tules
Los Tules Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Tules Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.