We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property and Lovely Ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Tules Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Los Tules Resort to your Saves list
Los Tules Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Fco. Medina Ascencio s/n | Zona Hotelera C.P., Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property and Lovely Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This property is one of the most beautiful settings in Puerto Vallarta. The immaculate grounds and the low lying buildings take you back to a PV of the past. We truly enjoyed the relaxing and tranquil atmosphere here for 2 weeks.
We were here on a condo exchange so as expected we were limited to the choices of available condos since the best are reserved for their owners which is fair. However, after visiting a couple of choices then we settle on one for 2 weeks which had a lovely view and was more than adequate for our needs. It has one bedroom and 2 full baths. Have the two baths is a plus. The units are immaculate and furnished quite comfortably. The balcony was wonderful with table for eating and two chaise lounges. If you are traveling with a disabled person then be sure to ask for a unit on the ground floor since there are no elevators in the buildings. Be sure to ask in advance.
We stayed in building 6 which part of is near the loud disco. The noise is on Thursday,Friday, and Saturday only. However, we found that by running the AC in the bedroom that we couldn't hear the noise. The view from the condo and the location made up for any noise which we didn't hear.
The working staff is quite lovely and helpful. I think that the only weakness was the reception desk for Park Royal which I didn't find extremely helpful and not very well trained.
This property is made up of a number of administrative groups which include both timeshare and individually owned properties. They are all rented out by these different groups. You'll find properties here from studios to 6 bedroom condos and an onsite villa.
There are 8 pools on the property and two pools are heated during the Winter which is adequate.
The pools are well maintained are always immaculate. The setting of the pools against the ocean views are spectacular.
There is wifi located throughout the property with towers near all the pools.The service is excellent and will support VOIP phone calls. It is administed by a local company and there is a fee for the service. The service,also extends to the beach areas of the property.
The beach area is probably on of the largest in PV. Since the property has some 26 acres then the beachfront is large with many palapas. The hotel rakes the sand on the beach.
The restaurant which is privately owned is excellent and quite reasonable. The staff is lovely and helpful.
There is a small grocery store located on the property for those forgotten items and quite reasonable. Directly across the street is a large supermarket(Soriana) supported by many other stores and a very good laundry with sameday service. There is a bank with ATM's.
The bus stops in front of the property and easy ride to the Malecon.
I would have give the property a 5 star rating if the reception was better trained.
However, I would return to this lovely property in a heartbeat. It is really special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    89
    32
    19
    34
See reviews for
79
51
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, MI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Been coming here for years, food is great ,location is great . Weather this week is perfect if u want lots of sun ! Right between the airport and Old town, transportation is very accessible. Big plus if you want to save money by riding the bus instead of cabbing it !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were bummed when we arrived here to find we could not get a ocean front room, they are strickley reserved for there owners.
even though there were vacant rooms. We were there on rci.

The 1st room they tried to pawn opff on us was on the 3rd floor with a freaking wooden spiral staircase, it was like a tree house.
the 2nd and only option was a room with the balcony that overlooked the hotel next door, hotel fiesta amercana I think.

2nd week... 2 room choices, one nice room that was on the main road, or a townhouse. we took the townhouse, only to find out the air wasnt working. so they gave us the room next door for sleeping.
We started smelling sewer coming up in our bathroom and with in a few days they were tearing up the roads in the hotel.

The staff was pretty great, they sent someone to the airport to pick up our second week guests. and they gavve us the keys to the wireless so we could get internet in our room.

Our last day we hung the do not disturb sign so the maid wouldnt make up our room, she came in our oom and let her tip envelope. AND Left the door not just unlocked but proped WIDE OPEN, with all of our stuff packed and layed out.

Room Tip: unless you buy into it, or bought into it, I dont think you can get oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin Park, Ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Was staying at Los Tules mid week of December. Weather was nice, hotel in an all around sense was nice, landscaping was clean. atmosphere was very calm and serene, but this is my 2nd time here and the last time I was here I remember having so much MORE fun. There were more events for kids, painting, water pool aerobics, competitions...etc. The hotel felt more alive and this time there was NOTHING. When we checked in the staff was courteous and friendly. I was upset to find out they have NO AVAILABLE WIFI in the rooms, and I was upset because they're website states that all rooms are equipped with WIFI. The only with free wifi is by the restaurant/ pool and unless you want to be there all day you have nothing. Also after we checked in we were whisked away by a lady with big black curly hair who intended on showing us all these coupons and discounts we were entitled to because we were timeshare members but I simply wasnt hearing her, I was tired, from the flight, jet lagged and was hungry and she wanted us to sit and talk and I just wanted to go to my room. This was bad, as she proceeded to ask me another question I snapped at her kindly and told her I wasnt interested and wanted to be taken up to my room. She didnt like what I said and snapped right back at me....took away all of the nice brochures and coupons she was about to give us ( about to) and escorted us away. So in reality she was trying to SELL US some sort of package. Another thing that I found out later on during our stay is that the Jacuzzi had no hot water, the water was barely luke warm. It was functioning but it wasnt working right at all, so I made it a point to check the water temp every time I would walk by, and was dissapointed.

I dont think this hotel is bad in anyway, but they really do need more attention to detail and to the needs of they're guests.
Im rating this hotel 3 stars because the housekeeper always kept our room clean and because they had alot of pool's to choose from which my daughter loved.

Room Tip: ask for a room near the resteraunt, free wifi, near the beach and you can watch your kid while your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We regularly stay at Los Tules when we visit Puerto Vallarta. It is not a highrise. Its tallest building is 3 stories high. All the rooms we have stayed in have kitchens. The room sizes are everything from studios to 4-bedroom suites. The location is fantastic! It is in the hotel district, but one can walk to downtown PV, either on the road or the beach, in 15 minutes. Public transport and taxis are easy to get. Los Tules has many pools and is located on the beautiful beach. The grounds are immaculately cared for. There is one restaurant, outside but covered, right next to one of the pools, with delicious meals all day long.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

los tules has the largest beach front in PV, plus seven pools and special grounds. it has the true feel of Mexico. the units are all pleasantly large with each having a spacious veranda.

this is not a high rise choked full of people, crowded pools, screaming kids and loud music. if your looking for peace and romance this is your place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathdrum, Idaho
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I love Los Tules!! Gardens, brick walkways, 8 pools (a couple are adult only), restaurant with good food, helpful staff, and views of the Bay and City. Close to the Malecon, Groceries and everything else at the mall across the street. Bldg #15, 3rd floor penthouse has a large private deck with a wonderful 180* view of beach and crashing waves. Sunsets cant be beat any where else! Daily maid service, Many of us return to Los Tules yearly, that must tell you something!

Room Tip: Some units do not have ocean frontage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Tules Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Tules Resort

Address: Blvd. Fco. Medina Ascencio s/n | Zona Hotelera C.P., Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Los Tules Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Tules | Mexican Resort is located within Los Tules right in the hotel zone in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. An oceanfront condominium-style resort located 2 miles from the airport and 3 mile from downtown Vallarta. Los Tules is nestled on a twenty-acre plantation of coconut palms fronting a half-mile of beautiful sandy Bandera’s Bay beach. Stroll along the brick-tile footpaths, through lush tropical gardens to your private colonial Mediterranean style condo. All rooms are designed to be used as separate units with individual entrances but can be combined into a full condominium with interconnecting doors, should the same party book more than one room. You can also enjoy our 7 swimming pools, 4 children pools, poolside restaurant-bar, 5 lighted Tennis courts and if you like golf, Puerto Vallarta's most challenging golf courses are just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Los Tules Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Tules Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Los Tules
Los Tules Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Tules Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.