We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful employees” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Bed
Ranked #20 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful employees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in December 2013. The most memorable characteristic was the quality of the staff. Every employee was so friendly and helpful. Jacobo, the bellman, was particularly helpful, assisting us with some issues with our luggage. Every staff member we saw greeted us warmly. We were asked for feedback. There was just a real focus on guest service.
The beach was a disappointment, due to the rocks and undertow. But the ocean views from our room (and apparently all the rooms) were spectacular!
Our room was very comfortable and attractive. Notably, the bed was very, very comfortable!
The pool in the condo area was great.
We had breakfast and poolside snacks, which were fine, but I can't really speak to restaurant quality. We prefer to try local restaurants, and we particularly enjoyed the Trio restaurant in the old town area.
We usually prefer smaller local hotels in the downtown area or on the beach. In this case we were happy we stayed at the Sheraton, which was fairly close to the old town area. The area seems a little run down, but the hotel is very secure and well maintained.
The personal attention made all the difference.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest:
First of all, thank you for taking a moment to write this great review for us. We are always greeted to hear that you stay with us was comfortable, and that our facilities were fine for you. We love to read that due to our location you can discover many things of our beautiful Puerto Vallarta.
We will be waiting for you in your next trip to our city.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    702
    480
    222
    103
    74
See reviews for
416
534
73
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I have been going to this Resort for six (6) years and have always had great service,enjoyed the view and have had wonderful service. We have made friends with many of the staff over the years. This year's trip was no exception. A special thank you to: Ramon, Rodrigo, Rosalio, Viviana (pool Service), Eduardo, Mily, Isis and Anjeclica (lobby bar) for making our vacation so relaxing and fun! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Request a Ocean View w/Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Lynda:
Thank you for your review, we assure that they will receive your great words. We really love to hear that you are returning every year since 6 years ago!! We are so glad to know that you always have a great time with us.
We will be waiting for you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We love to stay here since we were young. The pool area is fantastic. The rooms are really confy. The beach is a little too rocky...but, it is nice. The malecon area its 10 mins away walking. The morning buffet its delicious. A taxy cab to the malecon its only 50 pesos, you will get to the main street in 5 minutes max.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Ricky:
Thank you about your review, we really thank you for returning every time you have a chance. We really love to see you again and that you share your special moments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a 10 day all inclusive stay at the Sheraton. This was our second trip to PV and we were really looking forward to returning. Although nothing was outright horrible, there were a number of minor annoyances that added up.

When checking in, the young man at the desk seemed rather disinterested in helping us and did not give any information regarding our inclusive stay. He also obviously did not even look at our reservation and put us in a room with no view and 2 double beds after we had booked (and paid for) a room with a king bed and a ocean view. When we complained and showed our reservation we were moved to the room we paid for.

Our new room had the mini bar we were told was included in our package, but it was locked. Once we got it unlocked, we had to ask for it to be restocked even though we were told at the front desk that it was restocked daily. It was restocked twice during our 10 day stay.

Overall, we found the service lacking. We did have one great waiter at the restaurant (Oliviero, I think) who would watch for us once he realized we did tip! But during more than one meal we were basically completely ignored by the staff. The food is basic and there is not a huge selection, but luckily the hotel is close to town and there are tons of great places to eat.

As expected, the time share push was a pain, but we now know to ignore, ignore, ignore! Trust me, they say 90 minutes but it never is! We did not attend our invitation to learn more and no matter what they say the time is not worth the "free gifts"!

We really felt like this hotel is just that . . . A hotel. If you are looking for a resort experience, I would not recommend it. If you just want a place to sleep, have a quick breakfast and enjoy the sights and restaurants in PV, it works.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Kerry:
We are really sorry to give you that poor impression; we really are a resort in Puerto Vallarta. We want you to return with us and notice that every comment you made, was correctly attended and we are improving our services.
We want to thank your comments, because it makes us to improve more and more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We spent 8 days at the Buganvilias in Puerto Vallarta and despite rain half the time, we had the best time ever and would go back again. Every single staff member treated us like we were the only guest. The enthusiasm, the cheerfulness, the "hola"s and the help were more than what we expected. My son is in a wheelchair and I expected difficulties... instead I received extra help every day. The only difficulty was with the internet which was sporadic at best... but on the other hand, that kept us from wasting time on things we could do when we went home. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: We had a wheelchair accessible room and for anyone with challenges walking would love this. Walk in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Eileen:
It’s always a pleasure to receive and help you in our resort. We are glad to hear that you had a great time with us and we hope you are thinking to return with us!
In the Internet point, we are working in order to have a better connection for you.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just got back from a week at the Sheraton Bunganvilias and thoroughly enjoyed it. My group and I had the all inclusive option and were treated very well during our stay. The staff is AMAZING! Every single staff member went out the their way to say "Hola" and give a smile when you walked by. Special mention to Lulu at the concierge desk, Ricardo from the activity pool, Ignacio, Javier and Rodrigo from the pool bar and of course Milly at the lobby bar! They all made our stay wonderful.

Great location, close to the Malecon and old town. Walked most days to get there but also opted for the city bus. Very easy to take with bus stops right outside the hotel.

Spent a lot of time by the pool and swim up bar. Waiters take your drink order right from your pool chair (best to order 2 at a time) Music is played throughout the day and a lot of activities are going on. (water aerobics, tequila volleyball, etc) I like to read and did not find it loud or distracting to do so.

The hotel is very clean. Every morning, staff would sweep up around the pool and make sure pathways were clear. Rooms were check on in a timely manner and there was even turn down service which I did not necessarily need but it was a nice gesture.

The buffet was pretty generic. The food was good but there wasn't much change in dishes throughout the week. The Sunday brunch did offer more items. The Mexican al la carte was very good, so good we went twice! Also ate a few times on the downtown. There are a lot of great restaurants with good prices and drink specials.

Yes, there are people selling time shares in the lobby. The 'Bunganvilias' part of the resort has time shares and they are there trying to sell those ones specifically. I did not get bothered by anyone and simply replied "No, thank you" when asked if I need help or wanted a "free tour". All it takes is a little courtesy.

It was a great experience! Thank you to all the staff for the great hospitality.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor right above the lobby bar. We opted for a king bed and balcony vs. a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Jessi:
You don’t have to thank the hospitality; we always glad to receive you in our hotel. We really like to hear that you had a great time with us and hope you are thinking in return to Sheraton Buganvilias.
We want to thank the time you take for writing this great review
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We visit Sheraton Buganvilias for about 3 weeks every April-May--adding about 2 days every year to our stay. This year, we decided to do a quick "teaser" trip to Puerto Vallarta during the first week of December. We were not disappointed!

So many of the staff recognized us from our previous visits--which made us feel very welcome and at home. We enjoyed our favorite floor--the 13th---non-smoking and a wonderful walkout patio.

We are already counting down the days until our next visit in April---know it will probably be a little busier at the hotel then, as we find ourselves in Puerto Vallarta over the Easter Holiday--but we've visited before at the same time, and it just adds to the enjoyment.

Room Tip: We love the 13th floor--non-smoking and wonderful patio--if you are more into looking far out into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Columbia:
Thank you for visiting us again, we always glad to receive you any time. We will be waiting for you your next vacations.
Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Address: Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the sun, the ocean, the extended landscaping, the entire exhuberant nature of the tropic from your own Deluxe ocean view room or the unique Ocean Front Club Level. A few steps away from traditional downtown and 4 miles from Vallarta's International Airport. Appreciate a peaceful afternoon stroll on renovated Malecon and savor the friendliness of the locals; admire the city’s distinctive architecture with red-tiled roofs, lush tropical gardens, cobblestone streets and the Guadalupe church.Enjoy our fine cuisine restaurants and bars, shop a variety of clothing, silver and souvenirs in the boutiques, and relax in the SPA taking an unparalleled massage in our unique cabin's next to the ocean or immersed in lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Media 8, Inc., Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort And Convention Center
Sheraton Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.