We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Bed
Ranked #21 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for our 1st visit to Mexico. This is a great spot....good location....good restaurant...good food. The rooms were clean and well appointed. Easy walk to down-town. Take advantage of some of the local restaurants Well worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Charli:
Thank you for giving us this great review. We are glad to read that our hotel was of your total agreement; we really want to see you again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    697
    478
    222
    103
    74
See reviews for
413
531
73
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed on the "22nd" floor, huge windows opened to a beautiful ocean breeze, fantastic view. Room was clean, beds comfortable, a bit of a musty smell but thats to be expected. Pools were warm and clean, service at the pool bars was OK...not great. Drinks overall were good, the best were in the lobby bar. The girls in there were excellent! Food was good overall, they could have a few more fresh veggies, but we only ate breakfast at the buffet (omelettes were super fresh), the outside grill and lobby bar for lunch and a la carts for dinner. Our favorite was the Mexican. Room service menu is extensive and everything we had was delicious. Location to town, very convenient.
Room for improvement....the seafood restaurant, we left after sitting for 20 minutes without being brought so much as a glass of water. The waiters just gave off a really negative vibe, never went back. We were told we needed to make reservations for the a la carts but only did the second night. Because not all of the restaurants were open I suppose, they should have explained this to us when we checked in, the first night the buffet closed at 5 and we thought we needed a reservation, so we ate in the lobby bar because we thought it was our only option other than room service. The fiesta was a bit of a dud. Food was similar to the buffet, I asked specifically what time the entertainment started and was told it was intermittent from 7PM on. It was from 8-9pm. The dancing and singing was entertaining. Perhaps our biggest issue was with the doors slamming all hours of the day. Because the resort is open to the environment it creates a vacuum in the rooms. When there is any wind the doors catch and if your not careful slam shut. This happens all hours of the day and night. If guests were considerate they would try not to let it happen, Unfortunately our neighbours didn't care and would let the doors bang shut everytime, at all hours. Now I don't think it would be a difficult fix for the resort to put rubber stoppers of some kind on the doors to eliminate the problem. By the end of our stay it had become extreamly annoying. Enough said! The spa is overpriced, we had 2 treatments and both were lack luster.

I would like to say overall we had a great time. For the price it was great value, Food was very good. You can't help but relax with all that sunshine! I don't know that I would stay here again, strictly because of the door issue. But if that was resolved I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Mac:
We want to thank the time you take for doing this review, we appreciate it. We really love to read that our food and beverages were nice and the attention you received were excellent.
We are sorry about the treatment you received in our seafood restaurant; we assure you that those things will never happen again. In the other hand, we will be taking care of the doors problem in order to offer you more relaxing time.
We really want you to see you again in our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This review will be a little long, so if you are looking for the TL:DR version of this ... perfectly acceptable resort with a slightly upscale feel. Beach and Internet are fairly poor but available, food is mediocre, indoor bar is small and timeshare salespeople are a blight. On the upside - pools are beautiful, great location, beautiful views and very pleasant and earnest people abound.

Location - This is centrally located between the airport and Old Town. Others say you can walk to these places, but I think that's a little optimistic. You'll be trudging through a few miles of nothing. Get a cab instead.

Transportation - Cabs are everywhere. They are all Mid 90's Nissan Tsurus (Sentras). Most are clean, all are cheap. Airport to Hotel = 200 pesos (Federales tack on an extra fee). Hotel to Airport = 100 pesos. Around town = 50-70 pesos. Tip 10-20 pesos, all will be very grateful. Busses are nothing (under 10 pesos), my elderly mother got up and used them, I'm sure you can figure it out. There are also newer model cabs, vans and car services. I probably paid $75 total to get 3 people around town constantly for a week. Well worth the fees and cheaper than renting a car.

Roads - A nice highway system from the Airport to the hotel that will take you 15 minutes travel. There's a very old cobblestone system in town. It also floods during heavy rains. It will take you twice as long to go half as far in town.

Weather - I hear the weather is usually nice! I wouldn't know. I got 5 days of clouds and rain. I won't fault the hotel for that. But just know it DOES rain, and it comes on fast and sometimes for hours at a time.

Rooms - We had two rooms, one on the 19th (non-club) and the other on the 22nd (club). The non-club room wasn't updated but still had a gorgeous view, it had twin beds. It was smoking and smelled different, but not bad. The 22nd room was much nicer with one comfy king. No smell. All updated and gorgeous view (they all do). One weird thing, floors start at 12, so for example, 22nd floor was actually 12th floor. Odd. Nobody but suites have balconies, but floor-to-ceiling windows that open fully at the top make the room feel like a giant balcony. Club rooms get access to the club lounge which is AMAZING.

Club Lounge - Free breakfast (hard-boiled eggs, toast, pastries, coffee etc). There is a server who is always very nice. Beautiful views (that you'll never see because somebody took the seats and parks themselves there all day). There are two wired computers (circa 2003) and wifi access. It's all pretty slow but it's all free. At 5, appetizers (buffet leftovers) are served. Nothing special, but again free. I think wine is free too. It's open until 11 and a God-send from the busy lobby and restaurants and hucksters downstairs.

Internet - It SUCKS. You'll get no service sitting on your bed or most places in your room. I was able to get a signal from the pool by taking my iPad closer to the window. There's semi-reliable service in the lobby, club room and by the pool. There's a pay computer room that looked modern.

Pools - Probably the best part of the trip. Two large pools, one for the hotel and one for the time shares (there's nobody checking who's who). The hotel pool is a bit nicer in my opinion with more room because of the lack of Jacuzzi. It also wasn't heated so there's less people. Views can be toward the ocean or the pool itself. A waiter will come along and ask if you want drinks, there is a very loud DJ who will announce useless events. Club music persists all day, sit away from the speakers if you can. The time-share pool was heated and thus more popular because it was colder out. Tons of kids and constant screeching. Jacuzzi is a little disgusting (greyish water). Both have swim-up bars which is a neat novelty. All-inclusives will sit there all day but there's always plenty of room. Hardly anybody swims before 10am but the seats get saved with towels as early as 7am. If you want to do laps, get there early.

Beach - Beaches are actually nicer than some in the area. In town, for example, it's VERY crowded and filled with roaming vendors who will pester you. Locals stay mostly away because it's the end of the beaches (there's a derelict hotel next door that they frequent because the beach is built up with no patrons). Sand, as you probably read before, is soft at the top, gravel in the middle and coarse in the water. Not exactly pristine white beaches with crystal blue waters. I would research other cities if that's what you want. Beaches were very underwhelming. A jet-ski guy will patrol the area looking for renters. I didn't see kayaks, snorkels or anything else.

Time-Share People - BEWARE THE TIME-SHARE PEOPLE. Aurora in particularl is annoying as she pesters you with coupons and "free" breakfasts. She and a dearth of salespeople will descend on you like a plague at either the desk beside the gym or the car rental counter. Frankly, it's downright shameful Sheraton (SPG) is affiliated with such scum. They will prey on you at ALL times. It's high pressure sales from the 80s. It's almost enough to knock down the ratings to 3 or less stars. You think the airport "shark tank" guys are a problem? Ha! At least you can walk away from them. These people never stop and they do it every time you walk by. Don't even acknowledge them, I know the locals didn't. They looked down on them as the pure leeches they are. I was the idiot who said "Hola" the first time out and they basically chased me down the hall. I finally said, do you mind if I just go to gym?

Service - THE REST OF THE STAFF ARE AMAZING. The bell hops, check-in, wait staff, bartenders, and concierge are all incredible, friendly, helpful people who should all be commended. I tipped them all well and they made up for all the rest. Top-notch in my books. My only complaint is that I noticed the check-in crew will make up things and not follow SPG protocol. We had to fight for normal platinum level amenities and our green points which they made a very big deal of.

Food - Mediocre at best, think Old Country. Far overpriced for ala carte (we didn't have all inclusive). Pretty standard cheapo buffet, burgers, nachos, hot dogs at lunch, just a tad bit better at dinner. Very little Mexican food. Frankly, I had better meals at the boardwalk from the street vendors. Prices are really high too. There's a few "high end" restaurants at the resort which didn't look very appetizing, I think it's all the same kitchen. There are thousands of restaurants in the city, venture out and try something new. We did and had some of the best meals ever, Vista Grill in particular was amazing.

Guests - This was 75% Mexican families. They are mostly upscale, some blue-collar. Second are Canadians followed by Americans. Hardly any young couples, but there were a ton of kids. If your dream is dancing to tehcno music by the pool at 4am surrounded by 20-somethings .. this is not the place for you. We didn't have kids, but my older mother was with us so I wanted something quiet. It was perfectly fine for her and us (people in their mid 30s just looking for a quiet PV experience).

Conclusion - There was a lot of complaining up there, but the goods simply outweighed the bad by a large margin. Just a few more thoughts -- don't worry about the airport sales people, one 'no gracias' and you never deal with them again. If you go to the boardwalk, you will be hounded by store owners. Even looking at them elicits a conversation. It's all a bit kitschy and their wares are all junk. I didn't find one authentic thing (all looked China made and started to repeat itself quickly). We went on two excursions - Rhythms of the Night and to Yalapa beach via water taxi. Both were fun in their own way. You should do *something* and those are as good choices as anything else. All in all I liked PV, but probably won't ever be back. I hate vendors, I loathe salespeople and I love long meandering quiet white beaches with crystal blue water. This had far too much of the former and not enough of the latter.

Feel free to ask me any questions you may have.

Room Tip: Get the club rooms. Take your device to the room window to get some internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear John:
Thank you about this detailed review of our hotel, we will be taking note about all your comments in order to improve our services and facilities.
In the Rooms section, we are refreshing them in floor order; we are working in getting our rooms nicer and more comfortable for you. In the Club Lounge the wine is free.
The internet will be much better in a month; we are working in new antennas for having a better connection.
Please let us be your hosts the next time you want to come to Puerto Vallarta and let us demonstrate you that we learn from all your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in December 2013. The most memorable characteristic was the quality of the staff. Every employee was so friendly and helpful. Jacobo, the bellman, was particularly helpful, assisting us with some issues with our luggage. Every staff member we saw greeted us warmly. We were asked for feedback. There was just a real focus on guest service.
The beach was a disappointment, due to the rocks and undertow. But the ocean views from our room (and apparently all the rooms) were spectacular!
Our room was very comfortable and attractive. Notably, the bed was very, very comfortable!
The pool in the condo area was great.
We had breakfast and poolside snacks, which were fine, but I can't really speak to restaurant quality. We prefer to try local restaurants, and we particularly enjoyed the Trio restaurant in the old town area.
We usually prefer smaller local hotels in the downtown area or on the beach. In this case we were happy we stayed at the Sheraton, which was fairly close to the old town area. The area seems a little run down, but the hotel is very secure and well maintained.
The personal attention made all the difference.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest:
First of all, thank you for taking a moment to write this great review for us. We are always greeted to hear that you stay with us was comfortable, and that our facilities were fine for you. We love to read that due to our location you can discover many things of our beautiful Puerto Vallarta.
We will be waiting for you in your next trip to our city.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I have been going to this Resort for six (6) years and have always had great service,enjoyed the view and have had wonderful service. We have made friends with many of the staff over the years. This year's trip was no exception. A special thank you to: Ramon, Rodrigo, Rosalio, Viviana (pool Service), Eduardo, Mily, Isis and Anjeclica (lobby bar) for making our vacation so relaxing and fun! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Request a Ocean View w/Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Lynda:
Thank you for your review, we assure that they will receive your great words. We really love to hear that you are returning every year since 6 years ago!! We are so glad to know that you always have a great time with us.
We will be waiting for you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We love to stay here since we were young. The pool area is fantastic. The rooms are really confy. The beach is a little too rocky...but, it is nice. The malecon area its 10 mins away walking. The morning buffet its delicious. A taxy cab to the malecon its only 50 pesos, you will get to the main street in 5 minutes max.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Ricky:
Thank you about your review, we really thank you for returning every time you have a chance. We really love to see you again and that you share your special moments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a 10 day all inclusive stay at the Sheraton. This was our second trip to PV and we were really looking forward to returning. Although nothing was outright horrible, there were a number of minor annoyances that added up.

When checking in, the young man at the desk seemed rather disinterested in helping us and did not give any information regarding our inclusive stay. He also obviously did not even look at our reservation and put us in a room with no view and 2 double beds after we had booked (and paid for) a room with a king bed and a ocean view. When we complained and showed our reservation we were moved to the room we paid for.

Our new room had the mini bar we were told was included in our package, but it was locked. Once we got it unlocked, we had to ask for it to be restocked even though we were told at the front desk that it was restocked daily. It was restocked twice during our 10 day stay.

Overall, we found the service lacking. We did have one great waiter at the restaurant (Oliviero, I think) who would watch for us once he realized we did tip! But during more than one meal we were basically completely ignored by the staff. The food is basic and there is not a huge selection, but luckily the hotel is close to town and there are tons of great places to eat.

As expected, the time share push was a pain, but we now know to ignore, ignore, ignore! Trust me, they say 90 minutes but it never is! We did not attend our invitation to learn more and no matter what they say the time is not worth the "free gifts"!

We really felt like this hotel is just that . . . A hotel. If you are looking for a resort experience, I would not recommend it. If you just want a place to sleep, have a quick breakfast and enjoy the sights and restaurants in PV, it works.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Kerry:
We are really sorry to give you that poor impression; we really are a resort in Puerto Vallarta. We want you to return with us and notice that every comment you made, was correctly attended and we are improving our services.
We want to thank your comments, because it makes us to improve more and more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Address: Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the sun, the ocean, the extended landscaping, the entire exhuberant nature of the tropic from your own Deluxe ocean view room or the unique Ocean Front Club Level. A few steps away from traditional downtown and 4 miles from Vallarta's International Airport. Appreciate a peaceful afternoon stroll on renovated Malecon and savor the friendliness of the locals; admire the city’s distinctive architecture with red-tiled roofs, lush tropical gardens, cobblestone streets and the Guadalupe church.Enjoy our fine cuisine restaurants and bars, shop a variety of clothing, silver and souvenirs in the boutiques, and relax in the SPA taking an unparalleled massage in our unique cabin's next to the ocean or immersed in lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Media 8, Inc., Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort And Convention Center
Sheraton Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.